Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calzaghe v Jones

• 29-10-2008 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭

May as well start this thread... i assume most people are picking Calzaghe for this one. The only way i see Calzaghe fighting on is if Jones defeats him- something i think could happen. Jones hits harder than Hopkins and still has decent handspeed. It's possible he could catch Calzaghe like Hopkins and Kessler did. If he does i think he will ko Calzaghe. If it goes past 4 i see Calzaghe's workrate telling in the end with a possible tko in round seven or eight as Jones' punch resistance is not what it once was. From comments Calzaghe has made i think he is going to risk letting his hands go in order to try and get the ko.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭c1979

this fight should of happen in 2002 -2003, load of **** and money for over the hill jones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 MrDap

I'm heading over for this fight and can't wait.Calzaghe is top draw in my opinion and deserves his place amongst the greats if he wins.....but i have a feeling that Jones wins this one,i just think his style is something Calzaghe has not faced before,and that jones will show glimmers of his glory days and i think that will be enough.

I see Zab Judah has been added to the card.If Zab can make 140 without problems, then he could do some real damage there, even with his bad stamina and weak mental game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Anyone know if 24/7 will be on TVs this side of the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

joepenguin wrote: »
    Anyone know if 24/7 will be on TVs this side of the world?

part 1 is available to view on hbo's website.

http://www.hbo.com/boxing/

part 1 is available to view on hbo's website.

http://www.hbo.com/boxing/

Cheers Nacho, fair play to ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

As a fan of boxing i have to cheer on RJJ, he's the better technical boxer and deserves his legendary status due to the opponents he's faced, i dont feel the same way about Calzaghe, low standard opponents and bad technique turns me off him, plus going on about lacy as if he was a somebody, this is just to convince people that he beat a prime decent boxer.. Come on RJJ!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭theone

looking forward to this one pity it didn't happen five years ago.I think calzaghe will win but it'll be allot closer than most ppl think.

The second episode of 24/7 is on tonight so you should be able to get it off your cousins tomorrow.

rjj's reasoning for not fighting calzaghe earlier seems plausible he thought he was the man so why should he leave america and calzaghe thought the same about leaving wales.

MrDap wrote: »
    I'm heading over for this fight and can't wait.

Nice one dap. If you get a chance let us know what the whole thing was like when you get back.

Enjoy

Oh and theres talks of a rematch... if Roy wins! ... http://www.boxingscene.com/?m=show&id=16766

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Both fighters are over the hill, but Joe less so. He'll win on points in a terrible fight. Calzaghe's record may look impressive but it doesn't stand up to much scrutiny.

I agree with most of this, but dont believe joe is past it, he's not showed any signs of slowing down or looking past it, RJJ definetly has lost some speed and reflexes and his punch resistance is potentially gone too, im cheering on RJJ and think he can do it but in my heart i doubt it!

I think Calzage has slowed down slightly. I wouldnt say he's past it but couldnt see him operating on the top level for much longer.
    How do you rate Roys power and speed now compared to Kessler? Just watching the highlights the other day and Joe got tagged with quite a few shots including some lovely uppercuts.

I'd defo rate his power as considerably higher than kessler's, thats where his big chance will come, he will land a lot of clean hard punches, the question is can he take any or last at a high pace??

cowzerp wrote: »
    I'd defo rate his power as considerably higher than kessler's, thats where his big chance will come, he will land a lot of clean hard punches, the question is can he take any or last at a high pace??

i went with Calzaghe on the poll, and obviously i hope he does win so he can retire undefeated, but i won't be surprised if Jones pulls off a upset. the motivation is certainly there for Jones to hand Calzaghe his first pro fight defeat
    ,i'm banking on Jones' stamina giving out(he seems only able to fight in spurts now) and his punch resistance does not appear to be what it once was. if his chin holds up, and he can mantain the pace, i see jones knocking out Calzaghe because he definitely still has good enough handspeed to catch Calzaghe often enough and has the power to stop him if he catches him flush like Kessler did with those uppercuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Chicky

I see the build up on Setanta is from 11. Wow thats a long build up - sure what time is the main even gonna start silly o clock!!!! And i bet it'll be all yap and no undercard :(

Go RJJ by the yay ...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

cowzerp wrote: »

You're way off the mark there Paul. I'm a big Jones fan and have said many a time that at his peak he was the best ever, but for quite a number of years now he has not being putting full force into his punches.

