Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Here, wanna buy a wii thing from me van.....

• 28-10-2008 1:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭

I was going to put this in the gaming forum but this got my goat at the weekend and I need to spread the word.

I'm sure some of you already heard about the fake chinese Wiis being sold by tinkers across the country by now, but spread the word a bit if you know of any impressionable parents in search of one for their kids at chrimbo.

I was approached by one in Athy this weekend and asked over to his big white van to check out "da wii thing".

"Wanna buy a wii thing for yer kids? sure d'ya know how much these are in the shops sure"

"er, that's not a wii"

"Sure it tis, it's a wii, dya want one for the kiddies for christmas"....

"Where does it say Nintendo then"

"Whatya on about? Sure it's a wii game thing, all the kiddies are wantin wan of 'em this year"

"It's not a Wii and weren't a load of these confiscated a week or two ago by the Guards by bastards selling fake ones just like this and destroying kids christmas' - what's the reg on the van of yours...."

"No need to be like dat now..."
    <throws fake wii back into van, slams door and drives off shouting "ya "c*nt" out the window at me>

Now I don't really give two cr@ps about being PC here as scum like that, that want to destroy a kids christmas day for illegal profit, should be put against the wall and shot. If you see them, report them, and fingers crossed there won't be many tears on chrimbo morning this year.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,347 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

If parents are silly enough to buy things out of the back of a van, kids need to know. The earlier the better. It'll make putting them in a home easier in years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,573 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Anyone stupid enough to buy a "wii thing" out of the back of a pikeys van deserves what they get tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

smokingman wrote: »
    Now I don't really give two cr@ps about being PC here a...

PC doesnt seemt o bother them in Australia. Front page headline ...
    http://irishecho.realviewtechnologies.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Down with this sort of thing. * careful now *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

bite my wii thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Are they compatible with Nintendo games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭smokingman

WindSock wrote: »
    Are they compatible with Nintendo games?

Nope, wouldn't play anything other than the "multi-game" cart that comes with it....packed to the rafters with such eighties classics as Ping, Dinkey Kong and Super Merio :pac:

Some may say that peeps that fall for it deserve it but no kid deserves having their chrimbo spoiled by scum like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Nope, wouldn't play anything other than the "multi-game" cart that comes with it....packed to the rafters with such eighties classics as Ping, Dinkey Kong and Super Merio :pac:

A friend of mine got the PS1 equivalent of that in Cyprus or somewhere, we had a brilliant night playing it with some other lads. If I had children, I would gladly give them one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭sham69

I got offered one of these about 6 weeks ago.
    Saw the guy selling them around a pub in ashbourne, asked him just out of curiosity, I said it didnt look like the Wii and he said "its the Wii 2 boss, they aren't even out in the shops yet"
    He was looking for 250 for them, when I said no he rattled off about 10 other items including shavers, aftershaves, perfumes, watches and finally plasma screens, no lino mentioned.
    Thought it was funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Are these the same ones that they were flogging off in Dunnes for about E50 ?

Shame that some kid is definitely going to get stung on Christmas day though because his parents decided to take a gamble on something like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

it's fairly easy to get shafted by these cunning folk.. the exact thing happened me last week, i thought i had made a bargain when i purchased the Wii of this guy so when i got home i cleared a space in the sitting room to get ready to play some wii tennis. i opened the box only to reaslise ive been 'ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,526 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I was in the square in Tallaght a couple of years back when a few lads stopped me in my car asking did I want to buy a few phones, and he showed me some top of the range phones, 3 in total. He said he'd let us have them for €200 the lot. It was pretty obvoius that these were real top end phones, each selling for €200 min each, so we said we were interested and he said pull in and he'd chat to us.
    We pulled in and about a minute later a car pulled up, a northern reg VW and a guy got out, this was a different guy than we were talking to and he came on got in the back of my car. There was 4 of us in the car so I wasn't worried about him doing anything. He showed us the phone, made a phone call from each to prove they worked. We were happy they were good and said we'd buy them. He asked for €250. I said "no way, the other guy said 200" to which he replied he'd have to go check with the other guy about that, which was ok with us. He got out and went to up to their car adn stayed chatting to the guy for a minute. He then came back and said 200 was fine but he thought someone was watching us so we needed to hurry up, we gave him the money and he gave us the back with the phones, and then ran back to their car. I thought this looked suspicious, so I threw the bag to my mate and told him to check it was ok and then started my car and followed their car.

