Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scabby head man

• 14-10-2008 8:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭

Do you ever keep seeing the same stranger about?

There's this old guy I always see around town,(Dublin) but never in the same place. He's always somewhere different totally different streets, northside, southside, on the luas once. I spot him every two days or so.

He has a big long white santa beard and a bald head thats covered in horrible scabby looking sores. And he looks kinda sad. Suppose I would be too with a big sore scab head. Anybody know the chap I'm talking about?

There was this lady I used to see all over the place. On random buses, anywhere around the city. Haven't in years though, kinda miss her, hope she's ok...

So is there any random stranger you keep seeing around? And I don't mean the guy who's in the train station every morning or the person who usually gets on your bus.
    Tagged:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Eh, well.....no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Fiend-Foe

CHD wrote: »
    Eh, well.....no.

Ah someone will have seen this guy...

I mentioned him to my G/F and she reckons he used to always come into the health shop she used to work in to buy stuff for his head. Saw him again this morning at the bottom of Grafton St.

Fecker keeps popping up everywhere I go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

I keep seein a big dready head fella. Got about 3 long matted dreads that look like a pie-bald horse after sh!tein' in it's tail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Erm, Fiend-toe - this dude has a scabby head? I didn't notice this assuming I know who you're talking about - does he wear these funky red shades?

If so, I got my picture taken with him one drunken night...

Naos wrote: »
    Erm, Fiend-toe - this dude has a scabby head? I didn't notice this assuming I know who you're talking about - does he wear these funky red shades?

Yeah sometimes! And he always has a plastic bag with him, big long beard.

Where was the pic taken?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

awwww...sounds like you have a stalker! :) hes following you around and monitoring your day to day activities

Id be wary though, usually the plastic bag is used for suffocating the...er...stalkies. aw....ur gonna get raped.....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

Surely you'd have more luck asking this in the Dublin City forum? In fact, I think there's already a thread about the "Characters of the city".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Ever keep seeing a stranger and want to have sex with them?
    I used to keep seeing this hot blonde at my bus stop every morning,always looked done up with short skirts or figure-hugging clothes.She hasnt been round in a while,she must've read my t houghts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

No, I can't say I'm familiar with him... Hang on, I'm in Cork, not Dublin - so that would explain why.

Welcome to After Hours, frequented by people from all over Ireland and further afield... not just Dublin.

Anyone see that really tall, broadly built woman with the long black hair who wears skirts barely touching her arse? I used to see her everywhere but not so much lately. She's in Cork by the way. I have to mention that but there'd be no need if she was in Dublin of course...

Dudess wrote: »
    No, I can't say I'm familiar with him... Hang on, I'm in Cork, not Dublin - so that would explain why.

Welcome to After Hours, frequented by people from all over Ireland and further afield... not just Dublin.

You even take for granted so much everyone here is gonna be from Dublin that you don't even mention Dublin in your post...

Eh,he asks "Do people keep seeing the same stranger around the place".
    He illustrates his question with an example you assume is based in Dublin.
    Whats the matter with you people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

what did the bus lady do/look like

and for godsake would you ever leave him be,it's santa, the recession hit hard :(

Leeby wrote: »
    Surely you'd have more luck asking this in the Dublin City forum? In fact, I think there's already a thread about the "Characters of the city".

No because I wasn't asking about him, I was asking about people you you see about the place often but have no idea who they are.

You even take for granted so much everyone here is gonna be from Dublin that you don't even mention Dublin in your post...

Again, that was an example. Does everybody know each other in Cork?? I thought maybe people there could relate to seeing strangers about the place too, sorry... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Degsy wrote: »
    Eh,he asks "Do people keep seeing the same stranger around the place".
    He illustrates his question with an example you assume is based in Dublin.
    Whats the matter with you people?

You're right. The OP could have been talking about the Cork or Limerick LUAS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Fiend-Foe wrote: »

There's this old guy I always see around town, but never in the same place. He's always somewhere different totally different streets, northside, southside, on the luas once. I spot him every two days or so.

He has a big long white santa beard and a bald head thats covered in horrible scabby looking sores. And he looks kinda sad. Suppose I would be too with a big sore scab head. Anybody know the chap I'm talking about?

There was this lady I used to see all over the place. On random buses, anywhere around the city. Haven't in years though, kinda miss her, hope she's ok...

So is there any random stranger you keep seeing around? And I don't mean the guy who's in the train station every morning or the person who usually gets on your bus.
    will u please stop following me around?

Degsy wrote: »
    Ever keep seeing a stranger and want to have sex with them?
    I used to keep seeing this hot blonde at my bus stop every morning,always looked done up with short skirts or figure-hugging clothes.She hasnt been round in a while,she must've read my t houghts.

Lucky escape...

He's always somewhere different totally different streets, northside, southside, on the luas once. I spot him every two days or so.

This to me indicates the OP's talking about Dublin. I'm not from Dublin but do live there, don't get the whole 'touchiness' from people living outside of it.

Einstein wrote: »
    will u please stop following me around?

Clearly the bearded scabhead in question is not you:
    Einstein wrote: »
    meh, i only need to shave twice a month anway...box of gilettes last me about 4 years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Have you ever stopped to consider that he might actually be yourself from the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

javaboy wrote: »
    Clearly the bearded scabhead in question is not you:
    u is far too alert for this time of the day

I keep meetin the same two saucy mares on my way into work every morn. I'd like to be the meat in their sandwich.

