Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

colm and jim jim's home run - WTF

• 17-11-2008 4:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭

What the hell is the deal with RTE. I mean who's the fool thats handing out the jobs around there. First of all they find it to subdue us to these two clowns extremly unfunny breakfast show on the radio. And how does RTE reward this pair of these mongo's? They give them a one hour slot on Sunday evening with the worst game show ever. Id soon have them bring back Where in the World with Theresa Lowe!!!

And not only now can we just be tomrmented by their voices, but now we have faces to put to the voices aswell!! One of them looks like Gerry Ryan on a cocaine binge after stealing one of Noel Edmunds shirts and the other looks like Peter Kay with a really bad perm!!!! Come on RTE you saddle us every year with your license fee's, i think you can do a bit better than that!!!!

who's with me on atomic wedgies for the people responsible for this!!! i'l hire a crane!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

TV forum is thataway
    >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

You talk about Where in The World like there was something wrong with it.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Agreed. There is alot of talented comedians out there that would jump at a chance to make a TV show, yet they just re-hash stale ideas and personalities.

If I actually paid my TV licience I'd lodge a complaint...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

TV forum is thataway
    >

lets send him the right way at least,

that way

<============

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

TV forum is thataway
    >

From After Hours it's actually to the left and not the right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

If I actually paid my TV licience I'd lodge a complaint...

QFT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

Pedantic!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Its Brutal! i mean they have the Faces for Radio not Tv :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

whos cares what way it is - i want to meet that man who rammed his car into the front of RTE studios and shake that mans hand!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭nhughes100

Agreed, utter rubbish. Over excited crowd no doubt due to cheap wine before hand, camera angle switches every 5 seconds because the show is so fast paced and exciting, crap jokes, 2 guys with a style sense for radio(wearing runners with a suit jacket, nice one jim jim) wtf do you know called jim jim anyway? I thought the nation had copped on that Mario was the guy that made their show on radio funny? could anyone actually figure out the point&format of the show ?Just replay reeling in the years please RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭meboloxitis

I'm with you Stevo.....

Robbin Basta**s :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

It's thanks to idiots like this and their ilk, I now have a rather good collection of DVDs and Books! So it's not all bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

stevoman wrote: »
    What the hell is the deal with RTE. I mean who's the fool thats handing out the jobs around there. First of all they find it to subdue us to these two clowns extremly unfunny breakfast show on the radio. And how does RTE reward this pair of these mongo's? They give them a one hour slot on Sunday evening with the worst game show ever. Id soon have them bring back Where in the World with Theresa Lowe!!!

And not only now can we just be tomrmented by their voices, but now we have faces to put to the voices aswell!! One of them looks like Gerry Ryan on a cocaine binge after stealing one of Noel Edmunds shirts and the other looks like Peter Kay with a really bad perm!!!! Come on RTE you saddle us every year with your license fee's, i think you can do a bit better than that!!!!

who's with me on atomic wedgies for the people responsible for this!!! i'l hire a crane!

That was the charades thing with Derek Davis and Twink wasn't it?

Two words!
    *makes film camera motion*
    A FIL-EM, ITS A FIL-EM!

edit: Ah no, it was called Play the Game. Bring it back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Seen it last night, and just like their radio show - its complete and utter bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Ruu wrote: »
    That was the charades thing with Derek Davis and Twink wasn't it?

Two words!
    *makes film camera motion*
    A FIL-EM, ITS A FIL-EM!

No thats was another show but i cant think of the name of it for the life of me!! but thanks for the horrible memories! now gerry ryans programme secrets is coming back into my mind aswell. terrible!

edit - play the game - thanks that would have drove me mad all evening trying to remember it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Stevoman wrote:
    One of them looks like Gerry Ryan on a cocaine binge after stealing one of Noel Edmunds shirts and the other looks like Peter Kay with a really bad perm!!!!

lmao spot on.
    stevoman wrote: »
    whos cares what way it is - i want to meet that man who rammed his car into the front of RTE studios and shake that mans hand!!!

I want to meet him and furnish him with a sturdier car and the formula for homemade nitro-glycerine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think that Pat Kenny must have insisted on this pair of twats being employed by RTE on the grounds that they make him look good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Look at all the adoring comments about the show on Quim-Quim Nugent's bebo page:

http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=3519039922&MID=2917502090

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

he heh heh.... bustin my bollix laughin at the wasted effort of those trying to fook some reality into RTE.

Listen lads an' lassies.... those muhahas's out in Montrose have things all sewn up.

Recession!! What recession?

Any job losses? No

Any reduction in salary No

Only whim to the licence payer is perhaps a look at "expenditure" and programme making,none of them RTE staffers you can be assured:cool:

So.. blow you tempest,blow your gales and storms against my fragile bark,do your damndest ye fiery winds and burning sun to fry my beams, and winter ice shall freeze my flanks.

Won't make fcuk all difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Proof if proof were needed that 99% of the inhabitants of bebo are retards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Where in the World!?!?! Forget that, bring back Arthur Murphy's Mailbag or Garda Patrol before putting these two insufferable freaks in front of a TV camera. Couldn't agree more, an absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

he heh heh.... bustin my bollix laughin at the wasted effort of those trying to fook some reality into RTE.

Listen lads an' lassies.... those muhahas's out in Montrose have things all sewn up.

Recession!! What recession?

Any job losses? No

Any reduction in salary No

Oh really?
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1106/1225893546896.html
    Only whim to the licence payer is perhaps a look at "expenditure" and programme making,none of them RTE staffers you can be assured:cool:

So.. blow you tempest,blow your gales and storms against my fragile bark,do your damndest ye fiery winds and burning sun to fry my beams, and winter ice shall freeze my flanks.

