Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ATM as Gaeilge????????

• 20-11-2008 3:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Like we need another button to push!

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

mike65 wrote: »

Mike

UMB - Uathmheaisín bainc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Some of them come in French too! I don't mind though I like pushing buttons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Tóin go béal. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

I wait for other people to use the ATM, then press the As Gaeilge button.

And check their PIN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Why do you sign all your posts with Mike? Can see your username to the left

Stee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

"Nil aon airgead agat" isn't that hard to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

It's what Dev would have wanted.

Yes i noticed this the other day, made me curious to see how big a Chinese ATM machine is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭burgess1

Irish has been available on ATMs for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Maybe in the Gaeltacht but yesterday was the first time I'd been confronted by this example of needless pandering to linguistic minorities.

Mike

Tbh there's more justification in making them Polish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

We've had them in Galway for year (BOI mainly).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭vodkadub

What bank? I work with ATMs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Bank of Ireland have always had the option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Mike
    Well if you hadn't supressed our language rabble...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Maybe in the Gaeltacht but yesterday was the first time I'd been confronted by this example of needless pandering to linguistic minorities.

Mike

How arrogant of you.

So it's ok to have it in French, German, Polish but not as Gaeilge?

It's not pandering by the way. Some of us use Gaeilge everyday. It has equality of stature in our constitution so if you don't like it, move back to where you came from.

And for you information, the speaking of Gaeilge isn't confined to areas of An Ghaeltacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

G'wan Terry! :p

vodkadub- The ATM in question was one of those "generic" jobbies in Centra, dunno who actualy looks after them.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

kraggy wrote: »
    How arrogant of you.

So it's ok to have it in French, German, Polish but not as Gaeilge?

It's not pandering by the way. Some of us use Gaeilge everyday. It has equality of stature in our constitution so if you don't like it, move back to where you came from.

And for you information, the speaking of Gaeilge isn't confined to areas of An Ghaeltacht.
    Careful now.

Down with this sort of thing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

If AIB would just get rid of the daft amounts that they have on the "quick" selection screen for picking how much money you want, but then it changes it's mind and refuses to give you that amount because it's out of the required notes then things would speed up considerably.

Who's idea was it to program it with the options of €39/ €64/ €92.5/ €120.43 * etc as the quick choices but never load it with the right notes? It should be clever enough to only give you the options to pick combinations that it can provide.

*May not be the actual numbers that are shown on the ATM screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭vodkadub

G'wan Terry! :p

vodkadub- The ATM in question was one of those "generic" jobbies in Centra, dunno who actualy looks after them.

Mike

wincor looks after them yokes they are stand-alone

How can they justify spending the money to make them "as Gaeilge" during a recession! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Wacko

Mike

**** off, you don't have to use it if you don't want to, the option has been on Bank of Ireland machines all over Ireland for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭burgess1

Mike

The ones at the Bank of Ireland in Terenure in Dublin definitely had an Irish option a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Mike

twas probably the same person that decided to rename the bus lanes "lana bus".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Those who speak Irish, do you honestly select the Irish button? If so, lol. Keep on striving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

is it true that Irish speakers are less intelligent, which is why they are given lower pass marks in tests? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe they should rename "An Lár" to Burgers, Chips & Shops?

is it true that Irish speakers are less intelligent, which is why they are given lower pass marks in tests? :D

That is indeed horsesh*t. Holy crap, you speak a pointless language! Here's a more prestigious course!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

False.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Hmmm, you've never seen that option before on an ATM, OP? Were you also stunned when euros came out instead of punts?

I was stunned when the punt was invented! How dare you ;)

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Originally Posted by Fratton Fred View Post
    is it true that Irish speakers are less intelligent, which is why they are given lower pass marks in tests?
    False.
    I thought you got more points if you took a leaving cert paper through Irish rather than English.

It is gas though when a new screen gets added to something you use on a regular basis. You are so used to tapping away without thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Can't get over the anti-Gaeilge on this thread.

Don't tell the lads in Teach na nGaelt they'll have ye for breakfast.

Look people Irish is one of the two official languages of this country. It says it right there in the constitution so don't be surprised if you come across it from time to time.

Now if it was solely as Gaeilge you would have a right to give out. Otherwise you're just whining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Hrududu wrote: »
    You are so used to tapping away without thinking.

:eek: ALWAYS THINK BEFORE YOU TAP :eek:

you mad son of a b ;)

Bet its an elaborate insult

Mike

I could have sworn a user got banned from here for replying in Irish. Isn't that why there's an Irish AH?

I'm waiting for the Polish entry!. :pac:

Anyway, language options - so what - if you choose as Gaeilge or English or one of the other options.
    It's only supposed to be you reading it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

I love when closet Gaeilgeoirí climb out of the woodwork to "defend" their beloved tongue. Can't say I've noticed ye as regular posters in TnanG.

And honestly anyone with enough intelligence to speak two languages should be smart enough to realise that economically there is no point for most companies to offer services as Gaeilge. It's a lovely gesture but that's all it is - a gesture.

Very few people (i.e 4) actually speak Irish and don't speak English.

Domo230 wrote: »
    Now I think Irish is completely useless but if people want to have the option to have their ATM in Irish,English,Polish or whatever then they should be able to.

Now as for Dublin bus putting the destinations primarily in Irish, that is just making things confusing and needs to be changed.

One world language is the way to go though.

The ATM thing doesn't bother me particularly, it is sort of pointless. The extra points in the Leaving Cert is a load of boll*cks though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Avril, this is a forum for english speaking, there are forums dedicated to speaking as Gaelige so use them if you insist on speaking Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Avril, this is a forum for english speaking, there are forums dedicated to speaking as Gaelige so use them if you insist on speaking Irish.

Qué?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Avril, this is a forum for english speaking, .

i find typing works better

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Tigger wrote: »
    i find typing works better
    So that's why everyone stares at me in the internet cafe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

That and your "condition"

afraid so

It could be that.. Or it could be the constant masturbating.

i would be mastrubating if i was cxhatting to avril lavigne in orish