Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meet and Race / Discussion on Upcoming Races

• 15-10-2008 8:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭

Gerard65
    Shels4ever
    Robinph
    Woddle
    Orobhsa
    Jlang?
    These are the people who are interested so far, and I have all their details(full name).
    So if anyone else is interested, can you let me know, pref before lunch.

Where do you guys think we should meet before hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Good luck on this one guys. I would love to commit but there is only a 10% chance I would be available so I am going to sit this one out.

A great chance for some to set the club record over the distance ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

good luck to all. Hopefully I will make it out to give you all a shout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Good Luck you Guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Orobhsa

Mark me down as well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

They usually have the registration in the sports hall there for the other races so I presume that it will be the same for this one, we'll need to sort out the BHAA registration as well as the race registration before hand though.

Guess we stand at the entrance and shout "Woddle" until we find each other or a Garda comes along and puts us in straight jakets and sections us. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Hi Folks

If its a BHAA race I think one person could register the team name and then its a matter of the individual putting this team name with the individual registration. If someone knows differently please correct me.
    So may not be necessary for ye all to meet before once someone has the BHAA team reg done early and ye all know the team name.

Best of luck Ill be supporting ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I think it would be nice to put a face to the name and to know who your getting into business with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

It will also be good to have a few faces in the crowd to try and beat.. Will good to know what level everyone is at so I can plot my targets over the coming months...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

We should try and meet up somehow, so we at least know who we are racing with rather than against.

Ok guys I just got of the phone with Charlie. And aswell as your names if you can give me your date of birth and either a recent race time or a predicted race time, pref over 5 mile & 10K but if you don't have one its ok.
    He said we can run as Boards AC. And if I can email him tour details he will consider us members and will work out our grade based on our recent race times.
    Finally he said for me to just fill in 1 form with allof our names and dob, so I can take care of that.Its 15 euro for membership per person and then 10 euro per race, can't remember.
    So good news :D
    And he'll be there in the morning to meet us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

i'm so envious. I will definitely run the next BHAA race for Boards AC

Ok I have received everyones details and have sent the mail, so just a time and place to meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

i'm so envious. I will definitely run the next BHAA race for Boards AC

Where is it on? Is there a calender of BHAA races?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Anyone heard of the Xcountry that's happening in Shanganagh Park (Shankill) the week after the marathon? I'm not sure who is organizing it, but I wouldn't mind participating. Is it a BHAA event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Orobhsa

MCOS wrote: »
    Where is it on? Is there a calender of BHAA races?

Castleknock.

www.bhaa.ie

Bit more info here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055398035

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

Unfortunately can't make Sat due to work committments.

Does anyone know anything about the Gerry Farnan 5mile Cross Country in Phoenix Park on Sunday? Anyone else doing it? Is it open entry? Can I turn up on the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

figs wrote: »
    Does anyone know anything about the Gerry Farnan 5mile Cross Country in Phoenix Park on Sunday? Anyone else doing it? Is it open entry? Can I turn up on the day?
    More here.

Just wondering what you's are wearing, runners or spikes, what do you suggest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Definitely put spikes in the bag - I'd say you'll be wearing them. I'd generally take 2 lengths - 9mm and 15mm and once I see the course can decide which length will be best. If it does turn out very dry there on the day you could wear trainers, but this would be very unlikely.

Woddle wrote: »
    Just wondering what you's are wearing, runners or spikes, what do you suggest

Spikes for me too, i'll take them for a spin today to see how they feel havent run much in them at all.

Don't have any spikes these days myself, so I'll just be stuck at the bottom of the hills waiting for a tow.

robinph wrote: »
    Don't have any spikes these days myself, so I'll just be stuck at the bottom of the hills waiting for a tow.

They had some (good ones!) for 32Euro in Arnotts last week (from 65). Just didn't have my size:(.

Wow, that cheap.

In that case I may go and pick some up if they still have them.

Wow, that cheap.

In that case I may go and pick some up if they still have them.

