Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

emergency numbers...

• 01-11-2008 12:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭

ummmm

apparently we are getting a new emergency number so I am wondering who has never ever dialled a 999,911,11811, whatever number...am I in a minority...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

112 is also a number.

I used to be able to type all 3 numbers in 6 digits:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

*races in*

Hah! Beat you nerds to it ... d'oh.

To answer your question: Yes; probably. Living a sheltered life or using appropriate local numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

PM a mod ;)
    Preferably AlmightyCushion.

oh , and don't forget to wish said mod a very

Merry Christmas.;)

A VERY merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas AC! (Insert blood/re-lyriced ultimate showdown of ultimate destiny)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

ummmm

apparently we are getting a new emergency number so I am wondering who has never ever dialled a 999,911,11811, whatever number...am I in a minority...:pac:
    A minority of what? What is your question exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

eh.. this thread wins the wtf contest? :confused:

*please dial 087445558741234 to report this post.
    Calls cost €723 per minute. This is a subscription service, texts received cost €27. To unsubscibe text a strawberry jam sandwich to 1337 within three seconds of reading this...

A person who hasn't used 999. Assuming at least 50.0000001% percent of people have, therefore he would be a minority, or vice versa if 50.0000001% of people have used 999, therefore making him a communist majority

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Reading this thread I'm just confused! :(

I think I now need to dial one of those numbers! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Is 911 an emergency number ? Who does it get you through to ?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

No, this is eh 912.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

giggsy664 wrote: »
    A person who hasn't used 999. Assuming at least 50.0000001% percent of people have, therefore he would be a minority, or vice versa if 50.0000001% of people have used 999, therefore making him a communist majority
    Most people have tried to get a lift home off them at least.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Is 911 an emergency number ? Who does it get you through to ?

...the Dail ambulance crew using electric shock paddles on a body called "Ireland" and shouting "Its no good Mr Cowan - we can't restart the economy!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Karoma wrote: »
    *races in*

Hah! Beat you nerds to it ... d'oh.

To answer your question: Yes; probably. Living a sheltered life or using appropriate local numbers?
    God bless the I.T Crowd.

No, this is eh 912.

= Secret number for Santa./ Ring that number now/ or just pm the poster.

You gotta pm 10 times for the number to work.;)

No, this is eh 912.
    What? :eek: Ah jaysus - would ya ever run next door and tell them me house is on fire ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

911 is for the US NOT Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

911 is for the US NOT Ireland.
    What? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Here's the official answer

http://www.askcomreg.ie/home_phone/phone_numbers.37.LE.asp#L443
    The emergency call numbers in Ireland are 999 and 112. The single European Union emergency call number is 112 and this number is in use in Member States of the EU. In Ireland, both numbers 999 and 112 exist in parallel and either of these numbers will all connect you to an operator where you can request assistance from the emergency services.

I rang 911 in a panic one night and got through to someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Mhmm...weetabix

I rang 911 in a panic one night and got through to someone.

Jesus?
    If I remember rightly a few years ago they have 911 as an emergency number here aswell as so many people were ringing it in a panic situation! Too much American tv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Are you sure the emergency number is not 666? :confused:

This number appears as a prefix to all Dublin Garda metropolitan and confidential numbers. :eek:

http://www.garda.ie/statlinks/dma.html

Are you sure the emergency number is not 666? :confused:

This number appears as a prefix to all Dublin Garda metropolitan and confidential numbers. :eek:

:eek::eek::eek:

Could it be a conspiracy?

Should we hide???

SteveC wrote: »

Should we hide???

