Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think this is acceptable???

• 17-11-2008 05:33PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

hi folks just looking for your opinion of something that is really bugging me, my girlfriend thinks its acceptable to strut around our house in her knickers and just a rugby jersey whilst her male friends are in the house i confronted her about this after a night out one sat night a few weeks ago and she seems to think its acceptable to do this in front of her male friends, she rarely ever does this when we,re on our own, like is she just doin it to show off or what coz this is the second time she,s done it in front of the same fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

if you trust her leave her off if you dont you should probably break up

im sure loads of people will reply telling you your right to be outraged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

hi folks just looking for your opinion of something that is really bugging me, my girlfriend thinks its acceptable to strut around our house in her knickers and just a rugby jersey whilst her male friends are in the house i confronted her about this after a night out one sat night a few weeks ago and she seems to think its acceptable to do this in front of her male friends, she rarely ever does this when we,re on our own, like is she just doin it to show off or what coz this is the second time she,s done it in front of the same fella

She can wear what she wants in her house, sounds like you're just a bit paranoid about her male friends. You're probably over reacting, nothing ends a relationship quicker then one half being excessively paranoid/demanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭bennyblanco

Personally I wouldnt be too happy about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

sounds like she's showing off a bit, if its just for this guy. if uv told her it upsets u, and she doesnt change, then she isnt showing u much respect. compromise is the name of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

If she doesn't do it in front of you then she is showing off. Some people might say that's grand as long as it doesn't lead to anything else. But I live with a girl who does the same thing and it turned out she wasn't doing it just to be comfortable around the house!

The fact that she doesn't do this all the time would bother me, if that was just the way she was all of the time and didn't feel like changing that because he friends were there then I wouldn't see a problem, but if she is doing it to get attention from one of her friends that that is just disrespectful to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

She is definitely trying to get this other guys attention, time to sit her down and have a chat or put your name on the back of the jersey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

No I don't think this is right, if it upsets you then she should stop doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

I think its completely inappropriate. However, I don't know if you have any rights to ask her to stop. You could just say you find it distasteful that she does this, like its bad manners, which it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

There is no way a girl would do this unless she

a- was showing off
    or
    b- was showing off

I'm a girl, and would not strut my knickers in front of any other fellas, it's just cheap!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

well she is clearly showing very little regard for your feelings. she is "getting them out for the boys"...i probably wouldnt be too impressed either...just fight back with something equally inappropriate that will get on her wick.... but if you're no oil painting there is probably no point in strutting around in your jocks when you have female callers....if its something that is really getting to you and she wont stop i'd say dump her and leave it to get it on with these lads (clearly what she wants) that she feels the need to parade around in a state of undress in front of.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

That is bang out of order, she doesn't do this when you're on your own together but she does it when a male friend comes over?

Completely unacceptable. She's definitely showing off, or purposely trying to make you jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

No shes being a twat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Buy her a nice long robe/dressing gown and ask her to wear it cos it looks so good on her.

While she might not appreciate being told how to behave or what to wear in her own house, the fact is that this is weird behaviour and I think you're right to be concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Yeah, and it's not down to laziness either, I mean how hard is it to throw on a pair of short or PJ bottoms ...

She's trying to impress someone and by the sounds of it, it's not you unfortunately! Leave her to her knickers and find someone with a bit of self respect! (edit: or a bit of respect for you)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

She is wearing a rugby jersey too, its not just knickers. Rugby jerseys are longer than alot of skirts are. Plus they are alot less attractive than some things she could be wearing.

If she was wearing a short skirt, and a top that showed alot of cleavage when she was at home would you also be complaining?

If its the only thing you have to worry about, then your not doing too badly tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

it is unacceptable, it shows a lack of awareness and respect both for you and the other visitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

If a guy (with a great body) was waltzing around in front on his other halfs friends, he'd either be called a sleazeball or an exhibitionist of some sort.

This girl is flashing the goods to her male friends... if she has so little respect for herself, how are you supposed to respect her?

You can do better. You know that. I'd say, lay it on the line to her, and if she doesn't change or doesn't want to, kick her to the kerb. Her loss.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Short answer? No.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

nay

she should at least listen and respect your opinions and both of you come to an agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

honestly, i would never do that. PJs is one thing but just knickers and a tshirt?nah,that's really not appropriate. Especially if she ONLY does it when her male friends are around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

honestly, i would never do that. PJs is one thing but just knickers and a tshirt?nah,that's really not appropriate. Especially if she ONLY does it when her male friends are around.

