Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thoughts on this situation?

• 10-11-2008 3:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭

Before I start I'm not looking to start a free the weed thread cause they're all bull**** and end up going nowhere.

Was talking to a friend about this last night and I couldn't argue with it...

"Last night a man was sitting in his house. He rolled himself a joint of marijuana and smoked it while watching TV, later on that night he went to bed as he had work in the morning. He had grown the weed himself with equipment he bought from his local gardening center and seeds he had brought home from his last trip to Amsterdam."

Who gets hurt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

No one.

Was what he was doing illegal?

Yes.

Simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Just wondering if it hurts or effects anyone but his own health, legal mumbo jumbo at the door please :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

His regular dealer gets hurt cos in this recesssion he needs the cash!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

And who's going to have to pay for his hospital visits when it does affect his health?

Zangetsu wrote: »
    Just wondering if it hurts or effects anyone but his own health, legal mumbo jumbo at the door please :)

Sounds to me like you feel the answer is "no one" and you want to have other people post here and say "no one" and hope to drive home the point that home growing a limited number of plants should be legal as it doesn't hurt a soul.

It would also help the ESB deal with their current issues.

Look, i agree with you ( if the legal growing of a small number of plants is what you are after ) but limiting peoples ability to reply = bollix.

I would suggest you don't actual post on a public forum if you only want certain replies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

FREE THE WEED!!!!!

As mentioned in the post he has a job and pays taxes so really he's entitled to whatever heath care is needed.

Mark200 wrote: »
    And who's going to have to pay for his hospital visits when it does affect his health?

He will. Do you get your doctors and hospitals bills paid for you?

I sure as hell do.

It's called Health Insurance.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

FREE HAT!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

To the Hemporium!

Dragan, dont know why your in bad humor , I asked one question and you answered the other. I only asked that people stick to the topic mentioned in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

I think my health was affected after reading this thread... zzzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

He had grown the weed himself with equipment he bought from his local gardening center and seeds he had brought home from his last trip to Amsterdam."

Who gets hurt?

why the assumption that because the seeds came from Amsterdam its not harming someone? Where do those seeds come from? What is the legal status of weed in the Netherlands? Just because you can smoke it doesn't mean its a free for all over there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Before I start I'm not looking to start a free the weed thread cause they're all bull**** and end up going nowhere.

Was talking to a friend about this last night and I couldn't argue with it...

"Last night a man was sitting in his house. He rolled himself a joint of marijuana and smoked it while watching TV, later on that night he went to bed as he had work in the morning. He had grown the weed himself with equipment he bought from his local gardening center and seeds he had brought home from his last trip to Amsterdam."

Who gets hurt?
    No one.

If i travel down an empty motorway at 150km, i might not be a danger to anyone but it's still illegal.

Dragan, dont know why your in bad humor , I asked one question and you answered the other. I only asked that people stick to the topic mentioned in the post.

Neither do i truth be told but i've been in one since i woke up. Just one of those days.

I stand by my point, your story is way too leading. It's a bad tactic to be honest.

The answer you are looking for is that he gets hurt. He's just a dude making himself a criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

FREE HAT!!!!

FREE WILLY!!!!

Yes, the man is hurting the pockets of drug barons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Who gets hurt?

The man who is being stalked...

I dont see anything wrong with that scenario, I'm not a 'Free The Weed' crusader but it is not a destructive drug IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

1. The guy that grows the weed if the garda find out
    2. HSE for health costs
    3. The smokers lungs
    4. The smokers stomach for not eating properly - muchies
    5. Second hand smoke
    6. The smokers wallet - the smell and discolouration of the smokers decor. Painting and new stuff - cig burns
    7. Friends and family cannot rely on said person - as they would be 'out of it', most of time
    8. Worried said friends and family - hence extra cost spent trying to call smoker
    9. Sitting in room on own- anti social behaviour. Could leave to mental issues - again see no 2
    10. The enviroment - smoke
    11. Increase in house insurance costs - smoker
    12. Increase in health insurance - smoker
    13. Increase in life cover - smoker
    14. Smoker has to buy tobacco and equipment for plants - dent in smokers wallet again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

