Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calzaghe v Jones FARCE

• 10-11-2008 1:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭

Why didn't joe finish the fight in the 8th round ?
    He was playing with him.This fight was such a crock of %%%%% and jones shouldn't of even been in that ring....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,373 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Totally agree!

BTW

I watched 3 hours solid of Cal on Saturday afternoon and I have changed my opinion of him. He really is a true warrior and deserves a lot of credit. Great stamina and heart and is so determined and so focused.

I just think his career went without much notice and the opposition wasn't great; but it was good, and Cal did all he had to win.

Even now, I wouldn't be as confident that Jones at peak would have his way with Cal.

Cal at peak was a whole different fighter than the one we saw V HOP and Jones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Shane-1

I would have to agree that Calzaghe is a lot better than he got credit for earlier in his career, he has probably only came to worldwide notice in the last couple of years. I would have to say that he is now maybe building his reputation on beating washed up old men though, which is'nt necessarily his fault - there is no one else to fight at the minute! Some say Pavlik could be a match for him but look at how Hopkins destroyed him. However if an aged Jones can floor Calzaghe then perhaps Pavlik could be a danger to him, perhaps a clean punch from Pavlik might not be as easy to recover from?

I might have to disagree with the last post to a certain extent, I believe that Jones in his prime would have been too much for Joe, Jones was a phenomenon in his younger days, there was no way around him, too fast/ athletic etc. Its easy to jump to all sorts of conclusions about a fighter watching them now in their twilight years, lets not fool ourselves - Jones is a washed up fighter who secured the match with Calzaghe by outclassing another washed up fighter in Trinidad.

I think Joe should retire now and bow out a legend (which he rightfully should be) and if Jones is to keep going perhaps he could be matched with Hopkins? Could be an interesting match and certainly would be a marqee fight?

What ye think?

Yes, but Joe too is also a deal past his best. I'm talking both at peak and Jones
    at peak was miles better, but so was Joe.

Both men are 'washed' up; Jones a little more. This fight was 5-6 years past its sell by date!

Pitting both men at peak would be very interesting and it's not a given that Jones wins. I did initially think that; but from viewing more and more of Cal from the late 90's to the early noughties, I think he would pose a real threat to Jones. Cal's non stop relentless pressure and 'will' to win may see this go to the wire.

I still am not a fan of Joe's slapping and think his style is very sloppy at times, but he has lovely footwork and great speed and before he really became a 'slapper,' he was a whole lot better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Shane-1 wrote: »
    I would have to agree that Calzaghe is a lot better than he got credit for earlier in his career, he has probably only came to worldwide notice in the last couple of years. I would have to say that he is now maybe building his reputation on beating washed up old men though, which is'nt necessarily his fault - there is no one else to fight at the minute! Some say Pavlik could be a match for him but look at how Hopkins destroyed him. However if an aged Jones can floor Calzaghe then perhaps Pavlik could be a danger to him, perhaps a clean punch from Pavlik might not be as easy to recover from?

I might have to disagree with the last post to a certain extent, I believe that Jones in his prime would have been too much for Joe, Jones was a phenomenon in his younger days, there was no way around him, too fast/ athletic etc. Its easy to jump to all sorts of conclusions about a fighter watching them now in their twilight years, lets not fool ourselves - Jones is a washed up fighter who secured the match with Calzaghe by outclassing another washed up fighter in Trinidad.

I think Joe should retire now and bow out a legend (which he rightfully should be) and if Jones is to keep going perhaps he could be matched with Hopkins? Could be an interesting match and certainly would be a marqee fight?

What ye think?

No doubt Pavlik has the power to ensure that Calzaghe wouldn't get off the canvas, but the thing is Calzaghe would simply avoid his danger punch because he has too much skill for Pavlik. I rarely agree with Frank Warren but he was right when he said Calzaghe would have done to Pavlik what Hopkins did. Still, repeating myself if Calzaghe had beaten Pavlik, the focus would be on Pavlik being overrated, where as when Hopkins did it it's because Hopkins is not finished as some people thought. I hope Calzaghe retires but i wouldn't be surprised if he has one final fight in Wales against Dawson. There is talk of Kessler fighting Hopkins now.

walshb wrote: »
    Yes, but Joe too is also a deal past his best. I'm talking both at peak and Jones

Both men are 'washed' up; Jones a little more. This fight was 5-6 years past its sell by date!

