Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you actually like about driving?

• 15-10-2008 10:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭

With so many threads filled with complaining i felt the need to start this thread.

also with the bad roads, the stupid people on them and the government making driving as expensive as possible is there anything left to like? most modern cars seem to be more about modern conveniences and isolating the driver from the road as much as possible rather than making it enjoyable.

i don't have much to start it off with. one of the few i can think of is "to piss off the greens and eco warriors"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

As much as i love cars, I'm not overly fond of driving:p

Seriously- unless I'm on a long spin and can settle in, the only other time is out in the car on my own at night. Even then, it has to be on the right roads to avoid the feeling of wearing my car out...

If I really just want to hit the road- I reach for the GSX (easier to miss the potholes)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭mcmc

I just like getting in the car with the OH and driving. Dont care were we end up, just getting there does be a laugh.

What can i say, i love her, Audi, A4, problems and all:D:D

Oh yeah, i love the wife too:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,160 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Open road, open throttle, CD up, aircon on, sunny day. Slightly challenging road better than motorway boredom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

Not having to get the bus to and from Limerick :D

The freedom mainly. Being able to go where I want when I want and listen to the music that I want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

++ great idea... I love the feel of the road, the push a TDi gives, feel from the steering, and the laugh I have knocking GTI, 320 drivers off their pedestal. I live in rathdrum, you should see the asphalt and the roads, made for drivers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

The freedom you have once you get in your to go anywhere you want.

The feeling you get when your used to a car that its feels like part of you.

For me when the Turbo kicks in and you get pshed back into your seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

I love getting up early in the morning,When there is bit of dew in the air, the sun is slowly rising and the roads are empty maxi is on radio 1..and just driving..I hate it about two hours later when the roads are clogged,I still havent got to my destination I'm dying to pi55,I've run out of coffee and I want to shout to the slow fecker in front of me "Do you realise that I've been on the road for the last two hours and I still have another two to go before I get to my meeting...You're still in your dressing gowan and you would have been quicker walking your bloody kids down to school!!"

But NOTHING beats driving on a winding empty road in the middle of the country..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

The idea that men are better drivers than women pleases me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,693 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

... I love the push a TDi gives, and the laugh I have knocking GTI, 320 drivers off their pedestal. ...

I bet jap drivers have some laugh at you...:)

I love the freedom of the open road and anti lag......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

It's gotta be the cool shoeshine....

And the sound of a V6 Mivec...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Not being on a bus:)

Driving in bus lanes outside hours when none of the muppets on the road realise you can use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

A nice winding road nice view good music. No stress then you get stuck behind a caravan all hell breaks loose!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,693 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Driving in bus lanes outside hours when none of the muppets on the road realise you can use it.

Sshhh....Keep that one to yourself...

Not being on a bus:)

Thats always a great one, getting filthy looks from those without working clocks.

During Operation GoSlow last year I got pulled by a culchie new Guard that didn't know that the buslane on the quays opened at a certain time... look of mortification on his face when he came back from jogging down the road to check the sign :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

There's nothing about driving in this country, most of the drivers are crap, the roads are worse and you can't have the slightest bit of fun without the man in a garda van having a cow.

There's nothing like taking an ole' RWD out on a track with a full tank of juice and 2 cheap tyre's on the back. Bap bappin away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

I enjoy my daily commute.

25 miles each way on open roads, some empty motorway, crank the music up, 30 minutes to myself each end of the day.

I'd enjoy it more if my car wasn't a POS, but I just like driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,157 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Settling back into the car after a long holiday trapped with supposed loved ones or work colleagues. Closing the door knowing that its the only place other than the toilet where it is your space and your space ALONE.

Being able to drive away on a Sunday morning to get away from it all.(Life in general not "herself").

Realising that my in-laws have never had a car in their lives and feeling priveledged that I have the luxury of relying only on myself and not on public transport.

Watching people on a bus breathing in each others carbon dioxide with misted up windows squashed in like sardines and I cruise by with the air con on.

Finding out that the last guy who had this company car had it re-mapped and my 115bhp A4 is actually a 145bhp. I knew there was something strange about all that power considering my Passat was the same BHP.

Checking my car this morning and realising I had a slow puncture and then realising that whatever it costs to fix, my boss will re-imburse me.

Lastly(probably only for now) watching people walking in the rain or standing at a bus stop as I sit with in my dry warm car. Oh yeah, public transport is defo the way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Not much. It's a means to an end, a tool. If I could get by efficiently without, I would.

nipplenuts wrote: »
    Not much. It's a means to an end, a tool. If I could get by efficiently without, I would.

God damned Hippy!!! :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Just a sunny day, top down, iPod on will do it for me. God knows they're few and far between.

I give out sh*te about the N81 because I have to commute on it twice a day, but if you get a clear run on it at the weekend, it's actually a really pleasurable road to drive. Great views, some fun bends and one great long straight stretch with a humpback bridge in the middle of it to see how much lift-off you can get...

It's only when you populate it with hordes of commuters who can't/won't drive and the inevitable quarry trucks that the blood pressure starts to rise...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭jaycen

I love driving in the middle of the night (as long as I'm not tired) great sence of freedom and isolation (the good type).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Speed.

I love driving at speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Hard to derive satisfaction driving a diesel saloon or hatchback, competent does not mean exciting. It's nice to see some guys in what they think are quick cars on your tail as if to say "I'm faster than you if I want, see how I can keep up with you?" and then watch them disappear from view when a few corners come, only to nail it back to your tail when the straight stretch is back!
    Best parts of driving is usually in something special that I get a chance to drive. Maybe some day I'll be able to afford something that really has a touch of magic about it. One thing's for sure - it won't be diesel!