LouOB wrote: »
    2. HSE for health costs
    3. The smokers lungs
    5. Second hand smoke
    6. The smokers wallet - the smell and discolouration of the smokers decor. Painting and new stuff - cig burns
    7. Friends and family cannot rely on said person - as they would be 'out of it', most of time
    8. Worried said friends and family - hence extra cost spent trying to call smoker
    9. Sitting in room on own- anti social behaviour. Could leave to mental issues - again see no 2
    14. Smoker has to buy tobacco and equipment for plants - dent in smokers wallet again

They're some of the weakest points I've seen since Guinness Light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

It hurts the lanky rotten toothed scumbag head shop owner buecause the fellow doesn't buy the mongo bongo buzz that lanky no tooth brush "I smell and I own a headshop" sells.
    Amazing that the headshop owner can buy a shop but not a bar of soap or a toothbrush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Carra23

Everyone who has smoked knows this arguement inside out and understands it but chances of legalisation are very slim. What Politicion or Government would legalise it after seeing Amsterdam. I havn't ever been myself but have friends who have and they said it isn't a very pretty city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

There's always the possibility of him developing psychosis and then trying to kill someone.

Carra23 wrote: »
    Everyone who has smoked knows this arguement inside out and understands it but chances of legalisation are very slim. What Politicion or Government would legalise it after seeing Amsterdam. I havn't ever been myself but have friends who have and they said it isn't a very pretty city
    And Dublin is?

Amsterdam, as a whole, is a nice city, with some seedy parts.

Just like every other city in the world methinks.

There's always the possibility of him developing psychosis and then trying to kill someone.

*grins* But we happily pile thousands of chemicals into our bodies everyday that have no long term testing done on them.

Why worry?

It'll be aspartame that kills us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Who gets hurt?

his brain cells and mankind in general

Carra23
    Everyone who has smoked knows this arguement inside out and understands it but chances of legalisation are very slim. What Politicion or Government would legalise it after seeing Amsterdam. I havn't ever been myself but have friends who have and they said it isn't a very pretty city.

I tend to agree you you there, I don't actually think it should be sold in specialized cafe's like in Amsterdam, attracts the wrong crowd no matter how much it brings in for the economy tbh...

Yeah i agree. I don't think it would suit our culture or be the best way to implement it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

Dragan wrote: »
    No one.

Was what he was doing illegal?

Yes.

Simple really.

And so because something is illegal, it is automatically immoral?

Too many times throughout history and right up to the present day have people chosen to forego the art of thinking logically because there was an authority in place that made a pronouncement. Laws are in place for good, but if they do no good they should be ignored or discarded.

Saying "I was following orders" makes it all to easy to loose sight of what is right and what isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

He didn't say that. He implied that when you break the law, you are doing something illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Carra23
    Everyone who has smoked knows this arguement inside out and understands it but chances of legalisation are very slim. What Politicion or Government would legalise it after seeing Amsterdam. I havn't ever been myself but have friends who have and they said it isn't a very pretty city.

OP this thread is really pointless.
    but lets try some other topics.
    If I drink and drive and make it home who gets hurt?(please stick to the topic I made it home im not one of the drink drivers who killed someone)

Now that my sarcastic side has been quietened.

What you are really asking has nothing to do with weed its about consensual crime as in why should I be charged with x crime when in committing it I am not hurting or causing a nuisance to anyone else but myself and i consented to that so they are infact charging you with committing a crime against yourself.

Now back to this comment I quoted if you dont want coffeeshops then what do you want?

Decriminalisation for Possession of weed? (thats free the weed talk by another name)

Too many times throughout history and right up to the present day have people chosen to forego the art of thinking logically because there was an authority in place that made a pronouncement. Laws are in place for good, but if they do no good they should be ignored or discarded.

Saying "I was following orders" makes it all to easy to loose sight of what is right and what isn't.

Who mentioned anything about morality?