Pitting both men at peak would be very interesting and it's not a given that Jones wins. I did initially think that; but from viewing more and more of Cal from the late 90's to the early noughties, I think he would pose a real threat to Jones. Cal's non stop relentless pressure and 'will' to win may see this go to the wire.

I still am not a fan of Joe's slapping and think his style is very sloppy at times, but he has lovely footwork and great speed and before he really became a 'slapper,' he was a whole lot better!

it would be closer for sure, if both were to fight at the optimum time frame for both of them, but i would give the edge to Jones. However, as i keep saying losing to Jones then would not mean Calzaghe was a bad fighter.

As jones said his pitter-patters were harder than he thought. Also, calzaghe has to punch(?) in that way because he has been mired by hands injuries for several years. The days of Calzaghe knocking people out are long gone. Not that he was biggest hitter ever but before his hand injuries he did pack more of a pop in his punches than we see now.

From the fights of Cal I saw in the early days you could still see that he wasn't
    throwing the shots all that correctly and maybe this is the reason he had hand trouble.
    He always seemed to 'slap' a little. It's just a lot more noticeable now and in recent years.

However, he did have a lot more pop when he tried to throw correct shots. It's not only the slapping that looks terrible, but the motion of his shots and where he throws them from. Some of his shots are downward chopping and slapping; like banging on someones head!
    It's terrible to watch!

At peak, he definitely threw cleaner and harder punches, but still not text book and still the odd slap here and there.

I can't see Joe retiring and leaving that sham fight as his final farewell.
    I think he'll return against whoever. Kessler is too hard a fight (even though he would probably win) and HOP is just too boring a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

he always slapped, and this is what damaged his hands, landing clean punches with your knuckles will never hurt your hands, its landing wrongly that does that,slapping been wrong in this case, this excuse for his slapping is wrong and if he has to slap he should not be allowed to box as its an illegal technique in boxing.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

oh and the fight was a farce but 1 that just had to happen as the fans wanted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Congrats to Joe,

He was always underestimated by the gen pop me included but he more than stepped up to the plate in recent years.

He should retire a legend as there is nothing for him to prove.

Pavlik would pose no problem what so ever, Joe took Kesslers best shots and kept coming forward. Pav does not hit as hard.

It would be a 12 zip in favor of Calzaghe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Totally agree!

BTW

I watched 3 hours solid of Cal on Saturday afternoon and I have changed my opinion of him. He really is a true warrior and deserves a lot of credit. Great stamina and heart and is so determined and so focused.

I just think his career went without much notice and the opposition wasn't great; but it was good, and Cal did all he had to win.

Even now, I wouldn't be as confident that Jones at peak would have his way with Cal.

Cal at peak was a whole different fighter than the one we saw V HOP and Jones!

Holy crap !!

Hey Walshb, somebody got hold of your password :)

Seriously, nice to see you give credit to Calzaghe for the other less obvious qualities he has, such as his amazing will to win, which is as good as any I've ever seen and can never be overestimated in any sport.

I've always said his punching technique is very poor (esp. his left hand) and I agree with Paul that it was always this way and I do think it contributed to his hand trouble, though I don't agree that a correctly delivered punch with the knuckles won't hurt them - it's happened me and one thing I always had was very good punching tecnique.

Anyway, fair play to you for admitting you might have been wrong. That ain't easy.

Mega, don't sound so surprised. I know in the past that I was critical of Joe; but when you
    look close and when you take his 'body of work' into account, IMO, there is only one conclusion you can come to: Cal is an absolute warrior and a fantastic specimen.

Is he the most gifted boxer? No! is he the most skillful or technical? No!

Would I favor him to beat a lot of the greats at Middle and Super? Possibly.
    He has an unbelievable desire and focus and has great speed and footwork.

I also agree that even connecting clean and correct can damage the hands.
    Usually big hitters will always suffer with their hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

Calzaghe has been in trouble at various points in his last 3 fights and came back to win.
    I actually enjoyed the fight and thought there was some good boxing in it.
    The way each guy went to work on the other and then stood back and allowed the other to do the same pure Rocky, excellent!!
    Cowzerp - give Joe his due - he is cocky and slaps and I don't like his ring antics but what a fighter!
    Hit Jones with some great shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

Jeez louise what the hell has happened to the boxing forum.

it went from having a couple of us Calzaghe fans to everyone finally recognising him.
    Thank you setanta sports for showing a full week of his greatest hits:D

whats next,a we love Bernard Dunne thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭theone

I'm a bit shocked aswell seeing calzaghe getting credit he's a great fighter,jones dosen't get the credit either tarver and johnson didn't deserve to knock him out,he came down in weight too quick from ruiz.

still a little bit shocked with ppl giving calzaghe any credit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Anyone see Cal v Winky happening?

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Anyone see Cal v Winky happening?

No... If joe continues to fight it will be one last bout to further increase his rep. I like Winky but he will not add anything to joe's legacy.

theone wrote: »
    I'm a bit shocked aswell seeing calzaghe getting credit he's a great fighter,jones dosen't get the credit either tarver and johnson didn't deserve to knock him out,he came down in weight too quick from ruiz.

still a little bit shocked with ppl giving calzaghe any credit :D

Didn't deserver to KO him ?? What does that mean....

Yeh maybe he came down to quick - but after those fights Jones went on to have 3 wins and everyone said he was back ?? Then Joe beats him convincingly you can't have it every way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

I say he'll fight Glencoffee Jonson,...... and it will be buit up into something massive.

Glen J is soooo over the hill now, its about time Calzaghe took him on.

Of course everybody would like to see him face a tuff younger hungry boxer like Bad Chad Dawson , or andrade , bute , direll, or jermaine taylor would be classical.

Someday the judges panel wont include his best mate terry o connor and the panel wont see pitter/patter slapper as a points scoring round.

I see the latest reports claiming that Joe C is the best p4p fighter on the planet !! and even Bunce saying he clearly beat Hopkins !!!

Get a life you reporters ,... He never be a Sugar Shane Mosley :)

agreed, the press are muppets. How rounds can be won without scoring punches by so called experts astounds me. And how boxing fans except his career as genuine world class makes me laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭triv88

cowzerp wrote: »
    agreed, the press are muppets. How rounds can be won without scoring punches by so called experts astounds me. And how boxing fans except his career as genuine world class makes me laugh.

Your comments make me laugh;) Someone who is undefeated world champion for 10 years is a "genuine world class" fighter .You should give Calzaghe credit where credit is due , did he snub you for an autograph when you were younger or something? :P

Again you guys have the blinkers on - I too use to hate on Calzaghe but he has more than prove himself in recent time.

You reckon he should take the "easy" fight in Johnson, the same Glen Johnson that BEAT dawson a few months ago :rolleyes: Yeh thats a real easy fight.

In which case I'd settle for calzaghe facing Dawson instead :_)

The only fight I credit joe with of the last few years is beating Kessler.
    Hopkins beat calzaghe , and only a calzaghe fan fails to see that.

I just hope future boxers dont take note of joe c's style.
    Throw the text book out the window, sure you can throw a frenzy of shoe shines and still be called the p4p #1...

ODD-JOB wrote: »
    In which case I'd settle for calzaghe facing Dawson instead :_)

The only fight I credit joe with of the last few years is beating Kessler.
    Hopkins beat calzaghe , and only a calzaghe fan fails to see that.

I just hope future boxers dont take note of joe c's style.
    Throw the text book out the window, sure you can throw a frenzy of shoe shines and still be called the p4p #1...

Jesus christ - take the blinkers off.

Hopkins had him down and was competitive for about 2 rounds after that. He then ran and tried to cheat his way to victory. Joe was constantly the aggressor and tried to make a fight out of it.

Joe won, and won ugly but that is the Hopkins affect.

lol.... we'll have to agree to disagree.

Of course, Im totally biased against all cocky fighters.
    I think all this negaitve thought are coaxed along because I love to see cocky fighters get beaten.

Of course Joe C is a great mover , great timing , and plenty of other qualities workrate/stamina etc,....he lacks power , he lacks style , and his classless display of cockyness was brought to a brand new level against Jones. I honestly dont think he's anywhere near p4p #1.....

