Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So...what are you doing for Halloween?

• 13-10-2008 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭

I'm probably sticking to my annual trip to Freakscene. Anything else worth doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

I'm probably sticking to my annual trip to Freakscene. Anything else worth doing?

Freakscene for myself as well I'd say, or else maybe some sort of party if one pops up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭corkgal1981

Just saw this on whazon.ie & think I might give it a go...getting too old for Freakscene!

October 22 to November 1

The Brothers Grimm Spectaculation

The fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm are turned on their heads in this fast-paced, rollicking ride as two narrators and several actors attempt to combine all 209 stories ranging from classics like Snow White, Cinderella, and Hansel and Gretel to more bizarre, obscure stories like The Devil's Grandmother and The Girl Without Hands. A wild free-from comedy with lots of audience participation and mad cap fun.

Prize for best costume on Hallowe'en Night. Show not suitable for under 12's.

TIME: 8pm.
    TICKETS: eu15/12 conc. Two for One Wednesdays, Free Trick or Treat Goody Bag with each ticket.
    BOOKING/INFO: Tel: 021 4505624.
    VENUE: Cork Arts Theatre, Camden Court, Carroll's Quay

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

That sounds cool. Pity im working :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭corkgal1981

castie wrote: »
    That sounds cool. Pity im working :(

Its not just on for Halloween, its on Oct 22 - Nov 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭g.quagmire

I think I'll get twisted and do a drive-by egging outside freakscene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Energizeer

I know wat I'm gunna be wearing:
    150.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Might be headin to freakscene myself, too. But bein in college, might get a better offer!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I usually go to Freakscene but I haven't been in months seeing as I hate 90% of the people there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Kold wrote: »
    I usually go to Freakscene but I haven't been in months seeing as I hate 90% of the people there.

Oh I don't frequent the place by any means, but there's no doubting it's a mad laugh on halloween.

What I want to know is who's offering the best prize for best costume?

I heard the Old Oak had pretty good prizes last year. Although in fairness, Freakscene's was good too. A night in a really fancy hotel up in Kerry...which went to yours truly :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Best get workin on that costume if im gonna win that prize. Could do with a free stay in a nice hotel.

I heard the Old Oak had pretty good prizes last year. Although in fairness, Freakscene's was good too. A night in a really fancy hotel up in Kerry...which went to yours truly :P

What were you? I should've won when I was Pika :( Came 2nd and all I got was a poxy bottle of champagne.

2459981037a5809254969ml.jpg

Here's me with Awesom-o and Optimus Prime:

2459981037a9162205628ml.jpg

Edit: Ha, I remember the year before when you were Pikachu. What were you parading around as last year?

Was Err from Aqua Teen Hunger Force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

probably going to a house party. I'm college also so I'' see what offers they give us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,799 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Gonna be down in Cork mid-week, but leaving halloween day. Is Freakscene fancy dress on the Wednesday?

Kold, I remember seeing ya there as Pikachu that year. I actually tore tendons in my ankle that night to while moshing. Oh the joys of friends trying to walk back to Bishopstown.

Mushy wrote: »
    Is Freakscene fancy dress on the Wednesday?

Nope, its fancy dress on the friday this year :(

DJ Hafez wrote: »
    Nope, its fancy dress on the friday this year :(

Cheers. So it'll be normal Freak for me then if I do end up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

itd be normal "dress like an emo" freakscene on the wednesday or interesting "dress as something weird" on friday.

there is a second freakscene every year on halloween even if it isnt a wednesday.

and I swear to god if I dont get a prize or at least a nomination this year Im punching faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

freakscene for me. Gotta decide on my costume,

I might be totally original and go as the Joker?

or something that the rest of the world isn't going as!!!

freakscene for me. Gotta decide on my costume,

I might be totally original and go as the Joker?

or something that the rest of the world isn't going as!!!

We're actually gonna do pools on how many Jokers there'll be. I'd say at least 7. Possibly one dressed as a nurse.

Haha well I'm always up for sharing a cab to Bishopstown if anyone else is coming this way after. :)

We're actually gonna do pools on how many Jokers there'll be. I'd say at least 7. Possibly one dressed as a nurse.

I would think 13 with
    4 as the nurse.
    1 in the old joker style
    the rest as Heath Joker.