When was the last time he actually KO'd somebody ? Clinton Woods in 2002, who was on his feet at the time of the stoppage !!

He's relying on fast, single pot shots which are mainly arm punches now, as he is overly cautious of getting hit since his punch resistance has diminished.

At this stage of their careers Kessler definitely hits harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Agree with Megadodge and the reason he doesn't stay in and hit more combos is because he is protecting his chin which is weak now.
    I too believe that he was the best of all time in his prime, its such a pity he had to sign up with Don King and go on longer than he should have.

I think he is going to get beat badly in this fight. I don't see any way he can stop Calzaghe unless he catches him cold. I see this not lasting too long and JC winning it early. Jones will spend the first two or three rounds avoiding Joe and then it will start to tell.

megadodge wrote: »
    You're way off the mark there Paul. I'm a big Jones fan and have said many a time that at his peak he was the best ever, but for quite a number of years now he has not being putting full force into his punches.

When was the last time he actually KO'd somebody ? Clinton Woods in 2002, who was on his feet at the time of the stoppage !!

He's relying on fast, single pot shots which are mainly arm punches now, as he is overly cautious of getting hit since his punch resistance has diminished.

At this stage of their careers Kessler definitely hits harder.

The comparison was to kessler, not RJJ peak!
    kessler is an average puncher, nice technique mainly..
    I still rate RJJ's power above Kessler's. its certainly not clear cut that kessler hits harder anyway..plus RJJ has been fighting at heavier weights..it does make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

what time does calzaghe / jones fight start (irish time)???

The comparison was to kessler, not RJJ peak!

Not quite sure what you mean there.
    I'm saying that Jones at his peak was a serious puncher, but now (and for quite a lot of years) he just throws fast single arm punches, with not much pop in them.
    kessler is an average puncher, nice technique mainly

He has aprox. 75% KO ratio !!
    That's a hell of a lot better than average.
    And over the years there are quite a few 1 punch KO's there, including his last one where although Haussler was softened up, he KO'd him with a single straight left.

And besides if you believe he has average power, this would contradict your seriously flawed opinion that he has bad stamina (which is just wrong). If he didn't have good power, then he'd have to be content to outwork the opposition, which is very hard to do if you have bad stamina !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

Roy hits much harder than Kessler. Kessler is at 168, Roy is at 175. Not only that, but Roy is much much faster. Roy can KO his opponents but prefers to win as easily as he can. This is a guy who rocked John Ruiz remember. He has way more power than Kessler.

Roy is going to beat Calzaghe this Saturday by the way. He'll do it easily.

akindoc wrote: »
    Roy hits much harder than Kessler. Kessler is at 168, Roy is at 175. Not only that, but Roy is much much faster. Roy can KO his opponents but prefers to win as easily as he can. This is a guy who rocked John Ruiz remember. He has way more power than Kessler.

Roy is going to beat Calzaghe this Saturday by the way. He'll do it easily.

I agree in part,
    While Jones does not possess the same amount of power these days, i still think he could knock out Calzaghe if he catches him enough times early on. However, Jones punch resistance is gone and his stamina is going to come into question against a guy with the workrate of Calzaghe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,377 ✭✭✭✭walshb

If Roy does beat Joe, it will really be a dent in Joe's legacy. Though both are past it 'age' wise, Joe is definitely the fresher and 'fitter' fighter. I think this will tell and if Cal can take RJJ clean shots, then he will wear RJJ down and get the TKO win! I have a feeling Cal is going to set a frenetic pace and try and sap the energy from Jones. He waits and plays it safe, and he could be in trouble. Give Jones time and space and you will never beat him, at least not at peak!