The Asics ones. Had them before and found them great. Might be worth ringing to see if they have your size to save a trip in if they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭Peckham

Will be looking to buy spikes for cc when I'm in USA at the end of the month. Have never used the before - what should I be considering? Is it simpler than the factors you need to consider with road running shoes?

(Sorry - going off topic!)

I went to arnotts in stillorgan today didn't have any spikes, popped into Mick Dowlings and got a pair of saucony for 55 euro

Any idea what time Sportsworld is open 'till tonight? Cannot seem to find a webpage for the shop.

I think there 5pm, not 100%, 014904502
    And just to note I bought a bigger size than my normal road racing shoes, 1/2 a size up. So don't just grab them thinking there your size.

I'll maybe skive off during lunch tomorrow then if Arnotts in town don't have anything in my size later on then.

When you do buy them have a think if your going to were socks. I dont with my spikes so the size is a bit smaller and a nicer fit.. Just don;t like runnin gin mud with socks on.

Well they didn't have any "sprinting shoes" in my size in Arnotts anyway, so a long lunch tomorrow to go in seach of a pair. You have all confused me now with this talk of getting 1/2 a size bigger or 1/2 a size smaller due to wearing socks or not. ;)

Hey robinph, I always wear my slim 1000 mile socks and I'm normally a uk 8 in my road runners but it was Mick who suggested a size up and I'm glad I did cause the 8 was extremely tight so I went with 8.5 and I tried them on with no socks, Mick reckoned most people are 1/2 a size up for spikes.

I think I'd feel better getting a pair from a proper shop rather than Arnotts anyway, but the €32 price tag made it tempting. Probably been about 20 years since I wore any spikes for running though.

Your choices are sprint spikes, long distance track spikes or cross country spikes. I'd advise getting cross country spikes and you can use these on the track anyway (with smaller spikes).

I wouldn't want them being too big, because on a muddy day they could get sucked off. I use the exact same size as for my normal running shoes.

@ Peckham - less to consider than with running shoes as they don't really have any support as you will be on soft surfaces mainly. I would go with the lightest ones, with the biggest heel and most grooves on the sole for grip.

I think the guy I asked in Arnotts actually just considered anything without studs in it to be for sprinting. They had some track and some xc spikes though, but he seemed to just think they were all the same.

I say we meet up @ 10 am at Castleknock College to register and then warm up.

Out of intrest what are peoples usual times for 4 miles.. I'll be solw at about 32 mins ((on road so maybe 33-34 tomorrow). Would be nice to have an idea of what standard the rest of us are at .

I've found that even in some of the specialist running shops, not to mind the department stores, they weren't always too up on the differences bewteen the spikes.

The track 'sprint' spikes (up to 400m) don't really have any heel. The mid-long distance track spikes (800m to 10k) have a heel about half a cm, usually with a flat, minimally grooved sole. The cross country ones have a heel around the same size , or a bit bigger in some makes, as the mid-long distance track spikes, but usually have much deeper grooves on the sole, and may have some rubber spikey bits around the sides for a bit of grip. Most average club runners I know wear racing flats on the track (if dry) for 3000m up, so therefore get more use from a cross country spike, which they can use for the odd 800 and 1500m with 5mm spikes. This is because, due to the lack of much support and the low heel (compared to flats or normal trainers) a lot of people get sore/tight calves from using spikes for too long on the track. But if you are going to wear your spikes for a lot of sessions and track races, maybe the mid-long distance track ones would do, and you can put longer spikes into them for cross country.

I did the Adidas 5mile in the park a few months ago in 33 and a bit. Depending on how much the four wheel drive spikes are needed though it won't nessecarily mean that I go too much quicker for a 4 mile though, also don't want to mess myself up too much before next weekend either.

I went to arnotts in stillorgan today didn't have any spikes, popped into Mick Dowlings and got a pair of saucony for 55 euro

Are they the saucony kilkenny and if so, what are they like? I need to get a pair of spikes, have been looking for a few weeks, and am edging towards these.

