Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupidest things done when tired

• 27-10-2008 9:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭

Too get the ball rolling,I tend to really go really off the ball when I go into extreme tiredness.I will put tea bags in the kettle,do things three times thinking I havent done it, Think I have done thing but havent done it.
    Anyway what about you,what are the stupidest things you do when tired?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I find it hard to get words out of my mouth when I'm really tired - I just can't think of them, like I'll try ask someone for a knife but not know what the word is for knife. It's like when Homer tries to ask Marge for a spoon but asks for tool to dig food - that's me!

However, the worst thing I do to people when I'm tired is be a total and utter bitch - I mean a complete walking wagon. I'm like a toddler when he hasn't had his nap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

same as wanta , cant function or think of the words im trying to say.

stupidest thing i prolly ever done:: was one week where i couldnt get a proper nights sleep, so by the end of the week i was getting zoned out. Got up , went into work only to be told it was my day off.

Or the whole getting up in the morning thing , still half asleep and get into the shower , with you're clothes still on... its happened a few times!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Actually, I do have a funny tiredness story. My mother in law (who we went to visit yesterday) has been baking for a week as tomorrow is Diwali. She was so tired but had to keep baking to have everything done in time. She couldn't find her food processor anywhere and was asking us all had we seen it. She was getting more and more frustrated until my father in law opened the freezer to get something and saw it sitting there in one of the drawers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

haha food processor in the freezer? Nice one :)

When really really tired I do stupid things too - such as going to put things in the wrong place, like the pot in the fridge, or I fall over lol, or off the bed, mumble / mix up my words, driving should not be done when so over tired... tisn't good.
    I once poured out Ribena and forgot to dilute it.... took a swig...not nice!
    Or my mother looking for her glasses to sew, and they're on her head...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

I once fed a dog cat food and fed a cat dog food. They both seemed happy enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I've fallen asleep just about anywhere - including in the front row of a lecture.

I've also managed to pack a gym bag with absolutely everything I could possibly need - apart from my right running shoe.

Coherent speech is something that tends to disappear for me late at night.

lol one shoe... brilliant...

I know of a guy who when volunteering in Lourdes, helping this lady get dressed, he put on one of her shoes n was searching high n low for the other. She goes 'what are you looking for' he says 'your other shoe' she says 'well sure I've only the one leg , only need one shoe' ...

my dad was so tired once he fell asleep at a Rugby game - like thousands of screaming fans & he nodded off... and he was one of the camera crew! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

On more than one occasion, I've half-woken up very early in the morning thinking it was very late in the evening.
    e.g. I once woke up at 5a.m., thought it was 5 p.m. and thought to myself "Why is everyone still in bed?"
    I'd even gotten up and made it as far as the hall, about to enter my parents' bedroom when I thought "Wait a minute....." :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I don't think that I've ever done anything stupid in a sleep deprived state. But if we're talking "tired and emotional", it would have to be sending embarassing texts (and I've done it more than once:pac:.)

Oh I've txtd replies when I'm half asleep that may or maynot make sense lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Bijoux

I've put milk into the kettle.....ive put spoons into the bin. empty yoghurt pots in the drawer (it was always when i was shoving the pot into the drawer that I realised something was wrong).....mixing random foods together.....like dicing an apple and covering it in chocolate....mmm....

Raw pasta covered in chocolate aint so good :o

Woke up this morning (by which I mean 3pm) by someone in my flat banging doors....I was in a daze and thought I was at home in Sligo, and started shouting at my brother to: "shut the FÚCK up, I'm trying to sleep, you slacker!"
    Then realised I was in Galway.
    Ah, and they say I'm the clever one :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I half fall asleep during lectures then jerk up again, fell asleep literally mid-kiss once. The other night I was hopping around in a sleeping bag and tripped over a traffic cone (indoors), have replied to texts while actually asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

Put my clothes in the freezer instead of the washing machine.

Bijoux wrote: »
    I've put milk into the kettle.....ive put spoons into the bin. empty yoghurt pots in the drawer (it was always when i was shoving the pot into the drawer that I realised something was wrong).....mixing random foods together.....like dicing an apple and covering it in chocolate....mmm....

Raw pasta covered in chocolate aint so good :o

Woke up this morning (by which I mean 3pm) by someone in my flat banging doors....I was in a daze and thought I was at home in Sligo, and started shouting at my brother to: "shut the FÚCK up, I'm trying to sleep, you slacker!"
    Then realised I was in Galway.
    Ah, and they say I'm the clever one :pac:

Where we Tired and emotional?;):D

Rozabeez wrote: »
    I half fall asleep during lectures then jerk up again, fell asleep literally mid-kiss once. The other night I was hopping around in a sleeping bag and tripped over a traffic cone (indoors), have replied to texts while actually asleep.

