Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hate porridge...

• 12-11-2008 9:49am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭

Quick question - maybe it should be in the nutrition forum but Ill put it here for the moment and please move if needs be. Thanks.

Ive been part of a running club for the last year and while I had no particular desire to change my body shape as it was more of a years of smoking damage control kick I was on, Ive noticed Ive dropped a few pounds with definate toning.

So Ive decided that I want to now start to lose some of the weight that Ive been carrying....not a huge ammount, maybe a stone and a half. That would do me grand. Ive no aspirations to be a size zero - size 10 will do me grand.

Anyway, heres the thing. Everytime I read about nutrition in here - regular lurker :) - its all about the porridge! and I cant tell you how much I HATE porridge. I hate everything about it. The taste :eek: The consistency :eek: the look of it :eek: the way it slops off the spoon :eek: I could go on a porridge hating rampage :)

So are there any alternatives to porridge? Ready Brek falls into the same category. Room 101 for all cereals except Special K choc and strawberry.

Dos anyone have a bar recipie that I could use oats in and eat it that way for breakfast? Or some way of cooking that doesnt involve a slurping sound? Or even a breakfast suggestion that doesnt involve porridge but will keep me going till the afternoon. Im on building sites a bit and cant always get to the shop or the fridge.

Thanks for any help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Dellgirl2 wrote: »
    Anyway, heres theh thing. Eerytime I read about nutrition in here - regular lurker :) - its all about the porridge! and I cant tell you how much I HATE porridge. I hate everything about it. The taste :eek: The consistency :eek: the look of it :eek: the way it slops off the spoon :eek: I could go on a porridge hating rampage :)

Blasphemy! :p
    You can get flaxseed and sprinkle it on it. Or even a drop of honey. Or sliced fruit too. Lots of possibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Sloppy porridge (Duuurty), what way are you making it traditional pot method ?

I put in a little water, stick it on the microwave for about a minute lob in some fruit/nuts whatever and consume. Its more dry that way, still doesn't do anything for the taste but the additions mask it somewhat.

If you really don't like it find yourself something else. You'll make yourself sick of it fast if you force yourself to eat it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

Blasphemy!
    You can get flaxseed and sprinkle it on it. Or even a drop of honey. Or sliced fruit too. Lots of possibilities.
    Sloppy porridge (Duuurty), what way are you making it traditional pot method ?

I put in a little water, stick it on the microwave for about a minute lob in some fruit/nuts whatever and consume. Its more dry that way, still doesn't do anything for the taste but the additions mask it somewhat.

If you really don't like it find yourself something else. You'll make yourself sick of it fast if you force yourself to eat it.

Ive tried everything! I still hate it! Im not looking for recipies to make it palatable Im looking for an alternative! Im never putting that muck near my mouth again....I get stressed even thinking about it. :eek:

What about musleis? Hah! I cant even spell it. Museli? Are there any good brands that arent packed with sugar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

You do not have to make porridge from the oats. Museli is just uncooked porridge oats with dried fruit & nuts. You can make your own version, using fresh fruit is more filling.

I just mix in unflavoured whey powder with coconut flour and oats & cold milk. I used to mix maple syrup with a tiny bit of milk, then add more milk and oats, and nothing else.

You can also make pancakes with the oats, just get any old pancake recipie and replace the wheat flour with oats, then liquidise it up. You can buy oat flour in some health stores, or else blend up dry whole oat flakes and make your own flour. If you make up a lot of thick batter you can make crumpet/thick pancakes, then you can store these or freeze them and stick them in the toaster each morning.
    Museli? Are there any good brands that arent packed with sugar?
    I see flanhavans Hi-8 recommended a lot. If there is too much sugar, nuts etc, just get regular porridge oats and mix half n half to "dilute" the sugars down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

I wouldn't worry so much it's not the be all and end all. I can't stand it myself, or muesli. If I put a spoon of it in my mouth it just sits there. My stomach refuses to accept it. Horrible horrible stuff.

I usually eat something egg based for breakfast anyhoo. Usually scrambled eggs, some kind of fruit, maybe toast and a pint or more of milk. People will say how porridge keeps you full for longer but that's kinda being accepted as a bad thing with other foods so I don't know why it's good with porridge. It's actually much better to be hungry every two hours or so and to have a smaller meal then.

Just don't eat anything with too much sugar. After that I don't think it makes a difference, people can tend to over-analyze what they eat if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Yeah Porridge sucks hairy biker balls, Ready Brek rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Baldie

I add some sugar to kill the taste. It's actually not that bad then! You can also buy a tin of pears and throw some of them in with some of the juice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

Cant stand the sight or taste of porridge myself,tried mixing it with other things but still get that dull sloppy taste,ive switched to eating cardboard for more taste.....porridge is EVIL!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I make porridge with water and mix it with goji berries, I think it's tolerable. Why don't you chuck some oats in the blender and whizz it up with fat free yoghurt and some strawberries? It'll be kind of like oaty strawberry milkshake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

OP, if you dont like porrige, dont eat it

You'll never stick to a good diet if you hate it from the get go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

Well its not like porridge is some sort of magic food! Anything like muesli, granola, and god forbid even weetabix or shredded wheat will be ok.

