Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do old people annoy you?

• 15-10-2008 8:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭

I'm generalising yes, but for the most I wish they just had the decency to die already.

Why? They don't talk about anything worthwhile. On the occasion that they do have something cool to say, D Day landings or something, they mess it up and don't tell it right. They're always fecking whinging about stuff that doesn't concern them. They're fussy as sh*t. Old women think they are entitled to EVERYTHING. Most of them are bloody mental and do nothing but waste precious oxygen.

Oh. And they smell of piss.

(In before some tard thinks saying the non-words "Yore Ma" is the height of wit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I hate being stuck behind them when i'm driving, although one oul fella in Galway gave me a right old laugh at a roundabout he just barreled right through no indicators or anything :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Why do they take so f*cking long getting change from their purse at the f*cking counter????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Some seem to think I owe them something alright. *kicks walker*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Yup, because a higher proportion of old people seem to be angry, bitter, vindictive or viscious than younger people. After a conversation with an old person I can only draw the conclusion that life makes you horrible eventually. This is besides the fact that they remind me that should I by some miracle manage to convince my liver and lungs to live past a certain age I'll be almost totally physically dependent on my family. Thankfully I only have one grandparent left and she doesn't move very fast so it's easy to avoid conversation with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

but they can show you some moves in the sack...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭DanOB

Ruu wrote: »
    Some seem to think I owe them something alright. *kicks walker*
    and the world..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I think poisonous bastards live longer. All the cool people die from cool stuff.

I hate when your having a conversation with them and they'll repeat the same thing about 3 times...Really hate that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Just deprive them of their medical cards and that will get rid of them quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Yes they are the most inconsiderate and ungreatful people. I now refuse to give up my seat on a bus for an old person because I have to pay what I consider a lot of f*cking money for a twenty minute journey while they get it for free and also because they never say "thank you".

So all you people who shake your heads every time I ignore their attempts to get my seat take a long hard look at yourself and give up your own f*cking seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

Some do... I used to find my Nana's constant phone calls irritating just before she was diagnosed with alzheimers, then I became more tolerant and just had fun with it.

I did really really want to push one though 2 weeks ago. Had just been to the physio because of a bad back problem, was still quite sore from the work done on it. Was visiting my 2 grandparents who both have alzheimers & this ould one comes along behind me as I am trying to talk to my Nana, she WHACKED me 3 times with a rolled up RTE guide VERY hard in the back... of course on the right spot.

Apparently she used to be a school Principal..and is/was a Nun..scary b*tch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Summerjones

Kold wrote: »
    I'm generalising yes, but for the most I wish they just had the decency to die already.

Why? They don't talk about anything worthwhile. On the occasion that they do have something cool to say, D Day landings or something, they mess it up and don't tell it right. They're always fecking whinging about stuff that doesn't concern them. They're fussy as sh*t. Old women think they are entitled to EVERYTHING. Most of them are bloody mental and do nothing but waste precious oxygen.

(In before some tard thinks saying the non-words "Yore Ma" is the height of wit)

You're going to be old one day too. Tosser.

she WHACKED me 3 times with a rolled up RTE guide VERY hard in the back... of course on the right spot.
    You shoulda taken that RTE guide and rammed it up her ****e pipe...

You don't know that for a fact. Dickface.

Unless you die young then yes I do. Have some respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

All the old people i know are pretty damn cool, i don't know what the rest of you are on about.

Also, kold.....

c'mere, i wanna tell ya something......

"yore ma"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

god I ****ing hate old people..

especially old drivers.

You're one of those people that thinks that we should respect all old people without them earning it..aren't you?

Well it's not that remote a possibility. I show respect when it's shown to me. I've known some lovely old people but the truth is that most of them are bloody annoying/ignorant and should die earlier, like nature intends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I can't wait till till I'm old enough to be considered part of the 'old people'.
    Oh yes.. the thought of annoying so many people by not doing anything other than going about my daily business, frankly, sounds like heaven.

As it is now, most people younger than me, students especially, bother the nuts off me, but I find it hard to get on their nerves.

Roll on old age. I'll have a fcuking field day!

I did really really want to push one though 2 weeks ago. Had just been to the physio because of a bad back problem, was still quite sore from the work done on it. Was visiting my 2 grandparents who both have alzheimers & this ould one comes along behind me as I am trying to talk to my Nana, she WHACKED me 3 times with a rolled up RTE guide VERY hard in the back... of course on the right spot.

Apparently she used to be a school Principal..and is/was a Nun..scary b*tch!

