Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Customs

• 19-10-2008 6:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭

See on customs tv show, they fined driver of bmw 7 series 5500 euro for no vrt. 18000 vrt also charged. Serves him right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭tech

proper order! a costly day out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Wonder if he visits this forum???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Slaacer

bet you he was probably driving it for a while too. I bought my last 2 cars from the uk and paid the fees as per the rules (though I don't agree with the VRT) yet i find amazing to see still plenty of UK and NI reg cars in Ireland and some of them regularely !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

They edited that because the guy said nothing in defence. Im sure he probably said a lot but we didnt hear it.

Also do customs not have to wear seatbelts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

another free loading tax dodger on the bus where he belongs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Was it in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

As someone who got away with driving on uk plates for 9 months and saved 1800 euro by not clearing it until after July.. I say na na na na na to all the high horse dwelling posters here.

slideways wrote: »
    I say na na na na na to all the high horse dwelling posters here.

That'll silence them all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Slaacer

you were lucky that's all but that doesn't excuse what you did- I don't agree with the VRT but that changes nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭vengeance52

I think that customs and Garda dont have to wear seatbelts but im not 100%.

Wasnt impressed how the customs drilled a heap of holes in some guys trailer looking for something suspect, and just used some silicone to fix the holes, and dripping silicone over the roof while there at it. If that was my trailer, id be raging.

You can remove your "Thanks", I was being sarcastic ;)

They looked like a pack of feckin eejits.

Imagine the shame if anyone outside of Ireland saw the carry on of them with a cordess drill??

DonJose wrote: »
    You can remove your "Thanks", I was being sarcastic ;)

sarcasm_detector.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

They edited that because the guy said nothing in defence. Im sure he probably said a lot but we didnt hear it.

He had it on once he got moving, the shot on the M50 he was wearing it for sure. Just didn't have it on as he moved off, too busy worry about where it was I'd imagine :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bikki

Ur having a go at a guy who didn't pay a tax which the European government says is illegal to impose in the first place.

VRT is no different from doing your shopping up north because its cheaper. If u get what i mean. ;)

Dont get me wrong the car should be registered here so he cant dodge other taxes and stuff but the VRT system is wrong but like everything else in this country we just bend over and take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭sk8board

great program; finally something myself and the wife BOTH watched.

I thought yer man in the 7-series looked very young for that car.

I liked the 'reality' bit, its reality TV after all; the boyo's with their drill, or the lads on the ADam flight with a personal stash. The VRT boys are the money shot though, most watching love to see these lads caught; and not being able to find the handbrake relaese was the cherry on top.

good cheap TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

They seemed very eager with the drill on the truck, was gas watching it!!

sk8board wrote: »

Somebody said that about me and my 06 A4 Sport.

I cannot understand, how old do you have to be to have a premium car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭5T3PH3N

I missed customs tonight was the 7 series silver by any chance?

5T3PH3N wrote: »
    I missed customs tonight was the 7 series silver by any chance?

Nope, Black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Big difference between an A4 & a 7-Series. I don't think its the premium car thing, its the fact its a large car with the reputation of being owned by older, wealthier business persons.

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

bikki wrote: »
    Ur having a go at a guy who didn't pay a tax which the European government says is illegal to impose in the first place.

They've never said this. Its against the "spirit" of the free market but not the law. We're not the only country with a virtually identical tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

As someone who got away with driving on uk plates for 9 months and saved 1800 euro by not clearing it until after July.. I say na na na na na to all the high horse dwelling posters here.

Tax avoidance, not Tax evasion. Alive and well :)

I can see a lot more NI/UK cars getting pulled over now that the government are desperate for funds. They got €23.5k for that car, if they stopped one of those luxury everyday for a year you are looking at €8.5m in VRT and fines :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭The Gambler 101

sk8board wrote: »

You dont have to be old or extremely wealthy to drive 7 series, was just looking at some for sale in uk and they are not too expensive, even after paying vrt i would still think you would save a pretty penny buying it from uk than from a bmw dealer in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Wow, big deal he's avoiding a tax we shouldn't have to pay in the first place. I've saved a few grand on VRT also, in fact my motor is still on NI plates.. I pay VRT on my car, what exactly am I paying for, I should at least find out where the money is going, it certainly isn't going on our ****ing roads anyway.. The government are the criminals, get rid of VRT and I'll pay my motor tax no problem.