Just watch out for high sugar and salt content. In particular you want to buy good quality cereals that don't have lots of "filler" ingredients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Here in the land of porridge eaters(scotland) they make it with lots and lots of salt i mean so salty all you can taste is fekin salt.
    Myself, i love the stuff drop of milk microwave just until warm and scoop of whey yummy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 whut_cohen

Traditional porridge made with water and salt is awful! However if you make it with milk I find it lovely and creamy. It's even nicer if you use some raisins too.
    Kelkin do a very tasty muesli and there are three varietie. I tend to alternate between porridge, muesli and eggs throughout the week so I never get tired of breakfast.

I wouldn't worry so much it's not the be all and end all. I can't stand it myself, or muesli. If I put a spoon of it in my mouth it just sits there. My stomach refuses to accept it. Horrible horrible stuff.

I couldnt have said it better myself:)

I put in a little water, stick it on the microwave for about a minute lob in some fruit/nuts whatever and consume. Its more dry that way, still doesn't do anything for the taste but the additions mask it somewhat
    Yeah Porridge sucks hairy biker balls,
    I add some sugar to kill the taste
    Cant stand the sight or taste of porridge myself,tried mixing it with other things but still get that dull sloppy taste,ive switched to eating cardboard for more taste.....porridge is EVIL!!

Well its not like porridge is some sort of magic food!

And there was me thinking I was in some sort of porridge worshipping forum! Does ANYONE actually like the stuff? We have one person below who says they love it ...but thats it! Why put yourself throught he misery of eating it if you dont like it?

Myself, i love the stuff drop of milk microwave just until warm and scoop of whey yummy.
    I find it lovely and creamy
    I think it's tolerable

Ye would be the only people who would even stand a chance in the Matrix. Porridge ruined that film for me. Now I know I can never take the blue (or red...whichever) pill as Id have to shovel that disgusting gruel into me to survive. :(

The whizzing up into pancake batter...now thats what Im talking about! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Jonny303

I picked up some "Bran Muesli" in Holland and barrat at the weekend. Far tastier than the normal stuff and ALOT less pain in your jaw from chewing! Cant remember how much it was but around €3 for a 1kg bag!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

I loooooves poridge,

I make it with wheatgerm and honey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Eat something else maybe? Just a thought...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

kevpants wrote: »
    My stomach refuses to accept it. Horrible horrible stuff
    The most vile creation in the history of humanity.

I haven't eaten it since I was old enough to say 'no' and get away with it!

Yuck!

(I feel ill typing this).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Ah its luffly

made in a saucepan [none o this microwave jazz]
    with milk, and some water, then mix in a scoop of jam!

numnumnumnumnum :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Are there any good brands that arent packed with sugar?

The sugar content can be from natural sugars (e.g. in raisins). Just check the ingredients list and make sure there isn't added sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

I hate lumpy porridge, ooey and gooey and cold
    I especially hate the rubbery bits, I wonder would it be bold
    to bury it in the garden, where nobody could see
    not such a great idea
    I'd grow a lumpy porridge tree!

dun da dun da dun dun da dun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Porridge + strawberry yoghurt + vanilla whey = my staple post-training supper for weeks now.

OP porridge isn't the be-all-an-end-all, it just ticks a lot of the boxes for good nutrition (low-GI complex carbs, low fat, high fibre).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭UsedtobePC

Quick recipe for making porridge Mexican style:

Boil a cinnamon stick in water, add the porridge and cook until the consistence is right for you (can be as watery or sticky as you want it). Just before removing from the cooker, add a spoonful of honey. Serve with sliced banana or raisins. Pretty yum!

Eat something else maybe? Just a thought...

But what? What food is going to give me all the wonder benifits of poridge, is as easy to make and keeps you full and warm. Scrambeled eggs are all good but I cant have them everyday. Id be the size of a house! :(
    I hate lumpy porridge, ooey and gooey and cold
    I especially hate the rubbery bits, I wonder would it be bold
    to bury it in the garden, where nobody could see
    not such a great idea
    I'd grow a lumpy porridge tree!

Is this some well know nursery rhyme my folks cleverly kept hidden from me?

THe Mexican recipie sounds nice in theory. Thanks. Ill do the cinnamon bit in the pancakes at the weekend.

Scrambeled eggs are all good but I cant have them everyday. Id be the size of a house! :(

What makes you say that? I eat scrambled eggs each morning and I'm losing weight at a rate of knots.

I thought eggs are fattenning no? Maybe Im totally wrong? I run 3 times a week for 5k at a time. Im not sure thats enough to shake 3 eggs every morning off my tail though.

What are you training for g'em? Ive done the odd 10 k run (and nearly expired because I ran it). I seem to run aimlessy with no end goal in sight. I run with a group once a week and the other two times on my own....and to cap it all off I cant find the charge cable for my nano so Im running to the sound of ....me...and Im not the most inspirational soundtrack ever made. :)

I thought eggs are fattenning no? Maybe Im totally wrong?
    Eggs aren't inherently fattening - too many eggs, much like too much of any food, can be fattening though.