When I was in first year this ancient nun decked my mate Pat, he screamed like a girl, more in suprise than pain I think. She was truly evil (actually I'm pretty sure she's STILL alive), used to teach speech and drama, and insisted that an Erskine Childers style west brit accent was the only correct way to recite Frost, or Kavanagh, which can't have been right. The power of christ/satan was the only thing keeping her alive, by the time I left the school she could only see or hear you if you were standing right in front of her. Cue a load of lads leaning our the upstairs windows shouting smut at her as she hobbled around the yard looking for people to hit.

Why do nuns seem to fall in to only two categories. Absolute evil satanic biatches or lovely, sweet, gentle souls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I want to get a sign to strap to myself saying "Yes, I know it's cold" for when I'm working in the shop. I know it's frickin' cold. Damn oldies.. probably can't even see the sign... *grumbles*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 david1949

You will be old some day yourself and then you will wish pople would have respect for you.

Why do nuns seem to fall in to only two categories. Absolute evil satanic biatches or lovely, sweet, gentle souls.

Probably the difference between those who were sent to a nunnery by their parents because they kissed a boy when they were 15 and those who wanted to be nuns due to a genuine will to help people.

david1949 wrote: »
    You will be old some day yourself and then you will wish pople would have respect for you.

Yes but if I have to get old, I'll be badass and interesting like I am now and not be an ignorant tool to everyone I come across. That's how it works now, people are nice when you're nice to them.

I once met an old guy on a train who told me loads of really cool RAF war stories. Probably all complete BS but they were great stories! :D

The oldest cool person I know is 60, he's a cantankerous bastard but he always has been. Recovered alcoholic, bi-lingual, curly haired donegal guy who runs a leather workshop in rural clare and does a nifty sideline in handcuffs and whips and stuff. Also a raging communist. And he got gored by a cow in India. Fuppin legend, hope he doesn't suddenly turn horrible and whingey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

They should be moved outside of the city, as they cause imperfection.
    North Korea style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Generalisationsville!! Jesus wept!

As an above poster said, we'l all be tucking our tits into our socks ourselves one day!

The only time I have a problem with certain (see what I did there-lol) old people is when they act like fcucking know it all's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

i get called nasty for hating old people but they wreck my head!!!soo annoying and not very nice atall!!!i work on a hotel reception and they come in and ask me stupid questions regularly!!!and then when i worked in the bank i had even bigger problems with them there i get angry just thinking about it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

I'm old and I dont like young people. Why wont they slow down? Why are they all such impatient, impertinent dcikheads? Why do they smell of 'product'? I hate that I have to repeat everything three times before they get it into their thick skull. Maybe it's they're up their own ****pipe most of the time?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

:eek:Anyway there I was in the Q for the bank when this auld grannie says to me"Young people like you are a shower of cnunts,you know fcuk all about anything,you couldn't even fcukin tell me what county Askeaton is in"Wrong missus, says I, its in fcukin Tipperary and who gives a fcuk anyway,we can just google the cnunt ,can't we"

"Well you can Google all you want you smelly fcuker ,but its in Limerick,you young gimps know shagg all, without that fcukin interweb, or whatever the fcuk it's called,you have Facebook,You Tube, My Space,Spank my hole" and the rest, but you lot know fcuk all .

All you do is spend your time wankin those mobiles and spongin off your parents when REAL people like me were payin 18% tax to ensure fcukers like you survived!!
    You say you are in "College" when in reality it's a "Nail Bar and make up course" you are paying for yourself,you expect your parents to fund you to go "travelling"and bore the hole off people like me when you stagger back lumping your parents with even more debt!!

"Fcuk off you sour bitch" says I "you're just jealous"

"jealous of fcukin what "Gimpy fcuker queuing up for a loan with fcuk all prospects over the next ten years"

"Quit the shapin' an arse boxing and do a bit of fcukin work for a living and then complain you sack of shíte"

I was gobsmacked:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

Yes but if I have to get old, I'll be badass and interesting like I am now and not be an ignorant tool to everyone I come across. That's how it works now, people are nice when you're nice to them.
    What you mean?
    How are you gonna change?

I like old people :)
    What annoys me are people like you who moan and b1tch about everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

young gimps know shagg all, without that fcukin interweb, or whatever the fcuk it's called,you have Facebook,You Tube, My Space,Spank my hole" and the rest, but you lot know fcuk all .

rofl. so sad but true

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

People annoy me, so i guess you can include old ones in that too, although i do hate to put a 'label' on anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I think poisonous bastards live longer. All the cool people die from cool stuff.

Like hypothermia......I do wonder where old people get all their change from....is the pension handed out in coppers? That might be why the poor old beggars are so slow to get around......I don't mind old folk.......not sure about tall old people...they look like gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Old people are great, especially if you can help them write their wills. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Take it easy pal, you might be one yourself someday if your lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭mrDuke

Young people are the whinners, look at you all whinning here about old people, i dont see a young people thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Old people are great, always worth listening to for the crazy **** they come out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Badass and interesting? [German accent]Extreme!!!!:cool:[/German accent]

Your "badass and interesting" when you are 80 will be equivalent to the "rakish scoundrel" of a modern 80 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Old men are cool, it's old women that are the nightmare.

