Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SAW V

• 16-10-2008 11:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭

Anyone else dying to see this! seen the teaser trailer for the first time yesterday! not gonna wathc anymore of any trailers but i cant wait to find out what the hell is going on!!

Jigsaw for Minister for Defence!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

the first one was very original. it was a great horror film all round. the second one was ok i have seen the 3rd and 4th but they have dragged it out so much i dont even know whats going on.

having said that they do have some interesting twists that make for good watching, even if they are relying a lot on the gore/shock value to sell tickets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Inglorious

The first one was quite good. I felt it got far too much praise though, especially seeing how the far superior Cube flew in under the radar. I also dislike how it established the "how ****ed up is that?" frame of thought in mainstream horror.

The sequels have gotten unbearable and ridiculously formalistic: dark lighting + epileptic camerawork + industrial soundtrack + awful editing + half-arsed "twist" = Saw sequel = money = another Saw sequel.

Q.E.D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

loved the first one, and the second one. I think they should have left it at that though, to be honest.

However, in saying that watched the 3rd and 4th ones too (had a dvd night with my friend last night and we watched 2 and 3 again)

Will defo go and see 5 too, but not with the same anticipation that I had for 2 and 3.

Kind of unrelated though, but what the hell happened to the couples daughter who was left locked in a room in saw 3. She was never mentioned at all in 4??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

I really liked the first one, but they should have left it at 1 imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

www.saw5.com

Just wondering has anyone been able to enter the restricted site? As any other age-verification deal I put in a load of garbage, but this one comes up with "Checking" and then stays on that.......ugh.

But yeah loved the first one. The sequels went the route of 'torture-p*rn-for-the-sake-of' in my humble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

First one was an overhyped and over rated piece of garbage and the sequels got consistently convuluted and lame.
    Hell the opening sequence in 4 is a total rip off of Nacho Cerda's Aftermath IMO.
    Therefore Saw 5 will = toilet toffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

nedtheshed wrote: »
    First one was an overhyped and over rated piece of garbage and the sequels got consistently convuluted and lame.
    Hell the opening sequence in 4 is a total rip off of Nacho Cerda's Aftermath IMO.
    Therefore Saw 5 will = toilet toffee.
    funny post because of both the term "toilet toffee" and the fact you hated the movies so much yet seem to have watched every one of them

Before this turns as ugly as the subject matter.

I'm going to add my two and say that it was an original concept (the first), which has just been raped to bits by the sequels. The story that is. Gotta say it has more twists than a flump.

(Flumps - http://1990toys.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/flumps-sweets.jpg)

I have watched them all and will probably watch 5 when it makes it onto tv or I download it.
    Movies like these and the other "torture porn" (worst term ever)movies amuse me because they have so many fans and I like to know what is considered a popular horror movie in this day and age.
    I also watch em to see if they do anything interesting/shocking etc.
    99/100 times they dont.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I loved the first one and thought that he sequels were watchable entertainment so i may as well go and see the 5th one since I finally got one of those unlimited cards.

Question though: I haven't seen Saw 4 yet and can't remember a thing from Saw 3. I'm gonna watch 4 before I see 5 so could someone post up what happened at the end of 3 so i don't have to bother wathcing it again?

I have watched them all and will probably watch 5 when it makes it onto tv or I download it.
    Movies like these and the other "torture porn" (worst term ever)movies amuse me because they have so many fans and I like to know what is considered a popular horror movie in this day and age.
    I also watch em to see if they do anything interesting/shocking etc.
    99/100 times they dont.

Yep, gotta agree with this. After watching The Hills Have Eyes II during the week it was just so cliché. (Also Wrong Turn 2.....terrible movie).

Just wondering why you think 'torture-porn' is the worst term ever? (I didn't invent it). I think it encapsulates exactly what those films are. Torture for the sake of it. Blood, guts and entrails for those who 'get off' on that. Hence: 'torture-porn'.

EDIT: For Kingp35 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saw_III#Plot

Because none of them are particularly tortourous or pornographic.Its a term thats used to hype up movies that alot of John Q public wouldnt pass any heed over.IMHO.

por·nog·ra·phy

obscene writings, drawings, photographs, or the like, esp. those having little or no artistic merit.

(Also just to clarify please note the lack of the use of t*ts or a$$ in the above definition, it's not "porn" as the term used to describe nekkid people shagging).