BTW, I'd be very surprised if the 'slapper' can clean KO Jones; weak Jones chin or NOT!

I'd agree totally with you if we went back in a time machine to 2000-2003, but we can't ! It's now 2008 !!

It's years since Jones has thrown regular power punches. He has'nt scored a stoppage since 2002. Trinidad wouldn't have gone a few rounds v the younger Roy, he'd have been finished when the opportunity presented itself.

If he likes to win as easily as he can, then surely the easiest possible way is a 1st round KO ?? Logic.

Right now in 2008 Roy Jones does not punch as hard as Mikkel Kessler when in a boxing ring as he just doesn't throw his punches with any conviction anymore, due to his overly cautious nature since the 2 KO losses. It's plain to see if you've been watching Jones in recent years.

There is the possibility that knowing Calzaghe is not a big puncher he might be inclined to take a few more risks (as he's definitely not going to outwork Joe) and go for a KO, but that would be changing his entire mindset of the last 5 years or so.

Just to clear it up my question was how would you rate kesslers power at 168 in 2007 against jones power at 175 in 2008. The reason im asking is because Joe took a few nice uppercuts against kessler and i think if roy gets a few like this he will try to finish him off as he wont want to leave it in the judges hands.

I think its obvious to most that Roy hits harder. I mean, even if Kessler is putting 100% force into his punches and Roy puts 75%, there wouldn't be much difference IMO. This is why there are weight divisions in boxing. Roy punching at 100% is much more powerful than Kessler at 100%. I can't believe this is even debatable. Kessler KOs opponents but put them 168 pound opponents in with a 175 pound roy and see how they react to his punches. Kessler doesn't even hit as hard as B-Hop IMO who is also a hard hitter and was the puncher in the Pavlik fight. He had Calzaghe down and HURT (he was) whereas Kessler couldn't, and Kessler did hit him with power punches.

Kessler has definately got power but lets be real here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I see this only going one way and thats a Calzaghe ko. Jones does not have a chin anymore and thats a big problem here.

Jones has become a jump in throw one and get out boxer. He won't be able to do that against Calzaghe as he has too much speed and he gets punished every time he dives in. And its very likely that Calzaghe catches him on one of his attempts to dive in with a punch.

I'd love to have seen this fight five years ago, its still means a bit to me as I'm a fan of all that Joe Calzaghe has accomplished to date and to finally get to fight RJJ is big for him. He always wanted him more than any other fighter out there.

Jones is well past his prime and even though he showed something in his last two fights I don't give him any hope here.

The thing is that there is now nobody out there for Calzaghe to fight thats worthwhile, with Pavlik being beaten by Bhop its left nobody of any note for the American audience. The only one now is Abraham and I'd like to see that happen before JC hangs up the gloves but I think this will be his last one.

eagle eye wrote: »
    I see this only going one way and thats a Calzaghe ko. Jones does not have a chin anymore and thats a big problem here.

Jones has become a jump in throw one and get out boxer. He won't be able to do that against Calzaghe as he has too much speed and he gets punished every time he dives in. And its very likely that Calzaghe catches him on one of his attempts to dive in with a punch.

I'd love to have seen this fight five years ago, its still means a bit to me as I'm a fan of all that Joe Calzaghe has accomplished to date and to finally get to fight RJJ is big for him. He always wanted him more than any other fighter out there.

Jones is well past his prime and even though he showed something in his last two fights I don't give him any hope here.

The thing is that there is now nobody out there for Calzaghe to fight thats worthwhile, with Pavlik being beaten by Bhop its left nobody of any note for the American audience. The only one now is Abraham and I'd like to see that happen before JC hangs up the gloves but I think this will be his last one.