I might get a wig and go as Heath Ledger just to piss people off!!!

Haha well I'm always up for sharing a cab to Bishopstown if anyone else is coming this way after. :)

I'm not gonna fit in a cab this year :D

Just a heads up for anyone thinking of going to freakscene - Tickets are on sale in the brog at the mo I think. They are 12 yoyos. Just in case u come on the night and it's full!

I'm not gonna fit in a cab this year :D

YOURE NOT?!?

im not sure I can face trashing my costume at the end of the night again, not sure what id do with it though, maybe put it on ebay...

im going to lowball the joker bet and say 5 jokers, between types. probably one nurse and one old school. oh and one so bad it only even kinda looks like joker. and he will be proud that he made his costume in 20 minutes before leaving the house. cock.

I am gonna bring my camera nad take candid photo's of all the jokers I see.

Hopefully I will be drunk enough to think there are 13 cos then I win!!!

Just a heads up for anyone thinking of going to freakscene - Tickets are on sale in the brog at the mo I think. They are 12 yoyos. Just in case u come on the night and it's full!

Balls, I'll have to make a trip to town. I didn't get one last year, the bouncer let me in because he liked my costume :D

Thanks for the heads up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Some want to do the CIT Bondi thing, I despise Bondi - I'm trying for Gorbys/Freakscene.

As for cotumes I got this;

wismjl.jpg

Vinta81 wrote: »
    Some want to do the CIT Bondi thing, I despise Bondi - I'm trying for Gorbys/Freakscene.

As for cotumes I got this;

wismjl.jpg

Pics or you're lying.

for the love of holy saint god I hope that vinta is a woman.

Why is it that girls almost always go as somethng slutty? I am not adverse to it, just wondering.

And then calling there costume, The Slutty Nurse, is that not a bit redundant?

Why is it that girls almost always go as somethng slutty? I am not adverse to it, just wondering.

And then calling there costume, The Slutty Nurse, is that not a bit redundant?

Think about it. Girls don't have creativity/originality but they do have lovely bottoms. Well, some of them do.

Good point, even though I have way more experience with the latter, unfortunately!!!!

TED!

oooh.. of course, they ALL have lovely bottoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

That outfit comes to my knees thank you very much! At least I don't do the typical french maid/playboy/slutty cop/nurse etc etc...Put it away, lads don't think THAT much of you.

So, who's going to Freakscene then? Got my ticket yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

So, who's going to Freakscene then? Got my ticket yesterday.

Not me. I'm too old. Plus the smell of sweat, glue and paint is often just too much for my belly to withstand.

The East Village had a good do on last year but I'm not sure if they are doing the same this year as it has turned into more of a sh!t hole then it was even back then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Shurwhynot

Where in the city is good for getting Halloween costumes??

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

couple of beers and watching most haunted live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭rexusdiablos

Pics or you're lying.

I second that.

So I am just back from Freakers, quite sober, had to leave at 1 because a friend was sick as fcuk. I was dressed as a Fat Biker Dude in case anyone saw me. I was in a Thin Lizzy t-shirt and leather waistcoat and pants!!!

Good craic but gonna rip the sh1t outta my friend in the morning!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

That was such a bloody laugh.

Kold, Rebel, nice to meet you guys!

I was an arab last night if anyone saw me in freakscene... Good laugh I must say. Roll on next year!

Decidedly under dressed last night, I was the cameraman for the night so I'm sure I met a lot of ye. Great costume Necronomican. Inspired to try and outdo you next year but I won't be in Freakscene :p

Well I enjoyed my Cork trip again. Was out night before Halloween, in Corbins, altho that closed at 01.45:( Ended up in the Brog for a few minutes then. Wasnt dressed up either. Good times though, Cubins was absolutely jammed.

does anyone have a pic of what won best costume at bondai?

a grand for a prize so i expect great things.

oh and kold, nice to put a face to ya, i was the gome in the big yellow power loader

I was an arab last night if anyone saw me in freakscene... Good laugh I must say. Roll on next year!
    Yeah I saw you on Oliver Plunkett Street when we left the club!
    Decidedly under dressed last night, I was the cameraman for the night so I'm sure I met a lot of ye. Great costume Necronomican. Inspired to try and outdo you next year but I won't be in Freakscene :p

Thanks man. Not sure I'll go all guns blazing next year though!