I went for a pair of mitre track spikes, Seem to be grand for my needs at the moment, ok for XC and track

http://www.edirectory.co.uk/pf/880/mia/d/mitre+track+running+spike+shoe/pid/5568257

I did the Adidas 5mile in the park a few months ago in 33 and a bit. Depending on how much the four wheel drive spikes are needed though it won't nessecarily mean that I go too much quicker for a 4 mile though, also don't want to mess myself up too much before next weekend either.

Just so we have an idea of each other pace before we run can yo update this with a recient race or possible target.

robinph 5 mile 33 mins
    Shels 4 mile 32 :(

Are they the saucony kilkenny and if so, what are they like? I need to get a pair of spikes, have been looking for a few weeks, and am edging towards these.

Saucony velocity 2 distance , they do have a heal of just over 10mm and they also have the little plastic spikes around the main spike, mid foot seems a little narrow, wore them last night to break them in around the house, surprisingly comfortable, going to take them for a spin later.

shels4ever wrote: »
    Just so we have an idea of each other pace before we run can yo update this with a recient race or possible target.

robinph 5 mile 33 mins
    Shels 4 mile 32 :(

Rathfarnham 5K in 21:2? according to their website also addidas 5 mile in 35:04

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

I run a lot of cross country and some track, here are my thoughts for what they're worth:

It's nice to have different shoes for track than cross-country coz the cross-country ones get very dirty. When I used to only have one pair, I always went for middle/long distance track spike shoes. For me, in cross-country the spike shoes were for grip. So a nice light pair of track shoes with long spikes in worked well.

Cross-country shoes usually have the spike sockets set in to them. Track shoes are much more minimal and the sockets are not set into the shoe in the same way. Occasionally I lost/damaged some of the sockets in the track spikes during cross-country, I think this was because of the strain of the longer spikes. (I reckon this happened a lot more often with 12mm than 9mm spikes. Sometimes you have to cross roads in cross-country races which doesn't help!)

I find a lot of cross-country shoes are heavier than necessary. Some of the Nike ones are nice and light. I don't think I've ever worn cross-country shoes on the track but I don't think I'd like it - if I had to choose one or the other again I'd definitely go for track shoes.

When I was younger I used to put my spike shoes on over bare feet. Now I see very little point in that. It's easy get nice light comfortable socks or anklets (just wear them a few times before your race so they're not slippery). I think the socks help prevent me getting blisters etc. And also, not wearing socks may make your shoes very smelly over time.

I kind of like the idea of running barefoot in cross-country to see what it's like but I'm always scared for my poor feet!

Saucony velocity 2 distance , they do have a heal of just over 10mm and they also have the little plastic spikes around the main spike, mid foot seems a little narrow, wore them last night to break them in around the house, surprisingly comfortable, going to take them for a spin later.

Ok looks like you guys will be Grade C for tomororw where i'll be grade D, I'll have to try and move up soon

Where did you see the grading times listed?

http://bhaa.ie/images/infoBHAA.pdf

I'm graded 21 now, down from 28 at the start of the year. I think 21 is still too low for me but i'm not worried.

maybe i'm wrong on how the team score works if its backes on a team per grade level, as i've never run as a team , and for the track i was running in Grade D for standard 19-28

That looks way simpler to understand that the explanation of the AAI grading in a thread on Athletics at the moment which was just causing my brain to melt.

From my reading of that I think we would all be in grade D, would need three people on the team with under 32:55 for 5 miles to make it into grade C as a team.

Yes your right there, i get it now, first time i've had a team in this.

So the sum of the 3 lowest standards so that would put us in Grade D . So unless we have a couple of sub 30 min 5 milers...were ok.

shels4ever wrote: »
    I say we meet up @ 10 am at Castleknock College to register .
    Sounds good to me, I'll be there a little earlier to meet Charlie. I'll pm you guys my number if you want to ring me in case we cant find each other.