I hear ya about the lectures thing....sure I fell asleep in training for my new job a few weeks ago, my instructor had to wake me up :o
    LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Where we Tired and emotional?;):D

I'm always tired!!!
    And rarely emotional! :p

I also tend to become dyslexic when extremely tired....for example:
    go away, getting not up, electricity boring lectures are!!!

More Yoda-ish than dyslexic i suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

have replied to texts while actually asleep.

A stupid thing I do is not chech I have sent the text.
    My problem is I don't check If I have sent the text and lol sometimes I have have a few*ahem* texts in the morning from a few girls asking why I didn't reply.:pac:"Errrrm the battery,charger ,cred erm coverages.................. i fell asleep:o .

You fell asleep chatting to me .......

erm yeah

/switch fone off for rest of day 'cause I know what's coming:pac:

I'm always tired!!!
    And rarely emotional! :p

I also tend to become dyslexic when extremely tired....for example:
    go away, getting not up, electricity boring lectures are!!!

More Yoda-ish than dyslexic i suppose!

My little and older cousins have dyslexia. But sure the older one is a relatively well known Jockey so it's nothing to him!:)
    Originally posted by random chatbox
    A stupid thing I do is not chech I have sent the text.
    My problem is I don't check If I have sent the text and lol sometimes I have have a few*ahem* texts in the morning from a few girls asking why I didn't reply.:pac:"Errrrm the battery,charger ,cred erm coverages.................. i fell asleepredface.gif .

You fell asleep chatting to me .......

erm yeah

/switch fone off for rest of day 'cause I know what's coming:pac:

Jesus I'm a fecker for it when drunk. I'm still avoiding my best friend in Uni because I'm convinced that I gave away the game that I like her.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭spoonbadger

Picture this.

It's 2am and i'm incredibly tired.

I Decide i'm going to adjust a tiny little screw on my guitar,because i felt it was slightly loose.

I could've turned on the light,but for some reason i decided to use my phones screen instead.

I could've gotten a proper sized screwdriver,but instead i used the big f**k-off pen knife on my table.

10 minutes later and i have a hole in my hand and a bunch of gouge-marks on my guitar.

What do i win? ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Picture this.

I Decide i'm going to adjust a tiny little screw on my guitar,because i felt it was slightly loose.

I could've turned on the light,but for some reason i decided to use my phones screen instead.

I could've gotten a proper sized screwdriver,but instead i used the big f**k-off pen knife on my table.

10 minutes later and i have a hole in my hand and a bunch of gouge-marks on my guitar.

What do i win? ;).

Mittens ;)

Picture this.

What do i win? ;).
    sos-trophy.jpg

Oj I have done much worse thing to be honest but I don't want it to be on the first page:pac:

My little and older cousins have dyslexia. But sure the older one is a relatively well known Jockey so it's nothing to him!:)

Jesus I'm a fecker for it when drunk. I'm still avoiding my best friend in Uni because I'm convinced that I gave away the game that I like her.:pac:

Same with a cousin of mine!
    He aint a jockey though!

Care to drop a name? :p

Oooh im in a similar situation.

How obvious was it? ;)
    Picture this.

What do i win? ;).

You won the battle, but lost your dignity....

Epic tale though :rolleyes:

I once queued up for WWE tickets.

I was working in dunnes. Worked a day til 5 in the evening, didn't sleep, queued from 12 that night til 9am the following morning, got my tickets, went into work for 10am.

At about 1 o clock, just after my lunch, i went to the toilet. sat on it and woke up about an hour later to the noise of my manager calling me over the speakers to go to the customer service desk.

I slept well that night :o

I've been known to fall asleep whilst txting people before. Sometimes it actually helps me drift off!! lol
    haha...well done with the pen knife sir. I've done that before, trying to do stuff in the dark, even though I've the worst night vision, end up hitting something or tripping

star-pants wrote: »
    I've been known to fall asleep whilst txting people before. Sometimes it actually helps me drift off!! lol
    haha...well done with the pen knife sir. I've done that before, trying to do stuff in the dark, even though I've the worst night vision, end up hitting something or tripping

Is it just me who stubs there toe off something on the floor and think it's terribly painful but you still never turn on the light :rolleyes:

Same with a cousin of mine!
    He aint a jockey though!

