Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice re threats from scumbags - all advice appreciated!

• 09-11-2008 7:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

I'm currently travelling abroad, but my mam just rang to update me on a bit of drama at home in limerick ...

Basically, I have a 14 year old brother, not a bad kid, never been in any major trouble.

Thing is, basically a few months ago, he was shooting his mouth off about a fella a few years older than him. He can't even remember himself exactly what was said, but the lads he said it to have since said it back to the older fella - let's call him Mike. So, as it happens, Mike is a member of a well-known family of violent criminals in Limerick. He has challenged my brother to a fight, and if he doesn't agree to it, Mike's threatened to come after the rest of the family.

My mam's in bits - she doesn't know what to do. Should they go to the gardai, or are they kind of powerless in these situations?

Would be grateful for any suggestions ye might have, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

He has challenged my brother to a fight, and if he doesn't agree to it, Mike's threatened to come after the rest of the family.

if he's threatened to harm your brother and you have a witness to mike making these threats, then the gardai can proceed against mike if the witness and your brother are willing to make statements of complaint to the gardai

on the other hand, this may cause mike to now have a major grieveance againt your brother and family and there's not going to be a guard standing outside your home 24/7.

best bet is to explain situation to garda sergeant and ask him for his advice, the threat from mike may be all bluff, only sergeant will know how seriously to take the threat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Maybe not the avdice you want but...... Go to guards, at least get it logged and then move. My understanding, though could very definitely be wrong, is that these gangs in Limerick are ruthless and therefore should be taken seriously. A horrible situation.

the guards are unfortunately useless when dealing with these criminals and gangs. They know they are above the law and can shoot anyone they want and get away with it (has anyone been caught yet??). You have to know not to mess with these people, unfortunately they are ABOVE the law. And to be honest, the guards know this too and like everyone else they have the same opinion, "30 grand a year isn't worth my life".

If it's a serious threat, which it's hard to say it is but it does sound like one, I would advise the family to move for peace of mind. Your brother needs to learn not to be running his mouth so freely. In this day and age, it can literally get you killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

i believe the guards are best placed to give your mam advice, like everything else, your brother wont be the only one in this situation, unfortunately. Hopefully they will have good advice to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭AlanD

What a dilemma.....definitely go to the guards and log the incident.

As for dealing with the situation, the guards will probably not be much help to you. Pursuing this lad through the legal route will only bring major trouble on the family.

Possibly, yer man won't treat the fight too seriously, but wouldn't think twice about attacking the family home if he doesn't fight.

The only reasonable option is the guards. All other options would be illegal and should never be recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭AlanD

the guards are unfortunately useless when dealing with these criminals and gangs. They know they are above the law and can shoot anyone they want and get away with it (has anyone been caught yet??). You have to know not to mess with these people, unfortunately they are ABOVE the law. And to be honest, the guards know this too and like everyone else they have the same opinion, "30 grand a year isn't worth my life".

If it's a serious threat, which it's hard to say it is but it does sound like one, I would advise the family to move for peace of mind. Your brother needs to learn not to be running his mouth so freely. In this day and age, it can literally get you killed.

in a way you are right, but what makes them untouchable is the fact that they know the law better than the guards and so the guards find it extremely difficult to pin them down on anything.

How old is this challenger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I'm from Limerick myself and best thing is not to go to the guards...will only likely cause more grief..
    Best thing could be for your brother to apologize to Mike and hopefully it blows up.
    It sucks but the cops will do nothing for you...your brother eats a bit of humble pie and learns to keep his mouth shut in future and hopefully Mike allows it to pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭celt262

If your brother would be fit to get through this fight with out to bad off a beating it may be the only way to get out of it. Is he much of a fighter? If this guy is alot older i don't know what you can do, doesn't sound like a nice person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

celt262 wrote: »
    If your brother would be fit to get through this fight with out to bad off a beating it may be the only way to get out of it. Is he much of a fighter? If this guy is alot older i don't know what you can do, doesn't sound like a nice person.

yeah that might seem like a way of ending it quickly, but even if he is a fighter, how likely is it that a knife will be produced! also its really going to be a beaten not a fight, you really think this guy will stop if he gets the upper hand. its a horrible situation and your man's mentality means he has to save face by doing something about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Going to the guards is probaly the worst thing you can do. If it's going to be a relatively fair fight I'd just tell your brother to take the beating. Not 100% sure how these fights go in limerick, it will all depend on the eople involved but even if your brother can win I'd tell him not too, and just take his hiding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭king_of_inismac

Your brother's an ass for insulting him.

