Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do you tip the pizza guy?

• 19-11-2008 5:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭

I usually tip €2 which I plan on giving when my pizza arrives in about 40 minutes (oh yes!) but lately I've been wondering is €2 too little?

I think for me not to tip when the food is delivered they'd have to drop it or something...

Do many people not tip for deliveries? Do you give more than €2?

Discuss...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

€2 is grand I reckon.
    Generally if I order for example, the €10 meal deal from apache I'd give a euro tip. If I order more I might give more but usually 10% or there abouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Sure you already pay delivery charges, usually around 1.50 to 2 euro.
    Actually pizzas are different as they have a standard charge for delivery and a cheaper price for pickup

It doesn't matter if the delivery charge is an advertised extra or built into the price, you pay it and the employer pays the delivery driver.

Now if the place didn't have a delivery charge, I'd tip the driver but it seems all places do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

Student Tip,

Thanks, drive careful its looks like there might be some frost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭runswithascript

micmclo wrote: »
    Sure you already pay delivery charges, usually around 1.50 to 2 euro.
    Actually pizzas are different as they have a standard charge for delivery and a cheaper price for pickup

It doesn't matter if the delivery charge is an advertised extra or built into the price, you pay it and the employer pays the delivery driver.

Now if the place didn't have a delivery charge, I'd tip the driver but it seems all places do

I knew some person would come out with the likes of "it's there job"

there's always one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 transporter-d

But it is their job and they do get paid for it...

I still tip though... usually 2-3euro depending on where it's from, and that's even with delivery charge on top.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

2 euro is pleanty. They do about 20-30 deliveries a day. If everygone gave that the fucking delivery guys would be on mental money. I usually roud up to whatever change i have.

LA3G wrote: »
    I knew some person would come out with the likes of "it's there job"

there's always one!

The leaflet usually shows the delivery charge. I'm asked to pay the delivery charge, the friendly delivery drivers get paid. Everyone wins :)

Did you read the last line in Post 3?
    If the place doesn't have a delivery charge (this used to be the case!), then I'll tip the guy

Edit: Just realised you're the OP, you ask people to discuss and then you quote and flame the first post you disagree with. :mad:
    Why did you even start the thread if you don't want a discussion??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I tip him just enough so he doesn't get caught in the door as I close it.
    Free delivery means Free delivery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Nothing.
    We should'nt encourage a tipping culture in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I generally just give him the change, unless it's like a tenner. Then I'll reach into the pocket for 2 or 3 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

I'm ashamed to say i worked for Dominos as a delivery guy for a day and a half. a couple of years back.
    You have to supply your own transport and fuel. €4 an hour plus 1.50 per delivery excluding tips. You'd be very very lucky if you got to do 2 deliveries in a hour.

They deserve and rely on the tip. I'd always give at least €2.

Funnily enough, in the well to do areas, I got no tips and in the corporation housing areas i got good tips.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

I get my ma to give him a roide in leu of a tip.
    Cheaper than givin him 2 euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Depends really, usually about 2 euro. I've also been known to be completely generous and give a fiver... I'm a poor student and or a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I don't tip.

I usually get Four Star Pizza and they don't charge for delivery. I just don't tip. They haven't stopped delivering so I don't think they get upset about it.

The leaflet usually shows the delivery charge. I'm asked to pay the delivery charge, the friendly delivery drivers get paid. Everyone wins :)

Did you read the last line in Post 3?
    If the place doesn't have a delivery charge (this used to be the case!), then I'll tip the guy

Edit: Just realised you're the OP, you ask people to discuss and then you quote and flame the first post you disagree with. :mad:
    Why did you even start the thread if you don't want a discussion??

I did read the last line and I'm not flaming you I'm just saying that I knew somebody would disagree with tipping in the manner you did. The delivery charge is their pay, it doesn't count as a tip...

Swampy wrote: »
    €4 an hour plus 1.50 per delivery excluding tips. You'd be very very lucky if you got to do 2 deliveries in a hour.

It's people willing to work for under minimum wage that undercut everyone.
    If you get a similar job, insist on minimum wage at least

Sorry, comes across as a harsh post, not sure why people tolerate it though:confused:
    I realise you didn't work there long

I don't tip.

