Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today, I got laid

• 13-11-2008 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭

..Off

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Bummer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

two getting let go in my place too. Thankfully I am safe till March at least :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭Sea Devils

Unfortunate

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Hard luck.
    Stay positive.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Yeah. But not HIV positive. Probably a good thing you didnt get laid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Thats sad

No seriously, chin up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

What? Who had sex now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Yes, lol at clever use of title and ironic delivery of alternate thread context.

Well done, sorry to hear about the job.

Have a thanks on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

My best friend's mam is getting laid off within the next two weeks. She's a single parent, it's gonna be tough

This is a thread that deserves the spawning of yet more parody threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Stinger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Everyone including my myself where we work got a 3 day week:( About 18-20 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

7 people in my place got let go....but I'm not one of them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

jj99 wrote: »
    ..Off

thats a load a bollix:eek:.I thought you sank the banana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I got laid on.

It hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

:mad:my job aint safe they reckon december 2009 and im gone

Will it be the leprosy or the Septicness that takes you in the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Must be time to start scanning those €50 notes again. That half-blind lady in the corner-shop could do with upping her turnover a tad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Jaysus, that's nice of them! They gave you a years notice? :rolleyes:

Yeah. But not HIV positive. Probably a good thing you didnt get laid.

i see what you did there... very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭camel toe

**** ONE

lmao

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Jobs are overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

You are all just in the wrong industry. I got a 34% payrise two weeks ago, w00t recession!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i am waiting to hear if i am going to be the 1/3 of my company which will be let go christmas week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

I got let off too, next friday's my last day. its all good though, casue after a few months of bumming around im jetting off to Australia to travel for a year :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

My job is a solid as a tumor. I couldnt get fired if I wanted to (and I've tried)

So f*ck yous all

/middle finger

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,259 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

You are all just in the wrong industry. I got a 34% payrise two weeks ago, w00t recession!
    What do you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Crivens, that's a big bucket of crap OP.

I work in the belly of the beast, only way I can get sacked is if it shits me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

jmccrohan wrote: »
    What do you do?

Pawnbroker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

javaboy wrote: »
    Pawnbroker.

You sell chess pieces?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 macaroni+cheese

my hours have been reduced. i could find a part time job to supplement, but seriously, when would i get a chance to live? that and my husband wants to find a new job. good luck to him. i suggest being a gigalo, but i dont think he would have many clients, bless him. life in this country is getting difficult, to say the least. at least i dont work for dunnes stores...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

javaboy wrote: »
    Pornbroker.

Fixed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Sorry to hear that OP! Head down to your local dole office and hand in a CV, cos they're gonna need all the staff they can get over the next few years!

I was thinking of quitting my PT job recently, but now I'm thinking I'd be mad to do it... I wouldn't get another job for feckin ages! It's probably only a matter of time before they start cutting down on staff anyway. Hopefully it's LIFO :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

we are all f*cked to be honest!!!!!

What do you do?

Cookie tester:pac:

What do you do?

Seriously though, work as part of financial control for a large multinational

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Hmmm, now the other thread made more sense!

faceman wrote: »
    Hmmm, now the other thread made more sense!

eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

my hours have been reduced. i could find a part time job to supplement, but seriously, when would i get a chance to live? that and my husband wants to find a new job. good luck to him. i suggest being a gigalo, but i dont think he would have many clients, bless him. life in this country is getting difficult, to say the least. at least i dont work for dunnes stores...

What's going on with Dunnes?:confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

moco wrote: »
    What's going on with Dunnes?:confused:

They are outsourcing the Cereal lanes to India. You have to go to India to buy your Corn Flakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Aw sorry to hear that OP :(

Fortunately I know I won't be laid off any time soon - because I don't have a job. One of the perks of being a student!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I started a new job yesterday.

I rock. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

As I sit and read this I realise I should be working and possibly the boss is watching.

My car parked outside the door has a permanently on tracking device so the F**K knows where I am.

Im last in so during the Jan shake up Im sure to be first out. The next guy after me is there 14 years. Damn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

And to make it worse I got a letter this morning from the ESB saying that due to rising global oil prices and the costs of wages in general they are regrettably turning off the light at the end of the tunnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

As I sit and read this I realise I should be working and possibly the boss is watching.

My car parked outside the door has a permanently on tracking device so the F**K knows where I am.

Im last in so during the Jan shake up Im sure to be first out. The next guy after me is there 14 years. Damn!

Yeah but if you off him, then you stay right???

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

jj99 wrote: »
    Today i got laid..Off

I dedicate this Recession Song to you good sir (or madam)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 infacta

Mackman wrote: »
    I got let off too, next friday's my last day. its all good though, casue after a few months of bumming around im jetting off to Australia to travel for a year :D

Today is my last day then out off this crap hopefully for good goin to oz have a job and all so see yeah suckers :)

infacta wrote: »
    Today is my last day then out off this crap hopefully for good goin to oz have a job and all so see yeah suckers :)

Hard luck buddy.
    Hope you get your parole soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 infacta

Hard luck buddy.
    Hope you get your parole soon.

Parole that would involve being in prison getting free food free accomodation but unfortunitly not my cup of tea plus i aint one for the spooning