This guy Mike doesn't want to lose face, hense the threat of violence.

Let your brother go cap in hand and apologise. Then Mike feels great, doesnt need to knock crap out of your brother and your brother will *hopefully* learn his lesson.

You don't want to get involved with ANY violence with these guys.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Tell your brother to apologise. But also tell him to be ready for a beaten because judging by the threats sent he doesnt seem like a reasonable fella tbh.

What I would do is go to the guards, tell them what happened and say your gonna apologise but theirs a risk of something happening and maybe ask them could they "wait" around the corner and if a fight breaks out they could "pass by" like it wasnt planned and hopefully get it to stop incase your bro gets a bad beating.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

That is one horrible situation! As much as i hate to say it, i wouldn't go to the guards in your case.

If i was his father, then there's only a couple of options i could think of...

A) Let him go and apologise, possibly getting a beating in return
    B) Wait it out and see what happens, it could be an empty threat
    C) Go with him and see the other guy and his family

Personally, i'd go with 'C', i'd take him, apologise on his behalf, make him apologise to Mike, say you don't want any trouble and would like the matter to be over with. If you want you could go to the guards beforehand, just to let them know what's going on, that way if it all kicks off they will have something to go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

Thing is, basically a few months ago, he was shooting his mouth off about a fella a few years older than him..... So, as it happens, Mike is a member of a well-known family of violent criminals in Limerick.

Ask the Garda S for advice, and ask about the possibility of moving, because even though you shouldn't have to leave your homestead as a result of this its the sad fact that Limerick has become involved in a seedy underworld.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

Food for thought:

Stephen Speilberg once had this same problem with being bullied in school.

His ingenius solution was to ask the bully to be the star of a film he was making.

Just maybe, if you can pull this off, it might be an original way of turning things around, and is probably more likely to work than your little brother simply apologising.

A street fight probably won't make things any better. Aside from your brother getting hurt, he may be bullied beyond that.
    I imagine that, this guy would respect your brother more if he fought. So perhaps there is a way you can work with that.

In the meantime, I'd get your little brother taking boxing classes and/or a good martial art like Krav Maga. Train him intensively. There is nothing more disempowering than the idea you have to fight someone bigger than you... and you don't even know how to fight. So it's worth giving your brother some instruction in this area.

I imagine, innovative though it sounds, if you could convince this other guy to be part of a "rocky" like video, you can make him get the glory he wants, get your brother and he to make friends more, and totally limit the issues for your brother longer term.

For example, videoing this guy training before the fight gives your little brother the opportunity to make him look and feel good.

And if you could get them to have a fight in a boxing club with proper gloves and a referee, this is way safer than a street fight in the middle of no-where.

And if you can get the latter to occur, you can offset the glory the older guy seeks by giving him some kind of medal and putting it all on youtube.
    This might help your little brother to learn to watch his mouth also. Videoing the whole thing also means that people will be moderate.

I imagine that involving the gardai may complicate matters in the long run.

Overall, try to find a way that allows this older guy to feel victorious like his respect has been increased, that in the process limits the likelyhood of anything happening to your little brother or any feuds resulting.

I think some of the advice here, while well intentioned, is a bit hysterical.

I'm from a rough area in Dublin and this kind of thing happens all of the time. Someone is always threatening to kick the crap out of someone, burn their house down, kill their family. 99.9% of the time it's all talk. That's not to say you shouldn't take it seriously. It sucks to live in fear and now that your poor Ma knows, she must be up the walls. But if you tread gently you should come through it alright.

I was in the same situation as your brother a couple of times when I was around his age. In both cases it was the younger brothers from criminal families who threatened me. It was terrifying at the time and I was worried not so much about the hiding I'd get from the guy who'd threatened me, but more about what would happen if his older brothers got involved. Nothing ever came of it though.

For the moment I'd do nothing, other than tell your brother to avoid Mike. If he lays low, it'll all blow over in a few months.

If it were me I'd probably wouldn't go to the guards unless it escalates, such as him making a serious attempt to go after your brother or showing up at the house and making threats. At the moment, its just one young lad threatening another. If the guards get involved then his family may find out about it and resent your family for drawing more attention from the cops than they already get.