Jones is going to be using the Winky Wright style against Calzaghe and it's going to make the fight easy for him. Mark my words. He used this style against Tito.

akindoc wrote: »
    I think its obvious to most that Roy hits harder. I mean, even if Kessler is putting 100% force into his punches and Roy puts 75%, there wouldn't be much difference IMO. This is why there are weight divisions in boxing. Roy punching at 100% is much more powerful than Kessler at 100%. I can't believe this is even debatable. Kessler KOs opponents but put them 168 pound opponents in with a 175 pound roy and see how they react to his punches. Kessler doesn't even hit as hard as B-Hop IMO who is also a hard hitter and was the puncher in the Pavlik fight. He had Calzaghe down and HURT (he was) whereas Kessler couldn't, and Kessler did hit him with power punches.

Kessler has definately got power but lets be real here.

Theres more to consider here apart from weight divisions. Prime Roy at 175 is of course more powerful than a 168 kessler. The debate arises because Jones doesnt put as much in his punches anymore and many have crticised him for arm punching (which i assume means he doesnt put his bodyweight into his punches and in this case would take a lot of power out of them)
    Also Roy came in at 169.5 to fight Tito and although he hurt him, he didnt take him out. Prime Roy vs 2008 trinidad at light heavy = early stoppage.
    Jones hasnt KO'd anybody in 6 years whereas Kessler has been winning plenty of fights early by stoppage with 7 of his 10 points(against 31 KO's) wins in 4-6 rounders early on in his career.

Plus Calzaghe fought Kessler at 168 and seems to be settling into 175 nicely so its all relative.

Anyway as you were saying Kessler couldnt put him down with his power punches but did hurt Joe. Im thinking Jones is gonna fight a smart fight and look to use calzaghes volume to his advantage because everytime you throw a shot you are open to one. Im sure a seasoned vet like jones will be making notes of calzaghes bad habits and openings throughout the fight. If he is presented with the same oppurtunities Kessler was, can he finish the job?

Theres more to consider here apart from weight divisions. Prime Roy at 175 is of course more powerful than a 168 kessler. The debate arises because Jones doesnt put as much in his punches anymore and many have crticised him for arm punching (which i assume means he doesnt put his bodyweight into his punches and in this case would take a lot of power out of them).

Your right in your assesment of an arm punch, but this does not meanthat RJJ has forgot how to put his body behind the punch, thats a simple technique for him, the main thing is will he want to take risks and/or will he care if he stops joe or not?

Also Roy came in at 169.5 to fight Tito and although he hurt him, he didnt take him out. Prime Roy vs 2008 trinidad at light heavy = early stoppage.
    Jones hasnt KO'd anybody in 6 years whereas Kessler has been winning plenty of fights early by stoppage with 7 of his 10 points(against 31 KO's) wins in 4-6 rounders early on in his career

RJJ could of stopped him pretty much when he wanted but just put on a nice boxing exhibition and slowed down after he hurt Felix like you would in sparring! RJJ can certainly take fighters out in 1 shot but prefers to entertain and show boat, i think we might see him doing the tight defense again and looking to counter with hard punches, as he seen how hopkins hurt joe..

There was talk of Calzaghe struggling to make the weight if that's true he could struggle if the fight goes into the later rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

can anyone confirm wots the earliest this will start at ,just wanna be home in time for it ?Not before 3am?

3 at the earliest yaba, but i cant confirm it. Im heading out though so pretty confident it wont be on before that.

you should get a sky plus, they are very handy for fights at awkward times.
    Hope Calzaghe wasnt struggling to make weight. I thought last time he made it with ease?

Cowzerp thats right i remember people saying that about jones-trinidad, that jones should have taken him out. I dont think he will be as nice to Calzaghe though as he poses more of a threat and this time he's fighting the favourite.

