Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas - hates and loves

• 20-11-2008 7:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭

So now that its nearing that time of year again I thought id ask everyones christmas hates and christmas loves

I love waking up at 3am to put the prezzies under the tree (nutter i know)

I hate the throngs of people jaming into every square inch in town when you go shopping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I absolutely love everything about Christmas, it kills the cynic in me :D My favourite thing I think has to be just the fact that the immediate family (me, parents, sister and brother) just spend the whole fcuking day together. from when I (the eldest child btw) wake the family up at about four, to the screwdrivers for brekkie, to when we finally acknowledge at about eleven pm that we're all too ****faced to keep playing Monoploy, to watching **** telly to staggering to bed about 5am, full of alcohol and platonic love. Gawd I love christmas. Five weeks today btw :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Love: wrapping presents for loved ones and seeing them open them.
    Hate: being away from Mam and Dad, maybe next year I can go home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

i love EVERYTHING about christmas!!! i get soooo excited!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Love: going home and being able to stay there for an extended period, with everyone home and everyone really happy. And all the yummy yummy food :)

Hate: the throngs in town also.

Just love Christmas itself so so so much. Absolutely everything about it really, but I had to pick...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Feckin christmas carols on an endless loop for three frigging months.
    Humbug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

The only thing I don't like about Christmas is that I have had exams around then for the past 10+ years.

Absolutely love having all the family together, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

I can't stand Christmas. I have to go to my doctor to be prescribed extra strong anti-depressants. Everything about it sucks from the rampant consumerism, the fake snow, silver crap everywhere, plastic santa's, the arguments and disappointments and just the sheer fakeness of it all. Doubly worse is Christmas in Australia where it all just seems so WRONG. Next year I am going to Pakistan or Iran to escape it all :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

love - time off work, not a big fan of christmas just love the thought of not having to listen to an alarm clock for a few days

hate - christmas songs, everyone going mad shopping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Love the smell of the christmas tree.. The happy faces on the kids as they open their presents.. The copious amounts of alcohol.

Hate, the hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Hate: Having it rammed down my throat before December 1st. Xmas shopping too.

Love: Everything else.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I love christmas. Its the one time of the year you can really just kick back and relax for a few days. Nowhere is open, there's no work to be done and its basically just enjoying some quality uninterupted time with the family.

The only thing I hate about it, is the fact it starts so early. I swear if I hear a single christmas carol before December (I've avoided them so far \o/) I will unleash ****ing jihad on the store that plays it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I hate how commercial the whole thing is. Happy birthday Santa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Love : Kicking back with plenty food and drink in good company.

Hate : Shopping for presents.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Hate the fact that Christmas now starts before Halloween.

Love the fact that it distracts people a little bit from Halloween. Now that's one day I really hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Love: Loads of Premiership football and great sport over the christmas period.

Hate: The fact that Christmas starts earlier and earlier, having to put the tree up, Christmas carol singers in shopping centres waving a bucket in front of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Love: being allowed be tipsy for three or four whole days straight.
    Hate: it's just an orgy of keeping up with the jones's style consumerism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Loves: Pretty much everything about it! Decorations, tree, cold weather, presents, FOOD, Christmas music, the general Christmassy atmosphere around the place.

Hates: Buying presents for people who are impossible to buy for. All my family are difficult to buy for, my Dad being the worst. He gets the same type of voucher every year because we can't think of anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Zaph wrote: »

Love the fact that it distracts people a little bit from Halloween. Now that's one day I really hate.

Agreed on Halloween. Its no longer an event on my calender, I just ignore it. Christmas kicks the bollix off Halloween anyway....

Dave! wrote:
    The only thing I don't like about Christmas is that I have had exams around then for the past 10+ years.

This.

It always annoys me and makes me feel like I'm missing out on so much because it never feels like Christmas until the exams are over. Meanwhile everyone around you seems to be getting all excited about it and you're just stressed :(

Don't have exams this year thankfully. Do have essays though but they're due a bit earlier than the date my exams normally would be over, so yay! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Hate: The ****ing vodafone christmas ad :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Zaph wrote: »

....nocturnal forum jihad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I love the time off.