If Mike overplays his hand though, then getting the cops involved may work in your favour. Rather than resenting your family, chances are his family's anger will switch to him. They probably have enough on their plate than having to deal with this. It's a subtle difference I know. A row between two young fellas is no big deal in their eyes, but going after some law abiding family of Joe Soaps is needless trouble.

If you do decide to go to the cops straight away, stress that you want to handle it gently. Basically you want to make them aware of the situation and keep an eye on it rather than have them banging on Mike's front door. It helps if there's a local guard you'd know and trust that you could maybe have a quiet word with. Good luck and I hope everything works out alright for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

At 14 - 18, most lads are eejits when it comes to fights. This could blow over, but if Mike starts getting agro about his reputation then your brother will get a few digs. It's worth learning to defend himself, even lift a few weights in the evening and practice a few good swings in case he needs them. The problem is that this **** who's challenging him wouldn't fight fair though, most of them would get their heads kicked in if they tried. But the fight you win is the one you avoid. So play it by ear. It could blow over just as fast.

Watch your house like a hawk on fridays and saturdays and hope it blows over.

Speaking of Limerick, my mate was down there recently and was suddenly surrounded by cop cars, they all had weapons and were asking him what he was doing, he was apparently in a gang feud area and he was made leave. Limerick - what a ****ing loo laa place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

Its quite simple first off don't fight him, it wont be a fair fight.
    2nd go to the gaurds and have a chat dont make an official complaint because more than likely they will just go to the family say there has been a complaint about mike and it will make things worse. The cops will know if he is actually connected to these "gang families" you will find 99/100 of these little scum bags will tell you that they are in this gang or the other but these families have more important things to do than chase down 14 year olds that slag off some one they know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Well said.

Appears a lot of the people who gave advice here are living in some sort of movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

I'm from a rough area in Dublin and this kind of thing happens all of the time. Someone is always threatening to kick the crap out of someone, burn their house down, kill their family. 99.9% of the time it's all talk. That's not to say you shouldn't take it seriously. It sucks to live in fear and now that your poor Ma knows, she must be up the walls. But if you tread gently you should come through it alright.

I was in the same situation as your brother a couple of times when I was around his age. In both cases it was the younger brothers from criminal families who threatened me. It was terrifying at the time and I was worried not so much about the hiding I'd get from the guy who'd threatened me, but more about what would happen if his older brothers got involved. Nothing ever came of it though.

For the moment I'd do nothing, other than tell your brother to avoid Mike. If he lays low, it'll all blow over in a few months.

If it were me I'd probably wouldn't go to the guards unless it escalates, such as him making a serious attempt to go after your brother or showing up at the house and making threats. At the moment, its just one young lad threatening another. If the guards get involved then his family may find out about it and resent your family for drawing more attention from the cops than they already get.

If Mike overplays his hand though, then getting the cops involved may work in your favour. Rather than resenting your family, chances are his family's anger will switch to him. They probably have enough on their plate than having to deal with this. It's a subtle difference I know. A row between two young fellas is no big deal in their eyes, but going after some law abiding family of Joe Soaps is needless trouble.

If you do decide to go to the cops straight away, stress that you want to handle it gently. Basically you want to make them aware of the situation and keep an eye on it rather than have them banging on Mike's front door. It helps if there's a local guard you'd know and trust that you could maybe have a quiet word with. Good luck and I hope everything works out alright for you.

This is by far the best advice givin. Some of the replies are utterly rediculous. For now do nothing and wait, he's a teenager making idle threats.

Unless it goes further keep the guards out of it also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

I havent read the entire thread but what I have read I have to say I disagree with. Advice to move and such I feel is WAY over the top. People are suggesting he'll end up getting stabbed or the family home will be attacked etc. Im from Limerick myself and this is crazily unlikely. He only has to worry about possibly getting a few thumps (and alot teenage boys end up in that situation at some stage!). Im in a rush to work at the moment ill expand my post when I get home I just felt the thread needed a bit of balance right now!

please dont let your brother fight him,,i have seen these fights happen,,2 girls who fought in an open space in limerick and one bit the other ones ear off..in another case 2 guys fighting,,the same thing as your case,,the quiet lad said he not afraid of the one involved with drugs and the like,,so they fought and the ganster,,lets say,,used a knife and killed him that night,,i'd say lay low for a bit,,your poor mam,,i know what it's like,,my brother was a witness in one of the above cases and my mam had to be sedated for the whole case..just lay low,,please,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,622 ✭✭✭secman

If you go and apologise to the SCum bag,say he lets it slide, you are now in debt to him and what happens when he calls it in and what form will it be . A delivery ? Best to keep a low profile and hope to slip under his radar. You can't reason with low life form, stay clear and hopefully it will pass over.