When my mate looked in the bag their was no phones, nothing only a few stones to make it heavy. I was following him at this stage and I kept on his tail. He started speeding up and I kept with him. I chased him for about 5 minutes, driving up on roundabouts and through red lights and he wasn't getting away, at one stage there was a guy hanging outta the back door throwing wheelbraces and all sorts back at our car, but I never let up. He eventually pulled over and gave us our money back, but not before we gave him back his bag of stones.

I often wondered did someone else get caught with that exact same bag later that day.

It was the worst birthday ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I was in the square in Tallaght a couple of years back when a few lads stopped me in my car asking did I want to buy a few phones, and he showed me some top of the range phones, 3 in total. He said he'd let us have them for €200 the lot. It was pretty obvoius that these were real top end phones, each selling for €200 min each, so we said we were interested and he said pull in and he'd chat to us.
    We pulled in and about a minute later a car pulled up, a northern reg VW and a guy got out, this was a different guy than we were talking to and he came on got in the back of my car. There was 4 of us in the car so I wasn't worried about him doing anything. He showed us the phone, made a phone call from each to prove they worked. We were happy they were good and said we'd buy them. He asked for €250. I said "no way, the other guy said 200" to which he replied he'd have to go check with the other guy about that, which was ok with us. He got out and went to up to their car adn stayed chatting to the guy for a minute. He then came back and said 200 was fine but he thought someone was watching us so we needed to hurry up, we gave him the money and he gave us the back with the phones, and then ran back to their car. I thought this looked suspicious, so I threw the bag to my mate and told him to check it was ok and then started my car and followed their car.

When my mate looked in the bag their was no phones, nothing only a few stones to make it heavy. I was following him at this stage and I kept on his tail. He started speeding up and I kept with him. I chased him for about 5 minutes, driving up on roundabouts and through red lights and he wasn't getting away, at one stage there was a guy hanging outta the back door throwing wheelbraces and all sorts back at our car, but I never let up. He eventually pulled over and gave us our money back, but not before we gave him back his bag of stones.

You deserve to get cheated when you're buying phones from someones boot in a carpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭binhead

Oldest trick in the book man!

the eh, book of dodgy stuff.

It's simple - If a van pulls up and offers to sell you anything other than Icecream or chips, run away.

binhead wrote: »

It's simple - If a van pulls up and offers to sell you anything other than Icecream or chips, run away.

That would almost be worse ... think your getting chips and only realise after the van has moved on that you were sold a bag of stones, or a stone in a cone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

I dunno, i have bought the odd thing or two from the "travelling community". Mostly drills and tools.

Now before anybody says their drills went missing any stuff i bought was flashy new.

As far as the stones go its fairly simple, the same thing has been happening with laptops and flashy cameras. Love to know what would happen if you held the laptop and gave them their money, would they let you have it?

I now feel like having a munch on a bag of stones...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

oztots wrote: »
    Now before anybody says their drills went missing any stuff i bought was flashy new.

So it was only the shops drills that went missing :D

On a similar note, I was watching Road Wars or something last night and a cop pulled over a car/van and found lawnmowers in the back. Closer inspection showed that one of the mowers actually belonged to the cop! Had a name/address tag on it. Pure coincidence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

My old pair got me one of these yolks when I asked for an N64. Would have preferred a Vii.

http://www.sz-wholesale.com/uploadFiles/031222194114s.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Eh, why didn't you take the bargain phones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Wouldn't buy anything off that shower. Most likely stolen or banjaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Guy in our local bought a laptop, after inspecting it. Same as the rest, usual "gotta check the price with my mate", bag switch.

400 euro for a laptop case, two litres of milk and the Irish Indo. Hilarious.

