Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GJP - European Deepstack Poker Championships! Feb 5th-8th 2009

• 29-10-2008 1:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭

European Deepstack Poker Championship II
    5th-8th Feb 2009
    Green Isle Hotel, Dublin, Ireland

50,000 starting chips, 1hr clock, €1500+€150 entry.

Green Joker Poker is proud to announce the second European Deepstack Poker championship. The 2009 event will take place at the Green Isle Hotel in Dublin from Friday 6th February finishing on Sunday 8th February. Entry is €1500+€150. After the success of the first event in 2008 which was won by Dara O'Kearney we expect to sell out the 250 available seats.

This year there will be one starting day for all players - Friday 6th Feb. Play will start at 2pm sharp with 10 one hour levels being played on day one and two and playing to a finish on day three,

The poker tournaments will be run by JP McCann and will be fully dealer dealt. Food will be supplied on Friday & Saturday.

As well as the main event there will be two side events and a super satellite. The super satellite will be on Thursday 5th Feb and will be €100+€10 with one rebuy and a top up available at €100 each. The side events will be a €500+€50 on Sat 7th and a €300+€30 on Sun 8th, both No Limit Holdem.

Online satellites will start in November on Green Joker Poker.

Live satellites will be announced soon.

Tournament Schedule

Thurs Feb 5th - 7pm
    Super Satellite to European Deepstack Main Event
    €100+€10 with one rebuy and one rebuy/top up @ €100 each. 7 tickets Gtd.

Fri Feb 6th - 2pm
    European Deepstack Poker Championship - 3 day event
    €1500+€150

Sat Feb 7th - 5pm
    €500+€50 NL Holdem - 2 day event

Sun Feb 8th - 6pm
    €300+€30 NL Holdem - 1 day event

Structures:

European Deepstack Poker Championship Main Event

Buy in - €1500+€150
    Starting Chips - 50,000
    1 hour levels
    Break every 2 levels
    2pm start each day

Day one

25/50
    50/100
    75/150
    100/200
    100/200 + 50
    150/300 + 50
    200/400 + 50
    300/600 + 75
    400/800 +100
    500/1000 + 100

Day Two

600/1200 + 100
    800/1600 + 200
    1000/2000 + 200
    1200/2400 + 300
    1500/3000 + 300
    2000/4000 + 400
    3000/6000 + 500
    4000/8000 + 500
    5000/1000 + 1000
    6000/12000 + 1000

Day Three

8000/16000 + 1000
    10000/20000 + 2000
    12000/24000 + 2000
    15000/30000 + 3000
    20000/40000 + 4000
    25000/50000 + 5000

€500+€50 NL Holdem

Buy in - €500+€50
    Starting Chips - 10,000
    40 Minute levels
    Break every 3 levels

Day One

25/50
    50/100
    75/150
    100/200
    100/200 + 25
    150/300 + 25
    200/400 + 50
    300/600 + 75
    400/800 + 100
    500/1000 + 100
    600/1200 + 100
    800/1600 + 200
    1000/2000 + 200
    1200/2400 + 200

Day Two

1500/3000 + 300
    2000/4000 + 400
    2500/5000 + 500
    3000/6000 + 500
    4000/8000 + 500
    5000/10000 + 1000
    6000/12000 + 1000
    8000/16000 + 1000
    10000/20000 + 2000
    12000/24000 + 2000
    15000/30000 + 3000

€300+€30 NL Holdem

Buy in - €300+€30
    Starting Chips - 10,000
    30 Minute levels
    Break every 4 levels

25/50
    50/100
    75/150
    100/200
    100/200 + 25
    150/300 + 25
    200/400 + 50
    300/600 + 75
    400/800 + 100
    500/1000 + 100
    600/1200 + 100
    800/1600 + 200
    1000/2000 + 200
    1500/3000 + 300
    2000/4000 + 400
    2500/5000 + 500
    3000/6000 + 500
    4000/8000 + 500
    5000/10000 + 1000
    6000/12000 + 1000
    8000/16000 + 1000
    10000/20000 + 2000

Super Satellite

Buy in - €100+€10 - 1 rebuy and 1 rebuy/addon for €100
    Starting Chips - 3,000 - 1st rebuy - 3000 - 2nd rebuy/addon 4000
    25 Minute levels
    Break after level 4 and 10

25/50
    50/100
    75/150
    100/200
    100/200 + 25
    150/300 + 25
    200/400 + 50
    300/600 + 75
    400/800 + 100
    500/1000 + 100
    600/1200 + 100
    800/1600 + 200
    1000/2000 + 200
    1500/3000 + 300
    2000/4000 + 400
    2500/5000 + 500
    3000/6000 + 500
    4000/8000 + 500
    5000/10000 + 1000
    6000/12000 + 1000
    8000/16000 + 1000
    10000/20000 + 2000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Cant wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

ditto tony, probably will give it a shot if im not fed up with poker at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Before anyone asks, Omaha will make an appearance in our shorthanded festival later in the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭HIVeindhoven

I Just wet my pants.

