Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you racist?

• 10-11-2008 6:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭

Im not, you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

I hate culchies. And people from Cork. And Munster supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I believe that everybody is or has been 'racist' in some shape or form. Whether it's burning lower case letter t's in your front garden or calling someone a Polish-whatever under your breath, everyone has done it, or at least thought it.

There are obvioulsy different levels or racism and lines that shouldn't be crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I believe that everybody is or has been 'racist' in some shape or form. Whether it's burning lower case letter t's in your front garden or calling someone a Polish-whatever under your breath, everyone has done it, or at least thought it.
    Not me!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Sorry Had to do it!:D.........Some of my Best Friends are Black!!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭AlanAhern

No............but.............

Not me!:pac:

Sorry but I don't believe you.

I Hear your a Racist now Father! :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VI0mphJaCzk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

meh, who cares. Im not racist, so that means i can tell racist jokes and call people racist terms, ya know, coz im doin it all in jest...:p

The_B_Man wrote: »
    meh, who cares. Im not racist, so that means i can tell racist jokes and call people racist terms, ya know, coz im doin it all in jest...:p

Aye!! Memories of lunch chats with you in a certain BioPharma Plant springs to mind ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Ye but u cant be racist against northsiders either...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I am!

(No, I'm not, though I do agree with Xavi6)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Is this yet another KKK recruitment drive?

NO I AM NOT A RACIST! And for the last time I'm not joining your bloody pointy hat social club.

Jaysus, you sign up on Fairs Day on a drunken bet 6 years ago and they never leave you alone. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I'm not racist. i hate everyone equally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

There are obvioulsy different levels or racism and lines that shouldn't be crossed.

well i must admit i have a deep loathing of anyone who's living in australia but isn't originally from there

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    well i must admit i have a deep loathing of anyone who's living in australia but isn't originally from there
    I was actually born over here so feel free to collect your fail once you pass go.

Pfft. If you're not aborigine, you're a blow in. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

No. Its fun though, because my dad is, even though he pretends he isnt. So the conversation would be like Now you know Im not racist but all those ________ are ****ing stupid bla bla bla. Insert Racist-Quip/Joke Here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I'm a nationalist but everyone seems to call me a racist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

javaboy wrote: »
    Pfft. If you're not aborigine, you're a blow in. :pac:

Yep, and your ancestors were probably sheep stealers and crooks :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Do you pronounce Saturday as Satday or Saturday?

EDIT: Where is my thank button gone? No more thanks from/to gummy? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Plug wrote: »
    I'm a nationalist but everyone seems to call me a racist!
    Youre not off to a good start when you discriminate against yourself by using a label.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Im not, you?

I guess Racism is really only relative to your Point of View :D

Overheal wrote: »
    No. Its fun though, because my dad is, even though he pretends he isnt. So the conversation would be like Now you know Im not racist but all those ________ are ****ing stupid bla bla bla. Insert Racist-Quip/Joke Here.

Normally I'd agree here and say that anyone who starts a sentence with "Now I'm not racist but...." usually follows it up with some vile hate speech but........

isn't it possible that they're right the odd time? I mean wouldn't the joke be on us if ALL the <insert nationality> really were <insert stereotype>?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Overheal wrote: »
    Youre not off to a good start when you discriminate against yourself by using a label.
    Im a white nationalist then!:p

Do you pronounce Saturday as Satday or Saturday?

The same way any other person with a Dublin accent pronounces it.
    EDIT: Where is my thank button gone? No more thanks from/to gummy? :(

You only get a certain amount a day. You probably used them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

The same way any other person with a Dublin accent pronounces it.

haha good.

My brother in-law is from Victoria and seems to pronounce it Satday. I thought it was his strange quirk till i went there and others did too.

Though they seemed to think Irish people saying thirty is hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

Yes I race for a living.

It's hard graft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Racism is such a complex thing. By definition, recognising any difference in another human being and treating them differently as a result is racism, be it positive or negative. I don't think any person can truly consider themselves 100% not racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Yeah, I am. I hate travellers. No exceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I have my prejudices, we all do. However, I don't let it affect how I deal with someone on an individual basis, whatever their creed/etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Personally i think we hinge a lot on people being racist and the people who will talk about how racism is wrong will then knock religion, social status and anything else they feel like.

Like Seamus said, i definitely have my "ism's" and i tend to prejudge people at times. Probably off far more intangible things than race as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm as racist as a chinaman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

seamus wrote: »
    I have my prejudices, we all do. However, I don't let it affect how I deal with someone on an individual basis, whatever their creed/etc

How do you know that for definite?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

I hate everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

m@cc@ wrote: »
    How do you know that for definite?
    Of course I do.
    It's very easy to tell when you treat someone differently.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

I am not racist,
    I love all Nigs/chinks/pakis,etc..........:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's never black or white.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Pol Pot

why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

I'm not racist but my wife is foreign and shes a pain in the ass...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Sometimes...

I have some terrible thoughts in my head, but I don't put them into action or words. It's more out of frustration at people who get in my way on the footpath, roads or shops though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

Dislike travellers, 90% of them seem to be robbing *****, used to help sell in the markets and they'd slit your throat if they got away with it.

People who say there alright are probably ignorant and have never had any dealings with them.

Now long term settled travellers can be nice people but it's a very small percentage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Proud Racist here, We (whitepeople, for those playin at home) are obviously gneticaly superior

the Abbos had Australia for 60,000 years, what did they do with it, absolutley SFA, 200 odd years of White occupation and we're one of the greatest nations on earth

QED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

Proud Racist here, We (whitepeople, for those playin at home) are obviously gneticaly superior

the Abbos had Australia for 60,000 years, what did they do with it, absolutley SFA, 200 odd years of White occupation and we're one of the greatest nations on earth

QED

Poor aborigines when i was over there the ozys where quite vocal on there hatred for aborigines, saying that the only aborigines i seen where drunk lying in the streets :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭chrussell

QED

were all the white settlers in australia not originally the lowest form of prisoners from england that were sent to australia as punishment.........the abbos (as you so delicately put it) have the higher moral ground.

Don't think I'm a racist but I've had the odd moment or 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

chrussell wrote: »
    were all the white settlers in australia not originally the lowest form of prisoners from england

Not all them were the lowest form some were irish, they were decent criminals but them english feckers pure scum i agree

Im not racist at all me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭chrussell

Rob_l wrote: »
    Not all them were the lowest form some were irish, they were decent criminals but them english feckers pure scum i agree

Im not racist at all me!

haha the irish lads were only over lookin for work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

haha good.

My brother in-law is from Victoria and seems to pronounce it Satday. I thought it was his strange quirk till i went there and others did too.

Though they seemed to think Irish people saying thirty is hilarious
    Oh i get that all the time over in England like ' say thirty ' or ' dirty ' like i was the fcuking elephant man or something :D

Edit- But it's done in jest with no malicious intent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Sure, the Aboriginals aren't doing well at surviving in todays Australia, but they did a damn good job of it for the last 50,000 approx. years or so, in one of the most uninhabitable places on earth. I cant see how they are expected to adapt to a ****bag racist criminal culture over 200 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The white australians have a reputation for coming across as xenaphobic and racist .Now that may just be the sterotype but weird to think that in the main they are made up of every white european race in europe .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

yeah, but 50,000 years of our evolution compared to theirs.

We WIN

didnt notice them buildin ships and havin an industrial revolution and conquerin theworld