Anywhere but the bin..........;)

It was definately 911. At about 2am I looked out my window for some reason and saw a van outside my house in flames. It was a flatbed worker's truck and everything in the back of it was on fire, it was huge. So I grabs my phone, ring the emergency number say that I need a fire truck asap, hang up the phone , fire truck shows up, puts out the fire, I go back to bed . Then a half hour later I look at my phone and realised that I dialed 911!!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

It's so us Yanks don't kill ourselves when we need the emergency services. It's not exactly like in the states. Here you can't order pizza on it for some reason? If that's not an emergency, then I don't know what is! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

Rang 999 once after witnessing a really bad car crash. Yer wan was so annoying though. talk about 20 questions!
    ...and whats your name?
    ...can you spell that please?
    ...and your address?
    ...finally your mobile phone number?
    feck sake, what does she want my life story! must be some amount of prank calls for them to want that info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i rang 999 once by mistake, phone was in my pocket and just dialled it, and then managed to hang up again. they rang me back -"hello, this is the emergency services, are you all right?". I was thinking "awh, thats sweet, the emergency services are checking up on me" when they said "you tried to ring us a few mins ago, are you all right?". when i realised what had happened i explained and apologised. they werent impressed, probably thought i was a prank caller.

Jeapy wrote: »
    Rang 999 once after witnessing a really bad car crash. Yer wan was so annoying though. talk about 20 questions!
    ...and whats your name?
    ...can you spell that please?
    ...and your address?
    ...finally your mobile phone number?
    feck sake, what does she want my life story! must be some amount of prank calls for them to want that info.

I rang 999 when I was in town, some bloke was about to get the sh!t kicked out of him by a bouncer. He didn't ask for my name or number just what did I need and where, I wasn't sure of the name of the street but once I said the part of the pub name he new where it was straight away. Guards showed up in a matter of about 2mins. Probably a bit overzealous on my part, 2 cars and a total of 7 Guards showed up and by then the fella had moved on after the bouncer had him in a head lock.
    sam34 wrote: »
    i rang 999 once by mistake, phone was in my pocket and just dialled it, and then managed to hang up again. they rang me back -"hello, this is the emergency services, are you all right?". I was thinking "awh, thats sweet, the emergency services are checking up on me" when they said "you tried to ring us a few mins ago, are you all right?". when i realised what had happened i explained and apologised. they werent impressed, probably thought i was a prank caller.

Surely a prank caller wouldn't answer their phone ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Once called the fire brigade because I spotted a bogfire... They showed up and done feck all really but they put the fire out anyway.

and you were expecting ??????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭XxlauraxX

Don't you mean bonfire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,007 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Welcome to 911 emergency..If you are being robbed please press 1
    If you are being attacked please press 2
    etc

callaway92 wrote: »
    etc

Anyone know if impersonating a police officer is still a crime here?

callaway92 wrote: »
    etc

good joke :rolleyes:......

XxlauraxX wrote: »
    Don't you mean bonfire?

Nope , location Mayo............;)

Had one of those near us, took three weeks to put out!!!*

*we had a summer that year!

SteveC wrote: »

Should we hide???

Under the watchful eye. :pac::pac::pac:

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/welsh-close-to-winning-83646m-garda-camera-deal-1516597.html :eek:

Well if it stops those stupid checkpoints then I'm all in favor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Surely a prank caller wouldn't answer their phone ?

true, hadnt thought of that. guess tehy just thought of me as a time waster or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭insinkerator

i am completely lost, but lol @ 11811 as an emergency number

Well if it stops those stupid checkpoints then I'm all in favor.

Yea, but as soon as your road tax, NCT, DOE expires or if you are caught on a bus lane the cams will pick your registration and you receive an automated four page fixed penalty notification. :eek:

According to the press there will eventually be 100 ANPR cameras :eek:

It will be like having another 100 Westlink toll gantries :eek:

the Green party will not be too happy with all this potential waste of paper. Im surprised they are not on to this case already :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

XxlauraxX wrote: »
    Don't you mean bonfire?

No it was a Bog Fire... Theyre actually quite dangerous in dry weather.

And in reply to the other lad yes they put it out but took their sweet time doing it... In reality they could have put it out much faster than they did but of course the longer they stay there the more they get paid.