So, scenes from say Hostel (or in this thread: Saw) don't strike you as being "torturous"? (Maybe to sit through in your case! :D)

Ha ha,I know it doesnt mean in the shagging sense.
    So, scenes from say Hostel (or in this thread: Saw) don't strike you as being "torturous"? (Maybe to sit through in your case! )

I actually enjoyed the first Hostel.For a very mainstream movie its pretty cool,all be it a little cartoonish eg
    the eyeball/blowtorch combo

I dont find anything shocking (apart from the quality of the movie)about Saw and its ilk,for the most part Ive seen it all before and seen it done much,much better.
    I would like to sit people that think these movies are brutal in front of Psycho:the snuff reels or The Devils Experiment and watch their reactions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

chin_grin wrote: »
    Just wondering why you think 'torture-porn' is the worst term ever? (I didn't invent it). I think it encapsulates exactly what those films are. Torture for the sake of it. Blood, guts and entrails for those who 'get off' on that. Hence: 'torture-porn'.

Torture porn is a freakin' ridiculous term, and something 'for the sake of it' isn't exactly a bad thing. What are most action films, but violence for the sake of it? Are they gun-porn? Does the audience 'get off' on watching people being shot and killed? There's plenty of tits shots and sex scenes in action films too, I might add.

I also wonder, do people who use the term torture porn, also think that Eli Roth's film Cabin Fever was a porno aimed at people who are aroused by flesh eating virii? :pac:

ROTFL

ROTFL

Rule 34 man, you never know! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I have absolutely no desire to watch this. I think the saw is well and truly blunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

especially seeing how the far superior Cube flew in under the radar

CUBE!!! CUBE!!! That film was so Unbelieveably bad I think I'll go and post it in the so bad its good thread, My god man it simply had the worst array of actors/characters ever assembled on screen (not an easy achivement). Shame on you for having such a crazy opinion :D:D:D

Anyway, I really enjoyed the first Saw and thought the second was a fitting sequel but I stoped watching after the third one, Just became too much ya know. I'm not in anyway screamish but I'm not a fan of OTT gore, just me now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

ziedth wrote: »
    CUBE!!! CUBE!!! That film was so Unbelieveably bad I think I'll go and post it in the so bad its good thread, My god man it simply had the worst array of actors/characters ever assembled on screen (not an easy achivement). Shame on you for having such a crazy opinion :D:D:D

Anyway, I really enjoyed the first Saw and thought the second was a fitting sequel but I stoped watching after the third one, Just became too much ya know. I'm not in anyway screamish but I'm not a fan of OTT gore, just me now.

What!! Cube is a masterpiece. It's a shame Cube 3 was so downright atrocious, that destroyed the franchise for me - it had some good ideas and interesting tie-ins but the execution, acting and script was horrendous. The second one was pretty compelling too, though not as good as the first one.

As for Saw.....the first one is very good, the second one, almost better in a sense, as the hamish acting is relegated to second place with the action taking priority. Saw III was actually quite good I thought - loved some of the focus on disgusting without necessarily being violent, a point Saw IV falls flat on - it tries to shock with gratituous violence but it never feels shocking or disturbing, just run of the mill. Hated Saw IV overall, but will still go and see Saw V in the hope it's back on the (admittedly beaten) track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

What!! Cube is a masterpiece.

Ok I dont want to take the thread off topic and sound stupid at the same time but cube is the film with the group of people who are put in the "cube" one of the is autistic and then there a black cop who from what i remember for no reason
    go's on a killing spree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

In fairness everyone knows that saw was first built on the whole idea of gore and shock factor with a twist in the final act and an ending twist... but its not that thats made me so interested in the 5th one.... its like a cop thriller like WTF is going on and who is doing what and why?!

altho what i didnt like was the 4th one relied alot on chance moreso than the first 3 but they can just make up new characters as they go along and show a flashback for 30secs and hey thats their excuse for a back story and how they fit into the new story... but its still great fun to watch the torture scenes and to find out who's behind it all...

i reckon dr gordon(OMG he's an actor, and im the pope) will be a big surprise!

jst had a subway im foookered! ZZZZzzzzz

In fairness everyone knows that saw was first built on the whole idea of gore and shock factor with a twist in the final act and an ending twist...

The first had very little gore at all tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Inglorious

ziedth wrote: »
    Ok I dont want to take the thread off topic and sound stupid at the same time but cube is the film with the group of people who are put in the "cube" one of the is autistic and then there a black cop who from what i remember for no reason
    go's on a killing spree

Doesn't pretty much the exact same thing happen in
    Saw 2
    with
    Xavier
    ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

What!! Cube is a masterpiece. It's a shame Cube 3 was so downright atrocious, that destroyed the franchise for me - it had some good ideas and interesting tie-ins but the execution, acting and script was horrendous. The second one was pretty compelling too, though not as good as the first one.

