Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda radio codes

• 02-11-2008 10:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭

You see that various US police departments have various 10-codes that they use as shorthand on the radio.

Do the Garda have a similiar system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

So there's no "hey, we got a 10-whatever here" .. instead it's a case of "hey, we got a dead body" etc ?

Or is it a case of it's not public ?

the closest we get to radio codes is saying roger as an acknowledgement, apart from that it's just a general conversation, or we use "garda speak" as some people have dubbed it, like saying 49 for drunk driver, (ie section 49 road traffic act). apart from that there's not much.

Do you guys have a list of "garda speak"? Interested to hear it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

10-42 is Chicken balls and fried rice from the Jia Jia in Athlone if that's any help. ;)

/Addition/ May or may not be of relevence to Ireland.

Official Ten-Code List
    Association of Public Communications Officers (APCO)

* 10-0 Caution
    * 10-1 Unable to copy -- change location
    * 10-2 Signal good
    * 10-3 Stop transmitting
    * 10-4 Acknowledgement (OK)
    * 10-5 Relay
    * 10-6 Busy -- stand by unless urgent
    * 10-7 Out of service
    * 10-8 In service
    * 10-9 Repeat
    * 10-10 Fight in progress
    * 10-11 Dog case
    * 10-12 Stand by (stop)
    * 10-13 Weather -- road report
    * 10-14 Prowler report
    * 10-15 Civil disturbance
    * 10-16 Domestic disturbance
    * 10-17 Meet complainant
    * 10-18 Quickly
    * 10-19 Return to ...
    * 10-20 Location
    * 10-21 Call ... by telephone
    * 10-22 Disregard
    * 10-23 Arrived at scene
    * 10-24 Assignment completed
    * 10-25 Report in person (meet) ...
    * 10-26 Detaining subject, expedite
    * 10-27 Drivers license information
    * 10-28 Vehicle registration information
    * 10-29 Check for wanted
    * 10-30 Unnecessary use of radio
    * 10-31 Crime in progress
    * 10-32 Man with gun
    * 10-33 Emergency
    * 10-34 Riot
    * 10-35 Major crime alert
    * 10-36 Correct time
    * 10-37 (Investigate) suspicious vehicle
    * 10-38 Stopping suspicious vehicle
    * 10-39 Urgent -- use light, siren
    * 10-40 Silent run -- no light, siren
    * 10-41 Beginning tour of duty
    * 10-42 Ending tour of duty
    * 10-43 Information
    * 10-44 Permission to leave ... for ...
    * 10-45 Animal carcass at ...
    * 10-46 Assist motorist
    * 10-47 Emergency road repairs at ...
    * 10-48 Traffic standard repair at ...
    * 10-49 Traffic light out at ...
    * 10-50 Accident (fatal, personal injury, property damage)
    * 10-51 Wrecker needed
    * 10-52 Ambulance needed
    * 10-53 Road blocked at ...
    * 10-54 Livestock on highway
    * 10-55 Suspected DUI
    * 10-56 Intoxicated pedestrian
    * 10-57 Hit and run (fatal, personal injury, property damage)
    * 10-58 Direct traffic
    * 10-59 Convoy or escort
    * 10-60 Squad in vicinity
    * 10-61 Isolate self for message
    * 10-62 Reply to message
    * 10-63 Prepare to make written copy
    * 10-64 Message for local delivery
    * 10-65 Net message assignment
    * 10-66 Message cancellation
    * 10-67 Clear for net message
    * 10-68 Dispatch information
    * 10-69 Message received
    * 10-70 Fire
    * 10-71 Advise nature of fire
    * 10-72 Report progress on fire
    * 10-73 Smoke report
    * 10-74 Negative
    * 10-75 In contact with ...
    * 10-76 En route ...
    * 10-77 ETA (estimated time of arrival)
    * 10-78 Need assistance
    * 10-79 Notify coroner
    * 10-80 Chase in progress
    * 10-81 Breathalyzer
    * 10-82 Reserve lodging
    * 10-83 Work school xing at ...
    * 10-84 If meeting ... advise ETA
    * 10-85 Delayed due to ...
    * 10-86 Officer/operator on duty
    * 10-87 Pick up/distribute checks
    * 10-88 Present telephone number of ...
    * 10-89 Bomb threat
    * 10-90 Bank alarm at ...
    * 10-91 Pick up prisoner/subject
    * 10-92 Improperly parked vehicle
    * 10-93 Blockade
    * 10-94 Drag racing
    * 10-95 Prisoner/subject in custody
    * 10-96 Mental subject
    * 10-97 Check (test) signal
    * 10-98 Prison/jail break
    * 10-99 Wanted/stolen indicated

Random wrote: »
    Do you guys have a list of "garda speak"? Interested to hear it :)

there is no list of "garda speak" it's just a collection of words and phrases you pick up as you go along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

control put us back down for that call re drinking tea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Some of the codes we use. No official codes but some of the ones we use

