Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs raise prices anyway

• 28-10-2008 7:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭

I don't know if this is common around the country but the pubs in my town have raised the price of drink 30c!

It's not like it's boom time for them either I went out on Saturday night and haven't seen the town as empty in years and I don't see how raising the prices is going to attract people back.

This country deserves it's recession, we're a nation of narrow minded, greedy muppets that are happily digging themselves into a hole I hope we never find our way out of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Have drinks before you go out. No ones making you drink in the pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Kiera wrote: »

What she said!

Drinks at home and then out to a nightclub is the best combo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't know if this is common around the country but the pubs in my town have raised the price of drink 30c!

It's not like it's boom time for them either I went out on Saturday night and haven't seen the town as empty in years and I don't see how raising the prices is going to attract people back.

This country deserves it's recession, we're a nation of narrow minded, greedy muppets that are happily digging themselves into a hole I hope we never find our way out of.

I'll just drink at home then or sneak a naggin into pub, fúck it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Its not going to attract people back and thats the great thing. The greedy bastards shot themselves in the face with their high prices and are now wondering why their ****ty little pubs are ghostier than an OAPS panties....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I do that, always have but it's not very social. Your not going to have crowds of people at someone's house every weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I do that, always have but it's not very social. Your not going to have crowds of people at someone's house every weekend.

Why not? We always go to someones house for a few before heading out. I cant remember the last time i went to a pub and started from scratch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Yeah naggin in the pocket ftw. If you are worried about the glass/weight get malibu, its plastic. (and if they take it off you its better than losing a hip flask as well as the booze).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Yeah naggin in the pocket ftw. If you are worried about the glass/weight get malibu, its plastic. (and if they take it off you its better than losing a hip flask as well as the booze).

they do naggins of malibu? also it's only 22% or something **** like that.

For me it's either someones house first, or naggin on the bus on the way in (mixed down with soft drink in soft drink bottle of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

If you buy them before ten that is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I'm always getting leaflets in college about clubs or pubs doing special deals on certain nights of the week and other special days for students. €2 for any drink. It shows how much they can afford to charge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭RoosterIllusion

The Hi-B in Cork charges €4 for a Beamish.

I would like to announce that I laugh at their ridiculously high price, they very, very poor quality pint of Beamish and the general state of the bar which should be charging less than €3 for all drinks as nearly looking at the place warrants a tetanus booster.

Mark200 wrote: »
    I'm always getting leaflets in college about clubs or pubs doing special deals on certain nights of the week and other special days for students. €2 for any drink. It shows how much they can afford to charge

That's still a rip off.

a litre of tesco vodka is something like 22 euro.

divided by 5 + the cost of a litre of mi wadi, gets you a nice sociable amount of night out drinkage for less than a 5er. This is way cheaper than the same level of drunkenness achieved through 2 euro drinks.

vinylmesh wrote: »
    they do naggins of malibu? also it's only 22% or something **** like that.

For me it's either someones house first, or naggin on the bus on the way in (mixed down with soft drink in soft drink bottle of course).

Yes indeed they do. Yes its only 22% but how much percent do you think that naggin mixed with soft drink is? At least malibu can be drank straight by even non spirit drinkers.

Yeah but they water everything down to increase the margins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

it seems publicans are not happy with the slow death of the irish pub and want to accelerate it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

That's still a rip off.

divided by 5 + the cost of a litre of mi wadi, gets you a nice sociable amount of night out drinkage for less than a 5er. This is way cheaper than the same level of drunkenness achieved through 2 euro drinks.

Well I usually drink bulmers, so €2 for a pint when in the shops a can would cost €2.50
    Yeah but they water everything down to increase the margins.
    Is that not illegal?

yes, but that doesn't stop them doing it. In fact the purty kitchen actually admitted that what it sells as "vodka" technically isn't 'vodka' at all. Vodka under eu law must have at least 37.5% alcohol in it (see, seemingly random eu laws aren't all bad).