I actually liked the third one or Cube Zero. Thought it was an ambitious attempt to tie everything up. I thought Hypercube was unmistakeably the pile of crap from that series. I had to read the Wikipedia page to understand what the hell was happening but did one guy survive for years by eating copies of the people? Insane. The first one itself is indeed a masterpiece.

As for Saw, the first one is a very good idea but the acting certainly could have been better. Thought the second one was really well done. I liked the way they took the Alien franchise plan and just multiplied whatever was the best thing in the first film, the Alien (or in Saw's case, twists), and just dumped more into the second one. 3 and 4 were ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Saw films are pretty much the perfect Halloween "leave your brain at home" type of film, I'll happily go see number 5. It's kept up the pace, and certainly keeps me coming back for more, if only to see how the writers can sustain the story for another film :D

Kingp35 wrote: »
    I loved the first one and thought that he sequels were watchable entertainment so i may as well go and see the 5th one since I finally got one of those unlimited cards.

Question though: I haven't seen Saw 4 yet and can't remember a thing from Saw 3. I'm gonna watch 4 before I see 5 so could someone post up what happened at the end of 3 so i don't have to bother wathcing it again?

End of Saw 3: The girl (Lynn) does what she was supposed to, and keeps jigsaw alive long enough for the guy (Jeff) to complete his task. Jigsaw asks amanda to take the contraption off Lynns neck, but she wont. She shoots Lynn, and because of this Jeff shoots amanda. Cue the theme music. Jigsaw goes on to tell amanda that she in fact was being tested, and she failed. He then turns to Jeff and tells him his final task is to forgive jigsaw himself. To forgive him he must spare his life. However he kills him, resulting in his wife Lynns face being blown off by the thing around her neck. The film ends with Jeff realising that Jigsaw was the only one who knew where his daughter was locked away, and now he's dead. At the end, we see jigsaw covering a small tape with wax...

Lads, please use spoiler tags!

crap, Im sorry I thought that the mods did that, Ive just seen the button there to do it now. Sorry.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

A major problem with Saw is that they just don't have long enough production times to be anything special anymore. First one was very enjoyable, did something a bit different, and the next two were relatively enjoyable as mindless entertainment. But by the time the 4th one came out, and there'd been three sequels in a very short space of time, the franchise was over-exposed and needed a rest (I remember hearing they were taking this Halloween off, but seems not). It doesn't help that Saw IV was one of the worst films I've seen in years, but it really is a series that is becoming a bit of a joke the more sequels they make. They really should let Jigsaw rest for a while (
    although I am curious to see how the hell they'll make Jigsaw 'not dead' again this time - considering he was more or less dead at the end of 2 but through 'twists' keeps on coming back for more
    ) and make a fresh sequel that doesn't feel like its another cheap copy of the last one. Otherwise it'll go the way of Friday the 13th, Children of the Corn 78 Part 6b: Evil Children -v- Hitler Santa Clause and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,963 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The first film was a good edgy thriller with a nice twist on the format.
    The second film was poor,lots of gore,very little plot and unoriginal.
    The third was just rubbish
    That female assistant Jigsaw and Stockholm Syndrome idea was a disaster
    I didnt waste my time on Saw 4 and I wont watch Saw 5 either.Film by numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I thought the 4th was the best of the recent sequels.. but that's not really saying much! :D

Not arsed with seeing 5 either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

Anyone else dying to see this! seen the teaser trailer for the first time yesterday! not gonna wathc anymore of any trailers but i cant wait to find out what the hell is going on!!

Jigsaw for Minister for Defence!!

A shame really that these films have made such a success ...

it shows what sick ****s there is out there ...

jackdaw wrote: »
    A shame really that these films have made such a success ...

it shows what sick ****s there is out there ...
    Jesus Christ.. don't be so fecking daft! :rolleyes:

Did the retirement home let you out early? It's no more harmful than watching a Martin Lawrence film!

And besides, I've only killed 5 prostitutes this week by lopping off their breasts and beating them with them! It's all part of a new film I'm making called "Death by D-Cup".. don't you dare steal my ideas. Or I'll beat you to death with my camera which has my Saw and Hostel boxsets encrusted in spikes on the lens! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

basquille wrote: »
    And besides, I've only killed 5 prostitutes this week by lopping off their breasts and beating them with them!
    *raises eyebrow*

Now tourists have NO reason to go to Sligo. Well done. :)

I'm looking forward to Saw V.... Saw a few TV trailers in the States that proudly proclaim "You won't believe the ending" (or something along those lines).