I usually get Four Star Pizza and they don't charge for delivery. I just don't tip. They haven't stopped delivering so I don't think they get upset about it.

Maybe they spit in your pizzas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

eh i dont give him anything he already gets paid for it????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Fishyfreak

The way I look at it, if you are delivering pizza you are probably on crap money.

I always throw them at least €4-.

Some hungry bastards here that don't tip the poor f**kers, i'd spit on your pizza for the next delivery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Depends on the conditions.

If the chap/lass was out working on a miserable day/night, roads icy, rain, etc I'd tip something.
    If it was normal good day, I'd take into account he's getting a delivery charge anyway

Yeah, crossed wires there OP I reckon, all good now I hope :)
    Your thread is about tipping and I posted about delivery charges
    I usually get Four Star Pizza and they don't charge for delivery.

You see in reality they do.
    Look at the leaflet. A pizza might be 17 delivery but 13 carryout.
    You are correct, they advertise no delivery charges but realy, it's built into the price as you can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

You see in reality they do.
    Look at the leaflet. A pizza might be 17 delivery but 13 carryout.
    You are correct, they advertise no delivery charges but realy, it's built into the price as you can see.
    Thanks. You just justified my stingyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Fishyfreak

Hunnnngry B*stards!!!

Give the poor feckers a tip or get up off your fat ass and pick it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I used to get pizza from Dominos one a week and never bothered tipping. Then one day i got that didnt taste the same as the others and was ill for three days afterwards..
    That was either karma..or spitting...or worse..

I tip now (1-2 euro depending on change in mo phoca) and haven't been ill since..then again i haven't ordered from there since either.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Fishyfreak wrote: »
    Hunnnngry B*stards!!!

Give the poor feckers a tip or get up off your fat ass and pick it up.

Haha, the guys charge ya around here for the delivery, they get paid by the company. Hell if I am going to tip some guy to deliver my pizza... Same way I wouldn't tip at a resturaunt.

Guys and girls, the service industry in Ireland is ****e. You rarely get good customer service and it is down to the ignorant views of the company itself. "why would we train our staff proparly, sure they only serve our customers food and drink all day long" Idiots.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

I've never had good enough service to warrant a tip tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭McGetty

Nothing. But then I live in a mostly student-filled area so I'm sure they don't expect anything. Although, TBH, I've never even really heard of tipping takeaway delivery guys. Delivery charges are usually higher than the collection cost anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I didn't realise what **** service we got in restaurants and that in Ireland until I went to some decent ones Stateside. Sure you get **** waiters there too but I had ones take time out to explain the different types of wine suggest loads that they'd thought we'd like for meals etc. Friendly, funny and working damn hard at their jobs. They all got good tips.

Here waiters and waitresses (in general) aren't on the same par at all.

As for pizza delivery guys - I always toss them a couple of euro. They're delivering pizza - it's a ****ty job with ****ty pay. Give a brother a break - c'mon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

i don't see why the delivery guy deserves a tip, where do you stop, i'd prefer to get my tip to the person who takes the order on the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

I never tip the pizza guy....but then again I'm not lazy enough to order one! I would use my legs and walk to the pizza place! Hence I never have a pizza guy delivering to my door. The only time I order a pizza is when I am too lazy to make my own (usually after a night out on the town) but there are exceptions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

He brings me pizza... Anything he wants.

I sometimes tip, but i wouldnt feel bad if i didn't. there are many worse jobs out there and they are getting paid.

Tip the poor bastards running around Dunnes busting their balls with 20 managers on their ass. Not the guy sitting in his car reading the paper and driving around delivering pizzas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭g.quagmire

I used to drive for donatellos times were tough and thought the money was good min wage which was 8.25 I think plus 1.25 per delivery between 25 and 40 a night and keep all tips.The area I delivered to the tips were savage averaged about 3 euro a house.I got to no the regulars who didnt tip and always left there order to last so it would be as cold as possible dont agree with spitting but I no the lads did spit to some houses.So i would advice always give something even a euro just to be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Swampy wrote: »
    I'm ashamed to say i worked for Dominos as a delivery guy for a day and a half. a couple of years back.
    You have to supply your own transport and fuel. €4 an hour plus 1.50 per delivery excluding tips. You'd be very very lucky if you got to do 2 deliveries in a hour.