So yeah, i'm not sure if they got punished for it but i wouldn't be suprised if most pubs do it, especially on a student night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Here is a novel idea, how about boycott the pub and write them a letter explaining why you boycott'd the pub.

Irish people are great moaners but generally do nothing about it.

The sooner pub owners realise the way to bring back their profits is to lower their prices rather than higher the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

It's hardly news that publicans obscenely mark up the price of a drink in the pub with little or no justification. Nightclubs take it to a whole new level of course.

hussey wrote: »
    Here is a novel idea, how about boycott the pub and write them a letter explaining why you boycott'd the pub.

Irish people are great moaners but generally do nothing about it.

The sooner pub owners realise the way to bring back their profits is to lower their prices rather than higher the better.

Pub owners are well aware of the smaller crowds in their establishment, that are dwindling every week. There's no real need for a letter saying you've boycotted a place when the owner can clearly see they have less customers than last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Pub owners are well aware of the smaller crowds in their establishment, that are dwindling every week. There's no real need for a letter saying you've boycotted a place when the owner can clearly see they have less customers than last year.

then why the hell do they keep shoving up the prices?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Person after me own heart! Have been doin this for ages! After the "pleasure" of paying 5 euro into Dicey Rileys a few weeks back..then had to pay 6 euro for a pint at 9.30pm...joke altogether! Had naggin in my bag and was happy out while the others queued for ages for their over priced drinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Drinking at home isn't fun alot of the time. When you're outside you can meet new people and strike up new conversations. I'd hate to drink with my 3 or 4 friends every single weekend. So now I just drink very little when I go to the pub. Even if you're only having 3 or 4 pints it's still a fecking ripoff though.

The other thing I don't like about houseparties is if they go on after the nightclub it often turns into this thing of everybody having to stay up all night. After about 5 in the morning the conversation dries up and half the parties asleep.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Sounds to me like they may be taking advice from the ole bank manager.
    I dont think that pubs are even allowed do happy hours or drink specials anymore.
    Oh well. At least they ruined all the nice pubs before they put the prices up.

They are aware, but I think people are still blaming the smoking ban/recession/jebus/the roma/government ... basically anyone but themselves

i never realised i could blame this on the roma

kill all roma and 1 euro pints for all!

towel401 wrote: »
    then why the hell do they keep shoving up the prices?

Am I a publican?? Everyone knows more and more people are staying at home and less and less are going to the pub. Its not my job to figure out how a publican's mind works, thank fu.ck.

Domo230 wrote: »
    No blame the Poles :p

The sad fact is that alcohol will always be expensive cause no matter how much the price is jacked up people will pay the cost. Just be glad lidl and Tesco offer reasonable alternatives otherwise our only option would be to pay these rediculous prices.

theres always poteen and other homebrew stuff :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

That's still a rip off.

Nah, it's less then that. Around 17 euro
    That's assuming a standard bottle is 1 litre, might have been 75cl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

yes, but that doesn't stop them doing it. In fact the purty kitchen actually admitted that what it sells as "vodka" technically isn't 'vodka' at all. Vodka under eu law must have at least 37.5% alcohol in it (see, seemingly random eu laws aren't all bad).

So yeah, i'm not sure if they got punished for it but i wouldn't be suprised if most pubs do it, especially on a student night.

I'm not questioning you here but can you support that statement? I find that hard to beleive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

towel401 wrote: »
    theres always poteen and other homebrew stuff :pac:

That's the spirit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Good post.
    Some say it's the farmers who complain the most but it's the publicans.
    And alcohol isn't even where the real rip-off is.

Try over 5 euro for a rock shandy or a pint of your favourite mineral :(

That cafe-bar idea a few years bad was a good idea. For shame it got scrapped.

Ideo wrote: »
    I'm not questioning you here but can you support that statement? I find that hard to beleive!

