Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parent and baby parking spaces

• 26-10-2008 1:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭

Whats everyones opinions on these?i was in dundrum recently queueing for a space,saw it was parent and baby so moved along.a wagon behind me in an mx5 pulled into it though and got out with her mate laughin about getting a close space.i saw a mum with two kids parked in a regular space and having tons of difficulty with them and buggy etc.i think parent and child/handicapped/pregnant spaces are all off limits but every time im in dundrum thered be a stack of cars there in the reserved spaces that obviously arent carrrying children or handicapped passengers.i find it really annoyin,would it annoy you or would you park in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

The point of these spaces is that they are wider....in which case there is no necessity for them to be near entrance and exit doors.

Move them away and problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

ChickCool wrote: »
    Whats everyones opinions on these?i was in dundrum recently queueing for a space,saw it was parent and baby so moved along.a wagon behind me in an mx5 pulled into it though and got out with her mate laughin about getting a close space.i saw a mum with two kids parked in a regular space and having tons of difficulty with them and buggy etc.i think parent and child/handicapped/pregnant spaces are all off limits but every time im in dundrum thered be a stack of cars there in the reserved spaces that obviously arent carrrying children or handicapped passengers.i find it really annoyin,would it annoy you or would you park in it

I don't drive but it wouldn't annoy me. People with children don't deserve any special treatment in car parks as far as I'm concerned, mainly because they chose to have children whereas those with handicaps didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Grand next time I don't have enough room to open the door fully to get my baby out of the car I'll hope it's your car I'm ramming my door into for a couple of extra inches. Ahem... that's when you start driving of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I always park in these spaces, and I have no children.

Only space I wouldnt park would be a handicapped space.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

jiltloop wrote: »
    Grand next time I don't have enough room to open the door fully to get my baby out of the car I'll hope it's your car I'm ramming my door into for a couple of extra inches. Ahem... that's when you start driving of course.
    You should get a car with smaller doors then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Great! Lets complain about people with children, old people, young people, townies, culchies. basically anyone beside yourself is bad and worthy of a thread to complain about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭ChickCool

why do people park in them,are they that lazy they cant walk a few extra feet or go to a different floor?if a mom has a kid and shopping thats a tough load they need to be able to put kid into the car securely and get the shopping and buggy in,they need the extra space,i look on them as no go spaces because as far as im concerned if it has a marking on it then its not a public spacemsomeone needs it so they should have it

towel401 wrote: »
    Great! Lets complain about people with children, old people, young people, townies, culchies. basically anyone beside yourself is bad and worthy of a thread to complain about

eh im not complaining about kids/parents .........:confused:

I'm really sorry. You're right, you and your baby are far more important than the rest of us. Please accept my humble apologies.

eh im not complaining about kids/parents .........:confused:

not you, him! *points*

Then again....there are waaaay too many disabled and parent & child spaces in a lot of car parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Surely the sensible places to have these are beside trolley bays, not beside the front door? That way the parent gets to stick baby in car seat, unpack groceries and return trolley while still keeping visual contact with the child. I understand the advantage of wider spaces for parents with babies, but can't understand why they need to be close to the entrance.

not you, him! *points*

I'm not complaining, I'm just saying people with kids aren't more important than those without. Notice the sincere lack of antagonism in my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Just get one of those "baby on board" sun visors and keep a couple of fisher price toys in the rear seat and you should be exempt from parking in all these places.:D

I'm really sorry. You're right, you and your baby are far more important than the rest of us. Please accept my humble apologies.
    No no I'll concede this point with you. You're the one who isn't handicapped, has no children (presumably) and doesn't drive a car, so obviously you are most qualified in this situation.

not you, him! *points*

sorry when you were talking about starting the thread i thought you meant me.

in dubdrum there is a few but theres an awful lot of buggys and kids too and baby spaces are very difficult to come by.i always see someone struggling with kids ages away from them. in the cinema place the handicapped and parent spaces are all nearly all full, thered be a few heelchairs around dundrum too i just think its really disrespectful to take spaces that arent meant for you-there marked that way for a reason

No no I'll concede this point with you. You're the one who isn't handicapped, has no children (presumably) and doesn't drive a car, so obviously you are most qualified in this situation.

