Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Has Boards Taught You?

• 21-11-2008 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

I've been asked about boards by many people, now that the book is getting such exposure. It's hard to explain to some people, how such a random group could have compiled a really great book.

It all got me thinking about what I've learned, about photography, from others on this forum.
    I never even knew this forum existed and only stumbled upon it, when I was posting on the Graphics Design forum.

In the short while that I've been posting here, I have to say that, on the whole, it has been a very positive experience. While I can't really pinpoint any single skill I've learned here, the members of this forum have certainly given me the confidence and inspiration to try new things.

The sole reason I got into photography was my love of sport. Since joing this forum, I have experimented with Macro, Landscape, events, portraits and studio work. Of course, the post processing tips have been very valuable too.

There are some very talented people on here, who I admire and respect. Likewise, there are some people who simply aren't cutout for life behind the lens. Irrespective of the skill level, there is always someone willing to offer help and advice, or to lend you a battery, before you jet off to foreign climes. There's also as many opinions as there are members. All of which can combine to give you a better perspective of your own work.

So I put the question to you, what has the boards Photography forum taught you?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Everything

litrally i started out not knowing anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

I learned that Mele doesn't use flash at gigs. :p

I came to these boards obviously knowing zilch, I mean I even asked why my 50mm wouldn't zoom. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭dakar

City-Exile wrote: »
    In the short while that I've been posting here, I have to say that, on the whole, it has been a very positive experience. While I can't really pinpoint any single skill I've learned here, the members of this forum have certainly given me the confidence and inspiration to try new things.

Sorry for stealing your words, but you've completely nailed my experience of this forum.

I haven't been active here that long. I was a lurker for a good while (like a lot of others I suspect) but of late, I'm really enjoying contributing as much as I can. I think the mix of abilities, attitudes and personalities combine to make this an interesting place to be and I think 'the book' is a very concrete (well, paper:)) example of that.

Thank you all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

I think what you said Peadar sums it up for me really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭superflyninja

again pretty much what the others said.though i do find that objective and contrustive criticism helps big time.i wanna hug you all!!!!! ;D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

I learnt that photography isnt as competitive as some people make it out to be, that no matter how long you are at it there is always something to leanr and something you have yet to do.

It is definitely something that will keep me occupied forever and something which I will never master as, like I said above, there is always something new....

Being here has made me learn 1 to appreciate when I AM good and 2 accept when I am bad. We all make mistakes yet we all learn from them.

Ah come on group hug - I love you guys:P

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I've seen many come here knowing nothing and becoming some of my fav photographers...and others thinking they know everything and being run out of the village like a 18th century homosexual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

What did happen to Shrimp?

whyulittle wrote: »
    What did happen to Shrimp?

lol exactly...

for some reason i think he reregged for a bit or am i imagining things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,770 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Everything

I agree , it points you in different directions , some of us have completly different styles and likes .... but it works ....

Like you Mele I hope to pursue it more and do some part time study in it next year , fingers crossed ... when i first started here I had an eye but no consistency , had taken a few good films shots from years ago that i lost ... but consistency .. so thanks for the many here who helped me develop ... i could name names but that wouldn't be fair :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭dingdong1234567

City-Exile wrote: »
    So I put the question to you, what has the boards Photography forum taught you?

Very little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Beth

That I have a lot of learning to do still, I don't know much, and I should just keep reading threads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

Very little.

Is that because you know it all, or just haven't asked for help yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Everything

+1 to that. I only came here in April, having only shot in auto on all my previous cameras. The first thing recommended here was 'Understanding Exposure', which changed my photography completely. Last week I had a problem with Flash, which was also sorted.

Everyone on here is friendly and helpful. Many thanks to one and all for your help.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

I've learnt quite a good bit, from shooting techniques to photoshop to remembering to take my lens cap off ;).

The think I like the most on boards is looking at other peoples work, seeing how other minds interpret different situations/sets. This gives me more insight and makes me think a bit more when out shooting myself. I won't just shoot straight away, I'd have a look around seeing if I could take on the shot in a different light (not literally, light).

So thank you all for posting your work over the years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭nilhg

That I didn't know all I thought I did (and I didn't think I knew a lot)

That a good eye is more necessary than the latest and greatest gear.

That a technically great photo isn't a great photo.

That going to a boards meetup is a great way to learn, especially if its well outside your comfort zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

How to have fun and lots more !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

simplicity

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,182 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i note that the thread title is 'what has boards taught you' rather than 'what has boards' photography section taught you'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I've learned a lot from many people on boards. I've also had the pleasure of trying different bits of kit, before buying. Always valuable to be able to do that.

There's such a variety of photographic interests, kit and skill level on here. It's just brilliant.

The meet ups are always a good way to try something new and learn from others.