49 = drunk driver
    112/ or U/T = stolen vehicle
    intruders on = burglary in progress
    going on the 45 = going for the break
    going on the 99 = going for an ice-cream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

"Would you ever f*** off!"= I'd rather not go to that call control!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Papa Kilo Oscar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭alentejo

On the Gardai adopt Tetra, all voice traffic will be encripted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Ha ha ha, yes theres official ways to say things but no codes. It rarely gets beyond 'roger' but yes we get a class on terms and how to use the radio, all completely ignored of course :p

As Nog said, we tend to refer to incidents based on the law that governs it such as a Section23, drugs. Section 49, drink driver, Section 6 and/or 8, public order, etc.

Despite whats suggested above, we refer to incidents involving sex, couples, etc as 'a dvsa' Domestic Violence Sexual Assault. Oscar Tango is Overtime. Little things like that.

I know theres similar little words and phrases in the ambulance, I believe GTL means 'Gone to lunch' as in dead. Come to think about it, most occupations would have their own language surrounding their jobs, little abbreviations, etc for the various items they deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

How the hell does anyone remember that 10-code list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Paulzx wrote: »
    Watch loads of American cop shows...:D

They're right there on the laptops in our patrol cars.
    Oh, wait a minute...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Is that serious about calling a rape "hairy ape"?

I never knew that serious sexual assault could be such fun.

Is that serious about calling a rape "hairy ape"?

I never knew that serious sexual assault could be such fun.
    Working class humour, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

TheNog wrote: »
    going on the 99 = going for an ice-cream
    Hahaha! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

deadwood wrote: »
    They're right there on the laptops in our patrol cars.
    Oh, wait a minute...

If you can imagine you have a decent radio system you can also imagine a laptop. Let your creative side come out:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Be some laugh when all the new lads would be getting the codes wrong :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Thats a 10-30,

has to be my new reply for all radio calls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭ian_m

I only know of a small list, nothing like the states. Common are..
    DUI driving under the influence
    RTA road traffic accident
    Refs refreshments
    Intruders On intruders on the premises

Thanks for the info (and the jokes!) lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ChapOfDRyans

Are the units givin names or do they call them by name?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Are the units givin names or do they call them by name?

Districts and stations have callsigns, and their mobiles (cars/vans) will also have callsigns based on the station callsign. Individual members are called by their shoulder numbers over the radio, but use first names etc on a more casual basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Not to forget some lads being Mike Alpha Delta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Hagar wrote: »
    10-42 is Chicken balls and fried rice from the Jia Jia in Athlone if that's any help. ;)

/Addition/ May or may not be of relevence to Ireland.

Official Ten-Code List
    Association of Public Communications Officers (APCO)

* 10-0 Caution
    * 10-1 Unable to copy -- change location
    * 10-2 Signal good
    * 10-3 Stop transmitting
    * 10-4 Acknowledgement (OK)
    * 10-5 Relay
    * 10-6 Busy -- stand by unless urgent
    * 10-7 Out of service
    * 10-8 In service
    * 10-9 Repeat
    * 10-10 Fight in progress
    * 10-11 Dog case
    * 10-12 Stand by (stop)
    * 10-13 Weather -- road report
    * 10-14 Prowler report
    * 10-15 Civil disturbance
    * 10-16 Domestic disturbance
    * 10-17 Meet complainant
    * 10-18 Quickly
    * 10-19 Return to ...
    * 10-20 Location
    * 10-21 Call ... by telephone
    * 10-22 Disregard
    * 10-23 Arrived at scene
    * 10-24 Assignment completed
    * 10-25 Report in person (meet) ...
    * 10-26 Detaining subject, expedite
    * 10-27 Drivers license information
    * 10-28 Vehicle registration information
    * 10-29 Check for wanted
    * 10-30 Unnecessary use of radio
    * 10-31 Crime in progress
    * 10-32 Man with gun
    * 10-33 Emergency
    * 10-34 Riot
    * 10-35 Major crime alert
    * 10-36 Correct time
    * 10-37 (Investigate) suspicious vehicle
    * 10-38 Stopping suspicious vehicle
    * 10-39 Urgent -- use light, siren
    * 10-40 Silent run -- no light, siren
    * 10-41 Beginning tour of duty
    * 10-42 Ending tour of duty
    * 10-43 Information
    * 10-44 Permission to leave ... for ...
    * 10-45 Animal carcass at ...
    * 10-46 Assist motorist
    * 10-47 Emergency road repairs at ...
    * 10-48 Traffic standard repair at ...
    * 10-49 Traffic light out at ...
    * 10-50 Accident (fatal, personal injury, property damage)
    * 10-51 Wrecker needed
    * 10-52 Ambulance needed
    * 10-53 Road blocked at ...
    * 10-54 Livestock on highway
    * 10-55 Suspected DUI
    * 10-56 Intoxicated pedestrian
    * 10-57 Hit and run (fatal, personal injury, property damage)
    * 10-58 Direct traffic
    * 10-59 Convoy or escort
    * 10-60 Squad in vicinity
    * 10-61 Isolate self for message
    * 10-62 Reply to message
    * 10-63 Prepare to make written copy
    * 10-64 Message for local delivery
    * 10-65 Net message assignment
    * 10-66 Message cancellation
    * 10-67 Clear for net message
    * 10-68 Dispatch information
    * 10-69 Message received
    * 10-70 Fire
    * 10-71 Advise nature of fire
    * 10-72 Report progress on fire
    * 10-73 Smoke report
    * 10-74 Negative
    * 10-75 In contact with ...
    * 10-76 En route ...
    * 10-77 ETA (estimated time of arrival)
    * 10-78 Need assistance
    * 10-79 Notify coroner
    * 10-80 Chase in progress
    * 10-81 Breathalyzer
    * 10-82 Reserve lodging
    * 10-83 Work school xing at ...
    * 10-84 If meeting ... advise ETA
    * 10-85 Delayed due to ...
    * 10-86 Officer/operator on duty
    * 10-87 Pick up/distribute checks
    * 10-88 Present telephone number of ...
    * 10-89 Bomb threat
    * 10-90 Bank alarm at ...
    * 10-91 Pick up prisoner/subject
    * 10-92 Improperly parked vehicle
    * 10-93 Blockade
    * 10-94 Drag racing
    * 10-95 Prisoner/subject in custody
    * 10-96 Mental subject
    * 10-97 Check (test) signal
    * 10-98 Prison/jail break
    * 10-99 Wanted/stolen indicated