As an impartial observer, Frada probably IS the best person to make a call on this one.

ninty9er wrote: »
    Then again....there are waaaay too many disabled and parent & child spaces in a lot of car parks.

As someone who once cared for someone disabled, I can honestly say there aren't :) It might seem that way at weekends when they seem to be the only free spots, but many disabled people will avoid large shopping centres at weekends because

a) there's a strong possibility some fecker will have taken the disabled spaces because "I'm just popping in for a minute"

b) trying to navigate around in a wheelchair when the place is jammed is no fun. If you've ever tried getting the lift in Dundrum (the travelators aren't suitable for wheelchairs) you'll find it's generally full of lazy people who could be using the travelator instead.

I'm not complaining, I'm just saying people with kids aren't more important than those without. Notice the sincere lack of antagonism in my post.

maybe its the kids that are more important than the no kids? safety and access? kids arent always in buggys,what about kids that are 4 up walking around a car park with there mum behind carrying the shopping.you never know what safety aspects there are

Thoie wrote: »
    As someone who once cared for someone disabled, I can honestly say there aren't :) It might seem that way at weekends when they seem to be the only free spots, but many disabled people will avoid large shopping centres at weekends because

a) there's a strong possibility some fecker will have taken the disabled spaces because "I'm just popping in for a minute"

b) trying to navigate around in a wheelchair when the place is jammed is no fun. If you've ever tried getting the lift in Dundrum (the travelators aren't suitable for wheelchairs) you'll find it's generally full of lazy people who could be using the travelator instead.

its something that i notice realy badly with dundrum more than elsewhere its v tough for people in wheelchairs or with buggies to get around

Oh wow, how do I attain your psychic abilities? Can you see through the internetz?

what about kids that are 4 up walking around a car park with there mum behind carrying the shopping.you never know what safety aspects there are

...and that's why god invented reins...

Why did those go out of fashion anyway? They were great - allowed the child freedom to roam, but gave the parent the security of knowing you wouldn't lose them. Also a lot easier on the back than bending down the hold on to a small child. There was some safety scare back in the 80s, but that was shown by later studies to be unfounded, so why did people stop using them?

ninty9er wrote: »
    As an impartial observer, Frada probably IS the best person to make a call on this one.
    If you're not being sarcastic I disagree.

In my local shopping centre (which is basically a 24 hr Dunnes with about 7 shops/cafés attached) there are at least 30 disables spaces in the various car parks and probably 15 more of the parent and child ones.

I park in the parent and child ones anytime after 9pm, because basically, WTF are you doing bringing a child shopping at that time of night. Disabled spots, I never park in as disabled people are independent for the most part and can be out and about at any time.

Tell ya what, next time I'll just ask you personally before I write anything, you being the authority on who's qualified or not to post thier opinions. God forbid anyone should imply parents and children shouldn't be held in a higher regard to us mere mortals.

i dont think any of them should be right at the entrance cos the most traffic goes by there,shouldnt they all be at the side where its a little safer? but i dont think the location is a reason to take a space youre not entitled to

maybe its the kids that are more important than the no kids? safety and access? kids arent always in buggys,what about kids that are 4 up walking around a car park with there mum behind carrying the shopping.you never know what safety aspects there are

Yeah but the thing is, I don't care about some strangers kids. At all. They're just not a priority to me, funnily enough.

i think its more of a feel good buzz for the new parents that they get special parking spaces and it will make them want to park in them and go into the shop that owns the car park.

really all the parking spaces should be wider like they are in america and nobody would have trouble getting out. over there most parking spaces are designed for hube bbw's driving slow american bangers with a 5 litre engine but they are still slow because the car and the people in it are so freaking big

Oh wow, how do I attain your psychic abilities? Can you see through the internetz?
    I watched alot of Columbo and Scooby Doo when I was younger hence my elevated powers of deduction.

...and that's why god invented reins...