Biro wrote: »
    Hard to derive satisfaction driving a diesel saloon or hatchback, competent does not mean exciting. It's nice to see some guys in what they think are quick cars on your tail as if to say "I'm faster than you if I want, see how I can keep up with you?" and then watch them disappear from view when a few corners come, only to nail it back to your tail when the straight stretch is back!
    Best parts of driving is usually in something special that I get a chance to drive. Maybe some day I'll be able to afford something that really has a touch of magic about it. One thing's for sure - it won't be diesel!

I have a diesel saloon and found out last night that the former owner/driver had it re-mapped to 145BHP.

I prefer petrol cars only to the smooth running of the engine and less noise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Good music, empty roads, night, nice country road and, if motorway or dual carriageway, no fucking idiots in the overtaking lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

I love the lull, you might know it just perhaps not by that name though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

I have a diesel saloon and found out last night that the former owner/driver had it re-mapped to 145BHP.

I prefer petrol cars only to the smooth running of the engine and less noise.

Still slow and uninvolving compared to something set up for drivability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

I love driving on back roads on my own with a 6 cylinder soundtrack keeping me company. Forget radios, CDs, windows down, etc what you need is a GOOD ENGINE NOISE to keep you company:D! I love getting the chance to take my bus to the redline, not because I need to, should or otherwise, but just because I can, and because with a 6 cylinder engine it makes a fantastic growl when revved. Even driving an underpowered diesel is exciting to a certain extent - there's just something about ppressing the loud pedal all the way down that puts a smile on my face.

Even driving a rubbish car still gives you a satisfaction - the freedom to go when you want, where you want, how you want - I like being in charge of where I want to go.

The great thing about country roads is that it gives you ample opportunity to accelerate with the loud pedal all the way down and hearing the car go up through the rev range all the way up to the rev line. If you have a car with a good sounding engine, you're inclined to do this all the more - just to get that sensation again and again:)!

I also love driving quickly - and that is the great thing about motorways with the limit of 120 km/h. I definately want ot go to Germany some time and drive on an Autobahn without the incomnvenience of a speed limit - Iv'e travelled on them a few times at this stage but I want to do it myself at some stage too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I love flying in the face of bunny-huggers.

"Yes, it is a 3.5 ltr V8. Yes, I get about 400 yrds to the gallon. Yes, I leave it idling overnight just so it's warmed up in the morning". :D

The Sally Gap, ftw.

Oh, and Lynard Skynard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

I only drive a saxo but for a first car it's great. If you keep it in the right gear it will handle well. It can make small narrow roads exciting because you don't know what's going to happen next! But I love driving except traffic. So I love the local roads where I know how far I can push it as well as driving from Sligo to Waterford at two in the morning. Great fun. Different route every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Here my favourites:

Yes, definetly a blast on some twisty backroads. Donegal seems to be a great spot for this kind of stuff. Its great to get a nice sequence of slow to medium speed bends in succession. Its an oppourtunity to appreciate a good handling car without the need for ball busting bhp figures - where an MX5 could be as much fun as a 911. (I hope!)

Getting a heal and toe just right as you slow rapidly into a corner.

Beating a badged up A4 1.9tdi "RS4" off the line. Ill never get tired of that. :)

When there's space, doing a little power slide in the wet. Always slightly scary, always a grin afterwards tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I love the sense of acceleration when I'm driving on open roads. I drive a rev-happy Honda and have on occasion accidentally hit the rev limiter in it :). Its only an i-VTEC unit, I'd love one with proper DOHC VTEC... or a few extra cylinders :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Dades wrote: »
    Oh, and Lynard Skynard.
    :eek: tut, tut!

Lynyrd Skynyrd ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭joeperry

I used to love leaving cars eating my dust after going through the toll bridge,i miss the toll bridge i do :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Driving in rural areas and everyone salutes you.
    Even if they have no clue who you are they still salute. It's great :)

joeperry wrote: »
    I used to love leaving cars eating my dust after going through the toll bridge,i miss the toll bridge i do :)

M4 or M1 for that now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Acceleration and the sense of freedom that driving gives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

I love driving because...Last Friday I got to drive an Audi A8 4.2 for the whole day..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I love the independence of going where you want, when you want, and not having to wait on a bus. I love not getting wet in the rain. Being able to wear heels to work cause I dont have to walk a mile in them to get there. Love being able to wear jeans without the bottoms of them getting frayed in the space of a day because I have to haul ass half way across the city to get where I want to go.

It shortens distance big time too. Clondalkin - Tallaght by bus - bout an hour
    Clondalkin - Tallaght by car - 10 mins!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I love waiting on buses at night. When one finally comes, I pull out in front of it in the bus lane, and drive about 5km/h under the limit. I always wave to the nice driver as he eventually passes me. Then I pull in and wait for another bus. I also enjoy braking suddenly when there's a taxi behind me. I put the hazards on after I have stopped (two feet from the kerb, obviously). When I'm walking, I wave to every taxi driver I see, and give them a big smile. They have a very stressful job, so I do my bit to cheer them up. If I'm first in line at a red light, I try to get into the inside lane, about one foot from the kerb. This is to protect any cyclists that may arrive behind me from the danger of cycling through the red light. Cyclists need all the help they can get, and I like to think I do my bit.

Not your ornery onager