Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raw Thread 11/10/2008 SPOILERS! (Not airing live this week)

• 10-11-2008 9:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭

It being taped as we speak so Im using spoilers as it is the OP:
    RAW

- Batista opens the show. He wants his rematch for Chris Jericho’s World title. Stephanie McMahon appears on video screen and says he won’t get a shot before Survivor Series.

- Stephanie makes Rey Mysterio vs. Kane in a No DQ match for later tonight, plus Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Jericho in a Last Man Standing match.

- Randy Orton comes out to talk to Batista. They go back and forth with a promo before we learn Randy Orton vs. Batista will also take place tonight!

- Santino Marella vs. William Regal for the IC title opens the show. Santino debuts the HONKYTONKYPERFECTMOUNTIEMETER! Genius. They combine to a whopping 123 weeks. Regal comes out to a huge ovation. The bell sounds, knee to the head by Regal, he makes the cover and its done in 30 seconds. New IC champion. Regal takes the mic and talks about how proud he is, although that may not be shown on TV.

Are these real? The ****?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

- Mike Knox beat D’Lo Brown in under 2minutes. Nobody cared.

- They played a video plugging the amount of WrestleMania 25 ticket sales to date.

- Backstage, Santino is upset. He reveals he’s made Beth Phoenix vs. Mickie James for the Women’s title tonight!

- After a long John Cena video, Chris Jericho makes his way to the ring. He rips into Shawn Michaels and goes over the history between the two. He warns that not every story has a happy ending before leaving.

- Rey Mysterio vs. Kane is next.

Did someone fail wellness or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Bull****, especially after the amazing epicness of the final spoiler from the first post there

Bubs101 wrote: »
    Bull****, especially after the amazing epicness of the final spoiler from the post there there

Are you Down with the dole queue?

- Rey Mysterio vs. Kane is next. Rey picked up the win after sending Kane into an exposed turnbuckle. Rey looked to have hurt himself at the end of the match.

- Backstage, Randy Orton talked to Manu and Cody Rhodes, telling them both neither were in his league.

Doesnt he seem to look injured after every match at this stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

surprised it isn't being shown live on Sky Sports, yet they have Raw on at 2... Live. How can it be Live at 2?

Sounds like an absolutely horrible show.
    They ruined the whole santino thing for a cheap pop of regal getting the belt? i bet he'll lose it within 3 or 4 weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Tauren wrote: »
    surprised it isn't being shown live on Sky Sports, yet they have Raw on at 2... Live. How can it be Live at 2?

They use the American broadcast and since there isn't one until the usual time this evening that is why it was never going to shown live here. Obviously they don't bother much changing the description of their shows if they are still showing it as live tonight.

Sounds like an absolutely horrible show.
    They ruined the whole santino thing for a cheap pop of regal getting the belt? i bet he'll lose it within 3 or 4 weeks!

I hope
    Santino isnt getting fired or suspended as they seem to be writing him off with him losing the belt and possibly Beth as well.

rovert wrote: »
    Are you Down with the dole queue?

Haven't a rashers what that means

I hope
    Santino isnt getting fired or suspended as they seem to be writing him off with him losing the belt and possibly Beth as well.

It really sounds that way :(

Bubs101 wrote: »
    Haven't a rashers what that means

I think think you better recognise then :p
    It really sounds that way :(

Remember when Regal got suspended shortly after winning the King of The Ring it sounds similar to that?

- JBL comes to the ring wearing a neckbrace. Its announced that we’ll see Team JBL vs. Team HBK at Survivor Series. JBL says he’s going to give away £1,000 to a fan and invites one into the ring. He says the fan can have the money if he can name five U.S Presidents. He names five, but JBL doesn’t give the money because the fan didn’t know the vice-Presidents. Out come Cryme Tyme. They take the money and say JBL has to answer five questions of his own to get the money back. JBL fails and Cryme Tyme give away the £1,000.

Just know this lasted 30 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Am I the only one who is
    digging Regal as the IC Champ?

Remember when Regal got suspended shortly after winning the King of The Ring it sounds similar to that?

That still pisses me off. I loved his run as GM, and no matter how they made him return, he was never gonna be getting that kind of spot again :(

Turning the TV show off air, etc. was just genius stuff! I wonder if Regal or anyone else had input into that. Whoever wrote it should be writing the main event storylines.

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Am I the only one who is
    digging Regal as the IC Champ?

I hope he
    reprises his evil headmaster role before he got suspended you know all the turning off the lights stuff.

- JBL comes to the ring wearing a neckbrace. Its announced that we’ll see Team JBL vs. Team HBK at Survivor Series. JBL says he’s going to give away £1,000 to a fan and invites one into the ring. He says the fan can have the money if he can name five U.S Presidents. He names five, but JBL doesn’t give the money because the fan didn’t know the vice-Presidents. Out come Cryme Tyme. They take the money and say JBL has to answer five questions of his own to get the money back. JBL fails and Cryme Tyme give away the £1,000.

Just know this lasted 30 minutes.

