Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Victoria Beckham to run NYC marathon on Saturday

• 31-10-2008 12:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/mhideyauojau/

I just started a thread over in showbiz about this but I wanted to know what ye all think about people like Victoria Beckham getting major news coverage for deciding to run a marathon out of the blue. I have never ran a marathon but have been running on and off for over 2 years now and feel that I might be ready to train in the spring and aim for Dublin next year.

I think it makes a mockery of the dedicationa and hard work that most people put into training for a marathon to hear people like Victoria Beckham announce that she will run the marathon on Saturday 'if she feels ready' and if not she will just run the Los Angeles one in February.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,663 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

how do you know that she hasn't been training much longer than you have? If she can actually do it then how is it making a mockery of anyone? To do so she will have put in the same hard work and dedication as anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

No offence but I think it's probably more a Showbiz topic than a marathon topic. Lots of people train for marathons they don't run in and lots of people defer entry if they aren't ready. I don't see any disrespect, it's a non-story. And one non-elite runner among 30,000+ running or not isn't a huge issue for me I have to say. If she does it good luck to her and anyone else training for and running it. But I'm not that bothered either way.

As for the press coverage - great; the more people run marathons and teh more people realise how accesible marathon running is the better as far as I am coincerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

I totally agree about press coverage about marathons being a good thing. I suppose I have been so impressed and inspired by the stories in the thread that ye all have going on the Dublin Marathon this year that the Posh story irritated me a little. If she has been training for months - fair play to her, however a few magazines out there have spun the story to sound like running a marathon is a simple thing you can do after a few 4 mile runs.

Ya I can see now how its a showbiz story. I was just curious as to how ye serious runner folk feel about stories like it.

Serious running folk? Is that how people see us? Ohh no...!

Anyway, it's late and I've been working - so apologies if I came across as cutting or dismissive, that wasn't the aim. Anyone is welcome to post anything in here that relates to road running or triathlons and (god help me) that includes stories about Posh Spice... I just genuinley don't think it's going to get much reaction in here cos it's more about her than about running (wait ans see they'll prove me wrong now, flock in here and make this a monster thread)

And good luck to you with the training - if you are seriously thinking of taking a punt at the DCM next year then hang around. We're planning a lash at the Aware 10k if you want to come along and become a "serious running folk" yourself :p

just realised we made u a mod amadeus! proper order. congrats, probably way to late for that, missed that one...

and agree on above. either she hasn't put in the work and will get found out, or has and will get through it ok.
    there is no faking a marathon.

Cheers - recieved my supply of coke and hookers a couple of weeks ago because of all the BAC stuff going on. HM is off a lot on these mental trips of hers as well so no harm having a 2nd pair of hands seemed to be the thinking....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

if she does complete the marathon , she will be sorry at the finish cause no one looks there best just straight after a marathon , and we all know she has created a career on getting herself photographed looking only but her best , ( cattie comment i know but i couldnt resist ) , hopefully she fininshes it , hehe :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I'd assume that she should have a slightly better access to fitness guru types than Jade Goody did in her attempt at London though and is more likely to have actually put in some miles training, or at least have been told she didn't stand a chance before turning up at the start line expecting it to be easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

If I had to guess I'd say Victoria Beckham trains a lot. I don't follow this showbiz stuff, but you get the impression that she looks after herself and is very driven. Might not be completely running specific, but she might be better prepared than many a marathon runner. If she's fit and healthy she might well be able to run a marathon without any of them 20 mile runs etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭geoff29

I think it's relevant enough alright:

I'm replying because last year I remember seeing a picture of Katie Holmes running the NY marathon - think she completed it in 5 hours or so. I thought that it was quite good to see, i.e, a fairly well known girl running, as opposed to appearing in a photo because she was drunk or worse!

Now, she's married to Tom Cruise - and if I'm right - both of them are friends with... David and Victoria Beckham! So, I'm sure this is just a 'if you can do it - I can do it too' thing between the two ladayyss...

I don't like Beckham at all, but I hope she does it and does it well because apparently she's a bit of a role-model for some out there... that's all I'll say!

Katie Holmes on the other hand, man I love her!!! Well, I did before Tom Cruise got her.

katie_holmes300.jpg

EDIT: sorry, just read that 'article' now and it already stated what I thought I was doing so well to remember!!! Boo..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

She also has a fairly fit husband to turn to for advise ;) I've thought about this kind of thing since I read about Jlo doing a Tri (didn't realise Matthew McConahey was also doing it as she grabbed all the spotlight!). Lots of celebrities do marathons and I say fair play to them. Just because they are celebrities and we love or hate them doesn't give us the right to judge their performance based on them having it easier due to money/personal trainers/ time etc...

