Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****ing garmin ad on the radio!

• 17-11-2008 11:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭

i hate you, die die die! whos with me?

Give-a give-a give-a Garmin? 11 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    100% 11 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Which ad is this now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

"Give a Give a Garmin". Im not too pressed about that one.

Its the Sirocco Volkswagen ad with the woman and the baby. I want to murder her at the end with the stupid baby voices.

http://www.giveagarmin.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

What about the scottish langer with a bit of a fetish for vienetta. Im boycotting ice cream over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭vodkadub

"Give a Give a Garmin". Im not too pressed about that one.

Its the Sirocco Volkswagen ad with the woman and the baby. I want to murder her at the end with the stupid baby voices.

http://www.giveagarmin.co.uk/

+1 drives me mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Now it's in my head. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

give a give a give a gaaaaaaaaaaaaarmin.

Well, thanks. My brain latches on to stuff like this. I will officially be head wrecked for the day.:(

I had that 'fitzzzzzzzpatriiiiiick' f*cking ad on the radio stuck in my head for literally months. 'we'l have the kettle on and some lollipops for the kids' aaaaaagghh. You'd only know it if you're in Dublin - think they're some furniture place on the long mile road.

Or that 'right price tiles' one. With that f*cking eejit 'dave' and the 'monkeh'!! JAyyysssssis

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Both the Gamrin and Vienetta adds wreck my brain...that scottish accent bores a hole in my skull :mad:

FFS, tks for mentioning the Chirocco Nolan add...more insanity!!!

The ad that irritates me is the Mespil Hotel with the cultchie accents.

The end of the ad says something like "whats your excuse for coming to Dublin?".

Excuse, did we do something wrong? Do we need permission? I just said "you pail fvcks" at the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

vodkadub wrote: »

I'm with you all the way.. the most annoying ad on the radio

Die Die Die !!!!

the part that annoys me is "lane assist" arggggggghhhhhhhhhhh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I take it nobodys heard the ad for "Celtic Woman" yet then.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Or hows about "Killllldayyyyre Villllagggggge, ya gotta come seeee ittttt". eufff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Beecnmount home park navan.

Eddie rocketts all the way.

Autoglass repair, autoglass replace.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

lalala lane assist something something lane assist
    LANE ASSIST

LLLAAAAAANNNNEEEEE ASSSISTTTTTSTSTSTTS!!"!!"£ SADFSDJVAJSMGHJtkw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Both the Gamrin and Vienetta adds wreck my brain...that scottish accent bores a hole in my skull :mad:

FFS, tks for mentioning the Chirocco Nolan add...more insanity!!!

I hate all those adds.

that mint vienetta add drives me effing crazy!!! christ!!

I also hate that add for broadband with the american guy.

"broadband delivered tomorrow. guaranteed"

I hate that american guy!!!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

The ad that irritates me is the Mespil Hotel with the cultchie accents.

The end of the ad says something like "whats your excuse for coming to Dublin?".

Excuse, did we do something wrong? Do we need permission? I just said "you pail fvcks" at the radio.

My keen perception is telling me that there is a lot of anger on boards.ie today.

Why is this? I know its a wet Monday but some of you are going to die young because of all this hate.

If an advert on the radio annoys you, change the station.

Peace and love brothers....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I know not of this ad you speak of.

Thank ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

BRING BACK BARRY SCOTT!!!!!!

ejmaztec wrote: »
    BRING BACK BARRY SCOTT!!!!!!

ha ha

the remix of that on you tube is hilarious!

look what it did to the penny!! look what it did to the penny!! look what it did to the penny!! look what it did to the penny!! ( said really fast obviously) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

The right price tiles ad with the gay sounding guy - hate them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

I just turn over to another station, no programme on the radio is good enough to compensate me for the iritation I feel when I hear that idiotic voice. It has started me changing station whenever I hear an even remotely iritating ad.

If the next station has ads, even non-iritating ones, the momentum of the previous ad carried me all the way through to mp3 - no ads there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

SheroN wrote: »
    Autoglass repair, autoglass replace.

At least they got rid of that Dublin muppet who sounded like he needs his methadone fix "ottoglass will fix ind repaaaair iit roight"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭floyd333

Thank God it's not just me. I fill up with rage whenn I hear that add .... Seriously there should be a law against these fu€k1n adds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

oh god oh god oh god oh god oh god..

Sometimes glad my radio doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Garmin had an equally atrocious ad on last year. However, it was the Guinness Cork Jazz Festival ad on a couple of weeks ago that really got my goat.