They'll edit it for TV though, won't they? It shouldn't last any longer than 10 minutes at most (unless JBL/Cryme Tyme get really long entrances)

That still pisses me off. I loved his run as GM, and no matter how they made him return, he was never gonna be getting that kind of spot again :(

Turning the TV show off air, etc. was just genius stuff! I wonder if Regal or anyone else had input into that. Whoever wrote it should be writing the main event storylines.

I dont think Regal had much input in the original concept but the delivery and promos were certainly his. I dont think WWE will be doing similar stunts because they SO many complaints from viewers after the ended Raw early and turned off the lights.
    They'll edit it for TV though, won't they? It shouldn't last any longer than 10 minutes at most (unless JBL/Cryme Tyme get really long entrances)

But those comedy segments always drag and out stay there welcome IMO.

I hope he
    reprises his evil headmaster role before he got suspended you know all the turning off the lights stuff.

Yeah that overlord thing he had going on was something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Did that RAW actually end early or did he "cut off the lights" at the time the show usually ends?

callaway92 wrote: »
    Did that RAW actually end early or did he "cut off the lights" at the time the show usually ends?

They were seperate incidents Regal turned out the lights twice for other reasons while Regal just threatened the director in the production truck during a main event match.
    -
    Randy Orton vs. Batista never started. Rhodes and Manu came out. Rhodes said he’ll beat Batista himself and they did that match instead. Batista wins in around five minutes then hits Manu with a spinebuster afterwards. Orton looks on from the ramp before backing off.

Not sure how I feel about this.

About 30 seconds early i think. It was HHH VS Orton i believe?

Doesn't do much for the Di'biase or Manu, but i think they're building to Cena's return (and more longterm, WrestleMania).

But Orton wrestled last week (remember that ;))

About 30 seconds early i think. It was HHH VS Orton i believe?

I cant wait for Cenas return tbh..Something about the guy which draws me towards him..Can see Jericho being disqualified at SS but retaining

Where do you think they are going with this?
    A feud between Orton and Batista or will Orton attempt to recruit Batista?

either Meltzer or Alveraz said they thought that Batista was turning heel based on recent houseshow results so that would kind of rule out a feud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭lfcefc

Anyone want to pm me a link that I can get raw on at the moment?
    My sons still up so it will keep him happy

Who knows they original plan for the main event before Orton got injured was at least a teased reformation of Evolution.

lfcefc wrote: »
    Anyone want to pm me a link that I can get raw on at the moment?
    My sons still up so it will keep him happy

Sorry but these are just results texted by someone in the arena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

actually either way i think itll be great! i think im leaning towards
    heel stable/tag team
    think it would be great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭lfcefc

I see, sorry
    Thought you were watching it
    Ive checked the usual links but all were saying offline

But Orton wrestled last week (remember that ;))

What i meant was
    I don't know if i should spoiler this or not? But just to be safe:

I reckon they'll do Batista and some jobbers VS Orton/priceless for a while. Then they'll break it into Orton VS Batista up til the rumble or so, then Batista will get involved with cena (who'll probably be kept busy with Jericho and JBL for the time being) So they can have their rematch at Mania. I expect Cena will take the belt.

- Beth Phoenix beat Mickie James to retain the Women’s title. Santino celebrated as if he’d won himself.

Looks like
    Santino is trading in the IC belt to the Womens title. Yippy
    - Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Jericho in a Last Man Standing match is up next.
    JBL run in

No need for spoilers..thread title says enough

Who knows they original plan for the main event before Orton got injured was at least a teased reformation of Evolution.
    Originally posted by grames_bond
    actually either way i think itll be great! i think im leaning towards Spoiler: heel stable/tag team think it would be great!

I've been wanting him to turn heel for a very long time now, for some reason I just think he could perfectly play a narcissistic heel. And I think if they return to a feud with Cena he would be a perfect foil for him as that type of heel.

No need for spoilers..thread title says enough

Not really Ill wait for a mod to say it. The ruke is if in doubt use spoilers hence Im using spoilers.
    I've been wanting him to turn heel for a very long time now, for some reason I just think he could perfectly play a narcissistic heel. And I think if they return to a feud with Cena he would be a perfect foil for him as that type of heel.

Batista is a horrible top babyface as he isnt passionate enough nor has much depth.

Taken from the charter:
    Anything that happens on ECW, Smackdown, Impact or a TNA PPV has to be marked as a spoiler until the show airs in Ireland (that's until Thursday night for ECW, Friday night for Smackdown, Saturday night for Impact and Wednesday night for TNA PPVs)

Anything that happens on Raw has to be marked as a spoiler until the Thursday night replay

Anything that happens on a WWE PPV has to be marked as a spoiler until Wednesday night

If a thread about a show has "Spoilers" in the thread title then spoilers for that show can be posted without spoiler tags

If there is no "Spoilers" in a thread title then spoiler tags must be used if posting spoilers. Spoiler tags are used by typing the spoilers in between these two tags:
    and

If this rule is broken the poster will receive a warning. If it is the second time that a user has broken it they will receive an infraction, and a one week ban for a third time

Post away without worrying lads & lasses

Taken from the charter:

Post away without worrying lads & lasses

Again this is different from regular shows.