Amir Khan got way too cocky , and it was a pleasure to see karma , where the humilater got humiliated.
    That was fun , and then my softer nature overwhelmed me with sympathy for him :rolleyes:

The only cocky active fighter that i really love to watch is Ricardo Mayorga....
    I also loved Eubanks entertainment.

T-K-O wrote: »
    Again you guys have the blinkers on -
    You reckon he should take the "easy" fight in Johnson, the same Glen Johnson that BEAT dawson a few months ago :rolleyes:

Hold on ,.. isnt Chad dawson undefeated ?
    Glen Jonson's the dude who got beaten by Clinton Woods

I think all this negaitve thought are coaxed along because I love to see cocky fighters get beaten.

Of course Joe C is a great mover , great timing , and plenty of other qualities workrate/stamina etc,....he lacks power , he lacks style , and his classless display of cockyness was brought to a brand new level against Jones. I honestly dont think he's anywhere near p4p #1.....

Amir Khan got way too cocky , and it was a pleasure to see karma , where the humilater got humiliated.
    That was fun , and then my softer nature overwhelmed me with sympathy for him :rolleyes:

The only cocky active fighter that i really love to watch is Ricardo Mayorga....

You cannot compare that joke Khan to Calzaghe - Jones tried to clown Calzaghe in the early rounds and as soon as Joe had his number he did the same back. its showmanship and ok by me if you can back it up 46 and 0 gives Joe the right to be a little cocky. IMO he is not that cocky compared to some of the others.

i have fond memories of Mayorga, it was the 6th round against Dela. :)

Hold on ,.. isnt Chad dawson undefeated ?

Yes he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭theone

Didn't deserver to KO him ?? What does that mean....

Yeh maybe he came down to quick - but after those fights Jones went on to have 3 wins and everyone said he was back ?? Then Joe beats him convincingly you can't have it every way.

do you think tarver and johnson are great fighters? Jones is a great fighter,do you think great fighters deserve to be knocked out by fighters not on their level.

Jones was p4p no.1 for 10 years straight.He reached his peak against ruiz.

Would of loved to see Calzaghe/Jones fight each other in their peak.It wouldn't be as one sided as most ppl on here think.

you must also have disliked ali,pbf,roy jones etc at their peak?

eubanks-entertainment
    Calzaghe-cocky

can you tell me what they did differently in the ring?

theone wrote: »
    do you think tarver and johnson are great fighters? Jones is a great fighter,do you think great fighters deserve to be knocked out by fighters not on their level.

Jones was p4p no.1 for 10 years straight.He reached his peak against ruiz.

Would of loved to see Calzaghe/Jones fight each other in their peak.It wouldn't be as one sided as most ppl on here think.

Jones is not a great fighter he is a legend, and yes he did deserved to get KOed he should have know when his time was up.

Tarver is a spanner
    Johnson is a honest pro that deserves everything he gets IMO.

raven136 wrote: »
    you must also have disliked ali,pbf,roy jones etc at their peak?

eubanks-entertainment
    Calzaghe-cocky

can you tell me what they did differently in the ring?

One got spanked 5 times ??

Eubank never got 'spanked' and he did move up to fight two monstrous tough fights against Thompson.

Cal didn't meet anyone as tough and hard as Thompson.

Eubank poroved in both losses that he was mega tough and resilient

Overall, I think Chris met the better men and at peak I think he beats Joe!

Eubank never got 'spanked' and he did move up to fight two monstrous tough fights against Thompson.

nah Calzaghe's speed would always cause him problems. I think Calzaghe wins on points. plus for a man who was past it Eubank sure put in great performances against a bigger and stronger man in Thompson

Part of the reason Chris was past it was his years making the 160-168 limit. This also affected him. When he moved up he was a lot more comfortable and did put on two great shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭conceited

Wasn't it jones who ran like a bitch from collins?
    In my opinion collins would of beat both fighters .
    Look what he did to eubank !

Anyway the reason i started this thread was to say jones was well past it and the fight was a joke to boxing.

Although Chris was not my favourite fighter at his best he won me over with his fights against Thompson, he was battered and showed real heart, i think he won more boxing fans then than when he was winning!

Calzaghe certainly did not fight anyone as tough as Thompson, and i agree that a peak Eubank would have beat Calzaghe..KO win imo, too much power and skill at his peak.