Sweet jesus.

10-10-20 It's all gone to shit. (Fertiliser) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

What would the code be for 'Shnack Box and Chicken Dippers'??

Some of the codes we use. No official codes but some of the ones we use

49 = drunk driver
    112/ or U/T = stolen vehicle
    intruders on = burglary in progress
    going on the 45 = going for the break
    going on the 99 = going for an ice-cream[/quote]

Thats the sole reason behind my username. Dont know why I have the rest of the tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

49 = drunk driver
    Swollen and suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

eroo wrote: »

Station: Mike Charlie base to 70
    District Car: Go ahead
    Station: Urgent call to Hot and Tender. Owner will be ready for ye in 5 minutes
    District Car: *sirens in the background* Roger that, on the way. ;)

I actually saw a garda goin into Leo Burdocks Rathmines the other evening. It looked like he had enough chips for the whole district.

edit thought it was the real Leo's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

donvito99 wrote: »
    I actually saw a garda goin into Leo Burdocks Rathmines the other evening. It looked like he had enough chips for the whole district.

they do have a lunch time ya know :rolleyes:

anto-t wrote: »
    they do have a lunch time ya know :rolleyes:

Just thought it was funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

years ago they allways came into the shoe shop near me to buy the new prisioners slippers...

they all so used a near by hotel for food.. some days it would be close to 20 trays of food!!

donvito99 wrote: »
    Was he bringing the food back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Gardai like their Apache Pizza. I applaude their taste. :D

10-6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Angus MacGyver

10-44 10-45

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Not every force uses the same list and not all the codes are used. Where I worked in Nevada only used about half of them and there were a few extra ones like Code 50 for a dead body, Code 4 for no further action, Code 2 for get here quick. You simply pick them up as you go along, took me about a week to learn them all.

If you were on the paddy wagon you would know soon enough what code brown meant. :D

Codes smodes, u could just say that ye auld prisoner had shat himself! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

is all the force using tetra now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Nope. There seems to be a problem with the rollout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭meathmannn

No problem that I know of.
    Mid Feb. 2009 according to those in the know. Personal issue too, as many of you will have noticed all that extra wiring in your post locker rooms to put a charger in each locker.
    I'm not sure what the time line is for outside DMR. I just hope someone remembers to buy new smaller pouches for the Motorollas that are coming.

Well im retiring in 30 years... hope to see it before then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

ScubaDave wrote: »
    Well im retiring in 30 years... hope to see it before then!

Ah your still an optimist at heart. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 elmarko2112

meathmannn wrote: »
    No problem that I know of.
    Mid Feb. 2009 according to those in the know. Personal issue too, as many of you will have noticed all that extra wiring in your post locker rooms to put a charger in each locker.
    I'm not sure what the time line is for outside DMR. I just hope someone remembers to buy new smaller pouches for the Motorollas that are coming.

Rolled out DMR as mentioned above, followed by 1 other region (maybe southern) and then by the end of the year the whole country should be up and running.

End of 2011! Thats my prediction for my division anyway!

And that is being VERY optimistic!

(Dont forget, according to a statement release not that long ago, we are all gonna have pepper spray by xmas..... they'd want to hurry!)