CANT WAIT!!!!!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 masseyferguson

undercards pretty good zab judah is on as well as some good local fighters headin in there meself hopin its a good fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

cheers joe i will sky+ it aswel just goona have a crowd back for the fight dont wanna be rushing in and it half over .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭south

i think it's around 4am. thats what the ladbrokes web site says anyway

I really hope its 4am. The earliest I can get to watch it is 3.30 so hoping it doesn't start any earlier because I like watching the pre fight pageantry as well as the actual fight itself.

This will be a good fight IMO. I think Roy Jones has all the answers to Calzaghes swarming style. He's going to get Calzaghes respect in there early on and keep him honest. I expect him to control the action from the outside but occasionally turn up the heat, which Calzaghe won't be able to cope with from time to time because he won't believe the speed he is facing.

Jones is going to be jabbing a lot and the lead left hook is going to be landing. Calzaghes best chance is if Jones uses the ridiculous tactics of going to the ropes and trying to fight off the ropes. He needs to stay in the centre of the ring and push Calzaghe back. I hope he doesn't try to stay on the outside and use the potshotting style he was so effective at in his prime. I mean, I expect him to do that for some periods of the fight, to vary it up in there, but I hope thats not his main strategy. He is more than capable of beating Calzaghe in the centre of the ring and pushing him back in my opinion.

Calzaghe doesn't have the power of a Johnson or tarver. I don't expect him to KO Jones. A lot of the advantages he has over opponents, he won't have over Jones.

I fully expect this to be a clear victory for Roy Jones. I'm not as confident as I was with Hopkins over Pavlik, but I'm still pretty confident that Roy will do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bikki

Is this on anywhere else other then Setanta 1 ?
    Im dying to watch the fight. Hope Joe destroys him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭south

online might be your best bet somewhere like here http://www.watchliveboxing.com/ you'll probably get one for free if you do a bit of looking around

try justin.tv for the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Loads of links for the fight

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=23193&part=sports

Great quailty one if you have Eircom BB. Just hit watch live , right click on the video and hit full screen.

http://setanta-video.eircom.net/eircom/public/CheckSystem.aspx?cont=1

Opr

Is this not just Setanta Ireland for eircom BB customers? I've Setanta Ireland here at home and its the same show as on the link. Doubt the fight will be there coz its only on Setanta 1
    opr wrote: »
    Loads of links for the fight

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=23193&part=sports

Great quailty one if you have Eircom BB. Just hit watch live , right click on the video and hit full screen.

http://setanta-video.eircom.net/eircom/public/CheckSystem.aspx?cont=1

Opr

Chicky wrote: »
    Is this not just Setanta Ireland for eircom BB customers? I've Setanta Ireland here at home and its the same show as on the link. Doubt the fight will be there coz its only on Setanta 1

Ah it could be sorry your probably right

http://www.justin.tv/em151 - This is actually fairly good.

Opr

yeah watchin on justin tv on a diff channel but think i'll have a wee nap before Bunce starts raving about David Haye ... he hasn't mentioned him in a while lol

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Anyone estimate what time this willl start at?

Best stream that i have found. Requires a small download but plays directly in the webpage afterwards.

http://www.veetle.com/viewChannel.php?cid=490cadc00df03

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Home now, SS1 on, got Sky+ in gear aswell in case i doze off...
    (dont forget to sky+ both programs lads)

Was in Gleesons earlier in the week and was told that the lads were in for a photo shoot whilst I was in DC.

A bit like the election, a talented older white guy with a record against a stylish black man, but Barrak had youth on his side.

Cal pts win. (Red State Maj)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

opr wrote: »
    Best stream that i have found. Requires a small download but plays directly in the webpage afterwards.

http://www.veetle.com/viewChannel.php?cid=490cadc00df03

Opr

Agreed, top quality. Much better then your average justin.tv stream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Anyone got an idea about what time we are going to start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭seany2929

Joe will win but i reckon it will be a poor fight hopefully not!

Starts at 4 i think...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Can this be ordered PPV or is it just subscription?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

late jc ko or points pity this did not happen 5 years ago i think rjj is past his best.....pity