When I first posted here I was a complete beginner using auto mode on a digital point & shoot.Through encouragement I slowly progressed onto manual mode and began to get a feel for this photography thing.Boards really helped me keep interest in photography,inspiring photos were always posted and interesting discussions always created.None of my friends were(and still very few are) interested in photography/art.So this board always helped keep my interest up.Without it I don't think I'd have such an interest in photography today and most likely wouldn't even own a dSLR!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 9,047 CMod ✭✭✭✭CabanSail

In my case it's more "What has moving to Ireland taught you"

I have been dabbling in photography for years, probably more than many here have been around. Having got a DSLR a few months before moving to Ireland from Australia I wanted to get back into Photography a bit more. Before moving I looked at Camera Clubs in Dublin which would be convinient for me. Looking at the DCC website I thought it would be stuff & boring, but I thought I would give it a look anyway. When I got there I found I was totally wrong. I have learned so much from being there & have found that the more I put in the more I get out of it.

I have found this forum due to doing a search for information about Guy Gowan. I find this forum to be really friendly place & generally very supportive of people who are new to photography. I have also learned stuff from people here & already made some friends here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭mumof2

I think its wonderful having the possibility of having an almost immediate response to your question. Whether its about pictures taken or about aperature, iso or filters!! Im totally new to this, but already I know alot more today than I knew yesterday!! Ye are all so friendly!! And yes it would be fantastic to do a boards photo meet-up!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭l pearse

With the Book launch set for next Saturday...(Hurray!!) Boards, & all it's brilliant members have thought me that anything is possible.:D

....& because of this Forum l now have a photograph in a Book along side both amature & pro photographers...how cool is that.:o

Only a member since March 08 & only taking photos since june/july 08

It thought me all l wanted and needed to know about capturing the moment....:)

Linda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

That the photogrpahy related internet people aren't all up their own @r$e unlike many pretend to be on other forums and that photography is for fun. Its a hobby which one does for fun and for their own approval. And that this is also the best moderated, most mature area on boardsie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Boards has shown me I'm a lazy Jo Mollix and need a kick up the arse and hafta start shootin more often!

so, thank you :)

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

To set my standards high.

Very high.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

That people will surprise you if you let them and you should.

And this: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054991303

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭dakar

@ DeV thanks for the reminder that the more things change, the more they don't really, plus ca change etc!

Megapixel shmegapixel, people are people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Seeing the various sides of photography and providing a platform for "inspiration" of my own.

Also some advice about equipment etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

To be honest I think people can get alot more out of boards by meeting people from here.

For example, the other night at the Ireland game, Paul W threw me a lens because I had broken mine, such examples deserve to be highlighted...

As for looking at boards, its like when I look at magazines, it just gives me ideas.. Angles etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭democrates

If ideas are like tools in a toolbox, through boards I've de-cluttered and improve my toolkit.

Being male it's been good practice too to abandon trading on ego and focus instead on people and results.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

shepthedog wrote: »
    To be honest I think people can get alot more out of boards by meeting people from here.

For example, the other night at the Ireland game, Paul W threw me a lens because I had broken mine, such examples deserve to be highlighted...

As for looking at boards, its like when I look at magazines, it just gives me ideas.. Angles etc
    My first reaction to your post was "wow, thats awesome" and the second was "yeah, that happens all the time :)". Contradictory but both true :)

SineadW lent me a nifty fifty to try out and while it may not have been much to her, it was a godsend to me as I wasnt at all sure which lens I should buy as my first ever non-kit lens! :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

With all these people saying that meeting others is a good way of learning, how about another suggestion of a meet-up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

You know where the forum is Ken! :p

Right... Well, I guess Boards has helped me learn a lot, I've made some fantastic friends off the site, a lot of whom ain't around here much these days, but we still meet up in RL (tm).

When I joined, I was just moving up to Dublin, had a bare interest in photography, and a 300D... I'm now making my keep through it, a few months from a degree in FA: Media through photographic mediums, and so on.

The social aspect to boards, for me, far outweighs what I might pick up on the forums - Nothing better than heading out to take a few photos, see what lenses do what, and how people work their magic. The fantastic thing about boards is the variance in who uses it - There'll be a story, link or smart comment about everything and anything, there's always someone in the know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

Well, i have been a lurker in this forum for a while now. The info here is so useful for me when im just starting out in photography. Whether it's simply improved my ability to take better photo's of my friends etc, or given me some new ideas for my "artsy" photos as i call them.

Oh, and i'll be buying myself a "to-me-from-me" present after christmas which just might be a camera. LOL So expect some more posts from me in the new year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

When I started to read this forum I had a p&s and used it in programme mode. Didn't really have a clue about the technical aspect of taking photos. Since then I have learnt how to use the manual modes, have an idea of how to work aparture and shutter speed, become a DoF junkie and feel that I am progressing within my chosen hobby. There are alot of people who post here who inspire me (and make me jealous with their light capture skills! Hello Danny!!!) and its great to see their wonderful captures on here.