Ouch...at least he can drink the milk, the Indo is just useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Same thing happened to me, except I was buying hash in Prague.

You can get them down to somewhere near the actual cost of these things, show any interest for the briefest of moments and they'll keep bringing the price down till you buy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

Saint_Mel wrote: »

Legalised robbery or just plain robbery? I'll go for the cheaper option ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bob1970

how much was he offering it to you for?i saw them on moore st a while ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Last month I had parked my car in the Tesco Car Park in Cavan and was heading back to it when a guy sitting in a car beside mine said to me "Here Boss do you want a great bargain". I hadnt any money (cos I had just got my hair cut) so told him that I wasnt interested.

Then he calls me over to the car window and says "Ah you will want this.. sure you can swap me something for it". Again I said no but he still took what he wanted to sell me out of a paper bag and showed me the front of it.

It was a DVD with a picture of a naked woman, a horse with a massive slong which said women had her hands and mouth on... As the Sunday World reporters say.. I made my excuses and left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

My wee bro was getting a sweet factory set or some such for Christmas one year, you get a mix of different 1p sweets(dolly mixture and the like) included in the box.

Some d1ckhead from the toystore had opened the box and robbed all the sweets. Way to fcuk up a kids present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

gazzer wrote: »
    Last month I had parked my car in the Tesco Car Park in Cavan and was heading back to it when a guy sitting in a car beside mine said to me "Here Boss do you want a great bargain". I hadnt any money (cos I had just got my hair cut) so told him that I wasnt interested.

Then he calls me over to the car window and says "Ah you will want this.. sure you can swap me something for it". Again I said no but he still took what he wanted to sell me out of a paper bag and showed me the front of it.

It was a DVD with a picture of a naked woman, a horse with a massive slong which said women had her hands and mouth on... As the Sunday World reporters say.. I made my excuses and left.

What were your excuses:
    I need this for research purposes. I'll have to bring this home to my wife she'll never believe it otherwise. I think I know that horse I'll need to take it home to look more closely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bob1970

Naos wrote: »
    My wee bro was getting a sweet factory set or some such for Christmas one year, you get a mix of different 1p sweets(dolly mixture and the like) included in the box.

Some d1ckhead from the toystore had opened the box and robbed all the sweets. Way to fcuk up a kids present.

thats fcuking sh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Dr ashens does reviews of these rip off's. The "wii" he reviews is probably not what the scumbags are turning but you get the idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,526 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I had a wii in a pikey van once.. took a sh*t while I was there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

jhegarty wrote: »

I want one of those:o

I'd say it'd be good craic for an hour or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

He switched them when he said 250.

E.P.I.C P.H.A.I.L

Saint_Mel wrote: »

On a similar note, I was watching Road Wars or something last night and a cop pulled over a car/van and found lawnmowers in the back. Closer inspection showed that one of the mowers actually belonged to the cop! Had a name/address tag on it. Pure coincidence!

Cop:"Hey. Look at this. See this name tag; Smith?"
    Crim:"Yeah"
    Cop:"Well. I'm Smith. This Is my lawnmower"
    Crim:"No, no its not!!!"
    Cop:"I has pwned you. You are teh under a rest for stealinged my lawnmower!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Just got offered one of these today, I was filling up the car in a garage on the Naas road when a creamer came over and asked me if I wanted to buy a "Wii thing". He said said he was on his way to City West to deliver them to some shops but thought he would ask me first if I wanted to buy one before they sold out.

Luckily for me I spotted the one mistake he made in his story....he had already driven by City West.

He was probably after robbing the place.

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Cop:"Hey. Look at this. See this name tag; Smith?"
    Crim:"Yeah"
    Cop:"Well. I'm Smith. This Is my lawnmower"
    Crim:"No, no its not!!!"
    Cop:"I has pwned you. You are teh under a rest for stealinged my lawnmower!!!"