"This is Trumpet..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

OP if you feel like comminting suicide check out the ad for it aired in america. it was about three christmases ago when i was living there and the ad reached saturation point on the television. im sure if you youtube it you'l find it. enjoy your enraged death!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Those shitey smart arse radio ads about going to the local pub. More reason to despise the LVA.

stovelid wrote: »
    Those shitey smart arse radio ads about going to the local pub. More reason to despise the LVA.

+1 i'd love to punch him in the side of the head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Bring back that three-year-old saying "DG Opel on the Cabra Road"... I think they had every three-year-old in the city saying it at some point.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

That Garmin ad is an assault on my hearing, it's way too christmasy. Mind you of that wasn't bad enough they've started to play christmas music in work, heard the god awful fairytale of new york for the first time(this year) yesterday.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

stovelid wrote: »

Yeah both the Vinters ads and the Garmin ad are on a par of insanity. The Vinters ad is encouraging all sorts of wrong behaviour!

Give a, give a, give a give it a shagging break Garmin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

Tell them Marian sent ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Garmin had an equally atrocious ad on last year.

I thought so too, but they've totally outdone themselves this year. I hated last years but it's positvely angelic sounding compared to this mouthy yank c*nt who need's a box to tell her how to change lanes.

BTW folks there is a thread completely commited to radio ads that annoy you over in the radio forum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

Tri wrote: »
    I had that 'fitzzzzzzzpatriiiiiick' f*cking ad on the radio stuck in my head for literally months. 'we'l have the kettle on and some lollipops for the kids' aaaaaagghh.

You've just put it right back into my head. Why did I read this thread, I knew nothing good would come of it!!! The kettle on and some lollipops for the kids - I laugh at that now, how fuppin cheesey is that!

@quirke_folder - thank you for that YouTube clip. I think I just had a mild stroke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I'm with ya. Hate that ****in ad.
    I'll be right there - just popping to the shop first to get myself one of those GPS satnav thingys...

I would have loved to be there when the came up with the concept for that ad, I would have punched the person right in the side of the head and said Oi you NOOOO!

Ebonyellie wrote: »
    Tell them Marian sent ye

ha ha

ray foley on today fm sent ann gleeson (another today fm worker) into a fuji store in dublin and she had to say that marian sent her.

twas quite funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Something on Foley's show was funny? Now you're just being ridiculous...

Wertz wrote: »
    Something on Foley's show was funny? Now you're just being ridiculous...

erm yes..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I will never, EVER buy a Garmin product because of that ****ing ad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

sorrywhat wrote: »
    ha ha

ray foley on today fm sent ann gleeson (another today fm worker) into a fuji store in dublin and she had to say that marian sent her.

twas quite funny

I dont get it? :confused::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 mr-aido

talaght talaght ford 00111100 sumtin like that ahahahha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Ziggurat

I haven't seen the Garmin ad since last year (I think it was on last year) but I do like Carol of the Bells.
    Now Harvey Norman, there's an ad that makes me want to tear my penis off in anger.
    mr-aido wrote: »
    talaght talaght ford 00111100 sumtin like that ahahahha

"TAAAAALAAAAAAAAGHT, TALAGHT FOOOOOOOOORD!"

Hate that ad too.

Quinine wrote: »
    I haven't seen the Garmin ad since last year (I think it was on last year) but I do like Carol of the Bells.
    Now Harvey Norman, there's an ad that makes me want to tear my penis off in anger.

"TAAAAALAAAAAAAAGHT, TALAGHT FOOOOOOOOORD!"

Hate that ad too.

Harvery Norman doesn't bother me, just that cnut saying lane assist over and over makes me want to pull out my hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

This is one of the things that I will do if I win the lotto:

Buy 100 radios
    Buy a shotgun
    Buy 100 shotgun shells

* I think you can see what I have in mind *

I would put the frist radio on, load the shotgun, and wait.

When one of those ads come on - FIRE - end of radio.

Repeat 99 more time. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

If I was lost in the Serengetti desperate, thirsty and half dead and I found a Garmin I would fcuk it away rather than use it. Any company who thinks that a sh1te ditty like their current one will endear customers to the product have lost the plot. If the add is sh1te then maybe the satnav aint much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rhapsody!

The right price tiles ad with the gay sounding guy - hate them

i hate it too lol.
    he played the guy who likes jumpers and cake in father ted..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

I always change over when i hear an ad i hate. If stations want to play crappy ads im not going to listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

When will the torture end?? Guantanamo brought to you, in the comfort of your car.

Nearly crashed the other day in my rush to change the channel when it came on. Had the nasty experience of it being played on the radio station I changed to also :mad: