Gardai to get pepper spray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭peter-pantslez

oh and i think its about bloody time they got it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

This is more than likely what will be issued. The canister is about 6" in height and is carried in a pouch on the belt.

Defense-technology oc spray is already on issue to RSU and ERU.

http://www.defense-technology.com/products.aspx?pid=5049

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

Metman, Metman, Metman..how naive you truly are! (;))

There's something you must know. You know, about our good Government. For whatever reason they do not seem to appreciate the fact that our colleagues in equivalent services throughout the UK and EU have previously tested and tendered on all sorts of equipment to suit the requirement. -However- it is not the patriotic thing to go by their results..and as such they -must- invest heavily in all of their r&d and settle on the cheapest option.

As was said..we'll probably get a black pepper shaker with a plastic belt loop that will snap the first time we sit into the patrol car.

I got to love this rambling ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Foregone- I am shocked and appalled that a police force or government might opt for the cheapest kit with which to equip its police.....;)

Its not so different here either, only the issued kit has evolved as we've had incapacitant sprays since '95 I think.

What was on display on the 6 o'clock news yesterday was a nylon pouch for the canister. This is perfectly fine provided your nylon holster has a reinforced inner-liner of either hardened plastic or metal to prevent puncture or damage.

The Met basic issue is a leather velcro-fastening holster that has a spring-action and is reinforced to prevent the canister getting punctured/damaged in a roll around. The holster above is a more expensive variant that has a kevlar lanyard and a quick deploy action...which is nice :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Just be careful as that stuff will contaminate everyone around, including other emergency workers, I remember having to wash my eyes out for ages after treating one punter who had been sprayed.

Doc CS cross-contaminates, and reactivates when in contact with water, and is a general nuisance to everyone in the vicinity or those that have any contact with sprayed persons. Pepper/OC/Pava that the Guards are being issued doesn't cross contaminate, so it shouldn't be an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

donvito99 wrote: »
    Big black yoke hangin' off a gardas belt (about a foot long) with 'PREPARE' in bold red lettering.
    sorry, that was me - one of my "library" pictures from the agency.

Ladeeees.;)

Maybe they'll issue us with those leg-of-the-table jobbies like they have in Italian Restaurants. Those guys usually manage to clobber me on the bonce too "by accidento" as they offer to mace Mrs Deadwoods Lasagny, so it doubles as a baton.

LOL@deadwood you eejit.

I wonder when people suspected the government of using the medical card debacle to distract attention from something worse to come, was this the "sting" they were talking about?:D

metman wrote: »
    OC. CS OC, OC
    O.K.

As someone who has had police exposure to CS gas, as well as CBRN exposure; I can safely say OC is even more painful! :eek:

metman wrote: »
    As someone who has had police exposure to CS gas, as well as CBRN exposure
    Carpet Burns are a bitch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

deadwood wrote: »
    O.K.
    LOL

CLADA wrote: »
    Pink, PINK? :eek: Are you for [EMAIL="f@$king"]f@$king[/EMAIL] real?
    I won't have to spray anyone. When I pull out my big pink cannister, they'll fall about the place in tears before I even pull the trigger.
    (And yes, Mrs Deadwood does the same)

Pink, PINK? :eek: Are you for [EMAIL="f@$king"]f@$king[/EMAIL] real?
    I won't have to spray anyone. When I pull out my big pink cannister, they'll fall about the place in tears before I even pull the trigger.
    (And yes, Mrs Deadwood does the same)

Relax! The canister is actually red, but if it's any consolation to you (and Mrs deadwood) it will still release a stream of white liquid :D A most irritant stream of white liquid:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

Relax, Deadwood. The canister is going to be placed into an extra small pouch that it was not intended for; making the spray practically impossible to remove from your belt anyway! ;)

I'm glad the Inspectorate's tough decisions are finally being considered by the Government. I welcome that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

I'm glad the Inspectorate's tough decisions are finally being considered by the Government. I welcome that!

God bless the inspectorate, brought in to shut us up and put us in our place. Every decision is defending and agreeing with us :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

If I may ask a question.

If the GS want, or are recommended a new weapon it needs government approval?.

Even for a can of pepper stray?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Mairt wrote: »
    If I may ask a question.

It seems strange allright as the government has always said equipment is a decision for the big man but then again I know it needs the government to allow arming.

If I may ask a question.

Unfortunately, yes.

While we all agree, walking around in polyester shirts, ties, slacks with "snazzy" patrol jackets, feels and looks unprofessional and outdated a certain minister for justice a while ago made sure we weren't going to walk around wearing anything more practical.

On the pepper spray topic, some posters on A.H. DEMANDED proper controls and accountability be enforced in the issue and use of pepper-spray.
    What's wrong with the current system we use with pens, guns and our pay where the sergeant empties a big box of stuff in the middle of the floor and says "help yerselves lads, just don't end up on facetube!"

If I may ask a question.

http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Pages/PR07000911

Taser was subsequently sanctioned and came into use in Sept 07.

Extending the use of pepper spray to the force in general becomes an operational issue for the commissioner.

Unfortunately, yes.

While we all agree, walking around in polyester shirts, ties, slacks with "snazzy" patrol jackets, feels and looks unprofessional and outdated a certain minister for justice a while ago made sure we weren't going to walk around wearing anything more practical.

On the pepper spray topic, some posters on A.H. DEMANDED proper controls and accountability be enforced in the issue and use of pepper-spray.
    What's wrong with the current system we use with pens, guns and our pay where the sergeant empties a big box of stuff in the middle of the floor and says "help yerselves lads, just don't end up on facetube!"

The Hi viz tunics would look much better if the hi viz was on top and the navy on the bottom, with elastic to keep it nice and tight like. More on point, its about time you got pepper spray. Cant wait for posts in the coming months describing drunken youths running back to their mummies just becausse they threw a chair through someones window.....phew!

I've mentioned it before here on numerous occassions.

Lads don't be going on the after hours or motors forum. :mad:

It's like mixing with those zombies in the horror films. One bite and you're infected.

I've mentioned it before here on numerous occassions.

Lads don't be going on the after hours or motors forum. :mad:

It's like mixing with those zombies in the horror films. One bite and you're infected.
    You're probably right, but it's no harm to mix things up a bit. I leave the "your ma" and cops are lazy/corrupt/revenue collectors/shoot fish in a barrel (anyone ever tried this - it's harder than you'd think!) conversations to the "experts".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Can't wait to see what the ballistics and policing experts on indymedia have to say! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

The pepper spray really does work.

Its amazing, civvies really dont know what were up against.

If this had been in Ireland (with only asps) what would the chances of the druggy getting seriously hurt??

5, 9, 11, 22, 28, 32

Don't tell anyone else.
    About those numbers, CLADA:mad:

Chief--- wrote: »
    The pepper spray really does work.

Its amazing, civvies really dont know what were up against.

If this had been in Ireland (with only asps) what would the chances of the druggy getting seriously hurt??

Nice to see they threw him on the grass, gentlemen indeed.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Lovely squeals out of him!

Aarrrrghh! Aiiiieeeee! Help me Neilllll! :D:rolleyes:

Seen this before. The guy was clearly on something potent as both bobbies struggled to restrain him... the CS quickly took the wind out of his sails though.

I also remember not being impressed by the dappy cow in the control room who failed to tune in to the request for assistance x 3 :rolleyes: