Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feeling guilty now....

• 23-10-2008 8:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭

I don't know if this is the right place to air this, but I have to get this off my chest. A friend of mine was given a months notice last week and asked me on Saturday to help her just add her latest position to her CV before she sends it out. Not a problem.

I get a phone call off her last night at 8 o'clock asking me do I have a spare computer disk she can have to save her CV on, yes I do and yes you can have it. OK, she says, I'll be round in the minute (she lives around the corner) to pick it up. Not a problem, also.

Right I'll set the scene. Me: in my PJ's about to get into the bath. Partner: on computer in Kitchen updating his time-sheets. Kids: running around outside with the neighbours kids waiting for my partner to bring them in and put them to bed (they're school age).

I awnser the front door to her and hand her the disk and she walks straight past me and into the kitchen. I say my partner is on the computer at the moment, so she says that's alright I can wait. Then it dawns on me that she wants me to do her CV now! What makes it worse is that she hasn't got a copy of her CV on a disk only a stack of papers!! She wanted me to type out her CV again with the amendments and save it for her on a disk. I'll just add to the mix that she is going to the UK for 10 days from today and won't actually be able to do anything with the CV until she gets back. (Which leaves her about another 10 days to find a job before she finishes the last one).

I had to say to her that I couldn't do it now because I was getting into the bath and the kids will be getting ready for bed. She was not amused. Now I feel really guilty and awful for letting her down - let's just say she won't forget this.

Anyway, I'll leave it at that. It seems so trivial reading it back, but I had to get it out. Thanks for reading it, feel free to comment. Cheers. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

Ah she'll get over it, unless ye had arranged to do the CV that night, then she had no right to expect you to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

She should not have imposed like that, she should have asked, she should have known the kids would be due to be put to bed and should have clearly asked and asked what time would suit you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

Tell her to cop onto herself and that you were doing her a favour. It was not convenient for you at the time, and if she was actually your friend she would see you had a other things going on last night.

You have absolutley nothing to feel guilty about, she's in the wrong.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Thaedydal wrote: »
    She should not have imposed like that, she should have asked, she should have known the kids would be due to be put to bed and should have clearly asked and asked what time would suit you.

Plus, are her arms not working?
    She couldn't sit at the computer and do her own CV out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭fakefurbabe

Thanks so much for your comments, I have to say I agree!! I really thought I was going mad this morning, I felt awful but my partner was saying exactly the same thinigs you guys are saying. Thanks again. :):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Your friend was taking the piss! She was too lazy to do the damn thing herself and thought she could guilt you into doing it instead! If she is not capable of doing her own C.V. I don't fancy her chances of getting a new job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

She was not amused.

And nor should you be.

You are her friend, not her P.A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I awnser the front door to her and hand her the disk and she walks straight past me and into the kitchen....... Then it dawns on me that she wants me to do her CV now!

So she gets the disk that she came over for....then does she not even say thanks or ask you to do your CV, but expects it?
    You only agreed to give her a disk, not to make up her CV for her. If she had any cop on she would have noticed you had your hands tied aswell. Leave her to sort herself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Agree with everyone, you've definitely nothing to feel guilty over. Some people are just such drama queens and expect everyone to bow at their feet. You were right to put your foot down and say no. If she decides to sulk and insinuate that you're a terrible friend then you're better off without her. Out with the drama queens!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

Doing a CV is one of the most odious tasks of all time. I detest doing my own and in the past friends have asked me to "help" them to do theirs.....ie: do it for them.

I always clearly state "I hate doing CV's, I even resent doing my own, so I wont be doing it for you" Just be crystal clear on that.

Dont fall for the guilt trip, if she wants the CV done, she has got to do it herself.

She dropped in on spec when you have kids and expected you to drop everything after a busy day in the evening when your brain is at its least fresh and expected to start ploughing through the difficult task of doing her CV, well its way above and beyond the call of duty for any friend to do it.

Fair enough if she had reading and writing difficulties but if not no way. Everyone has to do it, from the computer novice to the expert.

Dont feel guilty Op, its her who should feel guilty not you!

Tell her to go to her LESN - Local Employment Services Network and they will do it up for her and help her to find another job.

http://www.kildare.ie/employment/lesn/lesn-index.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

i am not suprised that she is being let go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭jessbeth

No need to feel guilty. Any rational personal would have looked at the scene and saw how busy things were and said they would get it when you had time. She was being a little bit unfair. I'm sure she will see reason when she thinks about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

I can't believe she didn't have the decency to be embarrassed or feel guilty for not having the cop on to realise that you were busy, i would have been apologising profusely if that was me!

Thanks so much for your comments, I have to say I agree!! I really thought I was going mad this morning, I felt awful but my partner was saying exactly the same thinigs you guys are saying. Thanks again. :):):)

It's funny that you feel guilty about not doing up your friends CV, yet you have no problem posting up a rant about her on the internet, leaving it wide open for people to insult her when she can't defend herself. I see no point in leaving this thread open. I am sure you have gotten what you want from this.