In fact most of these celebrities work damn hard for their success and if they can raise the profile of marathon running then fair play again! Most of them already know what it is like to have a dream and go after it with the throttle down and so I think that someone like Victoria Beckham certainly has enough drive to finish a marathon. So just to clarify, celebrities that run a marathon for the same reasons we do (to achieve, to raise money, to better ourself) deserve the same respect we dish out to each other. Its the ones that 'enter' a marathon to seek attention, show a face and leave after 3 miles that need a good boot up the arse :D

When I first thought about doing a marathon I heard Oprah Winfrey had completed one in 4 hours. I was gobsmacked and it made it more real and achievable for me!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

They make a big deal of the "celebrities" taking part in London and have GPS tags on them o the route. I seem to remember Gordon Ramsey is pretty goo and think he was trying to beat one of the Olympic rowers one year, not Pinsent or Redgrave though one of the others from the boat, think he was the one that rowed the Atlantic as well. That guy knew a thinkg or two about endurance sports though and was strugling to get round in 3hrs. I think that they got Nell McAndrew to do it one year, and she ended up getting what would have been a qualifying time for the elite womens start which nobody had been expecting a "page 3 stunna" type to be able for.

You never know what someone may be capable of, or what training they may have been getting up to behind the scenes away from their public profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

Were there any celebs in Dublin on Monday, bar the few GAA lads who did it? I didn't hear about anyone 'famous' doing it so I'm guessing not, when the likes of Tommy Tiernan and Ray D'arcy ran it in previous years they got a bit of publicity (which is good for DM obviously).

robinph wrote: »
    Gordon Ramsey is pretty goo and think he was trying to beat one of the Olympic rowers one year, not Pinsent or Redgrave though one of the others from the boat, think he was the one that rowed the Atlantic as well. That guy knew a thinkg or two about endurance sports though and was strugling to get round in 3hrs. .

James Cracknell. He cracked 3 hours and he is about 15+ stone! Animal!

MCOS wrote: »
    James Cracknell. He cracked 3 hours and he is about 15+ stone! Animal!

That's the guy, he looked far too big to be getting round that fast.

Btw, at Phoenix park 10k Great Run thing, I met Ronan Keating. I was shocked to see him finishing in 40-something minutes. Really raised my opinion of him! And then a few weeks later, I saw him run London on tv, I think he made it under 4 and afterwards was crying when talking about his mother, who had died and whose charity he was running for. Really was inspiring stuff. Seems like a good guy.

I also met Jo Pavey and fell in love...

haha yeh I remember watching that too - tis crazy!!! He looked pretty determined though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

geoff29 wrote: »
    I also met Jo Pavey and fell in love...

I met Jo Pavey too at the Phoenix Park. She is probably nicest person I have ever met. I'd get more excited about meeting Pavey than Posh. I wonder will Posh have the pout on for the full 26 miles. Also, imagine she was a natural and ran a 2:20, took it up full-time, ran London '12 and pushed Paula Radcliffe into 4th and no Olympic medal for Paula. Could happen:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Seres wrote: »
    if she does complete the marathon , she will be sorry at the finish cause no one looks there best just straight after a marathon , and we all know she has created a career on getting herself photographed looking only but her best , ( cattie comment i know but i couldnt resist ) , hopefully she fininshes it , hehe :D

I predict baseball hat and ridiculous big sunglasses to minimise this problem.

I also predict a highly likely DNF - may well be fit enough, who knows how she trains, but considering how small she is (particularly compared to when first on the scene) and the occasional rumours of eating very little, the old bone density may not be the best.

Tingle wrote: »
    I wonder will Posh have the pout on for the full 26 miles. Also, imagine she was a natural and ran a 2:20, took it up full-time, ran London '12 and pushed Paula Radcliffe into 4th and no Olympic medal for Paula. Could happen:D

There'll have to be 3 of her to push Paula back to 4th in London :)
    Wait til you see Paula this weekend, she's gonna be back where she belongs at the top of marathon running.

Anyone know what time that race starts at (Irish time)? And are they showing it on any TV channels over here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I read all of those biographies and followed their progress in Sydney like a fan. Cracknell would often turn blue and be taken off the ergo unconscious after a 2k ergo test. He would literally crucify himself to beat Pinsent who would beat them all with something to spare. Then again he did have a 8 LITRE lung capacity!!!!:eek:

cfitz wrote: »
    Anyone know what time that race starts at (Irish time)? And are they showing it on any TV channels over here?
    Live Athletics

Sunday 02 November
    2:00pm - 5:00pm
    Eurosport

Live coverage of the New York Marathon, one of the world's leading road races.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Wait til you see Paula this weekend, she's gonna be back where she belongs at the top of marathon running.