Haven't been at as many get togethers as I would have wanted, real life is just getting in the way and I will try and get to the book launch.

As for boards, I have been a member since day one and I have made close friends who I would have never met without the site. It has opened my eyes to topics and interests that would never have entered my grey matter otherwise. Hats off to the admins but they have succeeded where many many sites have failed in the past they have created a true online community.

gandalf wrote: »
    Hats off to the admins but they have succeeded where many many sites have failed in the past they have created a true online community.

I for the life of me cannot see how you possibly could've come to this conclusion, yeah we have fajitas but like come on???
    You being a Mod also lessens your statement too.
    Do you really think if we had no Mods the community wouldn't be where it is today?
    B4 ancatdubh was a mod he was important as was numerous others ala Thoie, Thonda, Sindead, DarrenG, Cabaal...jeez I could go on forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

He didn't say Mods, he said Admins, the people who started and run the overall site.

And if you think this place would work without Mods, well, you're just plain wrong.

I for the life of me cannot see how you possibly could've come to this conclusion, yeah we have fajitas but like come on???
    You being a Mod also lessens your statement too.
    Do you really think if we had no Mods the community wouldn't be where it is today?
    B4 ancatdubh was a mod he was important as was numerous others ala Thoie, Thonda, Sindead, DarrenG, Cabaal...jeez I could go on forever.

Firstly I am talking about the whole site.

Secondally I NEVER mentioned mod's I mentioned the people who have invested their own cash and time over the last 13 YEARS in building this site into more than a website.

Jesus are you so twisted that you cannot see this.

whyulittle wrote: »
    He didn't say Mods, he said Admins, the people who started and run the overall site.

And if you think this place would work without Mods, well, you're just plain wrong.
    Mods/admins, might as well be talking salt n vinegar to me.
    and to your 2nd point where did I say that??
    re-read what I posted.

Jesus are you so twisted that you cannot see this.
    What are you implying?
    If I said that to you I'd be banned in no time.

What are you implying?
    If I said that to you I'd be banned in no time.

Its quite simple anytime you get a chance to throw the knife into the mods you jump at it, even when they aren't the topic of conversation. I am talking about DeVore, Vexorg, Cloud & Regi the people who have paid so you can bitch on the internet.

Report the post if you feel I wronged you then.

I am no forum expert, Mod/Admin how the hell would I know the diff?
    Forums are not the real world, while this particular forum is most def informative I as has already being noticed already would not know the diff between a Mod/Smod/Cmod/Fmod/admin, maybe I should google Stonemasons?
    Its quite simple anytime you get a chance to throw the knife into the mods you jump at it, even when they aren't the topic of conversation. I am talking about DeVore, Vexorg, Cloud & Regi
    Also show me where I have ever attacked or "thrown the knife into any of these people" I've heard of Devore as he post's here but I've never ever heard of the others.

Maybe you should turn the punk mode off for a few seconds ;)

(feck it if we meet at any of the meets, (if I ever get to go to one the bastards keep organising them when I have something else on) I'll buy you a beer and explain how it all works!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

AR, Gandalf,

I don't this lightly but please exit the thread NOW as you are completely derailing it.

Do I make myself clear?

You my friend would be most surprised about Board meets, have been to a few and also know numerous Admins from real life(!)
    The problem is I come from Thumped forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Well, one of the things I've just learned is that the most innocuous thread can turn into a cat fight out of the blue...

Photography wise - I still have a lot to learn. I sometimes despair at my lack of an "artistic" eye, but then I remember I'm still having fun and have ended up with some photos that I think are great, and that keeps me happy.

Other things I've learned:
    • Focus on the eyes
    • Don't try to practise your portraiture in landscape, on a subject that's not quite with it
    • Going to my first meetup was horribly scary, but no-one was an axe murderer, and a day spent wandering around the zoo taught me all sorts of things
    • It's OK to watch what other people are doing, and try replicate that, but it's also OK to get caught up in taking 5 million pictures of baby elephants if you find them cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

What did I learn from boards.ie?

That photography need not be a solitary activity. That other people had cameras too and they were interested in photography as well. And that they didn't just do landscape, like I did.

This place opened my eyes to possibilities so much. I learned a lot about the transition from film to digital; I picked a lot of brains and borrowed a lot of other people's gear. I pretend to own Fajitas! lens collection but secretly I just envy him it.

This place is where you learn what's possible, not what's impossible. People answer questions. They are helpful and for the most part, they are constructive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Jaysus, if it weren't for here and meeting up with the people here I might well still be trying to get into my head that BIG number means SMALL hole.. Learned just about everything I know from you folks.