Secman

Thanks guys for all your advice and suggestions.

My mam has been talking to a friend of hers who's a guard, all unofficial, the guard is going to try and find out a bit about this fella and see how serious the threat is. As far as mam is concerned, she's convinced she'll be burying my bro within the week - she's even talking about taking him out of school and moving him permanently over to her brother in new york - which seems crazy to me, but he's on for it coz he's terrified of mike, says he's a psycho. Honestly, I think it's a really over-the-top and cowardly solution.

If I knew for a fact the fight would be just a fist fight or whatever, I'd nearly say go for it, as his friends are now also being threatened and it's not fair on them. yes he'd be badly beaten, but then it would hopefully be over. What id be afraid of is if knives or other weapons would be involved, its unlikely but possible.

For the moment, he's just keepin his head down and not walking anywhere alone. he's def learned his lesson from this anyway. It's just frustrating for me being away and not really able to help :(

My brother was trying to ring Mike earlier to apologise for what was said and tell him he doesn't want to fight him, but he's not answering the phone ... I'm hoping that might maybe be a good sign.

I think that if every time these assholes got angry and threatened someone, and actually followed up on it, attacks would be happening every single day!! Hopefully he'll just decide its not worth his effort and let it slide ...

Will keep ye posted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

turbot wrote: »
    Food for thought:

His ingenius solution was to ask the bully to be the star of a film he was making.

Just maybe, if you can pull this off, it might be an original way of turning things around, and is probably more likely to work than your little brother simply apologising.

A street fight probably won't make things any better. Aside from your brother getting hurt, he may be bullied beyond that.
    I imagine that, this guy would respect your brother more if he fought. So perhaps there is a way you can work with that.

In the meantime, I'd get your little brother taking boxing classes and/or a good martial art like Krav Maga. Train him intensively. There is nothing more disempowering than the idea you have to fight someone bigger than you... and you don't even know how to fight. So it's worth giving your brother some instruction in this area.

I imagine, innovative though it sounds, if you could convince this other guy to be part of a "rocky" like video, you can make him get the glory he wants, get your brother and he to make friends more, and totally limit the issues for your brother longer term.

Maybe get Chuck Norris involved in this film, he could be the final boss if op's brother beats the scumbag.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pub07 read the charter of this forum before posting again. Particularly the bit about unhelpful posts. Failure to do so will result in a banning.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭JcDubz4life

My honest advice here would be to tell your brother to take the beating he has coming to him for whathe said. What was he expecting? I know its not easy to hear as his brother (Im the eldest of three brothers) but the last thing you want is the gaurds involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,467 ✭✭✭COH

Food for thought:

just maybe, if you can pull this off, it might be an original way of turning things around.

Meanwhile back on planet earth!

I'd say that if your bro keeps his head down and his mouth shut then fingers crossed the chances are that nothing will happen. Wait and see what info your mam gets on him first anyway, be prudent but don't just assume the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

If he really wanted too get him he would have said nothing. Not advise really, but just a comment.

If I was in the situation, I would just keep the head low until it blows over or take a fight with him one on one if I seen him on his own.

And too be also honest, I doubt mikes family would be too happy with him mouthing off and fighting people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Just like to say: a bully doesn't like being beaten. If the brother does martial arts, and looks like he'll win, Mike may whip out a weapon (knife, gun, etc), to ensure he wins.

As for the scumbags family, most scumbags are scumbags due to a lack of any real family. They may not really care.