It is really bull**** at the end of the day, across the border, you can buy a car a hell of alot cheaper than down here and the motor tax is prob half of what were paying!

The amount of money that VRT brings in means there is no change the Gov is going to give that up in these days of negative finance in the Gov pockets.

Dave147 wrote: »
    Wow, big deal he's avoiding a tax we shouldn't have to pay in the first place. I've saved a few grand on VRT also, in fact my motor is still on NI plates.. I pay VRT on my car, what exactly am I paying for, I should at least find out where the money is going, it certainly isn't going on our ****ing roads anyway.. The government are the criminals, get rid of VRT and I'll pay my motor tax no problem.

It goes to the state, and reduces other areas where they take taxation from.

Would you prefer another 2% on your income tax there instead?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It is really bull**** at the end of the day, across the border, you can buy a car a hell of alot cheaper than down here and the motor tax is prob half of what were paying!
    Maybe you should move up there?
    NI also has large rates for homeowners - something we don't have here!

I work for a Dundalk company and a lot of the guys and girls live on the Border. Not one shops in the republic, they all head to Newry or Armagh.

Some of them are coming to work in NI plate cars. ALL of them have been stopped by customs. Their cars are registered to their mothers address, so is their social security, medical etc etc. The live in the republic and get EURO wages but everything else is UK.

Why everything else? Education for their children and cheaper and quicker hospitals is what they are telling me.

Oh yeah, icing on the cake. They have cheaper cars.

clever people

They will eventually be caught out somehow.

If you spend 6 months or more in the Republic you are considered a permanent resident and you must pay VRT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

As someone who got away with driving on uk plates for 9 months and saved 1800 euro by not clearing it until after July.

Four Hail Marys and two Our Fathers.

Done and Done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

They looked like a pack of feckin eejits.

Imagine the shame if anyone outside of Ireland saw the carry on of them with a cordess drill??

I can't see your point here at all. They had their suspicions, drilled some holes and didn't find anything. So what? They did their job and that's it.

Cordless drill??? What do you want them to use.

TheNog wrote: »
    I can't see your point here at all. They had their suspicions, drilled some holes and didn't find anything. So what? They did their job and that's it.

Cordless drill??? What do you want them to use.
    I meant they looked like a crowd of amatuers.

And I would be seriously pissed if they had drilled that many holes in a fridge body and the just slobered some silicon sealer on to repair it.

They could also have easily drilled through a cable going to a temp sensor in the body or one of the internal lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I meant they looked like a crowd of amatuers.

And I would be seriously pissed if they had drilled that many holes in a fridge body and the just slobered some silicon sealer on to repair it.

They could also have easily drilled through a cable going to a temp sensor in the body or one of the internal lights

I agree with ye the slopping of silicon didn't look great but it could be easily wiped off there and then or picked off when it dried.

If they couldn't drill holes then how do you think Customs could find hidden compartments? Their suspicions were spot on to look into it further with the newly painted under carriage and the crack in the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Diddums. Has it ever occurred to you that, without people like yourself, we wouldn't need customs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

I saw a X6 BMW last week, on NI plates, but the silly person had such and such motors Carlow on the reg, is that not just asking for trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭sk8board

As someone else pointed out, here was a fella perhaps at most early/mid-30's, driving a car that his dad might get for his retirment, or maybe as a cheuffer-drive.

Its just the perception that these are cars driven by older people.
    for example, I rate the E-class and 5-series equally, but prefer the 5-series (or maybe an A6 S-line) as being more in my line of car. No reason why, just perception.

I'd hardly compare a nearly 3 yo A4 'sport' (or even s-line or RS) with a 7-series. thats a bit of a reach ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

I work for a Dundalk company and a lot of the guys and girls live on the Border. Not one shops in the republic, they all head to Newry or Armagh.