+100

Christ I'd be very uncomfy even in proper pjs in front of friends nevermind that

short answer no not acceptable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

I've been asked before to wear a vest top under a dress that was quite cleavagey by a bf. Thought it was possibly a bit silly as it wasn't as if I was going out to flash my boobs at people but as it was making him uncomfortable and as already said I wasn't wearing it to attract that that type of attention anyway I obliged as if something like that bothered me I'd hope they'd want to assuage my doubts too. If you've asked her in a respectful so as not to get her back up and then she still does it I wouldn't consider it unreasonable for you to be annoyed.

I can say it would bother me...

But not really i usd to live with a girl from oz who walked around naked in the house a lot...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

no

in original post it said it was the same male friend. nope!

id have a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

dump her...........sounds like trouble to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Was she wearing it before he came over?
    You say she rarely does it to you, twice in front of her friend sounds rarely enough to me.
    You really shouldn't talk about stuff like this after a night out, better wait until you're both sober. At least that's what I'd do. Just be calm and reasonable and she'll get the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

Pure show off! Sounds a bit desperate to be honest.

Have a word with her, if she wont stop, parade around in your tighty whiteys in front of her female friends and see how she likes it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Used to have a flatmate like that - she'd waltz around in a towel after showers, used to hop into the kitchen to get some water in her underwear before she went to bed that kind of thing. She only did it in front of me though, not any one else in the house. And she had a boyfriend.

Even once shouted out from the bathroom to me when I was going to the shop and asked me to pick her up shampoo. When I came back she had the bathroom door left open and was in the shower with a note left out for me to bring it in to her.

Needless to say her boyfriend wasn't high on her list of priorities then.

OP - she's looking for it or she just loves to flaunt it. Either way, she's trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    She'd waltz around in a towel after showers, used to hop into the kitchen to get some water in her underwear before she went to bed.

Why did she want to put water in her underwear before she went to bed? :D

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, Camera Obscura, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Neil Young/Van Morrison, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, The Doobie Brothers, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings (x2), Nerina Pallot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭missyb

Well if she wont do it when your around but does when your mate is there, I think its weird, put it this way if my boyfriend suddenly appeared a few times wearing his boxers in front of my friends,and was more covered when we were alone, I would find it really bizarre, and my friends wouldnt want to see it!They would think my boyfriend was a fool! Its odd that she would put you in this position, I wear what I want but I would find it laughable to do that in front of my boyfriends friends!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

Well, sounds completely out of order to me and I wouldn' have it, it's not normal behaviour. I'd ask her not to do it again and if she didn't comply I'd tell her to take a hike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

I might do this in front of my boyfriend as a comfort or hint hint its time for bed thing but no way i'd do it in front of any other man. I may do it in front of a female friend but i think its very rude and disrespectful to a boyfriend to behave this way towards another man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Papillon87

LolaDub wrote: »
    I might do this in front of my boyfriend as a comfort or hint hint its time for bed thing but no way i'd do it in front of any other man. I may do it in front of a female friend but i think its very rude and disrespectful to a boyfriend to behave this way towards another man.

In my opinion, totally inappropriate to be flashing one's wares for anyone other than a bf/gf. Call me a prude, just not something I'd ever be compelled to do. Pyjamas in front of female friends is about as close as I'd get!!:pac:

Especially sketchy considering she doesn't do it routinely around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭SIBHCHEVIE

Very strange, I'm a girl and most of my friends are males and its been this way for years and I would never walk around like that, PJ's is the extent of it and they wouldn't of been revealing either.

Does sound like attention seeking I must say especially when she doesn't even do it in front of you. I'd just ask her in a nice way to stop but don't say it to her on a night out again because she most likely won't listen and it will end up being a huge argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭smartypants

not yet wrote: »
    dump her...........sounds like trouble to me.

lol no messing with you is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

biko wrote: »
    Was she wearing it before he came over?
    You say she rarely does it to you, twice in front of her friend sounds rarely enough to me.
    You really shouldn't talk about stuff like this after a night out, better wait until you're both sober. At least that's what I'd do. Just be calm and reasonable and she'll get the point.
    no we were in the sitting room and she went up to our bedroom and came down just dressed in the ireland rugby jersey she claimed from me and her underwear, i said to her there and then to go put some pants on and was told to chill out by her. about a month earlier we were in amsterdam with her pals and i was walking around our apartment one morning in my boxers and was told by her to put some clothes on as her friends were coming up to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I wouldn't puy up with it.