Have you ever stopped to consider that he might actually be yourself from the future?

Great I'm freaky looking.

But what is the future me doing in the present?

And why isn't he giving me lotto numbers, or at least recommending good shampoos ffs...

Smart Bug wrote: »
    I keep meetin the same two saucy mares on my way into work every morn. I'd like to be the meat in their sandwich.

Didn't you learn anything from that play Harry Potter was in? Just say neigh to bestiality!

Smart Bug wrote: »
    I'm not from Dublin but do live there, don't get the whole 'touchiness' from people living outside of it.
    When I lived there I was the exact same as you, now that I've moved back to Cork, I understand the "touchiness". It's just the presumptuousnes that we're all from Dublin that I object to. If the thread was "Local characters" and the post was describing oddballs the OP sees around Dublin, grand, but the way it's phrased - "they'll all know what I'm talking about" kinda manner... totally reads as if we're all from Dublin.

Fixed OP for you, I wasn't really talking about Dublin you kind of missed the point, it could have been any town replace luas with bus etc.

I was talking about strangers, not the man or the town.

Chill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

lol, typical cork attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Anyone see that really tall, broadly built woman with the long black hair who wears skirts barely touching her arse? I used to see her everywhere but not so much lately. She's in Cork by the way. I have to mention that but there'd be no need if she was in Dublin of course...

Want some ketchup to go with that chip on your shoulder?

Yeah sometimes! And he always has a plastic bag with him, big long beard.

Where was the pic taken?

I didn't notice if he had a plastic bag. Yup big white beard. He was wearing red framed sunglasses at about 1am.

Pic was taken just outside Charlies in Templebar.

I didn't notice if he had a plastic bag. Yup big white beard. He was wearing red framed sunglasses at about 1am.

Pic was taken just outside Charlies in Templebar.

Thats Templebar in Dublin right?

Mad, I've seen him around at all times. About 8 this morning. I'll have to say hi someday. Were ya talkin to him at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Most regional forums has a "characters" thread
    Stab city http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055204067
    Scumbagville http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055265744
    The real capital http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=292579
    Tribe city http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055082042

Use the one appropriate. I for one don't care about jackeen characters or oddballs in Cork, but maybe it's just me.

Talk about "Wringing the marrow from the bone":rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Want some ketchup to go with that chip on your shoulder?

There will be a bit of string dangling in the next few days, I know that attitude:mad:

Thats Templebar in Dublin right?

Mad, I've seen him around at all times. About 8 this morning. I'll have to say hi someday. Were ya talkin to him at all?

Templebar in Dublin yup.

Ah just had a quick natter, usual drunken yap. I'd a fair few on me and only recalled it all the next day when I looked at my phone pics!

Had some shocked face for about ten seconds before it all hit me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

i know a guy to see who fits that description(didn't notice the scabby head). he hangs around bank of ireland on college green drinking whiskey all day if it's the guy i think it is, and he's craaaaaaaazy!

Yeah I have no idea if he had a scabby head or not!

Infact upon reviewing of said picture - his head does not look scabby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

does the guy carry books under his arms? and a phone on a string on his arm also? he usually wears a long navy coat?

patrickc wrote: »
    does the guy carry books under his arms? and a phone on a string on his arm also? he usually wears a long navy coat?

Yeah the coat, seen him with books the odd time. Dunno about the phone never been too close to him!

Okay is this him?

Edit: Pic Removed due to clarification was not the Santa in question ;)

Yeah the coat, seen him with books the odd time. Dunno about the phone never been too close to him!

havent seen him in a while, but used to see him everyday

Okay is this him?

Ah no, Don't think so. Maybe. That guy looks healthier. Very similar. The Scab head guy has a thinner face I think.

And his head is covered in these horrible scabs (obviously) That rise up a bout 1/2cm.

I'm going to get a pic next time I see him. Probably won't for ages now.

Theres something wrong with your face!

Okay is this him?

nope he's a homeless chap I know, and he might not appreciate his pic on the net without consent

This thread has turned into a discussion about that dude in particular, so sorry dudess...

patrickc wrote: »
    nope he's a homeless chap I know, and he might not appreciate his pic on the net without consent

Where does he browse the internet?

Theres quite a homeless community online. Their very computer savvy. Who do think really maintains the internet.

Ah I've removed the pic regardless after reading Patrickc's post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

It’s just because he’s slightly odd looking and stands out that you notice him so much. I bet you see loads of the same people all the time but because they don’t look out of the ordinary you don’t notice that you see them often. If you painted yourself orange and walked trough town every day people would recognise you too.

(Do that will you so we can see how many of us notice you.)

Doc wrote: »
    If you painted yourself orange and walked trough town every day people would recognise you too.
    /tries to resist D4 girl jibe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭Celtic67

There's this old guy I always see around town,(Dublin) but never in the same place. He's always somewhere different totally different streets, northside, southside, on the luas once. I spot him every two days or so.

Ye, I used to see this guy most days at the Luas stop at Jervis. The scabs on his head were not very easy on the eye.

Yeah, like a load of crunchy nut cornflakes glued to the head.

Yum!

plenty of homeless hostels have internet access.

I'm going to get a pic next time I see him. Probably won't for ages now.

No chance! This guys almost a daily occurance, gotta say hi someday!

17102008vl0.th.jpg

I have a crappy phone so qualitys not good, but thats the guy...