I eat my eggs with a little dash of almond/ grapeseed oil and some cheese - it's a great high protein moderate fat breakfast and it keeps me satiated until mid-morning without leaving me full. Because I train in the evening after work I keep my carbs until afternoon/ evening time when my body needs them most. If I have the time I might also add some chooped tomatoes, spring onions, ham/ chicken or spinach to the eggs too for a really good, hearty brekkie.
    Dellgirl2 wrote:
    What are you training for g'em?
    I'm a weight-lifter, so for me high protein foods are vital for lean mass maintenace, growth and repair. Training aside though I'd eat scrambled eggs for breakfast anyway as they're just so damned tasty and great for maintaining my healthy weight. For me lifting is absolutely key to keeping my bodyfat down.

Would you ever think of adding in some resistance training to your exercise? Even some bodyweight exercises could work wonders. Group training is obviously a big help to keep the motivation going, but when you have to go it alone finding something that's a little different and challenging can really help you stick to it.

I am getting to the stage that I would love to as Im toning up but still ave the belly and bingo wings etc. Not nearly as bad as they were, but still there all teh same. I would even know how to begin weight training and I dont belong to any gym - and wont for at least six months - so Ill have to put it on the long finger for the moment. Im doing some yoga classes to try to build core strength. Im really enjoying it. Im 32, so low impact suits me better than smashing through strength barriers.

Are you really mussely? (spl) Do you enter competitions? Do you train everyday? Ive never heard of a woman body builder...like a real one...as in in here....Im not putting it very well sorry!

tbh you don't need a lot of fancy equipment or a gym to do resistance training - simply using your own bodyweight is plenty when you're starting out. There's lot and lots of exercises on www.simplefit.org that you could try and you don't need *any* machines or equipment for them at all.

Increasing your lean mass helps your metabolism increase which is a great thing.
    Are you really mussely? (spl) Do you enter competitions? Do you train everyday? Ive never heard of a woman body builder...like a real one...as in in here....Im not putting it very well sorry!
    Heh, it's ok, I get you. I'm not a bodybuilder - they build muscle for aesthetics and for being on stage, and most of the top female bodybuilders that you see on tv and in magazines have hyoooge muscles because they take supplemental testosterone. I could train and train until the cows come home and I'll never look like that - we don't have the hormones to do it naturally.

I'm a weightlifter like the girls you see in the Olympics? I concentrate on strength, but being leaner and having a decent shape is a welcome side-effect of that. I don't train everyday, usually four days out of the week, and then maybe some walking on top of that just to keep me active.

Thanks for the link, Ill have a peek at it at lunchtime...when Im eating my brown rice and chicken salad! :pac:

Wow. Fair play to you. Id hate to be sitting next to you in work or the pub though! :D So whats you routine like? Sorry for being nosy....youve sparked off a curiosity in me now! Maybe pm if you wish instead of cluttering the thread with my nosiness? :)

I have a log in the Fitness Logs of my current training, and a couple of years ago I kept a log when I was contemplating being a BB'er - that's more a run-down of the hell-on-earth-dieting I had to do as well as training.

And it's not nosy at all, I love it when girls take an interest in lifting, more women should do it!!

Great..thanks. Ive added to favs and wiill be diving into it at lunch!

Wow ...again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

g'em wrote: »
    tbh you don't need a lot of fancy equipment or a gym to do resistance training - simply using your own bodyweight is plenty when you're starting out. There's lot and lots of exercises on www.simplefit.org that you could try and you don't need *any* machines or equipment for them at all.
    simplefit is a great site. The one thing they do use is a chinup bar, which is great, but for women and most men starting out on a chinup bar is very difficult. You are thrown in at the deep end with your own weight (which can be high and the reason you are starting!).

Have a look at this thread
    I give some tips on making your own chinup bar using the hole in your attic. If you have adjustable straps you can have them down low. This way you do not have to do a full chinup, you can do bodyrows. Like this, but you could have a broom handle slotted through the 2 straps and just hold onto it and pull yourself up.
    jay_body_row3.jpg
    That guy has homemade gymnastic rings. They are made easy enough, or you can just cut some straight PVC tubes and use them. You get webbing straps on ebay cheap. Like these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭kaizer_soze

I love porridge. I eat it most days in the winter but I only eat "Scotts Porridge Oats." They're a Scottish brand rolled larger and slightly kilned to give them a slightly nutty taste. It's difficult to get though. You'll get it up North or from Scotland. product-5181864[1].jpg I use a little water and plenty of salt and it's quite thick with no slurp. I live in Dublin but I'm from Scotland myself where oats have been a staple diet for centuries. My gran used to make oat bars in a drawer! She'd pour the porridge in and let it set. You could then cut it into slices and eat it. I never put anything else on porridge but I know a place in Edinburgh (Stoats Oats) that's world famous for their porridge stall cos they add loads of different things to it. Banana and Caramel is meant to be lovely, fresh strawberry jam too, brown sugar and cream, all with toasted oats on top. I've never acquired the taste for sweet porridge but many people rave about it. They're website is http://www.stoatsporridgebars.co.uk/ I think they have a few recipes. I hope that helps inspire you!!