Mr E wrote: »
    Saw a few TV trailers in the States that proudly proclaim "You won't believe the ending" (or something along those lines).
    Think I read somewhere that the writers thought up a great ending first (around Christmas) and worked a script around it.

It'll either be excellent or woeful.. there's a 6th and 7th film planned AFAIK anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

But doesn't it say on one of the taglines

"You'll be shocked at how it ends"

I was under the impression that this was it.

Saw Series Wiki
    Tobin Bell has stated that he was signed on for a total of five sequels, and producer Oren Koules confirmed on June 22, 2007 that both Saw V and VI were being written at the time. The authors of the scripts include Marcus Dunstan and Patrick Melton, as well as Thomas Fenton. The name Brennan Nold was mentioned by Lions Gate founder Jon Feltheimer in an interview, however he ended up having no involvement in the film. Saw V started filming on March 17, 2008, while it started post-production on April 28, 2008.. Costas Mandylor has signed up for the next installment in the horror franchise along with main character, Jigsaw, portrayed by Tobin Bell. Saw VI will be directed by Kevin Greutert, the editor on all the Saw films to date.
    OK, so there's a Saw 6 definitely anyways. Saw 7 is inevitable more than likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

i lol when i saw this line somewhere:
    If you liked ‘Halloween II’ and ‘Scream III’, you’ll love ‘Saw V’.

oh basquille that was a really old news actually ,5 and 6 were signed up at the same time

Id say 5 will tie up all the loose ends, and then 6 may be a prequel, which i know wont make sense if it called saw 6, but who knows what it will be called.

Im actually catching an early show tonight guys so ill let you all know what I think later, without spoilers of course!!!! Wouldn't want to tempt you to ruin it for yourselves!!

Okay, so just back from Saw 5.

Very disappointing. Sorry to say.

As for the two things the adverts said:

"You will be shocked by how it ends" Eh...no I wasn't, figured it out a half an hour before the end. I'd say some people may figure it out sooner.

"It will all become clear" Nope!! Went away with more questions than answers I think. Well, maybe not, but it certainly is far from being all clear.

Oh theres definitely a Saw 6, thats for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭RoosterIllusion

Inglorious wrote: »
    The first one was quite good. I felt it got far too much praise though, especially seeing how the far superior Cube flew in under the radar. I also dislike how it established the "how ****ed up is that?" frame of thought in mainstream horror.

The sequels have gotten unbearable and ridiculously formalistic: dark lighting + epileptic camerawork + industrial soundtrack + awful editing + half-arsed "twist" = Saw sequel = money = another Saw sequel.

Q.E.D.

I agree. There has been a different director for all four movies though.

I really dislike horror movies, mainly because a shock factor doesn't really do it for me. I did really enjoy Saw (1) when I saw it first, I was both surprised and entertained. The rest were **** really, though four wasn't 100% awful.

My girlfriend is making me go to see this next week at some stage.We've arranged a quid pro quo.Im trying to decide what to make her watch in exchange.I dont want to go overboard by showing her something like tumbling dolls of flesh,well,yet anyway ;) , so Im thinking either Murder Set Pieces,Fetus or Men Behind the Sun,something along those lines.Anyone got any suggestions?????

Anyone got any suggestions?????

Jesus lad, you've got a girlfriend who actually wants to watch horror films with you, and you're still not satisfied? Get some perspective man, you could be dragged to see High School Musical! Why not just watch a good film that you'll both enjoy instead of trying to punish her?

Why not just watch a good film that you'll both enjoy instead of trying to punish her?

P.S. I love you,thats why.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

sooo silly just get it over with already i love them and i dont want a 6 its gonna be jigsaw vrs batman!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭CyrildoSquirrel

If they'd kept it as one stand-alone film it would've been a cult classic. But there's more money in churning out annual sequels. I'm not pushed to see this one but the OH wants to so I'll probably see it at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

As for Saw.....the first one is very good, the second one, almost better in a sense, as the hamish acting is relegated to second place with the action taking priority. Saw III was actually quite good I thought - loved some of the focus on disgusting without necessarily being violent, a point Saw IV falls flat on - it tries to shock with gratituous violence but it never feels shocking or disturbing, just run of the mill. Hated Saw IV overall, but will still go and see Saw V in the hope it's back on the (admittedly beaten) track.
    is that the movie where your man escapes at the end, but then is captured and turned into a retard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

is that the movie where your man escapes at the end, but then is captured and turned into a retard?

Spoiler-tastic Estie but that's
    Cube Zero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,963 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Very rare that a film as high profile as the Saw series opens without any form of reviews.