Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Magpies, your thoughts

• 02-11-2008 4:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭

I'm being stalked by a magpie, I've seen one five times in the past three days. Are many people superstitious when it comes to these birds? One is bad, two is good, etc. Poll included.

Magpies-your thoughts? 54 votes

Magpies are scary!
    0% 0 votes
    Magpies aren't scary you eejit
    25% 14 votes
    Don't be daft I'm not superstitious
    48% 26 votes
    Atari Magpie
    25% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Acid Tongue

Stop wearing shiny things. It might leave you alone then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I was wearing mostly black, maybe it thought I was one of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

haha

my uncle has this little 'business' on the side, where he will catch a magpie in your garden, put it in a cage, and leave it in your garden in the cage until it starves to death. Its left there as a warning to the other magpies to fcuk off, and apparently works.

IMO its the stupidest thing Ive ever heard in my lifetime, they dont bother me at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Im not normally superstitious but am with magpies. probably just brought up with it. all ya gotta do is say how ya captain and ya be grand, then go mental looking for the second fella flying around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I'm being stalked by a magpie, I've seen one five times in the past three days. Are many people superstitious when it comes to these birds? One is bad, two is good, etc. Poll included.

:rolleyes:5 times in 3 days... wow! magpies are so rare if you see one a year you're lucky:rolleyes:!

sorry, just thought this thread was a bit random.

Feckin' birds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,809 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

peanuthead wrote: »
    haha

my uncle has this little 'business' on the side, where he will catch a magpie in your garden, put it in a cage, and leave it in your garden in the cage until it starves to death. Its left there as a warning to the other magpies to fcuk off, and apparently works.

IMO its the stupidest thing Ive ever heard in my lifetime, they dont bother me at all.

Sounds like a nice guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

Is it not if you see one, you salute it? And the bad luck flies away with Mr Magpie!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭TriciaDelicia

My OH gets freaked if he's sees one, reckons his whole day is ruined.:(
    Gets the Lotto when he sees two, but he never wins.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

These things are bound to happen if you constantly dress like Liberace, which I know you do Brian. Try to be more tasteful in your attire, for example like Elton John, and they'll leave you alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ear clamps by Hanrattys should help.

edit: d'oh that was crows.

Cleeo wrote: »
    Is it not if you see one, you salute it? And the bad luck flies away with Mr Magpie!!

I did salute it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Cleeo wrote: »

yeah thats it bud. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

The fekers petrify me! If i see one alone i have to 1) scrap my hand against something to get rid of the bad luck 2) think of something that has just happened to me that is the bad luck! 3) pinch myself.

I hate them and they all should be culled.

o1s1n wrote: »
    Sounds like a nice guy.

he is an idiot. this just helped me to convince the rest of my family to agree with me. Uncle through marriage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

A ridiculous superstition, not logical in any way.

The worst thing a magpie can do to you is poop-bomb you.

It could peck your eyes out! :eek: It'd do it and then laugh in your eyeless face I tells ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭carbsy

peanuthead wrote: »
    he is an idiot. this just helped me to convince the rest of my family to agree with me. Uncle through marriage

I think o1s1n was being sarcastic. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

It could peck your eyes out! :eek: It'd do it and then laugh in your eyeless face I tells ya!

You wouldn't be able to see it, so don't let the possibility bother you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

That sums up magpies for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

One for sorrow,
    Two for joy,
    Three for a girl,
    Four for a boy,
    Five for silver,
    Six for gold,
    Seven for a secret never to be told,
    Eight for a kiss,
    Nine for a wish,
    Ten for a bird you must not miss.

I was in a chemists waiting for a prescription about 15 years ago and memorised that.
    For some reason I still remember it.

As for the birds themselves, I saw one eyeballing my lodger's open window the other day and earlier today one flew into my friend's window as I was looking out.
    Creepy bastards, but superstition is a load of OCD crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭electrofilth

do you not think superstition is a bit idiotic?

if you look at any situation rationally can you not see that superstition doesnt actually make any sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

They are little feckers. Did you ever see them bullying a little dog or cat? Two of them used to gang up and keep pecking my dog on his ass when he was a pup. He's big now and tries to eat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

I voted Magpies are Scary. Simply because they're birds. I hate birds - all birds - but pigeons in particular.

Pigeons are EVIL.

Edit: Oh, 1000th post. Quite anti-climactic really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I voted Magpies are Scary. Simply because they're birds. I hate birds - all birds - but pigeons in particular.

Pigeons are EVIL.

What about delicious chickens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

The fekers petrify me! If i see one alone i have to 1) scrap my hand against something to get rid of the bad luck 2) think of something that has just happened to me that is the bad luck! 3) pinch myself.

