If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Uniform

• 29-10-2008 05:49PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,353 ✭✭✭

quick question to the GS members on the forum, what do you think of the uniform, is it too old fashioned? impractical?

what do you think of the build quality and materials?

and what do you think would work better, if anything?

or do you like/love it, all opinions welcome.

personally i think it's outdated and needs to be rethought, it could do with more robust materials, and also more practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

foinse wrote: »

quick question to the GS members on the forum, what do you think of the uniform, is it too old fashioned? impractical?
    Yes.

what do you think of the build quality and materials?
    We've been buying uniforms with the recession in mind. That's us "going forward".

and what do you think would work better, if anything?
    Yes, anything.
    or do you like/love it, all opinions welcome.
    I'm just lucky - I look good in anything and make anything look good.
    Feel sorry for the others though.

personally i think it's outdated and needs to be rethought, it could do with more robust materials, and also more practical.
    I like the way the collar of the jacket is especially designed as a conduit to channel all the rain down to my 65% polyester shirt collar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Jay112

I think its grand! would be nice to lose the tie is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

Better high vis jacket and better trousers..That's about it, really.

Need to apply for a new equipment belt..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

Agree with you on the trousers, not suitable for everyday policing. Mine keep tearing at random places. Loose the tie aswell for day to day work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I reckon it would look much more professional and daunting (this is the wrong word .. but I can't find the right one) if it were black like the majority (if not all?) of the UK ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,353 ✭✭✭source

black is normally worn because it along with most dark colours are usually linked with authority, the navy colour would be fine if we didn't have the light blue shirt,I reckon a navy work shirt with, navy combats would be fine, along with the haix boots which i think are the best bit of kit we've been issued with.

Random wrote: »
    I reckon it would look much more professional and daunting (this is the wrong word .. but I can't find the right one) if it were black like the majority (if not all?) of the UK ones.
    That worked well for these guys.
    fatherted460.jpg

city4life wrote: »
    i wear my mountain bike gear alot....comfortable and i think looks better...
    penny-farting-police.jpg:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I would at least prefer to lose the tie for outdoor work when wearing the vest. Don't mind wearing the tie when working in the station.

The bomber jacket could do with a redesign because as Deadwood says it does tend to channel the rain down onto the back of your neck.

The trousers needs replacing with something alot more practical. Combats would work and still look smart enough.

The boots are very good but the belt should be waterproof as one of my notebooks found out!!!!

The hi-viz is not actually very hi-viz in the dark even when car lights are shined on it from any sort of distance.

The standard issue torches are not very good at all. I'd recommend LED Maglite with adjustable focus lens. Believe Surefire are also a good brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Polo shirts to wear during nights would be cool!

New vests which allow you to carry kit on them would also be nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

A proper fitting stab vest instead of the current one that for some reason points outwards at the ends and come on, a pocket or two wouldnt hurt. Combats. Poloshirts or at least a proper blue shirt. Lose the tie. Have to lose the current cap, its not waterproof, it blows away, has to be carried if your running and is a bitch in the summer when you sweat and also in the winter when it gets wet. Baseball caps are better, more practical and for the government, cheaper.

Oh and nearly forgot, burn the damn hi vis.

In fact, take a look at the mountainbike uniform, smart and practical.

_44799420_b35aa591-4bce-41bb-b3fe-0f521cb62f5d.jpg

I have one of these issued to me, in black - with matching pull-ups!

Cape01.jpg
    I might ressurect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I think ye getting something like the NYPD has would be good, with polo shirts. I think the hat ye have now is fine, and it looks good. Just give ye those waterproof covers for them and that would probably sort that. A baseball cap would be a bit too casual imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Boot polish brushes would be a nice addition too, with proper instruction given on their use :p

I've often compared the garda uniform to ours (Defence Forces), and putting aside that it looks dreadful it would appear to be totally impractical. Your pants should be combat style in rip resistant material, with season issue's (light for summer, heavy for winter).

When you were getting the stab vests it would have made sense to look at a vast with some load carrying capacity and get rid of that stuff you have on your belt.

Your cap should be replaced by a baseball style cap too.

Mairt wrote: »
    Your cap should be replaced by a baseball style cap too.
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooo..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭opti76

i agree with getting rid of the cap. it serves no purpose bar funnelling rain down the back of the jacket onto my neck

eroo wrote: »
    Just give ye those waterproof covers for them and that would probably sort that. A baseball cap would be a bit too casual imo.

I would be in favour of keeping the cap style but we need a different type of cap that is breathable and most of all washable!!!!!!!!

Mairt wrote: »
    Boot polish brushes would be a nice addition too, with proper instruction given on their use :p

Mairt, you're dead right. Some of the boots I've seen are a total disgrace. Although sometimes during a shift there will be times our boots will get dirty but there is no excuse for having dirty boots at the start of a shift.

The grubby booots (hallowe'en, geddit?) look bad. I think the manufacturers say we should only used the stuff provided as polish might compromise the kryptonite proofing...or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

deadwood wrote: »
    I have one of these issued to me, in black - with matching pull-ups!

Cape01.jpg
    I might ressurect them.

Yup, have the same kit in the attic. Or else I sold it on Ebay, can't remember really. I wear the mountain bike gear on the rare and unwelcome occasions I have to drive an official vehicle. All members should be issued with the mountain bike jacket at least. Terrific kit that.

Remember those rubber trenchcoats? Issued one but never worn. I think they were just clearing out stores at the time. Always thought they looked quite smart when I saw them - but smelled terrible. A bit like myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

65727.jpg

Shorts anyone?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

IMO the hi viz that community officers wear is pretty bad, the bomber jacket that traffic corp have is much better. But I did see an excellent hi viz at the marathon on monday. Not quite the mountain bike one.

TheNog wrote: »
    I would be in favour of keeping the cap style but we need a different type of cap that is breathable and most of all washable!!!!!!!!
    BeerHatGuy2.jpg
    Done!

eroo wrote: »
    I think ye getting something like the NYPD has would be good, with polo shirts. I think the hat ye have now is fine, and it looks good. Just give ye those waterproof covers for them and that would probably sort that. A baseball cap would be a bit too casual imo.

in fairness eroo this might be one you should stay out of, you dont wear the uniform.

agree with nog on the boots. No reason not to have a decent looking set but some people have them years without a lick of polish

in fairness eroo this might be one you should stay out of, you dont wear the uniform.
    Ah, in fairness, Karl!
    It's uniforms we're chatting about.

deadwood wrote: »
    Ah in farness, Karl!

You made a typo, you made a typo. Finally! :D

You're quick! Didn't ven have time to edit!

Damnit. Twice!:D

I don't think eroo should stay out of the discussion. That way we can have thoughts from members who wear the uniform and from the public who see us in the uniform and their perception of it such as "I would be intimidated to approach a guard if he was wearing pink combats" type thingy.

There is no harm in getting opinions from both sides.