As for the fight: lay low, or find someone who knows Mike, that may be able to bargain on your bro's behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

As the above is there anyone approachable who is older or with a bit of a rep to hav a word on his behalf

Honestly just ignore the threats. The fact is generally it is all talk. I worked as a bouncer in quite a rough area and week in week out I would be threatened by a young criminal family member for not letting them, kicking them out etc. what I came to learn though is that their older, more dangerous family members aren't going to involve themselves in such petty, childish situations and aren't going to risk having more garda attention on them for what in your case is essentially slagging feud between two kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Pol Pot

please dont let your brother fight him,,i have seen these fights happen,,2 girls who fought in an open space in limerick and one bit the other ones ear off..in another case 2 guys fighting,,the same thing as your case,,the quiet lad said he not afraid of the one involved with drugs and the like,,so they fought and the ganster,,lets say,,used a knife and killed him that night,,i'd say lay low for a bit,,your poor mam,,i know what it's like,,my brother was a witness in one of the above cases and my mam had to be sedated for the whole case..just lay low,,please,,

reads like a Paul Williams novel to me....

Pol Pot wrote: »
    reads like a Paul Williams novel to me....
    ya it does aright,,im sure paul williams has covered this story,,was a high profile case,,unfortunately my family was involved for being in the wrong place at the wrong time,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Food for thought:

For example, videoing this guy training before the fight gives your little brother the opportunity to make him look and feel good.

And if you could get them to have a fight in a boxing club with proper gloves and a referee, this is way safer than a street fight in the middle of no-where.

And if you can get the latter to occur, you can offset the glory the older guy seeks by giving him some kind of medal and putting it all on youtube.
    This might help your little brother to learn to watch his mouth also. Videoing the whole thing also means that people will be moderate.

I imagine that involving the gardai may complicate matters in the long run.

Overall, try to find a way that allows this older guy to feel victorious like his respect has been increased, that in the process limits the likelyhood of anything happening to your little brother or any feuds resulting.

Seriously, that response is a disgrace. Please go back to your dillusional world. I've reported this post already (yesterday) and it's still in it's original format, how any of the mods think there is sound advice in it all I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

One of the worst post I have seen on boards.

I'd suggest contacting a local Community Garda, as he/she will know if the threat is serious. They can give advice.

eroo wrote: »
    One of the worst post I have seen on boards.

I'd suggest contacting a local Community Garda, as he/she will know if the threat is serious. They can give advice.

Unfortunately it is not a bad post... most a gard will do is give a warning which will piss the other fella of to a point with worse consequences! People advising him to fight need to get their heads checked and unless you have a few years to spare training him in martial arts aint gonna help to much either!

Best advice is to lay low try apologise if not just keep the head down and let things blow over.

AND DO NOT ask him to be in a film :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 joeybarton=hero

i would not listen to this!!! ppl are right u need to talk to the local garda sgt i no from my own dealings wit gardai that a complaint of this nature will be taken very seriously especially if mike or his family members are know to the gardai However dat does no insure ur families saftey but it would be the first step i would take. the gardai will know how serios a threat like this is at the end of the day they deal with this every day and it is their job. i would defo warn ur brother to keep his mouth shut in future tho..

Some serious over-reactions here from people. Granted nobody knows the full extent of the situation except the OP but that is why ppl shouldnt be jumping to these wild courses of action.

I'll give you my 2 cents as I have dealings with people of this calibur all the time. Doesnt make me qualified either so take it or leave it man.

If your mam has a friend who is a gard, great. Thats half the trouble. You dont have to officially report anything, if you did. It may escalate the situation for no reason. You need to get your mam's friend to speak to one of the local gards there who has there finger on the pulse in the area. Knows all the trouble makers, is regularly around the area, they all know him and he talks to them all in the area etc. This gard can then go and speak to this mike fella, completely off the record. Telling him, oh I hear from some of the lads your having a row with OP's brother etc. He asks what the story is. The young fella will know whats the point in lying there isnt and say what the crap is about. From there It would more than likely be settled if your brother doesnt do anything else to stir it up. Also it would be noted if anything did happen and it has been dealt with in an underhanded manner that lets everybody keep on going without doing anything.. Your family didnt go to the gards, they happened to hear about it and happened to talk to him. The gard will have explained to the lad he hears your man is ****ting him self, much to the amusement of this mike.

Your brother should just say and do nothing for the next while. These threats 9/10 are idle, you just need to be cautions and weary for the awhile, thats all.