I hate them and they all should be culled.

Working on it, working on it....

Serious now, there's that many of the nuisances around that if they were stalking you it would be the biggest surveilance network in Ireland

Can you not see the silliness in your arguing this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I've never tasted one, unless it was suppost to be chicken in a chinese dinner.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

How do you know it's the same magpie? They all look the same to me.

Personally I think superstitions are unbelievably ridiclous, but the magpie one tops the lot. It's an ugly black and white bird, ffs, it doesn't know what you're doing when you salute it. I have a friend who's the most normal, sane person you could ever meet, until she sees a magpie, that is. Then she turns into the most irrational gibbering mess you've ever seen until she goes through all her little magpie rituals. I hate being out with her if there's a few of the feckers about, it can become nearly impossible to have a proper conversation sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

I have mixed feelings about magpies probably cause I am somewhat ascared of them!

Designed a collection on them in collage because became so fascinated by them - have wonderful texture and form.

Used to see one and (this is really sad) nod 3 times say mornin Mr. Magpie mornin mr. magpie mornin mr. magpie Salute 3 times saying wheres ur friend mr magpie x3 then if there wasnt another stick my middle finger up and say fuk you mr magpie x3.
    So my advice worship them or else....

Gosh that all sounds crazy! :eek:

Zaph wrote: »
    How do you know it's the same magpie? They all look the same to me.

Maybe you aren't paying enough attention to them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Death to magpies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

pseudonym1 wrote: »
    I have mixed feelings about magpies probably cause I am somewhat ascared of them!

Designed a collection on them in collage because became so fascinated by them - have wonderful texture and form.

Used to see one and (this is really sad) nod 3 times say mornin Mr. Magpie mornin mr. magpie mornin mr. magpie Salute 3 times saying wheres ur friend mr magpie x3 then if there wasnt another stick my middle finger up and say fuk you mr magpie x3.
    So my advice worship them or else....

Gosh that all sounds crazy! :eek:

round my way you're supposed to say 'jimmy' twice, and spit twice

on espying magpie: "Jimmy Jimmy thoo thoo"

strange sad but true I tells ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Magpie!

You know you love it baby ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

mud wrote: »
    round my way you're supposed to say 'jimmy' twice, and spit twice

on espying magpie: "Jimmy Jimmy thoo thoo"

strange sad but true I tells ya

Whilst you slap yourself on the back of the head!?

Magpie! wrote: »
    You know you love it baby ;)

You know it. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I'm not usually one to crow about these things but they're evil. It's as clear as black and white to me.

see I was told that if you see a magpie through glass then the bad luck can't get through LOL!

I'm funny about superstitions, I only believe the good luck ones, like if I saw two magpies then I'd be like "oooh good luck for me" but if I see one, then I'm more like "yeh right, like magpies could bring you bad luck"!!!

see I was told that if you see a magpie through glass then the bad luck can't get through LOL!

:eek: Omg that's fantastic, now I can't get no bad magpie luck cause I always see them through my glasses!!!!!!! Thank ewe!:P

I wonder would contact lenses have the same effect LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

What about delicious chickens?
    Don't pick holes in my argument. I'm right, I'm always right, 90% of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

I heard of a guy with a pet magpie called "maggie"..original i know :rolleyes: he trained it to do stuff but one day it turned bad and pecked his eyes out. I don't want to believe it but....

just to point out all birds are evil and magpies especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Magpies are one of the local wild animals that make a great pet if you could get your hands on a very young one without breaking the law. They talk better than parrots and they're highly intelligent ( compared to a chicken that is ) and they trive on the cheapest tinned catfood and a couple of handfulls of food leftovers. Downside is that you need a big cage, something the size of a parrot cage is the absolute minimum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Magpies are cute and cheeky, they should be protected along with crows and foxes. :D

Another reason for removing the lid from your wheelybin. :pac::pac::pac:

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=vYBu4T8NUWc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Simi

Magpies are cute and cheeky, they should be protected along with crows and foxes. :D

Another reason for removing the lid from your wheelybin. :pac::pac::pac:

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=vYBu4T8NUWc

That is the worst cat i've ever seen! Too lazy to take out a magpie literally inches away from it. My cat would have destroyed that magpie if it came within 3 metres of it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,656 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Yor Ma(gpie)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Simi wrote: »
    That is the worst cat i've ever seen! Too lazy to take out a magpie literally inches away from it. My cat would have destroyed that magpie if it came within 3 metres of it.

Brothers cat would regularly have them for breakfast literaly and that was without a front leg. (Car accident)

This cat is a bit more agile but still not quick enough http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=g9M7NmVVsxA