Although Chris was not my favourite fighter at his best he won me over with his fights against Thompson, he was battered and showed real heart, i think he won more boxing fans then than when he was winning!

Calzaghe certainly did not fight anyone as tough as Thompson, and i agree that a peak Eubank would have beat Calzaghe..KO win imo, too much power and skill at his peak.

Paul, Thompson too was battered. Those fights were sheer brutal for both men!

Remember, Thompson beat Haye. That's how tough and durable a guy he was and is!

tbh calzaghe could beat the best in the world with his eyes closed and one arm in a sling and you would still find a reason to doubt him:D

Paul, Thompson too was battered. Those fights were sheer brutal for both men!

Yeah i know but i was referring to how Eubank showed an unseen side to him in them fights, it was like a moral win! if ya know what i mean-i looked at him differently after them fights and actually wanted him to win where i always cheered against him when he was at peak, because he was also protected a lot when he was on his sky deal!

Paul, fully agree. I actually went away with more credit and respect for Chris in those losses than I initially had during his career. I was never a big fan and always thought he was fighting less than GREAT men. Similar to Naz for me. His loss to MAB proved one thing, he could take a beating. I still don't rate him high though. I do rate Eubank highly!

Eubank at his peak was a great fighter but it was well known that Benn and Eubank wanted none of the Prime Roy Jones Jnr....

As for Eubanksss KO ing Calzaghe ,it is certainly possible anything is... but not likely Joe has proven he has a solid chin.

I also think Jones wanted none of Collins for what reason I do not know.... I would put money on it that Collins chased Jones looking for a fight as he saw a graet opportunity to make some real money in that fight.

Kessler is a tough SOB

I dont see it. he's technically good though.

Raven 136, i always give valid reasons why i dont rate joe, i actually get confused that boxing fans cant see my point, it leads me to believe that too many of the fans listen too much to the british press.

Kessler is a tough dude he took some sick blows against Andrade who is a heavy hitting fighter.

Calzaghe in recent times has more than proved himself - People hate on him because of his early career and I was one of them, BUT he has showed some real skills of late.

Kessler is a tough SOB

I dont see it. he's technically good though.

Raven 136, i always give valid reasons why i dont rate joe, i actually get confused that boxing fans cant see my point, it leads me to believe that too many of the fans listen too much to the british press.

Eubank at his peak was a great fighter but it was well known that Benn and Eubank wanted none of the Prime Roy Jones Jnr...

Thats true, because he was unbeatable back then, Collins would of been tough for him due to his rugged style but he would of played with benn and eubank, and calzaghe..

Calzaghe in recent times has more than proved himself - People hate on him because of his early career and I was one of them, BUT he has showed some real skills of late.

Against has beens.

Kessler is a tough dude he took some sick blows against Andrade who is a heavy hitting fighter.

I haven't been impressed at all of late. He beat two washed up men.

I actually believe Joe is a deal past his peak.
    Joe's peak was the early noughties and it was then
    that he was at his best, which was very very good; even
    though he was a 'slapper.'

Beating a HOP and Jones at this late stage is not all that GREAT.
    Hey, he did it and fair play; but they had little to offer.

BTW, I haven't changed my mind completely on Cal.

He still is a terrific warrior and champion with a real desire to win
    Technically he's sound, apart from those dreaded slaps and awkward
    punching. His feet are perfect and his speed very good!

He is also an extremely good inside fighter who can rough it up with the
    best of them. This is often overlooked with Cal.

His record is exemplary; but the victims were far too many times
    less than great!

Paul, Jones would no way have 'played' with Benn. He either takes Benn out early or he
    runs all night. If Benn connects and connects clean; it's night night.
    Benn's aggressive and hard hitting attacks are a bad style match for Jones.

Benn's chin was good, his stamina let him down due to his aggression and impatience.
    This is a fight I would not be all that sure of for Roy. His chin is not all that good!

Eubank is also so tricky and awkward and had the ability to really get the KO.
    Jones will not take the steel chinned Eubank out.

Eubank's guile and tactics will always make for a hard scrap.