Won't make fcuk all difference.

Can't believe you of all people quoted Shakespeare (right?) without mentioning "crack your cheeks".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Bring back Glenroe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Tago Mago wrote: »
    Bring back Glenroe

:eek: Oh Holy God

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

javaboy wrote: »
    Oh really?
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1106/1225893546896.html

Can't believe you of all people quoted Shakespeare (right?) without mentioning "crack your cheeks".

Apologies to Willie Shakesperare, just made up that stuff myself.

I see your point but all very vague,apart from presumably the senior managers.

Nobody will walk out into Nutley Lane with a P45 in their paw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Tago Mago wrote: »
    Look at all the adoring comments about the show on Quim-Quim Nugent's bebo page:

http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=3519039922&MID=2917502090

I tried leaving a full and frank comment but apparently that page only allows comments from friends. Which explains the gathering of idiots that are posting to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 riverbarrow

rubbish i will not watch it again.sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I'm sure we could sell the format to the Americans..... Colm and Jim Jim doing their bit for the recession :D

I tried leaving a full and frank comment but apparently that page only allows comments from friends. Which explains the gathering of idiots that are posting to it.

The answer to this is to set up a bebo page calling for them to be taken off air, and you can sign and leave as many comments as you want!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Once you get a foot in the door in RTE you can't go far wrong, it's a closed shop, you'll never see new talent here, it's the same old s*ite year after year. That said, I haven't spent much time watching or listening to RTE and will spend a lot less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

These two clowns should be lined up and shot. The joke is on them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Bring back Hall's Pictorial Weekly
    oh yeah and Wanderly Wagon while you are at it

Aidric wrote: »
    These two clowns should be lined up and shot. The joke is on them.

Au Contraire Rodney, the fu*kin joke is one us 'cos we are paying for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

I'm gonna get burned here but let me guess.... you all work for or have worked with the two lads and your all jelaous. Yes that's it...pure and utter jealousy. Typical Irish nonsense stab in the back rubbish.

I enjoyed it and it wasn't bad. Are you gonna tell me its worse than spin the wheel??:o

At least its Irish and for once it might be a format that may travel to many countries.

Oh I love Boards:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Onkle wrote: »
    You talk about Where in The World like there was something wrong with it.....

"Mind you, the prizes are utter sh*te"

bbability wrote: »
    I'm gonna get burned here but let me guess.... you all work for or have worked with the two lads and your all jelaous. Yes that's it...pure and utter jealousy. Typical Irish nonsense stab in the back rubbish.

I enjoyed it and it wasn't bad. Are you gonna tell me its worse than spin the wheel??:o

At least its Irish and for once it might be a format that may travel to many countries.

Oh I love Boards:D

Never worked with or met either of these two gimps. Not jealous either, just calling the situation for what it clearly is, two absolute fu*khounds in front of a camera doesn't pass for entertainment imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭rowlandbrowner

At least its Irish

racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

It being Irish doesn't qualify it to be good television. At all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭camel toe

typical irish begrudgery. saying the show is ****e is one thing and true but some of u absolute freaks on here are takin it a step too far.

fair play to them i say. on fm104 they wer great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

It made feel ill watching it. It's really bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

I watched it with my sister (she had actually been at the recording of it).

She made very strange moaning and groaning sounds the whole way through it. I think it was making her ill too - or at the very least it was not a pleasant experience for her having to watch it again on TV after seeing it originally when it was being filmed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

****e radio program, haven't seen them on tv but I don't need to by the sound of things here. Sarcasm is supposed to be the lowest form of wit but these 2 disprove that.
    Pair of tossers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fizzlepurplefuz

I actually registered with boards last nite just so i could give out about this show :)
    I have followed colm and jim jim down through the years when they were on fm104. I have to say they were much better, put more effort into their work and got away with a hell of a lot more.
    When they decided to join 2fm i wasn't sure for a few reasons 1: Everything would be watered down 2: They have no control over whats been played and 3:they wouldn't slag off the people we had become so used to ie the people of rte cos now they were their colleagues.
    Over a year has passed now since they joined 2fm and i'm sorry to say its getting worse every day :(
    And now they've given them their own tv show.... I'm sorry lads you've sold out and yer show is dire. Its like something you would see eoghan mclove do in father ted.
    Anyhoo to those who were confused by the show the concept wasn't actually that bad and i bet if it was taken up by say the british(cause in fairness they do do an alright saturday nite prime time deely thing) they'd probably would have done it better....Anyhoo 5 people in the wings waiting for their chance of the big bucks......The "drop the prop" comes down from the wings where one of the 5 comes down from the......actually i'm tired of this now and couldn't be bothered finishing it.....its too long winded...sorry confused people.....Colm and jim jim go back to where you belong.....that is fm104 and change dougie highlife back to Gavin for gawds sake :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Light Entertainment ain't been the same on Radio Telefis Eireann since Mart and Market, Cross Country Quiz and Quicksilver :(

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I liked the part where the guy almost choked to death on the donut

mike65 wrote: »
    Light Entertainment ain't been the same on Radio Telefis Eireann since Mart and Market, Cross Country Quiz and Quicksilver :(

Mike

You forgot 'Going Strong' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Is it just me or is there a direct correlation between the use of text speak, a complete absence of grammar and the positive comments regarding the show on Jim-Jim's bebo page and here in this thread?

Darragh29 wrote: »
    The answer to this is to set up a bebo page calling for them to be taken off air, and you can sign and leave as many comments as you want!

I think I will :D