And a six max festival later in the year you say? DROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL
    Shortstack wrote: »
    European Deepstack Poker Championship II
    5th-8th Feb 2009
    Green Isle Hotel, Dublin, Ireland

50,000 starting chips, 1hr clock, €1500+€150 entry.

Green Joker Poker is proud to announce the second European Deepstack Poker championship. The 2009 event will take place at the Green Isle Hotel in Dublin from Friday 6th February finishing on Sunday 8th February. Entry is €1500+€150. After the success of the first event in 2008 which was won by Dara O'Kearney we expect to sell out the 250 available seats.

This year there will be one starting day for all players - Friday 6th Feb. Play will start at 2pm sharp with 10 one hour levels being played on day one and two and playing to a finish on day three,

The poker tournaments will be run by JP McCann and will be fully dealer dealt. Food will be supplied on Friday & Saturday.

As well as the main event there will be two side events and a super satellite. The super satellite will be on Thursday 5th Feb and will be €100+€10 with one rebuy and a top up available at €100 each. The side events will be a €500+€50 on Sat 7th and a €300+€30 on Sun 8th, both No Limit Holdem.

Online satellites will start in November on Green Joker Poker.

Live satellites will be announced soon.

Tournament Schedule

Thurs Feb 5th - 7pm
    Super Satellite to European Deepstack Main Event
    €100+€10 with one rebuy and one rebuy/top up @ €100 each. 7 tickets Gtd.

Fri Feb 6th - 2pm
    European Deepstack Poker Championship - 3 day event
    €1500+€150

Sat Feb 7th - 5pm
    €500+€50 NL Holdem - 2 day event

Sun Feb 8th - 6pm
    €300+€30 NL Holdem - 1 day event

Structures:

European Deepstack Poker Championship Main Event

Buy in - €1500+€150
    Starting Chips - 50,000
    1 hour levels
    Break every 2 levels
    2pm start each day

[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

I'll be running sats for this later from January.

Will post details nearer to the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Before anyone asks, Obama will make an appearance in our shorthanded festival later in the year.

will he be bringing the vice president

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

Mike Its really disheartening to see that you've messed with the stucture of an excellent festivel. Last year you ran an omaha tournament and a shorthanded tournament as warm up tournies to the main event with great success. Sad to see that this year you have taken the easy option of running bog standard holdem tournaments running concurrently with the main event, with the result that anyone running deep will not be able to play in other tournaments. I really cant praise last years event enough. It was innovative, groundbreaking and provided something totally different for the tournament junkie. Unfortunately this year it seems that you're just choosing all the easy options. Best of luck with the festivel anyway, Im sure with yourself and JP invoilved it will be a huge success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭smcb

looking forward to this, will be bashing away at the sats like mad!

Conbro wrote: »
    Mike Its really disheartening to see that you've messed with the stucture of an excellent festivel. Last year you ran an omaha tournament and a shorthanded tournament as warm up tournies to the main event with great success. Sad to see that this year you have taken the easy option of running bog standard holdem tournaments running concurrently with the main event, with the result that anyone running deep will not be able to play in other tournaments. I really cant praise last years event enough. It was innovative, groundbreaking and provided something totally different for the tournament junkie. Unfortunately this year it seems that you're just choosing all the easy options. Best of luck with the festivel anyway, Im sure with yourself and JP invoilved it will be a huge success.

The biggest critiscm we had last year was that the whole festival went on too long so we have taken the decision to split the thing into two which should make it easier for people to play all the different events we will have on offer. The next festival will consist solely of shorthanded events which suits Omaha best.

However, having said that if demand is high enough then we may slot an Omaha tournament on the Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭singee88

looks great must get up there fantastic stuff:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

How many players can you take for the Main event this year?
    why limit it to 250?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

How many players can you take for the Main event this year?
    why limit it to 250?

lol,rhetorical question Ian?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

The biggest critiscm we had last year was that the whole festival went on too long so we have taken the decision to split the thing into two which should make it easier for people to play all the different events we will have on offer. The next festival will consist solely of shorthanded events which suits Omaha best.

However, having said that if demand is high enough then we may slot an Omaha tournament on the Sunday.