Would agree that there's an awful lot of over-reactions here. People will vary on the opinion of contacting the guards, I think I would be worthwhile but do it 'off the record' as had been suggested, you can easily make a statement to the guards to say a threat has been made and tell them to not act on this information but that the statement is being made in case it may be useful later, such as in the event of criminal damage to house or car.

I very much doubt it will even come to anything, most of these 'threats' are just hard man talk, as had been suggested earlier 'mike' tyson doesn't want to lose face, and this is true, but if your brother keeps a very low profile and doesnt shoot his mouth off again then things should be fine. What kind of mate of your brother would go and try to put his 'friend' in the s**t anyway, doesnt seem to sort of person to be saying anything to about anything.

Most of the families of these s**ts wont be interested in this sort of crap, they are too busy cutting their next batch so that they can sell it. They really are fairly busy people, and the recession hasn't hit them yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

Seriously, that response is a disgrace. Please go back to your dillusional world. I've reported this post already (yesterday) and it's still in it's original format, how any of the mods think there is sound advice in it all I don't know.

LightningBolt:

1) Do you think that a younger person asking an older bully to look cool on camera in a film, may allay and distract that older person from wanting to beat him up?

2) Do you think that an older bully is going to respect a younger kid more (or less) for agreeing to fight?

3) Do you think it's a good idea that a younger kid who may be targetted by an older tougher scumbag should do everything in his power to learn how to defend himself?

4) Whats the worst case scenario in making a "rocky" like video, in a boxing ring, with gloves, on camera? It's certainly a lot safer than an anything goes streetfight. Done right, the younger kid might be made to look like he lost, but probably wouldn't get hurt. If it's all captured on video, thats a pretty big deterent from an evidence perspective also.

Maybe it would be more helpful if you'd explain how and why you think this post is a disgrace and your reasoning?

Surely, the more perspectives and ideas offered, the more likely the OP is to find one that is really appropriate for his situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

So much absolutely braindead advice in this thread it's not funny. Going to the gardai at this stage is not a good idea, that will just escalate it much further than it has already gone. Sending a 14 year old in to fight an older, bigger, known scumbag is possibly the stupidest thing I have ever heard.

Get your bro to confront him in a public place and profusely apologise in front of as many people as possible. The scumbag just wants to save face, and this should hopefully serve that purpose. Also if he really is just a total scrote looking to beat up a teenager, it's unlikely he'll get away with it in a very public place. If this turns out to be the case then you can contact the gardai or whatever, but just get your bro to apologise first in safe setting where he's not going to get his head kicked in. If that doesn't work then start considering other options. But at the moment play it cool and don't listen to 99% of the people posting in this thread, they are obviously living in fantasy land.

Make a film with him as the star- LOL, priceless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

LightningBolt:

1) Do you think that a younger person asking an older bully to look cool on camera in a film, may allay and distract that older person from wanting to beat him up?

2) Do you think that an older bully is going to respect a younger kid more (or less) for agreeing to fight?

3) Do you think it's a good idea that a younger kid who may be targetted by an older tougher scumbag should do everything in his power to learn how to defend himself?

4) Whats the worst case scenario in making a "rocky" like video, in a boxing ring, with gloves, on camera? It's certainly a lot safer than an anything goes streetfight. Done right, the younger kid might be made to look like he lost, but probably wouldn't get hurt. If it's all captured on video, thats a pretty big deterent from an evidence perspective also.

Maybe it would be more helpful if you'd explain how and why you think this post is a disgrace and your reasoning?

Surely, the more perspectives and ideas offered, the more likely the OP is to find one that is really appropriate for his situation?

No offense but he'll probably get the **** knocked out of him repeatadly if he suggested making a video with this chap. This bloke is a known scumbag in the area, probably doesn't give a **** about what he has to do to save face and you suggest to make a "rocky like" video...I make crappy posts repeatadly but this makes me feel better about myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭DisasterIRL

LightningBolt:

By the post I am assuming you have not had very many confrontations with Scumbags, a boxing ring is quite a bad idea, not bvery many people are wandering by, most of these guys are irrational and thugish, just because it's in a boxing ring makes it no safer. If the guy is roughly the same size I was suggest either apologsing, or taking the challenge(believe it or not, the guy coulld respect him for it) in a public place, preferably a place with camera's and with somewhere to escape to afterwards if the need be, friends house ect. That way if the fight escalates and become dangerous you have somewhere to go and proof of what happened. Also if a guy is willing the mess someone up over some words then what makes you think he wouldn't mess up the guy with the camera

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

When you say he will get beat up, do you mean by 5 or 6 lads? With weapons? In an ideal world you would go to the guards, but knowing the situation, sometimes it is best that you don't. Do make it know though and get your little brother to make a report but don't take matters further.