They deserve and rely on the tip. I'd always give at least €2.

Funnily enough, in the well to do areas, I got no tips and in the corporation housing areas i got good tips.

thats standard tbh

middle classes don't tip taxis or deliveries

g.quagmire wrote: »
    I used to drive for donatellos times were tough and thought the money was good min wage which was 8.25 I think plus 1.25 per delivery between 25 and 40 a night and keep all tips.The area I delivered to the tips were savage averaged about 3 euro a house.I got to no the regulars who didnt tip and always left there order to last so it would be as cold as possible dont agree with spitting but I no the lads did spit to some houses.So i would advice always give something even a euro just to be sure.

So times were tough for you... yet you assume that the people you're delivering to are loaded and should be tipping?

No offence, but your post makes me want to never tip again.

Although i haven't ordered food in a long time anyway. €3 for a pizza out of a supermarket thats just as nice? Yes please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i rember after delivering to a house in the fecking snow and ice them ringing to complain band me getting the call

i also dont agree with spitting :eek:

So times were tough for you... yet you assume that the people you're delivering to are loaded and should be tipping?

No offence, but your post makes me want to never tip again.

Although i haven't ordered food in a long time anyway. €3 for a pizza out of a supermarket thats just as nice? Yes please.

I dont mind people not tipping its the humps that stand there while I search through my pockets looking for 5c to make up 35c after a order comes to 14.65 there next delivery is going to be cold and they deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭owenmakken

I used to deliver pizza's and about 1 in 10 would tip , the average prob about 1.50 - 2 euro, generally we made far more then the lads who actually make the poxy things so don't ever feel guilty, and considering that most of them collected dole aswell because they get paid cash in hand.

the prize of the pizza is what is stated, anyone who has a problem with what ther'e paid for their job should take it up with their boss I dont see how its the customers business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I've just ordered a large Dominoes Pepperoni Passion. It's gonna get slaughtered.

I dont mind people not tipping its the humps that stand there while I search through my pockets looking for 5c to make up 35c after a order comes to 14.65 there next delivery is going to be cold and they deserve it.

Yeah, I don't like that kinda cheapness in people either. I wasn't attacking you with my post or anything. I just think its wrong to expect or assume you'll be tipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I don't tip. Can't afford to be giving away any more money than i have to. Sure it doesn't pay great to deliver but we're in the same boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

and then you wonder why they order somewhere else next time, youll never get out of skid row with that attitude.

people like you make it easy for people not to tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

LA3G wrote: »
    Maybe they spit in your pizzas?

Someone who spits into food because they dont get a tip is just a selfish fucker. That kind of talk bugs the hell out of me, how ignorant and cheeky can you get? Expecting a tip is like walking up to someone you hardly know in your job, for example, and saying "What are you getting me for Christmas?" Its shameful.

Do you sigh while the customer stands there waiting for you to hand over their change?

Shelflife wrote: »
    and then you wonder why they order somewhere else next time, youll never get out of skid row with that attitude.

people like you make it easy for people not to tip.

No no dont wonder and dont care keep not tipping you and keep enjoying your supreme deluxe with extra lung butter.

Do you sigh while the customer stands there waiting for you to hand over their change?

No! actually I have often left people off money to save myself looking for the right change.If a order comes to 15.55 they give 20 I give back 5.Time = money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I'm very mean i dont tip unless the delivery guy/chick is hot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Kya1976 wrote: »
    I'm very mean shallow i dont tip unless the delivery guy/chick is hot

fixed your post there for ya :p

I think thats the case with alot of people!!

guy/chick? which? both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

peanuthead wrote: »
    fixed your post there for ya :p

I think thats the case with alot of people!!

guy/chick? which? both?
    LOL both

ah I feel sorry for most delivery guys as they're generally trying to make themselves an extra few bob. Years ago when I had very little money and wanted to get married my (then) fiance got a job delivering for an indian and he really relied on the tips, he would never complain if he didn't get them but he was trying to earn extra cash for the wedding so was delighted with the tips. I think he got about 25euro a night back then and then tips, and he worked from 5.30 til 11.30. I would never not tip just cos I know why these lads are doing it.