Care to drop a name? :p

Oooh im in a similar situation.

How obvious was it? ;)

DJ O'Donohoe. Not quite the big name like Ruby Walsh but I'd say he's minted at this stage.

Similar situation in what sense? That we both have a thing for our best mates in Uni?:pac:

I tend to end up in the wrong bed (most weekends we've 2 spare rooms and a room with a fold out sofa)

When I'm tired in work my brain and body don't seem to qork together, I'll walk into a doorframe instead of through a door, miss a step, reach to pick things up and miss 2 or 3 times..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭spoonbadger

You won the battle, but lost your dignity....

Epic tale though
    Mittens ;)
    sos-trophy.jpg

Awwww shucks.....I'd just like to thank my mom,and jesus.....and all the little people who made this possible ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭bumbletumble

ok just tired... it would be putting my shoes in the tumble dryer and and my mobile on the outdide window sill (no idea why)

Tired and emotional..... well the worst thing would be falling asleep in a suitcase after of course sending some not very sober texts to ex's!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

I put this down to tiredness as I had only 4 cans the night before.

Back in my college days i got up one morning after a house party. Had only got about 4 hours kip and was knackered. Anyway was sitting in the kitchen with a pint of water in front of me on the table. Kitchen looked like a bomb had hit with bottles, cans and crap everywhere. Took a big swig of water while chatting away when I noticed something in my mouth and got a dodgy taste. Spat it out and it turned out to be a fag butt. Looked at my pint of water and it was full of them! Some mingers had been using a seperate pint of water the night before as an ash tray and it was sitting on the table in front of me. Picked it up and took a big faggy drink of foul stale ashtray water. As a complete non smoker i was horrified and spent the next 20 minutes trying to turn myself inside out from projectile vomiting. Yuk, still makes my toes curl thinking about it now 13 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Better ones:

Argued with ex in tired state. Always smart. See new title of ex for results.

Fell asleep in exam - exam had to be interrupted to see if I was ok. I was, and got an A. :pac:

Having been awoken at night so as to be able to prove my love to the ex physically (as was the style at the time :pac:) my performance, while more than sufficient, lead me to fall asleep on top of my unfortunate paramour after the moment had passed, so to speak. My embarrassment was considerable to say the least.

While having a serious conversation with a friend, I fell asleep in front of her - proof that 4am is not the time to start these conversations.

Some of my finer moments. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭bumbletumble

oh jesus Fozzie i done the whold drinkin out of the pint of butts 5 years ago I getting sick with the thoughts coming back now oh god that is the wrost taste ever!!! i wanted to wash my mouth out with a wire brush and some mint mouthwash lol

DJ O'Donohoe. Not quite the big name like Ruby Walsh but I'd say he's minted at this stage.

Similar situation in what sense? That we both have a thing for our best mates in Uni?:pac:

Ya I have a thing for him but he doesn't know....and he told me before that he liked me but then denied he said it lol.....its complicated to explain!

Another prime example from last Tuesday....my phone starts ringing, I was asleep...I fumble around for it, and answer saying 'alright alright, im lazy, i missed physics, i will be in for the ten am lecture, take a chill pill dude!'

My friend on the other end of the phone: 'Errrrr its 5pm...did u hand in your assignment?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

fell asleep fully clothed in a bathtub.*

*a bottle of some kind of whiskey was involved throughout the day

Ya I have a thing for him but he doesn't know....and he told me before that he liked me but then denied he said it lol.....its complicated to explain!

Another prime example from last Tuesday....my phone starts ringing, I was asleep...I fumble around for it, and answer saying 'alright alright, im lazy, i missed physics, i will be in for the ten am lecture, take a chill pill dude!'

My friend on the other end of the phone: 'Errrrr its 5pm...did u hand in your assignment?'

Doesn't sound complicated at all!:D

Oh and I'm a fecker for lazily packing my bag before I go to bed. I always end up forgetting something in my tired stuppour the next morning!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Cremo wrote: »
    fell asleep fully clothed in a bathtub.*

*a bottle of some kind of whiskey was involved throughout the day

I famously did that the night of my debs.

My parents found me in the bathtub, having made an effort to get ready for bed. It appears I confused the two.

Whoever said the yoghurt carton thing....shouldn't you wash the spoon (or carton) before putting it back in the drawer?

i tend to wash the spoon and put it in the bin,.....i have been known to wash the carton though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

The remote control for my TV has been found in the fridge a few times, taken the wrapper off food and chucked the food into the bin. Usual stuff.