Some of them are coming to work in NI plate cars. ALL of them have been stopped by customs. Their cars are registered to their mothers address, so is their social security, medical etc etc. The live in the republic and get EURO wages but everything else is UK.

Why everything else? Education for their children and cheaper and quicker hospitals is what they are telling me.

Oh yeah, icing on the cake. They have cheaper cars.

That is not the case, if you reside in two states you have to register as such and pay partial taxes in both, more so in the one that is your primary residence, it doesn't matter what the currency is.

They are creating a whole heap of problems by not declaring that, the dodging VRT is the least of their worries.

So what if people shop in Newry ? When i lived in cork it wouldn't be economically viable for me to drive all the way to Newry for a shopping trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Premium? :pac:

Premium is over 3.0 Litres Audi A6-A8, BMW 5-7 Series, Lexus GS/LS and Mercedes E & S class.

Premium he says :D That made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

A bit OT, but does anyone else think that the particular Custom's officer who lifted that 7-Series is putting on a bit of a show for the camera?

I've watched pretty much every episode of Customs since the start, so my perception has nothing to do with him seizing an un-registered car. Just the words he uses, and the way he speaks - sounds as if it's re-hearsed (which I understand quoting laws etc. is, but I mean in general) tripe he's spilling out and doesn't understand what he's saying himself half the time?

Maybe it's just me :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭hoganpoly

mickdw wrote: »
    See on customs tv show, they fined driver of bmw 7 series 5500 euro for no vrt. 18000 vrt also charged.

where did they get the fine of 5500 from, customs fella was a happy chappy, must be a well paid job judging by his own vehicle:)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

hoganpoly wrote: »
    mickdw wrote: »
    See on customs tv show, they fined driver of bmw 7 series 5500 euro for no vrt. 18000 vrt also charged.

where did they get the fine of 5500 from, customs fella was a happy chappy, must be a well paid job judging by his own vehicle:)

Up to 10% of the Open Book Price, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭ROVER

You can view the programme on the RTE website until 9.11.08. http://www.rte.ie/tv/customs/av_20081019.html
    the BMW scene is about 8.45mins in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭zoey

MYOB wrote: »
    It goes to the state, and reduces other areas where they take taxation from.

Would you prefer another 2% on your income tax there instead?

Is income tax in the UK not 20%?
    What do they pay a higher rate of tax on than us?
    And if even if they do at least they have something to show for it- decent health and education services and infrastructure!

zoey wrote: »
    Is income tax in the UK not 20%?
    What do they pay a higher rate of tax on than us?
    And if even if they do at least they have something to show for it- decent health and education services and infrastructure!

Their PRSI (NI) is higher
    Their lower tax rate is 20% and the higher is 40% but the bands are entirely different - you pay tax on more of your income.
    Their fuel duties are (still) higher.

Their infrastructure is crumbling - motorways with potholes/drainage problems for one; railways that kill people for another. Their education system is absymal and you pay many many times more than here for college. Their health service has as bad an MRSA problem as ours.

What UK are you thinking about, cause it sure isn't the one we're joined on to/beside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭zoey

MYOB wrote: »
    What UK are you thinking about, cause it sure isn't the one we're joined on to/beside

I'm taking about the one who has statutory preschool provision, the one with smaller class size than Ireland and OK they pay to go to university but many of the people you are paying to educate in Ireland today are for export as a result the current economic climate which means no return is made on them. Does it not make sense to charge them like the UK?

MRSA is not the only problem in our health service you know. If the UK health service is so bad why are people in border counties crossing the border for treatment/diagnosis. There was a recent case of a lady who did this and was diagnose AND treated for her cancer in Belfast by the time she was even called for diagnosis here!

Ah here, drive in the likes of Donegal, Mayo- anywhere outside of Dublin basically and then through the North and tell me our roads are better than theirs!

The UK has a much much wider rail network than us so I don't think you can fairly compare the number of accidents!

Since this is the motors forum, yes i agree fuel costs are higher in the UK! It still does not justify us having to pay VRT and a higher level of road tax when IMO we are not getting anything extra to show for it!