Seriously mate is this actually any skin off your nose. Lets not start an argument. What is the harm in me trying not to spoil the show?

Ah no harm at all.Im just saying you dont need to thats all..Im happy your putting up the spoilers, its something for me to have a read of..

- Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Jericho in a Last Man Standing match is up next. Wild match. They fought up to the stage. Jericho locked in the Walls of Jericho on the taxi. Michaels then threw him off the stage and they fought in the crowd. Eventually they make their way back to the ring. A ladder is brought into the ring and Jericho nails Michaels with it.

Michaels then throws the ladder at Jericho, knocking him out. Michaels sets up Jericho on the announce table then climbs the ladder and drops an elbow onto Jericho, sending them through the table. Awesome.

JBL interferes but Michaels fights him off. Jericho then nails Michaels with a chair. Michaels fights back and hits Sweet Chin Music but JBL returns and lays out Michaels. Jericho makes it back to his feet just before the ten count to win the match. Great stuff.

It normally make statements like this but I wonder if somehow someone involved saw the Abyss/Angle match from last night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Haha, "the heartbreak kid, the headache kid" . Another fantastic Michael Cole line.
    Nice elbow drop onto the table by Michaels there.

I've never liked Last Man Standing matches, always thought it was boring waiting for a 10 count.

I must stay I liked this weeks Raw, it was much better than most recent weeks. It seems they are moving on from the Adamle Era. Also man oh man did Mickie James have a belly on her or what :p
    FREE TODAY! Nov. 11 Wrestling Observer Radio: Brock v Randy, Raw rundown, WWE firings, TNA, more
    It is now officially comedy. Robot Bryan Alvarez debuts tonight alongside Dave Meltzer to talk a number of subjects including Lesnar vs. Couture (with detailed predictions!), Raw from the UK with Michaels vs. Jericho and Santino losing his title, new matches for Survivor Series, idiocy at the TNA tapings, comparisons to WCW, the latest WWE firings, and tons more. Replacement BRAND NEW phone-in equipment will arrive on Wednesday and I will go as far as to GUARANTEE that all of my audio problems will be solved -- otherwise I'm shutting down the website. The good news is that this show is FREE, so please feel free to post the link or file elsewhere and help spread the word about wrestlingobserver.com!

http://media001.f4wonline.com/free/111108wo.mp3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

I'm glad Regal is now IC champion but i hope Santino isnt getting fired

JP Liz wrote: »
    I'm glad Regal is now IC champion but i hope Santino isnt getting fired

I dont think they are going to him as Dave said in the above radio show is they want the title on a serious wrestler and not a comedy character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

decent raw last night, still a bit pissed off about santino who got a great reaction from the manchester crowd before regal arrived. good segment with jbl until cryme tyme ruined it and a large portion of the crowd behind me starting chanting boring at them :)

rey and kane very sloppy in person, maybe the camera didn't it up as much. good match between jericho and michaels, took a while to warm up though with the ref counting everytime either guy fell (it was my first last man standing match in person). Funny watching jerry lawler "prepare" the announcer desk for the hbk bump just seconds before shawn placed jericho on it.

mike knox on raw, wtf is that seriously; zero heat, the local jobbers on ecw got 10 times the reaction knox got :D

btw finlay and matt hardy have a fine match on ecw, worth a look whenever that airs on tv

rossie1977 wrote: »
    mike knox on raw, wtf is that seriously; zero heat, the local jobbers on ecw got 10 times the reaction knox got :D

Catch any names of them?

one guy took on mark henry, didn't catch his name though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Funny watching jerry lawler "prepare" the announcer desk for the hbk bump just seconds before shawn placed jericho on it.

What did he do? Just took all the scripts of the table?

couldn't see exactly what but he was putting stuff under the table and to the side of it. jericho and michaels were about 10 feet from the table at this point. he seemed to put a microphone (it may not have been but it was that shape and size) under the desk for some reason and he was wasn't at all interested in the action taking place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

couldn't see exactly what but he was putting stuff under the table and to the side of it. jericho and michaels were about 10 feet from the table at this point. he seemed to put a microphone (it may not have been but it was that shape and size) under the desk for some reason and he was wasn't at all interested in the action taking place

But probably very noticable live?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Rediculous decision to take the belt off Santino...the honkameter had alot of mileage left in it.

And what's worse, it was only to pop the local crowd. How long will regal last as champ??? Not long.

:mad::mad::mad:

Edit: And seriously, who gives a feck about Mike Knox...plenty of people crying out for a push, and they give it to Mike Knox? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Rediculous decision to take the belt off Santino...the honkameter had alot of mileage left in it.

And what's worse, it was only to pop the local crowd. How long will regal last as champ??? Not long.

:mad::mad::mad:

Only so many flukey victories he could get away and their is only a small amount of jobbers he can go over, so it made sense for them to take the belt of him.