I hate everything else.

Ooh ooh another love: the Coca-Cola ad! Saw it for the first time this year yesterday (or the day before?) and it made me so happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭NibNib

Loves: Get to spend lots of time and getting presents for my love ones, atmosphere, children who still believe in Santie...:)

Hates: When I don't know what to get for a family member, or cannot afford what I know they would definitely like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

I love having all the family together and everyone in good spirits.:D Couldn't give a crap about the pressies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

I love having all the family together and everyone in good spirits.:D Couldn't give a crap about the pressies!
    Haven't had a proper family reunion in over 10 years. My family are spread all over the world. I have my own family here which I get to see for half a day on Christmas Day. Whooopeee. Pour me another drink :(

dSTAR wrote: »
    Haven't had a proper family reunion in over 10 years. My family are spread all over the world. I have my own family here which I get to see for half a day on Christmas Day. Whooopeee. Pour me another drink :(
    Get the man a drink :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I hate the throngs of people jaming into every square inch in town when you go shopping.

And da bleedin Poles steal our prezzies and wimmens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Hate - People who won't **** off and wait until December before mentioning Christmas.

Love - Food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I hate christmas. I love stuffin the turkey

Hate - People who won't **** off and wait until December before mentioning Christmas.

How is your Christmas shopping coming along? I hope you have a good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Love:

Arriving in Dublin airport and seeing my parents at arrivals. I've been living abroad for a few years now and I just love that bit :D

Having an excuse to have a glass of Baileys and a few Quality Street for breakfast

Hearing the good Christmas songs on the radio for the first time (preferably not before December 1!!!)

The present-opening ritual in my house

Eating turkey/stuffing sandwiches on St. Stephen's day. And the next day...and the next...

Watching the Father Ted Christmas special on Christmas Eve

Hate:

The inevitable cabin fever that sets in after a few days

Last-minute shopping...I won't do it this year!

The Killinaskully Christmas specials..ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

How is your Christmas shopping coming along? I hope you have a good one.

*slap*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

I love the Christmas Kellog cornflake ad- the one with the little girl taking santas cornflake.....ho....ho.....ho. That child must be in her twenties by now.
    Hate all the charities looking for money, you can never go more than two fecking steps without some eejit shoving a bucket under your nose! The TV ads have already started by the looks of it. :mad: (and before anyone starts I get the irony in hating charity at christmas, but I dont care :P)

*slap*

Harder baby:p

mental07 wrote: »
    Having an excuse to have a glass of Baileys and a few Quality Street for breakfast
    Ooh, I think I may have to introduce a new Christmas tradition chez moi :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 graciegrace

Christams hates are very few:
    I do hate the way the xmas stuff is in the shops before halloween

HATE THAT THERE ARE SO FEW CHRISTAMS WINDOWS IN THE SHOPS NOW FOR KIDS, ARNOTTS IS GOOD THIS YEAR RETURNING TO THE CHRISTMAS MAGICAL THEME FOR KIDS,
    WHERES THE CRIB SCENE IN O CONNELL STREET
    WHERES THE REAL TREE IN O CONNELL STREET GONE,

LOVE THE CHRISTMAS DAY ITSELF ITS SO SPECIAL LIKE NO OTHER DAY OF THE YEAR, A REAL FEELING LIKE WE ALL BELONG

PLUS THERE JUST MIGHT BE SNOW.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Love:

Arriving in Dublin airport and seeing my parents at arrivals. I've been living abroad for a few years now and I just love that bit :D

Hearing the good Christmas songs on the radio for the first time (preferably not before December 1!!!)

Eating turkey/stuffing sandwiches on St. Stephen's day. And the next day...and the next...

That's a good list. Bailey's aside, it'd be pretty much my list too. Also, and this is a strange one for me, I really enjoy the mass on Christmas eve. I've given up on Catholicism, but there's a really nice feeling around the church on Christmas.