Saw that last night aswell. Was Quality. Road Wars is one of my favourite shows..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I'd never buy anything from anyone who wasn't a sales clerk in a shop or something. The fact that people would actually buy crap from some random bloke who sells things out of his car is stupid tbh, it's the worst thing you could do with these people

Frisbee wrote: »
    Saw that last night aswell. Was Quality. Road Wars is one of my favourite shows..

Yeah. I laughed at it. Someone try and get a clip of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭RAFC

Rule of thumb, if it sounds to good to be true, then it is too good to be true :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

The exact same thing happened to a mate out in Liffey Valley a few years back. We always laugh at how he got ripped off by VodaSTONE!!!!!!! :pac:

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    The exact same thing happened to a mate out in Liffey Valley a few years back. We always laugh at how he got ripped off by VodaSTONE!!!!!!! :pac:

Oh dear Lord.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I was going to put this in the gaming forum but this got my goat at the weekend and I need to spread the word.

I'm sure some of you already heard about the fake chinese Wiis being sold by tinkers across the country by now, but spread the word a bit if you know of any impressionable parents in search of one for their kids at chrimbo.

I was approached by one in Athy this weekend and asked over to his big white van to check out "da wii thing".

"Wanna buy a wii thing for yer kids? sure d'ya know how much these are in the shops sure"

"er, that's not a wii"

"Sure it tis, it's a wii, dya want one for the kiddies for christmas"....

"Where does it say Nintendo then"

"Whatya on about? Sure it's a wii game thing, all the kiddies are wantin wan of 'em this year"

"It's not a Wii and weren't a load of these confiscated a week or two ago by the Guards by bastards selling fake ones just like this and destroying kids christmas' - what's the reg on the van of yours...."

"No need to be like dat now..."
    <throws fake wii back into van, slams door and drives off shouting "ya "c*nt" out the window at me>

Now I don't really give two cr@ps about being PC here as scum like that, that want to destroy a kids christmas day for illegal profit, should be put against the wall and shot. If you see them, report them, and fingers crossed there won't be many tears on chrimbo morning this year.
    If anybody invited me over to a back of a van to show me "da wii thing" emmm I don't think I would accept the invitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

ye he might show ya his willy!

gazzer wrote: »

I'd get a different haircut next time, especially if he thought you looked the type to buy horse porn. :D

Frisbee wrote: »

There was in another episode where 2 litre "laptops" were being sold form a driveby shop! right in front of an unmarked car (well the police just saw the car leaving and sussed it!).

The mug with a bag of water bottles chased the car, followed by the bill, as they stopped the crook threw the money back in the victims face (all on camera) the case never got to court though, lack of evidence (the victim withdrew his statement):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

You'd really be surprised how stupid people can be. I'm sure it still happens but I haven't heard of it in a while:

I work for an electronics company in dublin city centre. One of the things we sell are laptops and on many occasions in the past people have walked into the shop to moan that they've just been duped by some bloke with a briefcase full of water/bricks/whatever. They thought they were buying a laptop on the cheap but ended up getting stung.

You'd be surprised how frequently this happened, so much so that we just kept an eye out for it on the path outside the shop. No-one has come in to moan in a good while but I'm sure it still happens.
    There was in another episode where 2 litre "laptops" were being sold form a driveby shop! right in front of an unmarked car (well the police just saw the car leaving and sussed it!).

The mug with a bag of water bottles chased the car, followed by the bill, as they stopped the crook threw the money back in the victims face (all on camera) the case never got to court though, lack of evidence (the victim withdrew his statement):rolleyes:

I remember that episode, the victim was a complete wuss. I love Road Wars/Street Wars but they don't have terribly many new shows and they repeat the others far too often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

binhead wrote: »

It's simple - If a van pulls up and offers to sell you anything other than Ice cream or chips, run away.
    Buy ice cream from someone in a van drives around all day handling change without washing his hands and then pi**es into a bottle because he is too lazy get out of his van and use a jacks. :eek:

I would only send kids out to get Ice cream from someone that uses disposable gloves.

Back on topic, anyone who buys anything from a low roof Ford Transit or Hiace deserves what they get. Everything is either counterfeit or ripped off.