Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who overwork their shoulders...

• 07-11-2008 10:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭

Hello

I've noticed two types of people who overwork their shoulders. The first is the person who gets really broad, and the second is the person who gets a sort of long neck and loses his shoulders. Please see the attached image to see what I mean. The guy with the long neck is the guy on the right.

I personally think the long neck looks unattractive and a bit silly.

What causes it? Did he have small shoulders to begin with, or is he overdoing a certain exercise?

Any thoughts appreciated.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

It just looks like a case of:

A) The first picture the person has over developed shoulders and under developed traps

B) The second picture the person has over developed traps and under developed shoulders.

So person A would want to work on developing the traps by doing Shrugs or even including high pulls and cleans to their workout. Person B would want to do general overall shoulder development work like dumbell presses, military presses, lateral raises, rear delt flyes etc

Regarding the cause of it, maybe person B never really did alot of shoulder work by maybe being inconsistent with their shoulder workouts or probably just finds it hard to put on muscle in the shoulder area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Hello

I've noticed two types of people who overwork their shoulders. The first is the person who gets really broad, and the second is the person who gets a sort of long neck and loses his shoulders. Please see the attached image to see what I mean. The guy with the long neck is the guy on the right.

What causes it? Did he have small shoulders to begin with, or is he overdoing a certain exercise?

Cheers.

its all genetics/structural, my shoulders are like the ones on the right so are my da's:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Hello

Cheers.

How can weight training lengthen your neck?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

This thread makes no sense. Why are you attributing broad shoulders/long necks to shoulder work?! Where is the causality coming from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 dennisthemennis

i have the right sided one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

kevpants wrote: »

I love that article, the idea of Dave (Tate yeah?) crying to himself over not having a big enough yoke is somehow appealing....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Genetics more important than shoulder exercises. I used to do a lot of heavy shrugs and compound exercise but could never get those freaky high traps you see in magazines etc. Mine went back a good bit but not upwards if that makes sense to ya. I know fellas who never weight train who have really broad shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Genetic determinism is an excuse dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Genetics more important than shoulder exercises. I used to do a lot of heavy shrugs and compound exercise but could never get those freaky high traps you see in magazines etc. Mine went back a good bit but not upwards if that makes sense to ya. I know fellas who never weight train who have really broad shoulders.

You'll never get really strong either if you don't change your attitude. I'm the most genetically NON gifted sparrow legged fúcker you'll ever meet and it doesn't hold me back. Seriously I have zero meat around my knees, my watches all go on nearly the smallest setting cos of my girly wrists and I can shift a lot more weight than almost all of these bull headed thick set feckers I see in the gym.

Watch this (Ah Jim is there anything you DON'T know?)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭RoosterIllusion

I love working out my shoulders.

I never do just my shoulders though.

I can't imagine working out my shoulders with doing shoulder presses, shrugs, upright rows (supersetting) and wide grip chin ups for my biceps and deltoids.

Working any one muscle group too much will make you look stupid. an example is the Mardyke Gym in Cork. Saw a guy the other day with very big arms. 6'5" tall guy, huge arms, proportionally way smaller everywhere else. He just looked like a gorilla who had lost all chest muscle but kept the arms. Underdeveloped chest, back, shoulders in comparison.