There's a law there whether we like it or not, the law isn't selective, it doesn't apply to some people and not to others.

If a person tortures and kills my whole family, i would probably like to kill him, most people would probably support me, but murder is illegal. It's about setting standards and making examples, otherwise the law would be a farce. Whether you like it or not it is applied to everyone, regardless of circumstance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

Maybe I jumped the gun a little....Dragan didn't mention morality. However, it is frequently argued that breaking the law is wrong by definition, so I was pre-empting this. I also didn't realise there was more than one page of comments. :rolleyes: I'm careless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

why the assumption that because the seeds came from Amsterdam its not harming someone? Where do those seeds come from? What is the legal status of weed in the Netherlands? Just because you can smoke it doesn't mean its a free for all over there.
    Cannabis seeds can be bought and sold legally. Most country's in Europe have legal growers of cannabis and hemp. Hemp is still one of the best fibers known to man and cannabis is a very promising drug. As soon as the pharmasuitical companies figure out how to take the high out of the equation (why I don't know) they'll be selling it in chemists for 4 o 5 times the price your dealer would charge. I don't think you can get rid of the high though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

my question would be where is the line drawn? is it ok then for the same man to grow opiates and manufacture in his own house harder drugs( herion cocaine etc.) for his own use. is that acceptable, it follows the same principle as set out by the OP.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Cannabis seeds can be bought and sold legally. Most country's in Europe have legal growers of cannabis and hemp. Hemp is still one of the best fibers known to man and cannabis is a very promising drug. As soon as the pharmasuitical companies figure out how to take the high out of the equation (why I don't know) they'll be selling it in chemists for 4 o 5 times the price your dealer would charge. I don't think you can get rid of the high though.
    indeed brother
    you can buy cannabis seeds legally in this country its the growing them thats illegal.

I don't understand why anyone would even grow it themselves. You'd have to be an idiot of the highest order! Only takes one person who has a dislike of you to sell you out to the guards, then you're up ****'s creek, and for what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

robtri wrote: »
    my question would be where is the line drawn? is it ok then for the same man to grow opiates and manufacture in his own house harder drugs( herion cocaine etc.) for his own use. is that acceptable, it follows the same principle as set out by the OP.
    The difference being there highly addictive and damaging drugs. The user can't really be expected to use them responsibly. Cannabis isn't addictive and as long as you avoid smoking it has little or no harmful side effect.

I don't understand why anyone would even grow it themselves. You'd have to be an idiot of the highest order! Only takes one person who has a dislike of you to sell you out to the guards, then you're up ****'s creek, and for what?

I reckon the reason most grow it is for
    Stage Three: Profit

What if you don't tell anyone?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I get hurt.

OW!!!

What if you don't tell anyone?
    Then you'd be less of an idiot.

Noted.

Noted.

but it will affect

Stage three:Profit

Rob_l wrote: »
    but it will affect

Stage three:Profit

Do dealers have to tell their customers whether or not they grew it themselvs? Surely they can lie about this, it's not like the customers can make a formal complaint or something.

I never thought of that, damn if i had people like you in my organisation i wouldn't be posting this from mountjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

LouOB wrote: »
    2. HSE for health costs
    3. The smokers lungs
    5. Second hand smoke

Your points are complete bull****! And I will refute them one by one! I smoke weed the odd time, infact I'm smoking one right now! So let's begin shall we.

Point 1. ............................................Ah...........oh look! There's a butterfly.........................................

Rob_l wrote: »
    I never thought of that, damn if i had people like you in my organisation i wouldn't be posting this from mountjoy

You should ring Joe Duffy and complain about your shoddy employees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Smoking weed makes baby Jesus cry....

So baby Jesus is the answer. Emotional hurt.

Dave! wrote: »
    Smoking weed makes baby Jesus cry....

So baby Jesus is the answer. Emotional hurt.

Wait didn't the jews\romans kill jesus?

Problem solved jessus is dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

ScumLord wrote: »

Isn't the hemp industrial and has the a chemical removed from it (HTC or something)?