I've worked behind a few shop counters in my life, and nothing can prepare you for old female customers.

They have no memory. In a queue of 5 or 6, it will not occur to them in places 6 through 2 that 'Hey, I remember this. There's some kind of transaction at the end of this process. I'd better get my 9 euros in coppers out NOW and save some time!'. Instead, they hobble up, hand over their 2 apples and a coupon and stare at you blankly, as if the onus is one you to perform the next action. At this point you can see a kind of race going on between their brain and the expression on their face. Money please.

Argument about the price of the apple ensues; the coupon will be for Tesco when they're shopping in Dunnes; they will not understand this; they will ask why the apple is so 'expensive'; they will haggle, claiming depreciation in the quality of the apple; it goes on.

It is old people who, while you're wearing your Tesco uniform but are shopping in dunnes, won't believe that you don't work there.

They will not understand that you may not return items of clothing to Tescos that you purchased in dunnes.

you can not return anything after 28 days. Especially not a scratched cd in a broken box after 104 [!] days.

I do not know:

(a) If the item you want but we don't stock is available in dunnes, or
    (b) the price of that item in dunnes, if they have it, of which I have absolutely no idea. I do not work in dunnes. You are not in dunnes.

Of course we do not sell jewellery.

"Aisle 6" does not mean "Aisle 17". Please end your protracted tour of Tesco Maynooth and go to Aisle 6.

If you break something in to hundreds of tiny pieces then *tell me*. Please DO NOT hide it behind a saucepan on a top shelf so I can get 453 shards of dusty clay in my face.

They have asked me, 'What kind of balloons do you have?', and, 'My PC got a virus. Can I return it?'

They also lack all powers of description. Consider the following, recent example.

Lady: Do you have T-Lights?
    Me: Maybe. What are T-Lights?
    Lady: Well they're.. they're lights?
    Me: what kind of lights?
    Lady: Um.. they're 'not big'
    Me: Um.. How big is 'not' big?
    Lady: You're telling me that you work here and you don't know what T-Lights are?
    Me: Maybe if you describe them to me I can find out for you?
    Lady: Ah no... They're difficult to descibe. [<- important comment]

15min later, it turns out that T-Lights are just small candles about the size of a 2 euro coin.

They also pose problems, without suggesting any kind of possible solution.

Old, very old Lady: (in old grandma simpson voice) I forgot my shopping list.
    Me: Ooo..kaay... can I help you with anything in perticular?
    Lady: (long pause) ... I'm doing my shopping
    Me: I understand, would you like me to help you find something?
    Lady: (another long pause) ... i forgot my shopping list...

I spent one morning trying to dig out a 2euro coin from the coffee machine with a screwdriver because a stupid lady actually thought it was coin-operated and dropped the coin in through the top of it.

Not so recently, a lady asked me if she could pay with a Tesco Clubcard:
    1. We are not Tesco's
    2. We only accept cash
    3. Even if we were Tesco's and did accept debit and credit cards, you still can't pay with one, it's just a loyalty card. For Tesco's.

Old people have an interesting effect on my blood pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

you really didn't know what a tealight was?

its tealight. not t-light

there's a circular yoke you can buy that has a few holes in it and you put the candles into it and it keeps the tea warm when you put the teapot on top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

mrDuke wrote: »
    Young people are the whinners, look at you all whinning here about old people, i dont see a young people thread?

It's there...you most likely have glaucoma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

banquo wrote: »
    Argument about the price of the apple ensues; the coupon will be for Tesco when they're shopping in Dunnes; they will not understand this; they will ask why the apple is so 'expensive'; they will haggle, claiming depreciation in the quality of the apple; it goes on.

It is old people who, while you're wearing your Tesco uniform but are shopping in dunnes, won't believe that you don't work there.

They will not understand that you may not return items of clothing to Tescos that you purchased in dunnes.

1. We are not Tesco's
    2. We only accept cash
    3. Even if we were Tesco's and did accept debit and credit cards, you still can't pay with one, it's just a loyalty card. For Tesco's.

I'm confused ... is it Dunnes or Tesco or both you worked in?

And jaysus, the poor old sod... It's tea-lights, not T-Lights.. did you really not know that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I find a lot of elderly ladies can be very rude. Despite their size and frailty they can move pretty quickly to get in front of me in the ques in the supermarket/post office etc.

I think the over 80's should be gassed. Except anyone related to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

now then you young wippersnapers i will come over to to ireland in my wheel chair as soon as my doctor lets me and spank your bums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

My granny can lift a car tire over her head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

nah only the smell

but supergran beats all hands down