Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When pulled over...

• 18-11-2008 12:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭

Following on from an earlier post from the Mairt, what is the best thing to do if pulled over when driving?

Surely a cop doesn't like to have to crouch in the window of your car. It sets a peculiar tone. Also, it is dangerous for both of you to be at the side of the road.

Might it be best to get out and go over to the hard shoulder to discuss what you have been pulled over for?

Once I was pulled over in Belfast, think it was just a random security check. I went to get out of the car and then thought twice about it and stayed where I was. Policeman asked where I was going, said thanks etc. very polite and let me on my way. The whole time I was praying he didn't ask about my having no seatbelt on, which I had taken off to go out and chat to him at the roadside.

What would the cops on here recommend? Someone on another post said it would come across as aggressive but I think if you were to talk to a cop man to man, you might be less likely to get a ticket.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

The twice I was pulled over- I was berated for leaving my car to talk to the Gardai (on the quays) or the police (just outside Newry). I was told that I should stay in my vehicle and wait for the officer to approach me and ask me whatever they wished to ask. On both occasions other than giving out to me for leaving my vehicle I was sent on my way without any further intervention...... Hmmmmm.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

Following on from an earlier post from the Mairt, what is the best thing to do if pulled over when driving?

Surely a cop doesn't like to have to crouch in the window of your car. It sets a peculiar tone. Also, it is dangerous for both of you to be at the side of the road.

Might it be best to get out and go over to the hard shoulder to discuss what you have been pulled over for?

Once I was pulled over in Belfast, think it was just a random security check. I went to get out of the car and then thought twice about it and stayed where I was. Policeman asked where I was going, said thanks etc. very polite and let me on my way. The whole time I was praying he didn't ask about my having no seatbelt on, which I had taken off to go out and chat to him at the roadside.

What would the cops on here recommend? Someone on another post said it would come across as aggressive but I think if you were to talk to a cop man to man, you might be less likely to get a ticket.

In the UK the police ask you to step out of your vehicle & move to the side of the road. It is for the safety of you and the cop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Cops prefer to crouch into the window of your car as they can visually search it or smell if you have had a recent drink or a spliff.

I've only ever been stopped at a checkpoint so I never get out of the car as I'm waved on within a few minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Fooz

I would have always assumed you waited and see what the Guard/Policeman wants you to do. They are the ones in control in these types of situation surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Fooz wrote: »
    I would have always assumed you waited and see what the Guard/Policeman wants you to do. They are the ones in control in these types of situation surely.

I'd say they have the ultimate control but the more you can take yourself, the more likely you can influence the outcome in your favour.

Being seated and having someone crouch over you automatically puts you at a disadvantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

I'd say they have the ultimate control but the more you can take yourself, the more likely you can influence the outcome in your favour.

Being seated and having someone crouch over you automatically puts you at a disadvantage.

You've got to be joking? If a Garda pulls you over do you really he'll appreciate you getting out of your car and walking towards them?It makes you look 1)Aggresive and 2)That theres something in your car that you don't want the Gardai to see.You have no control in that situation, the Gardai aren't pulling you over for the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

You sound like me, assertive and it kills you to bow to authority?.

But I can understand why a guard would be nervous of someone getting out of their car and approaching his/her vehicle now, and I certainly won't be doing it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭bo-bo

long time lurker here, but anyway, my two cents:

Whenever I stop some one on the roadside i prefer them to remain in their car because i can maintain better control of the situation. not for egotistical reasons either, but rather for safety, efficient and effective discharge of my duties.

make of that what you will, i would imagine most of my colleagues think the same way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

I would think it safer if the person remains in the car.
    When a person automatically gets out of the car - all assertive or whatever to see why he's been pulled over... im half thinkin he's gonna kick off or do somethin stupid and the last thing you want is to be wrestling someone on a busy road.
    Like it was said - stayin in the car your safer - you can ask him to turn the car off - you can smell for alcohol etc and the chance of them discarding drugs are fewer as when someones out of the car they can walk around and they are harder to keep an eye on etc... There is no real need for them to be out of the car unless you want to talk to them about something discreetly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

For EVERYONES safety its best to go to the side of the road with both cars blocking you from oncoming traffic on a motorway. There are plenty of clips floating around showing a stop turning nasty because of a third party hitting one of the cars or persons.