Oh please Mike are you for real?. If you had just said that its too labour intensive to run tournaments over a week long period when the venue isnt always full I would have much more respect for you. Instead youre basically trying to tell the poker community that you're doing them a service and following customer feedback by reducing the number and diversity of events. I find this quite difficult to swallow. I cant understand how anyone can legitimately complain about the length of the festivel when its their prerogative to choose which tournaments they play in. I understand that youre a businessman and dictated to first and foremost by the bottom line. However I think youve squandered the opportunity to build this festivel into something special through a combination of the deepstacks and range of different events. Instead its becoming much closer to your run of the mill festivel thats held in various clubs around the country.

Conbro wrote: »
    Oh please Mike are you for real?. If you had just said that its too labour intensive to run tournaments over a week long period when the venue isnt always full I would have much more respect for you. Instead youre basically trying to tell the poker community that you're doing them a service and following customer feedback by reducing the number and diversity of events. I find this quite difficult to swallow. I cant understand how anyone can legitimately complain about the length of the festivel when its their prerogative to choose which tournaments they play in. I understand that youre a businessman and dictated to first and foremost by the bottom line. However I think youve squandered the opportunity to build this festivel into something special through a combination of the deepstacks and range of different events. Instead its becoming much closer to your run of the mill festivel thats held in various clubs around the country.

Maybe Pro players can't legimately complain about 8 days in a row of poker but the majority of players are not full time pro and also have families to consider as well as jobs so end up missing some events they might otherwise want to play. Labour costs don't come into it. When we run the short-handed festival it will be 4 days also so that makes 8 total tournament days.

I am not sure that a 50,000 stack tournament supported by two 10k stack tournaments really falls into the run of the mill category but everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

It is impossible to please everybody but I would say it would suit more players to have the buyins for these events spread out over more than a week. The S/H event will have a 1k S/H Holdem and either a 500 or 1k S/H Omaha along with a S/H 500 to round things off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

If ye make all the cash games at the s/h event 6 max also, that'd be sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Macau Cork

I be doing satellites for this event.

Online satellites for this event will be starting next week on Green Joker Poker & Bluesq. Mean while our French friends at Winamax have satellites starting on Sunday night. It is a $100+$8 tournament at 9pm (French time) and one seat is Gtd. Winamax is on the OnGame network. https://www.winamax.com/les-tournois_qualifications-live-_european-deepstack-poker-championship

Satellites are now on Green Joker Poker and Bluesquare. The Grand finals are $100+$9 rebuys and take place at 8.30pm on the following dates:

30th Nov
    14th Dec
    28th Dec
    4th Jan
    11th Jan
    18th Jan
    25th Jan

There are $11+$1 feeders every night at 8pm and these are in turn fed by 3 freerolls at 12pm, 2pm & 4pm.

Just a reminder that there are $11+$1 feeder sats running at 8pm everynight on GJP/Bluesq, I think there are already some boardsies qualified for the first final.

Also facebook users can register interest and get updates here:

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/event.php?eid=35378024999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

Hey Mike, I just sent you a mail there. Thanks.

If you go to www.greenislehoteldublin.com then you can get Fri/Sat/Sun night in a twin room for €238 at the moment. Price is per room so works out just under €40/night if you share.

I'll be running live sat's for this in Molloys Pub, Tallaght with 1 ticket Guaranteed on the following nights.

Friday 9th January
    Friday 23rd January
    Friday 30th January

All games will be €100 Freezeout and will start at 8pm each night.

Starting Chips 9k
    Early Bird 1k (before start of game), 500 (1st Level)
    Blinds 15 Mins for 6 levels followed by 20 Mins

I will post a new thread with full charter details.

Here's a link with full details http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055454719

1 €1,500 Ticket will be Guaranteed each week for just €100.

Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Maybe Pro players can't legimately complain about 8 days in a row of poker but the majority of players are not full time pro and also have families to consider as well as jobs so end up missing some events they might otherwise want to play. Labour costs don't come into it. .

Conor,
    The above is the reason why I did not play last year and unfortunately cant play this year either. I think Mike is right here and for the part time players which make up the vast majority of tourny players then a week long festival is just not feasible.

Omaha although a fantastic game does still not attract the numbers like the NLHE tournys.

Good luck with this Mike and I might make it for 1 of the side events.

Jay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

i THINK THERE WILL ALSO BE SATS FOR THIS IN THE WESTBURY CLUB MALAHIDE, I WILL BE OVER THERE THIS EVENING AND FIND OUT AND RE POST HERE
    DEREK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

JP Poker wrote: »
    I'll be running live sat's for this in Molloys Pub, Tallaght with 1 ticket Guaranteed on the following nights.

Friday 9th January
    Friday 23rd January
    Friday 30th January

All games will be €100 Freezeout and will start at 8pm each night.