Most dangerous thing is when i drove back from a wedding in Wexford. I got 2 hours sleep the night before, drink in my system wasnt an issue, i was off it at the time. I had to pull the car over and sleep for half an hour. I was a new man after the snooze. That was one hell of a long journey home though. I'm never doing something like that again.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

I've been guilty of text crimes while extremely tired. Mostly because extremely tired to me is very similar to being drunk.:pac: So there are badly spelled texts like "wit wu engi unoroy'' when I meant to say ''what you doing tomorrow'', falling asleep when texting and overly-emotional texts. Posting in this forum has dramatically decreased my embarrassing texts rate though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I tend to end up in the wrong bed ....
    I'm SO tempted, Roza! :D
    Having been awoken at night so as to be able to prove my love to the ex physically (as was the style at the time :pac:) my performance, while more than sufficient, lead me to fall asleep on top of my unfortunate paramour after the moment had passed, so to speak. My embarrassment was considerable to say the least.
    I've fallen asleep DURING! :o Luckily I was on my back, woke up a few minutes later with a start, apparently she never noticed! :D
    Acacia wrote: »
    Posting in this forum has dramatically decreased my embarrassing texts rate though. :D
    Excellent! ;)

I tend to be worse in the morning. Will get up still 90% asleep, wander around in a daze, stop to do silly things like fold laundry or something when I'm already late! :rolleyes:

A mate of mine got out of the gf's bed in a rush one Sunday morning, pulled on his boxer-briefs, jeans and t-shirt and made a beeline for a match, running late. Got there, ran into dressing room, went for the quick change as nearly everyone was togged out, dropped the jeans to display a very fetching and feminine pink pair of lady's boxer briefs.

Ofc, we were all very sympathetic, didn't laugh, or shove him out of the dressing-room in them and barricade the door, or anything like that ... >_>

... and certainly there was absolutely no way that we swiped them when he was eventually togged out, and ended up returning them directly to the gf in the pub later that day! * <_<

* To her tears of laughter, fair play to her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

I'm not too bad once I'm awake but unless I've something extremely important to do when I'm getting up (go on holidays etc :D), I am a demon for turning off my alarm in a complete zombie-like state and sleeping on for hours and hours:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Randy's story - hilarious!:D I also tend to wander around dazed, not really knowing what I'm doing. Especially in the morning. I'll also not fully take in what people say to me so I'll find myself agreeing to anything! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Futurecrook

I've fallen asleep DURING! :o

As have I. Needless to say the guy involved wasn't too impressed, but i'm like a zombie when I get tired. If I start to feel drowsy then I find it almost impossible to stay awake. I'll sleep anywhere.

I'm also horribly grumpy when I'm tired. The worst thing I've ever done whille tired was probably when I was away with friends, renting a house and got ridiculously drunk on the first night. So in my drunken state I decided to have a shower but I was so tired (and drunk) instead of getting dressed I just passed out on top of the bed still in my towel. Anyone, my friends came in to check on me, found me starkers and put me to bed. Several hours later, the ex (then boyfriend) comes along to check I'm alright. Now I'm a heavy sleeper so needless to say his atempts of calling my name were doing nothing to wake me, I just kept muttering an incoherent "go away" so he decided to wake me up by shaking me. To which I responded by punching him in the face.

Apparently I can throw quite a punch when I'm drowsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Paris Hilton

Galvasean wrote: »
    Paris Hilton
    I swear if this was AH the perfect answer would be "yore ma":pac:

Don't you dare :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Fell asleep on the toilet on saturday, woke up 5 mins later was hilarious. Lucky I didn't fall off :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

done a few silly things like fallen asleep at an arsenal match, had the best seats ever(I could actually see what the players looked like and all). i had taken travel sickness pills before the flight over to London and i just couldn't manage to keep my eyes open, dammit didn't get much time to check out all the sexy boys playing...:p
    fallen asleep in work and on the bus to work several times and I snore and talk in my sleep:o:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Kya1976 wrote: »
    ... and I snore and talk in my sleep:o:o:o
    Ooooh ... that reminds me! :D

Younger brother of a mate of mine would not only talk in his sleep, but would have a conversation with you / answer questions, and be totally oblivious when he woke up!

On a number of occasions, we got in late when he was fast by the eye and interrogated him, then would feck off over to my house and kip there so he didn't even know we had been in the house.

Took him literally years to figure out how the hell we knew so much stuff he had never told us, including when he lost it / with who / how ... and shall we say many subsequent escapades! :pac:

I punched a high ranking military man. Now i've area 51 guards after me. Stupid area 51 de-caff