Why did those go out of fashion anyway? They were great - allowed the child freedom to roam, but gave the parent the security of knowing you wouldn't lose them. Also a lot easier on the back than bending down the hold on to a small child. There was some safety scare back in the 80s, but that was shown by later studies to be unfounded, so why did people stop using them?

i think there just hard to get and frowned upon by the pc world.not supposed to tie your kids up and drag thema round on a rope?? any i have seen are really short so dont make much difference anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Sexist tbh..

What about daddies and kids....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

i think there just hard to get and frowned upon by the pc world.not supposed to tie your kids up and drag thema round on a rope?? any i have seen are really short so dont make much difference anyway
    Why would you accept the advice of a computer retailer on child rearing?

Reins were the big thing when I was small, used to get caught in the reins of the kid coming the other way the odd time....funny!!

Tell ya what, next time I'll just ask you personally before I write anything, you being the authority on who's qualified or not to post thier opinions. God forbid anyone should imply parents and children shouldn't be held in a higher regard to us mere mortals.
    It's not about importance, it's about convenience. Picture this, a single mom with 2 kids is doing her weekly shopping, all the parent and toddler spaces are taken by people dropping in for 5mins to do the lotto meaning she has to park half way across the car park in between 2 cars where the spaces are that bit tighter. She has to try and get the kids out of the car without hit other cars with the doors. She has to walk them across the car park ( 1 or more of these kids may be throwing a tantrum at this stage) and then when she has a trolley full of shopping she has to cart this across the car park while trying to make sure her kids don't run out in front of a car. I think it would have been alot easier for the guy getting his lotto ticket to walk an extra few bit to the shop no?

Robbo wrote: »
    Why would you accept the advice of a computer retailer on child rearing?

meant pc as in politically correct

there all called parent and child spaces now not mummy and child

It's not about importance, it's about convenience. Picture this, a single mom with 2 kids is doing her weekly shopping, all the parent and toddler spaces are taken by people dropping in for 5mins to do the lotto meaning she has to park half way across the car park in between 2 cars where the spaces are that bit tighter. She has to try and get the kids out of the car without hit other cars with the doors. She has to walk them across the car park ( 1 or more of these kids may be throwing a tantrum at this stage) and then when she has a trolley full of shopping she has to cart this across the car park while trying to make sure her kids don't run out in front of a car. I think it would have been alot easier for the guy getting his lotto ticket to walk an extra few bit to the shop no?
    No.

No....

o rly?

his location is up his own ass,he must find it difficult to get around like that to

Ah, that's probably why they stopped selling the choke chain ones ;)

I think most of them are about 4 feet long. To my mind that's about as far as I'd want a small child straying from me in a busy shopping centre. On a narrow footpath with busy traffic passing, I'd probably make it a bit shorter. There's a strong possibility I'm just a horrible person though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

There is another option.

No.
    Good point, very well thought out.

P.C. wrote: »
    There is another option.

the 0 child policy?

P.C. wrote: »
    There is another option.
    Let me guess, don't have kids?

Fair play MagicMarker

I didn't make a point. Silly

Yeah it would have been, but it's not up to the rest of us to make it more convenient for you because, frankly, we don't care. Do you understand? When it comes to making it more convenient it for anybody at all, I pick the handicapped because they didn't choose their disabilities. I couldn't give a shít about single moms and their children.

I didn't make a point. Silly
    That was my point. Silly

Yeah it would have been, but it's not up to the rest of us to make it more convenient for you because, frankly, we don't care. Do you understand? When it comes to making it more convenient it for anybody at all, I pick the handicapped because they didn't choose their disabilities. I couldn't give a shít about single moms and their children.

There's an argument to be had there actually.

Mam/Dad can leave the kids at home, but that's not something you can do with a disability (unless you're the pissed off BMW driver that jumped out of her car and shouted at me for waiting for a parking space with my hazard lights on in a spot that didn't suit her)

That was my point. Silly
    Why point out that i didn't make a point when it's quite clear that no point was intended. That's just pointless.

You're sound!