The reason you should not do so until the Garda has approached you and agreed is for a few reasons:

A, Safety for you, when getting out of the car you could get wiped out by moving traffic as could the Garda. Lets avoid that.

B, The officer needs to be sure that your not a threat, people getting out could be and often are aggressive

C, You may have items in your posession or in the car which you may attempt to destroy or run from. Again, a common reason for people getting out of the car

D, While being completely innocent there may be a reason for the stop based on a recent report, the area, etc thats nothing to do with you and then we have B and C even more.

Whats the best way to handle a stop? Pretty simple, listen to what the person is saying. Be polite not aggressive or argumentative. If you want to get out of the car simple because you would rather deal with it that way, ask when the Garda gets to you. On a short stop its only wasting all our time but yeah, if your going to be there a while, I would have no problem with it. Remember, being friendly and polite will get you further than threats. Thats not just dealing with police but just in general.

Theres also a shift in attitudes, ten years ago you got a ticket or a lecture. A lot of people took the talking to and were happy enough with this as they avoided the ticket. To such an extent it was an acceptable way of dealing with things. Now were told, be polite regardless. If its a ticket give a ticket, if the person has a decent reason for their actions or just needs you to give them a break then go with a caution but in todays age, people will accept the ticket over the lecture more often than not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

andrewh5 wrote: »
    In the UK the police ask you to step out of your vehicle & move to the side of the road. It is for the safety of you and the cop.

People jumping out of the car when I approach makes me nervous and I deal with this accordingly.

As has been said, stay in the car, turn your ignition off, and keep your hands visible and don't go digging for documents etc before you're asked to.

Traffic stops are the most dangerous and unpredictable types of incident police deal with so listen to what you're asked and it should all run smooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Us guards are famous for our sense of humour.

When the guard asks you can you identify yourself, look in the rear-view mirror and say "yeah, that's me!"

If it's raining, take your time.:D

deadwood wrote: »
    Us guards are famous for our sense of humour.

When the guard asks you can you identify yourself, look in the rear-view mirror and say "yeah, that's me!"

If it's raining, take your time.:D

I would genuinely have to let them go if they came up with that cracker! :)

Is this car automatic?

Yes, but I still have to be here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Have to agree with the advice given so far. Stay in your car for your own safety and ours too. When I stop a car I sometimes reach back to get my cap and when I see the driver of the car half way to my car I do get wary. As has been said already stopping cars is a dangerous thing to do with passing traffic and you never know what type of person is inside the car you are stopping.

Also when pulling over make sure to pull over as far as you can to your left. I have started using the British Police method of leaving the patrol car about 3 feet further out on the road than the car I am stopping. This prevents me getting swiped in the arse by a wing mirror by using the patrol car as a type of shield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

gosh, it just goes to show... i was stopped once and automatically got out of the car, assumed that was the thing to do. i wasnt in any way obnoxious or aggressive, but just thought that it was polite to get out to talk to the garda. anytime ive driven past someone who was pulled over and seen a garda bending down to talk thru the window, ive always thought the driver was a rude f*cker!
    if im ever pulled over again (hopefully i wont be!) i'll stay put!

Here's a video highlighting some good practices relating to traffic stops, for officers, and it also illustrates what's being talked about on here.

TheNog wrote: »
    I have started using the British Police method of leaving the patrol car about 3 feet further out on the road than the car I am stopping. This prevents me getting swiped in the arse by a wing mirror by using the patrol car as a type of shield.

If this isn't being used by all patrol officers I can recommend it. As Nog says, its simply a matter of positioning your vehicle about 3 feet to the off-side of the suspect vehicle so as you are not pulled in directly behind it. When you exit your vehicle this then creates a safe corridor for you to walk along and engage the member of public whilst lessening the risk of getting hit by rubberneckers.

A dangerous stop:

And heres a case in point concerning staying in the car:

And finally, what NOT to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

that last one is ridiculous. cant believe someone would behave like that. i must have led a sheltered life!
    actually feel sorry for teh gardai, having to put up with that sh*ite during your day's work. and im sure thats just the tip of teh iceberg.