Starting Chips 9k
    Early Bird 1k (before start of game), 500 (1st Level)
    Blinds 15 Mins for 6 levels followed by 20 Mins

I will post a new thread with full charter details.

is there going to be any online sats for tickets only?

Ollieboy wrote: »

Not sure Ollie,

I'll ring Mike and ask him to post any details.

Ollieboy wrote: »

Yes, will be post early next week with dates and buy ins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭baz2007

well mike.will u or brian be running any live sats round drogheda.there is plenty of interest in and around drogheda for this especially with people who played ur festival for the last couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

baz2007 wrote: »
    well mike.will u or brian be running any live sats round drogheda.there is plenty of interest in and around drogheda for this especially with people who played ur festival for the last couple of years.
    If you think the numbers are there Baz i will book a venue in Drogheda for a sat, I would just have to check with frank dennis what nights he has a game as i dont want to step on anyones toe's. Also what night would suit or maybe a wk end game , let me know .

no offence Damo but I am trying 2 see if gjp will be running sats for themselves.people in drogheda are more inclined 2 show up if they know the lads themselves are involved thanks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

i would be interested if there was a sat around drogheda.

btw who is frank dennis i keep getting text about a game in mchughs pub i think ran by him?? does these game get many numbers anyone know??

redzerdrog wrote: »

btw who is frank dennis i keep getting text about a game in mchughs pub i think ran by him?? does these game get many numbers anyone know??

Frank was one of our regular dealers, he runs a good game and gets 20-30 each week.

He is running a €100+€15 Freezeout for tickets on the 27th in McHughs. This is being fed by a weekly freeroll so sdhould have some good value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Mike if you ran something like a 150 double chance i reckon you would get 30 plus runners for this generating 3+ tickets. Perhaps a trip down memory lane to the Star & Crescent is in order......:p

no offence Damo but I am trying 2 see if gjp will be running sats for themselves.people in drogheda are more inclined 2 show up if they know the lads themselves are involved thanks anyway.
    Ok Baz , Thanks for the reply, goodluck in the deepstack.
    PS. Did i spell all the word's ok for ya ???

Mike if you ran something like a 150 double chance i reckon you would get 30 plus runners for this generating 3+ tickets. Perhaps a trip down memory lane to the Star & Crescent is in order......:p
    This is a great idea , I would defo play this . Tnx Fran it would be brill to get a game going again in the Star. Give me a txt when it's on m8

redzerdrog wrote: »

Frank is 1 of the more genuine guy's around drogheda and he has a game in mcHugh's on a monday and wednesday night that i would recommend any1 to play, and also he has a sat on the 27th for the GJP deepstack event . Frank can i reserve a seat for this please.

Frank's game will be good, €100 is probably a better level to get the numbers in tbh. There will be at least 10 people there who have won tickets in Franks freerolls and a lot of his regulars will play at €100. If all you sharks want some value then this is the game to be at. No need for us to take away from it by running a competing satellite.

thanks mike didn't know about franks sat and just making sure ur not forgeting about ur old school drog heads.will defo play this also cheers Damo for the interest.

Frank's game will be good, €100 is probably a better level to get the numbers in tbh. There will be at least 10 people there who have won tickets in Franks freerolls and a lot of his regulars will play at €100. If all you sharks want some value then this is the game to be at. No need for us to take away from it by running a competing satellite.

Ye did not see that, i will be running a 10 seater home game also for a ticket.

+copius amounts of lubrication yes

why of course 2 kegs will be on order:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

The above 2 posts are why people are now afraid to play poker in Drogheda with u 2....... Lub n stuff.. Just weird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 THE_GEEEZER

where is mchughs pub in drogheda is it easy to find for us donky's up north

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Hi Mike/Jp

We will be puttin a sat on for this in Waterford i will fill u in on the date closer . I will pop it up on the board and see if we get a few for this

Neill

Hi Mike/Jp

We will be puttin a sat on for this in Waterford i will fill u in on the date closer . I will pop it up on the board and see if we get a few for this

Neill

Thanks Neill

where is mchughs pub in drogheda is it easy to find for us donky's up north

It is on the Chord Road.

It is right next to Lawrences gate.

If you know the Drogheda Poker Club then it is not too far from there.

The Macau are running sats for the deepstack on the 20th, 27th Jan and 3rd Feb. It is €100 with a rebuy and top up. I am sure Ken will be on to post the full details shortly.

Also The Ace Club in Buncrana are planning a satellite too.

I might have two free spots this Friday for a €150 home game around Drogheda with 1 ticket guaranteed (no cash alternative). PM if interested.