I'm of the opnion the fact that she changed into them means she deliberately wanted the other guys to notice how sexy she is or least make you jealous.

Whether she wants one of them or just wants them to think she's hot is another issue.

She's perhaps losing interest in you/doesn't care about you, especially if you've asked her not to do it

I've been asked before to wear a vest top under a dress that was quite cleavagey by a bf. Thought it was possibly a bit silly as it wasn't as if I was going out to flash my boobs at people but as it was making him uncomfortable and as already said I wasn't wearing it to attract that that type of attention anyway I obliged as if something like that bothered me I'd hope they'd want to assuage my doubts too. If you've asked her in a respectful so as not to get her back up and then she still does it I wouldn't consider it unreasonable for you to be annoyed.

It's not just the idea others might hit on you. I wouldn't like it as I'd be embarrassed that people might think I'm going out with a tart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭MissThing

Oh for God sake would everybody just take a chill pill, and cut the girl some slack, she was wearing a man's rugby shirt (not offering the chap a lap dance), from what I know of them they're enormous garments - as big as a burka. There you are OP get her a burka - problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Troule is presumably she was showing off her legs and feet and to be honest that level of skin showing in front of other males is naive at best and deliberately enticing at worst. And of course showing her legs is a direct hint to the audience that there might be more available, whether she means it or not - although given the history it sounds like she knew exactly what she was doing.

It's either stupid or inappropriate - or most likely both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭unhappycamper

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Buy her a nice long robe/dressing gown and ask her to wear it cos it looks so good on her.

Good advice, I would have a major issue with guys looking at my girlfriends knickers and the shape of her bum and front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

MissThing wrote: »
    Oh for God sake would everybody just take a chill pill, and cut the girl some slack, she was wearing a man's rugby shirt (not offering the chap a lap dance), from what I know of them they're enormous garments - as big as a burka. There you are OP get her a burka - problem solved.

Thats the point I made a few pages back. A man's rugby jersey on a woman, will be like a f3cking tent. And I say it again, is also one of the most unattractive things a woman can wear.

Not alot to worry about,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

I think its more the below the waist attire that the op is concerned about :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭eveie

shes looking for attention!
    i lived with 2 girls and one of their boyfriends use to stay over alot, he would constantly walk around in his boxers when she wasnt there, it bugged the crap out of me and made me feel really uncomfortable.
    you need to tell her how you feel, its not as if we live in a hot country its bloody freezing.
    my advice but her a pair of long johns lol or else you should start walking around in your boxers in front of her female friends....see how she feels

MissThing wrote: »

If a girl was wearing just a rugby jersey I'd find it much more suggestive than a girl wearing a dress of the same length.

Don't know why, guess its just that clothing thats usually there isn't

Like the way seeing someone in their knickers in a changing room is far more suggestive than someone in bikini bottoms at a swimming pool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

syklops wrote: »
    Thats the point I made a few pages back. A man's rugby jersey on a woman, will be like a f3cking tent. And I say it again, is also one of the most unattractive things a woman can wear.

Not alot to worry about,

I often wear my OH football jerseys in bed(WITH pj bottoms i hasten to add!) and it would not cover my crotch!he's an average sized dude and i'd be a size 12, not a huge girl! seriously it would not cover me of i wore it with just pants, my arse would be hanging out for all to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Yup, just a rugby jersey is pretty sexy, most of the guys I know find a girl in just a jersey (football or rugby) to be very sexy.

Also we don't know that it was very big on her, some guys wear small sized ones. The fact she changed into it is weird to me. I would not act/ dress like that with my mates or my fellas mates. Wearing a skirt/shorts out is totally different. There is something much more...naughty or something about knickers and a jersey.

I wouldn't get any revenge if I were you OP, I would try talk to her once more, and then leave her go. 3 strikes and you're out. and it really seems like she wants to get into her mates pants.