If I had to bet on those bouts, I'd take Benn and Eubank at 160-168!
    Their styles are a bad recipe for Jones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Paul, Jones would no way have 'played' with Benn. He either takes Benn out early or he
    runs all night. If Benn connects and connects clean; it's night night.
    Benn's aggressive and hard hitting attacks are a bad style match for Jones.

Benn's chin was good, his stamina let him down due to his aggression and impatience.
    This is a fight I would not be all that sure of for Roy. His chin is not all that good!
    Eubank is also so tricky and awkward and had the ability to really get the KO.
    Jones will not take the steel chinned Eubank out.

Eubank's guile and tactics will always make for a hard scrap.

If I had to bet on those bouts, I'd take Benn and Eubank at 160-168!
    Their styles are a bad recipe for Jones!

Walshb, I know we've disagreed on this before, but to say Benn had a good chin is just not true !

Mauro Galvano had him all over the shop with one punch late in their fight and he had just 7KO's in FORTY fights. There are plenty other examples too, but that's a standout due to Galvano's very obvious non-punching ability.

Jones chin was never questioned for 15 years !! In that time he went down once (off balance) and comfortably avoided the follow-up and won the other 11 rounds in the fight.

I just think Jones has never been the same since losing 25 pounds of rock hard muscle after Ruiz and his performances show that.

IMO I see Benn being stopped early in a one-sided mismatch, with Benn's heart keeping him going til the stoppage despite being repeatedly hurt/floored.

Eubank would be widely beaten on points without ever being in serious trouble. He had a great chin and heart, but his skills and speed weren't near Jones.

megadodge wrote: »
    Walshb, I know we've disagreed on this before, but to say Benn had a good chin is just not true !

Mauro Galvano had him all over the shop with one punch late in their fight and he had just 7KO's in FORTY fights. There are plenty other examples too, but that's a standout due to Galvano's very obvious non-punching ability.

Jones chin was never questioned for 15 years !! In that time he went down once (off balance) and comfortably avoided the follow-up and won the other 11 rounds in the fight.

I just think Jones has never been the same since losing 25 pounds of rock hard muscle after Ruiz and his performances show that.

IMO I see Benn being stopped early in a one-sided mismatch, with Benn's heart keeping him going til the stoppage despite being repeatedly hurt/floored.

Eubank would be widely beaten on points without ever being in serious trouble. He had a great chin and heart, but his skills and speed weren't near Jones.

Benn has a punchers chance here big time. I don't rate Jones' chin any better than Benn's to be honest and especially not for surviving a one shot smacker. Benn is also a harder single shot hitter.

Look, G-man hit Nigel with some A-bombs and couldn't do the trick. I really believe Benn has a chance here. Actually, Benn got help from the ref in RD 1. G-man is a bigger puncher than Jones!

Jones will have to be ultra slick and I don't think he will take a flush shot.
    Jones relied on his quickness at peak.

You can make all the excuses in the world, Jones was CLEAN KO'd by single shots
    when he was far from WELL past it. He was iced and if Benn lands clean?

Are you saying for the first few rds you wouldn't be at all worried here.
    If you had money on Roy, now knowing that his chin is not SOLID?

Also, knowing how aggressive and heavy hitting Benn is?

While Calzaghe did beat an older version of B-Hop and RJJ. He totally schooled the next big thing in Jeff Lacy and beat his nearest rival in Kessler convincingly.

There was not much left after Kessler as people will always same the above guys were old and past there best.

The next fighter on the list would have been Pavlik and Nard destroyed him coming from a defeat from Joe.

Joe is simply the best super middle in the world bar none and arguably the best light heavy.

People seem to think Dawson is the next big thing but what has he done ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

I actually never saw the point in joe fighting roy and Setanta/buncey can shout that this is a massive fight all they want but shouting the loudest does not automatically make you right.

Jones has been fighting scared for years now and SHOULD NOT have been in with joe. If Joe wants a handy fight to make a few quid then thats fair enough but dont dress it up as anything resembling a super fight.

Watched the first four rounds then switched off myself, it was pile of dirge and im just annoyed i stayed up for it. Im a fan of calsaghe but even i couldnt sit and watch a glorified sparring session.

Joe needs to retire if this is what he is gonna be serving up for the next few fights. Somevody mentioned Clinton woods for **** sake.....give over.