A dangerous stop

I think the officers involved here did really well. Unfortunate result that the female wound up getting stuck with the knife she was carrying but no officers or innocent members of the public were hurt, so good result.

And heres a case in point concerning staying in the car:

The car stopped was too far out so really bad idea to approach the drivers side. Should have went to the passenger side.
    sam34 wrote: »
    actually feel sorry for teh gardai, having to put up with that sh*ite during your day's work. and im sure thats just the tip of teh iceberg.

We don't get hassle all day, every day ye know. Something like this would happen once in a blue moon.

Mate, depends where you work ;)

And finally, what NOT to do
    Ah, he should've just given him the goddamn ticket.:D

metman wrote: »

Suppose I work in a nice sleepy town plus the fact I'm 6 foot and built like a brick ****house but hey I'm just full of puppy love.
    Ah, he should've just given him the goddamn ticket.:D

Sir will you just allow me to explain this to you :D

Suppose I work in a nice sleepy town plus the fact I'm 6 foot and built like a brick ****house but hey I'm just full of puppy love.

I knew it, I just knew it.... you guys DO get donnuts free?..

:p

Just kidding ya, I'm 6'3'' & 19st and get endless sh*t on my medicals & fitness tests, but I pass the BMI on the calipers so I'm good to go :P

But then I fight on the army Judo team and my days of running around 'The Glen are well behind me so being the lean, mean fighting machine image is well resigned to a distant memory!.

I think the officers involved here did really well. Unfortunate result that the female wound up getting stuck with the knife she was carrying but no officers or innocent members of the public were hurt, so good result.

I meant a dangerous stop in terms of what they encountered and what happened not that they performed the stop in a dangerous way. They did very well in dealing with it. Who expects a granny to ram you and then produce a knife???

Nog works in Stanford but Sergeant Angel hasnt show up yet! :D

If this isn't being used by all patrol officers I can recommend it. As Nog says, its simply a matter of positioning your vehicle about 3 feet to the off-side of the suspect vehicle so as you are not pulled in directly behind it. When you exit your vehicle this then creates a safe corridor for you to walk along and engage the member of public whilst lessening the risk of getting hit by rubberneckers.

So...What's the best position on this stretch of the M-thrifty?

irishroad3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

So...What's the best position on this stretch of the M-thrifty?

irishroad3.jpg
    Simple, drive on top of the bushes.Safety first now

Ian Beale wrote: »
    Simple, drive on top of the bushes.Safety first now
    I'd need the Branch car for that.

Boom! Boom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Mairt wrote: »
    You sound like me, assertive and it kills you to bow to authority?

Aren't you in the military? :p

I've never been pulled over, but I can see how getting out of the car could appear hostile/aggressive, so I personally shall stay put and only get out if asked to...

Dave! wrote: »
    Aren't you in the military? :p

Yes.

Mairt wrote: »
    Yes.
    Yes Sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Now get down and give me 20!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Reckon this falls into the 'What Not to Do' category.

http://humour.bluehaze.com.au/files/20081117_how_to_get_jail_time_fo.wmv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

tricky D wrote: »

haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

Its funny cos the guy was quite co-operative until BOOOOOOOOOOOM!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

tricky D wrote: »

oh my god! there are completely mad feckers in the world, arent there?!

You sound surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

I am! I'm probably a little naive, but what kind of loon does that?! I know its exceptional but jaysus! :eek: :rolleyes: :eek:

i-digress wrote: »
    I am! I'm probably a little naive, but what kind of loon does that?! I know its exceptional but jaysus! :eek: :rolleyes: :eek:

They are often refered to as 'citizens' or if your feeling elite 'motorists'.

However we should remember this happened in a country where the driver could legally have a number of firearms in the car for 'defence'. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

They are often refered to as 'citizens' or if your feeling elite 'motorists'.

However we should remember this happened in a country where the driver could legally have a number of firearms in the car for 'defence'. :rolleyes:

Garda: Why did you shoot him?

Man: Self defense.

Garda: Because...

Man: He gave me a ticket...