So your brother accepts this challenge, he gets a beating... will this be the end of it? I am not going to suggest violance, I am afraid of getting banned. But logicaly thinking, is accepting the challenge the right route? (If I am wrong with what I say here mods, please let me know and I will edit it, I think what I said is ok)

You say sorry to him, think he will say:

"Apology accepted, I hope you learnt your lesson young man, now be off with you, I have some crokery to paint"

I think not, especially if the other thugs are around. Sorry I cannot offer you much advice on this matter mate :(

I mean, your not dealing with the local bully, but a bunch of scum. It's a pretty dangerous situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Harpy

I'm currently travelling abroad, but my mam just rang to update me on a bit of drama at home in limerick ...

Basically, I have a 14 year old brother, not a bad kid, never been in any major trouble.

Thing is, basically a few months ago, he was shooting his mouth off about a fella a few years older than him. He can't even remember himself exactly what was said, but the lads he said it to have since said it back to the older fella - let's call him Mike. So, as it happens, Mike is a member of a well-known family of violent criminals in Limerick. He has challenged my brother to a fight, and if he doesn't agree to it, Mike's threatened to come after the rest of the family.

My mam's in bits - she doesn't know what to do. Should they go to the gardai, or are they kind of powerless in these situations?

Would be grateful for any suggestions ye might have, thanks.

Id just tell your brother to lay low, and not to go into town or the crescent or places where he's likely to come across this guy, and just stay out of his way and it'll blow over, if this guy is part of a gang to be honest he's not gonna do too much to your brother..just tell your brother if he is going around town, don't go anywhere dodgy stay where there's people aroun,d like he doesn't want to be in the park or somewhere like that and then if that lad see's him he's cornered..
    at least if he's in town the most that more than likely will happen is the scumbag might get a dig or two on your brother(i know sounds awful).. the threat to your family are empty threats in my opinion , the amount of time scumbags used come up to us, threats here and there 'im gonna slit your throat'(im a girl may i add) etc..

I think your mams gone the right way with the guard she knows at least the guard can check if he's known to them and if he's a serious threat or just a little **** who will threaten your bro maybe get in a fight with him but would do nothin too serious e.g pull a knife

best of luck to ya, hope your bro can sort it out, its an awful situation for a 14 yo. there's some amount of c*nts around limerick these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 WoOoOoOoOo

^^^^^^^
    :D ftw :D

No dont get your brother to fight. What if he gets badly beat up?

Either tell him to lay low and stay out oif town for a while.

I know the guy he fell out with is a scumbag but can he be reasoned with? YOU could go to the guy involved and apologise on his behalf. Tell him it what what your borther said was taken out of context or exaggerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

LightningBolt:

No I don't, I think it may come across as desperate and pathetic, I think you were watching Son of Rambow lately. The REAL WORLD doesn't work like that.

I don't think the bully in question has any respect whatsoever for the kid.

I think it's great that people learn how to protect themselves, there's not a chance in hell of learning to protect yourself reasonably in a short time span, it's not a set date. The kid could be set on at any time.

There' no way to fake being hurt at 14 by an 18 year old(I may be wrong on age here). He get's the **** knocked out of him and it's now on camera. The mother has already thought of sending him away(drastic), what happens to the kid when every little toe rag in Limerick has a copy of it and is shoving it in his face daily?

You're trying to apply a solution that in reality would only ever happen in something like High School Musical.
    There's a kid somewhere that could potentially get a serious hiding if they're not empty threats.

Look, you offered your opinion and that's fair enough. I, however, doubt that you've grown up in a socially disadvantaged area and fully understand the logic and reasoning behind thug's actions. I've seen first hand the actions of scumbags, there is seldom no reasoning with them. Attempting to explain to those from not so deprived areas is hard as people can rarely understand how scumbags can act so senseless and with little remorse. Even now, it's hard to artciulate exactly what it is that causes scum of the earth to behave in a manner that is destructive on a regular occurence.

I hope you're not a troll, I doubt you are.