Yep she will be back on top, but the only marathons she has lost will stick with her for a long time.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

It's usually on, I think Setanta show it? maybe it's the beeb I'm not 100% sure.

Woddle wrote: »

This was the only coverage that I could get working, the Europsports I have seem to be showing superbikes instead.

Anyway, I think the women have just gone through half way and there looks to only be 5 manageing to keep up with Paula now but a couple of them look as if they will fall off the back of the group shortly. Hard to know exactly where they are up to though as it is just the video feed, so there is no commentary and only the sound of the copper on his bike keeping on doing his sirens.

Yep i see paul has jsut taken it on and seems to be going for it now.

I'm watching it Eurosport 2 now.
    Ndereba has fallen off the pace.

I'd be happy to be able for just one mile at that pace.

I think Wami is the one in red and could be falling off the back soon as well, not sure what trhe other names in the group are though.

I'd be happy to be able for just one mile at that pace.

I think Wami is the one in red and could be falling off the back soon as well, not sure what trhe other names in the group are though.
    im not sure if she's going to drop off the back, not looking too bad, the rest of the group seem to be working very hard now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

This was the only coverage that I could get working, the Europsports I have seem to be showing superbikes instead.

Anyway, I think the women have just gone through half way and there looks to only be 5 manageing to keep up with Paula now but a couple of them look as if they will fall off the back of the group shortly. Hard to know exactly where they are up to though as it is just the video feed, so there is no commentary and only the sound of the copper on his bike keeping on doing his sirens.

I'm watchin the same site as you. If you watch the main feed there is commentary

Men still in large pack after about ten miles.

Women's lead group after about 14 miles is:

PaulaRadcliffe
    Kara Goucher
    Petrova
    Gete Wami
    D Tune
    Jeptoo (a bit off the group)

shels4ever wrote: »
    im not sure if she's going to drop off the back, not looking too bad, the rest of the group seem to be working very hard now.

Yep, she just kept on disappearing at the back and I thought (hoped) she'd gone.

Men still in large pack after about ten miles.

Women's lead group after about 14 miles is:

PaulaRadcliffe
    Kara Goucher
    Petrova
    Gete Wami
    D Tune
    Jeptoo (a bit off the group)

Its looking like a good race, paul is class , seems to be a slowish pace

mens leading group starting to break up, radcliffe the one pushing the pace in the womens, weird 6.30 split for the last mile, but must be due to that hill.

Wami, is the one it the red, but she is holding on..

presume there is no need for spoliers on this thread? anybody clicking in when it is on won't be surprised by seeing updates?

Yep, she just kept on disappearing at the back and I thought (hoped) she'd gone.

Why the dislike of Wami?

baza1976 wrote: »
    I'm watchin the same site as you. If you watch the main feed there is commentary

Thanks for that, I tried that one earlier and there was just silence.

Yep I though wami was in trouble there for a while but looks like she has recovered.

Why the dislike of Wami?

Because she's the one that came second to Paula last year? :D

I dont know what wami is doing, thoguh she was gone again.

yep, wami gone out the back in hurry.

looks to be just between 2 now.

i think its paulas to lose now, Wami needs a second place finish .

There is only Petrova left now, and the commentators reckon that at 40 she'll not be keeping up for long. But then Beijing was won by a 39year old, and Paula will be aiming for London at 38 as well.

I dunno, something about Radcliffes gait doesn't look right, she seems to be having a weird hip roll I don't recall seeing before. Although she does look to be creating a gap atm.

she's gone for it now...

copacetic wrote: »
    I dunno, something about Radcliffes gait doesn't look right, she seems to be having a weird hip roll I don't recall seeing before. Although she does look to be creating a gap atm.

She always looks to be running funny to me. Ndereba has a weird style as well, looks like she's shuffling/hobbling around.

Paula got a good gap going there before they cut back to the mens race.

I'd love to win a marathon...one can only dream. :(

Ooooh look at that...barring a disaster for Paula it looks like it's hers.

she looks to be really hurting now. ..

Bally8 wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/mhideyauojau/

I just started a thread over in showbiz about this but I wanted to know what ye all think about people like Victoria Beckham getting major news coverage for deciding to run a marathon out of the blue. I have never ran a marathon but have been running on and off for over 2 years now and feel that I might be ready to train in the spring and aim for Dublin next year.

I think it makes a mockery of the dedicationa and hard work that most people put into training for a marathon to hear people like Victoria Beckham announce that she will run the marathon on Saturday 'if she feels ready' and if not she will just run the Los Angeles one in February.

PR stunt.

Plus, she will get blown into the hudson if a gale blows up