Normally, I wait until December to start getting excited. Yesterday, though, I went ice skating here in Stockholm. It's in the middle of an old town square, and it started snowing. Serious Christmas cliché there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭RadioGaGa

Love: Coke Ad, roses (red ones FTW), Christmas music (slade, Paul McCartney etc.), family, food, putting the tree up on 8th of December

Hate: buying gifts for spas, taking down the tree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

emo!! wrote: »
    i love EVERYTHING about christmas!!! i get soooo excited!

Same here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's all shoite.

hate the holiday/

LOOOOOVE Christmas, everything.

Shopping for gifts, decorations, wrapping presents, picking the right tree, sending santas letter, baking cookies for santa, new pyjamas for christmas eve, the house being all sparkly, getting presents, making the worlds biggest fry xmas morning (to include steak) new clothes for christmas day, watching people open presents, opening my own presents, setting up all of santas presents up when she's gone to bed, seeing my daughters smiley face when she sees santa has been, lack of calories in christmas food, eating so much you have to sleep, silly christmas games, mince pies, posting christmas cards., christmas songs on the radio

there's so much more than this.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

love: the feel of the house on xmas day-the decorations up,the smell of the dinner on,the fire is down while its freezing outside,watching films all day while drink after drink goes down and eventually wobble to bed.

love the xmas sessions in the pub.

love some of the xmas ads on tv, the coca cola one, the budweiser horses and im lovin the meteor reindeers this yr.

love going down the country for new years.

hate: the build up to it,the shopping, how fake people are-you know the ones you see once a yr at xmas in the pub, and theyre all over you like youre best friends but then you wont see them for another 12 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Love:

Hate:

The inevitable cabin fever that sets in after a few days

Last-minute shopping...I won't do it this year!

The Killinaskully Christmas specials..ffs

This ones for you. ;_;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

I love getting presents, but the downside is having to stand up at mass for a full two hours on christmas day freezing my balls off, and on the downside to gettign presents - being expected to buy presents for everyone else who thinks i'm rich, but that i have less than 40 euro to my name sorta thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I hate feeling as if I have to cram everything family-related into a few days because I don't get a lot of time off from work.

I love candlelight service on Christmas Eve . . . and hanging out in pajamas on Christmas night, when all of the hullabaloo is over and you're sitting around with your family reading some new book or playing with a new gadget, with some Christmas crap on TV, and the mess that is your house is lit in the multicolored glow from the Christmas tree.

Ooooh, and holiday parties. The good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭chaotic_vr

Love spending time with the family and everything else more or less.

Hate the way I saw christmas decorations before halloween decorations and the way it seems to start earlier every year.

Last year wasn't into it at all so put this on christmas day but swapped for this the more drink was had and the merrier I got.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

Loves:
    Christmas songs in the shops and on the radio.
    Christmas lights and decorations in shops, pubs, schools, houses.
    Looking at peoples christmas trees in their windows while driving by.
    The chrismassy atmosphere.
    Christmas ads on tv - Coca Cola, Budweiser, Kelloggs where the little blonde girl says San-ta and the Guinness ad is so pretty!
    Christmas Eve Mass.
    Stuffing my face with pudding, triffle, selection boxes and mulled wine...
    The Christmas movies - The Santa Claus Movie with Dudley Moore, Love Actually, National Lampoons Xmas Vacation, the old Charlie and the Chocolate factory.

Hates:
    Bah Humbugs around me :mad:
    My family don't do anything together.
    Knowing there are old people who are all alone :(
    How dull January is after the 3 months of madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Relaxing at home, off work the few days, beer in hand, ****e on TV and the tree giving the room that distinctive smell and glow.

Going for the few beers Xmas eve and then having to get up with everyone at yesterday O'clock for a sum total of five mins before I dive back into bed, my Xmas morning hangover photos are becoming infamous at home.

Going to the pub Xmas Day ;)

Going on the lock Stephens Day...all day.

Hmmm, there seems to be a pattern emerging.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Christmas is great when you're a kid. Other than that it's all very 'meh'.

Like:
    Gettin gee-eyed on Christmas Eve
    (Going to love) Hittin the beach on Christmas morning
    Gettin money
    The food
    Being off work
    Father Ted Christmas Special
    Home Alone

Hate:
    Christmas carols
    Christmas shopping
    Christmas decorations up in October