Here :);
    The Panel noted the points made by The Purty Kitchen representative – “that the double vodka and red bull offer was run using a vodka substitute named Vodkova. It has a similar taste but far lower alcohol content than actual vodka”

The Panel reviewed the advertisement as it related to the double vodka and red bull promotion. They considered the point made regarding the substitution of Vodkova for vodka, and concluded that customers would make decisions on the basis of the actual advertisement. The advertisement stated, for example, that vodka as opposed to Vodkova would be used; this misrepresentation would lead customers to believe they would be purchasing standard vodka..

You should read the whole article;

http://www.meas.ie/page.php?intPageID=508

Basiacally, purty kitchen sells you watered down vodka and has even admitted it in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So how much does the average pint cost back there then?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Statso

In fairness it's not the pubs that are increasing the cost of drinks. It's Diageo increasing the cost of the publicans buying drink from them so the cost has to be passed along. In your average pub the publican doesn't get that big a slice of each drink that's sold. The majority goes to the Government and the suppliers. The increase in price you are complaining about is due to another increase from Diageo in the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Statso wrote: »
    In fairness it's not the pubs that are increasing the cost of drinks. It's Diageo increasing the cost of the publicans buying drink from them so the cost has to be passed along.
    The publicans nearly always double whatever diageo increase it by. The usual ignorant punter is unaware of this, they just figure it is all slapped on by diageo, and the publicans well know this, so when they do increase it is nearly always at the same time as the breweries. Also they usually increase all drinks, not just diageo ones, again taking advantage of the ignorant punters.
    The majority goes to the Government and the suppliers.
    That does not explain the often €2 difference you often see between some dublin pubs and pubs down the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Statso

Well to be fair i'm only speaking from my experience in my own family pub in Wexford. I have no idea of the situation in Dublin. I do know that we only increased the cost on Diageo supplied drinks in this increase and also only increased it the amount that Diageo have forced us to. We realise that our customers can't afford to keep coming in with the price of drink which is why for the last two drink price increases we took the hit to our own pocket. I do agree though that there are publicans who will fleece anyone, they tend to be the superpub owners though. Your average working mans pub are normally fairly well priced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Who still goes the pub these days!? Are ya made of money?

6 cans, couple of shots with the mates in the gaf and then to the club at about 12.30 when it starts to get good....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Publicans are such gobsh1tes. Oh our business is going down the tubes so what'l we do? Raise the prices. Feckin eejits!:rolleyes: They deserve to go under.

House parties ftw. Loads of new people, fun, somewhere to crash (carpet, couch cushion, garden chair) and cheap (possibly free) alcohol.

Failing that, a few friends in the gaff with a couple of games of 'guess who'/'twister'/'cluedo'/cards, few cans and then off somewhere.

I personally am sick of going to pubs every weekend. Same oul boring cack. I'd much prefer to actually do something. Comedy club, tour, gig etc with a sneaky half bottle of JD in the handbag.

It's all good people. It won't affect you unless you choose to let it!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

That's still a rip off.

By 5??? Split it two, maybe three ways.
    Sounds to me like they may be taking advice from the ole bank manager.
    I dont think that pubs are even allowed do happy hours or drink specials anymore.
    Oh well. At least they ruined all the nice pubs before they put the prices up.

We still do happy hour over here. Build up a regular base and its easy to make a few grand between 4-7pm on a friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Boards Halloween Beers are been held in a pub so yes somebody is making sure drink in a pub.....

So if it 22 in Tesco take off 27% {Tesco avg percentage profit} and another 10% for the discount distributors give the pub to get the real price.
    That's still a rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This annoys me just as much, where's the effort on their part? I've been to a few pubs over in the UK and while for the most part they're sole less brewery pubs at least they put an effort in. Every pub I was in had something going on like table quizzes. Nothing major just a £2 quiz while people had something to eat and a slow pint. I know a full on menu isn't possible in most pubs but they could always put in the effort, even a Wii bowling tournament during the week would be something.
    Statso wrote: »
    In fairness it's not the pubs that are increasing the cost of drinks. It's Diageo increasing the cost of the publicans buying drink from them so the cost has to be passed along. In your average pub the publican doesn't get that big a slice of each drink that's sold. The majority goes to the Government and the suppliers. The increase in price you are complaining about is due to another increase from Diageo in the last few weeks.
    How much does the publican make out of a pint? Is it a 50% markup? I just don't think they deserve the money they do little for it. They've had it easy for a long time and have failed to change with the market. The pub should be a public house, at the moment it's not serving the public. Whatever happened to the arcade machines that every pub in the country had? They've striped them out to make sure there are no distractions from getting drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

When you spend any amount of time abroad you realise how sh1t ireland is for pubs/bars. I was in Salamanca in Spain recently, the bars are small but have charm and offer some other form of entertainment like board games. The prices are next to nothing, very cheap, good food is available and what I liked most of all was that after you'd paid up, often they'd give you another drink free of charge to thank you for your business.

I can never imagine this happening in Ireland.

This annoys me just as much, where's the effort on their part? I've been to a few pubs over in the UK and while for the most part they're sole less brewery pubs at least they put an effort in. Every pub I was in had something going on like table quizzes. Nothing major just a £2 quiz while people had something to eat and a slow pint. I know a full on menu isn't possible in most pubs but they could always put in the effort, even a Wii bowling tournament during the week would be something.

I live in Oz, and some of teh pubs have something on every day of the week here, sometimes just a $2 off a steak, or a trivia (I have seen a wii bowling tournement too)

e.g here is a few of my local bars "what's on"
    http://www.marlboroughhotel.com.au/whats_on.html
    http://www.unionnewtown.com.au/whatson.html
    http://www.porterhouse.com.au/whats_on.html

How much does the publican make out of a pint? Is it a 50% markup?

A friend of mine runs a pub. Talking strictly in pints here:

Pint of Heineken in his pub: €4.10 (as of two weeks ago)
    Cost of that pint for him to buy: circa €1.50

So it's a 200% markup. His pub is also very competitively priced, I had never been there until recently but I was quite surprised at how low the prices were compared to pubs that were even next door.

I would like to refer to my earlier point about the Hi-B bar in Cork city selling Beamish for €4. What the **** are they doing?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

It cost us $1.25 ex GST per glass of beer, we sell a glass for $6.
    425ml per glass. We're the cheapest in our area. Others sell for $7-$8.5 a glass.

Do we make profit? Hell ya!

But we employ loads of staff, no one waits for drink in my bar. Floor is always clear. High weekly rent, security costs and supplement and office management cost also.
    Along with that there is always stuff to buy/repair/do and helps the over all feel and atmosphere in the bar. Last week alone I spent over $1k on glassware.

Will our prices increase because our glass ware supplier has increased his prices since last month? NO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

You're Beamish in Cork City would be equivalent of a not so bad priced pint in Dublin!

I noticed at weekend that Guinness jumped 20c in my non-upmarket local, like wtf?

Diageo hike it by 10c and the publican adds another 10c. Needless to say i won't be going back much. Also on Saturday on the bank hol weekend, the pub was half full.

So the publican who jacks up their prices loses out on less pints drunk hence less sales, and with Dublin pubs closing every month, will they ever cop on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Nope they won't learn but the off-licenses must be laughing all the way to the bank now. Only thing they have to worry about is the likes of the supermarkets try to wrestle them out of the market.

gurramok wrote: »
    You're Beamish in Cork City would be equivalent of a not so bad priced pint in Dublin!

Yeah except €4 for Beamish is just insane. It's €3 a 5 minute walk away in a vastly better pub which serves a vastly better pint of Beamish (the best pint of Beamish and Murphys I have ever had in fact).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

my local at home(out in the sticks~) is great for organising pool/darts comps quizes card games etc. this ensures there's a few around every night. and a crowd draws a crowd so it works for them.

the pints are reasonable too, bout 3.60 for guinness and 3.85 for Heineken i think.

its the bussiest little pub around as its friendly and kept clean and tidy. they also have a 7 seater which the publican or his wife drops people home in at closing. just shows that a bit of effort goes a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    Tesco take off 27% {Tesco avg percentage profit} .

Proof of this figure?