Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leashes were made for a reason people!!!

• 13-10-2008 3:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭

I have just started training for a marathon so I have been out jogging a good bit recently,I have had it up to here with people who leave their dogs off leashes,and I am not talking about small fluffy ones,I am talking about german sheperds and rotweillers among other huge monsters.Any time I have come in contact with these dogs who usually start following me,barking or on a few occasions jumping on me,a frightening amount of the owners didn't even bother calling the dogs back,or they did and went along still keeping the leash off,one guy just started laughing at me!I am in no way afraid of dogs,I quiet like them and usually just keep calm and continue running but I find myself not going certain places now I am so sick of feeling put out because of these peoples irresponsible attitudes!What if these dogs came in contact with children on their unleashed travels!If I knew who these people were I would report them in a heartbeat...rant over

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

Buy one of those Ultrasonic guns and give them a blast if they come near you - they hate that!!

EDit: Oh well in there Mr Biggins!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Milky Moo wrote: »
    What if these dogs came in contact with children on their unleashed travels!

What If, What If!!...Teh:rolleyes:

What if I was in the shower and slipped on a bar of soap.
    Oh my god I'd be killed.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Depends where you were having the shower. You might just be buggered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

considering it's a residential area near a school it's a legitimate concern!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Biggins wrote: »

Seriously ...don't !

Dogs have two basic ways of reacting to a threat (and pain in the ears is a threat)

1 - run away

2 - ATTACK

obviously you don't want option two :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

This must be a first on After Hours, but to quote the current law:
    The Control of Dogs Regulations 1998 place controls on 10 breeds of dogs namely the American Pit Bull Terrier; English Bull Terrier; Staffordshire Bull Terrier; Bull Mastiff; Doberman Pinscher; German Shepherd (Alsatian); Rhodesian Ridgeback; Rottweiler; Japanese Akita; Japanese Tosa and to every dog of the type commonly known as a Ban Dog (or Bandog).
    The controls, which must be observed when the dog is in a public place, require that these dogs, or strains and crosses thereof, must be kept on a strong short lead [only up to 2 metres long] by a person over 16 years of age who is capable of controlling them. The dog/s must be securely muzzled too. Furthermore, the Control of Dogs Act 1986 gives specific powers to the courts to order that a dog, which the court considers dangerous, must be kept under proper control or be destroyed.

Source: http://www.environ.ie/en/LocalGovernment/DogControl/

So apparently it's for only certain breads that that's the case.

peasant wrote: »
    Seriously ...don't !

Dogs have two basic ways of reacting to a threat (and pain in the ears is a threat)

1 - run away

2 - ATTACK

obviously you don't want option two :D

Yeah I was actually thinking wouldn't the dog get annoyed and agressive if it was confronted with a loud piercing noise..I don't actually see any alternative other than investing in a treadmill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I have just started training for a marathon so I have been out jogging a good bit recently,I have had it up to here with people who leave their dogs off leashes,and I am not talking about small fluffy ones,I am talking about german sheperds and rotweillers among other huge monsters.Any time I have come in contact with these dogs who usually start following me,barking or on a few occasions jumping on me,a frightening amount of the owners didn't even bother calling the dogs back,or they did and went along still keeping the leash off,one guy just started laughing at me!I am in no way afraid of dogs,I quiet like them and usually just keep calm and continue running but I find myself not going certain places now I am so sick of feeling put out because of these peoples irresponsible attitudes!What if these dogs came in contact with children on their unleashed travels!If I knew who these people were I would report them in a heartbeat...rant over

i also hate this crap but in a different way

i have a rottweiller cross and when i brinbg him out i have him muzzeled and on a strap lead. but other people s stupid dogs that are off wandeing around then run up to him an snap makes it less than fun to walk him ijn public areas

couple of weeks ago i pull up to a public forest walk thingy and gett out of the car this idiot is there with a big shepherd this yoke runs over to me and starts sniffing my crotch o i sy " please call yer dog"

yer mans is all "he's fine "

i sez call yer dog away please

again "he's fine"

so i open the boot and let out my dog on his lead and then and only then yefr man calls his dog back

what if (as i believe he thought) i was scared of his dog how is that responsaible ownership

its very common and i believe its getting worse

American Pit Bull Terrier; English Bull Terrier; Staffordshire Bull Terrier; Bull Mastiff; Doberman Pinscher; German Shepherd (Alsatian); Rhodesian Ridgeback; Rottweiler; Japanese Akita; Japanese Tosa and to every dog of the type commonly known as a Ban Dog (or Bandog).

I thought that was a dragon in the harry potter books..I knew some dogs require muzzles,all to be put on leash and the whole you have to be over 16 thing...people just don't seem to care....if any if those big dogs really lunged and jump on me I'd be dead..seeing I am so short and all..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Aw, I was hoping to read some duuuuuuuurty bondage story......Added to my list of misleading thread titles.......hmph!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I have one of these dogs and I only let him off the lead when I'm up in the Dublin Mountains with him, I don't know what it is about him but people are terrified of him! Someone told me once that he is straight out of Hound of the Baskervilles! An absolute gentleman though...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qIWQs-ARzE4

Darragh29 wrote: »
    I have one of these dogs and I only let him off the lead when I'm up in the Dublin Mountains with him, I don't know what it is about him but people are terrified of him! Someone told me once that he is straight out of Hound of the Baskervilles! An absolute gentleman though...

see i think that is the reason people leave their dogs off leashes,of course you know your dog is lovely and sweet and wouldn't touch a fly but I don't know your dog from Jack..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

LEAVE VICIOUS MARATHON CHASING DOG ALOOOONNNNNEEEE!!!!!!!!!

Tigger wrote: »

i have a rottweiller cross and when i brinbg him out i have him muzzeled and on a strap lead. but other people s stupid dogs that are off wandeing around then run up to him an snap makes it less than fun to walk him ijn public areas

couple of weeks ago i pull up to a public forest walk thingy and gett out of the car this idiot is there with a big shepherd this yoke runs over to me and starts sniffing my crotch o i sy " please call yer dog"

again "he's fine"

so i open the boot and let out my dog on his lead and then and only then yefr man calls his dog back

what if (as i believe he thought) i was scared of his dog how is that responsaible ownership

You should have went to your boot and told the man "...in that case me and my shotgun in here are going to get friendly with your dog too!"

"BOOM"

On your OP though , I feel people have gone far too PC now. You can't do anything now but there is a law against it. People out walking dogs with them off a lead, once they are obedient, are not doing anyone any harm. Granted, dogs on the dangerous dogs list need to be muzzled and on a lead but I hate the way this place has gone so PC, you have to constantly watch your back in case you are offending someone now and I don't like living like that...

I used to be a competitive cyclist years ago and the bane of my existence was when some ugly mutt would run out in front of me. Got to a point where I would make sure to carry a either a bicycle pump so I could give the fecker a whack when he came at me running. Ended up with the dogs being afraid to come near me.

Lovely stuff. Thats what I like to hear. :D

see i think that is the reason people leave their dogs off leashes,of course you know your dog is lovely and sweet and wouldn't touch a fly but I don't know your dog from Jack..

Well my problem is that my dog does look a bit menacing although I know he isn't... I deliberately bring him up to the back arse of nowhere because I want to be able to let him off the lad because he needs to stretch his legs and a walk on a lead doesn't really do it for him... But I do feel we have become far too PC to be honest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Yeah jack scares the crap out of me too and there always round this time of year
    ScaryJackOLantern.gif

look i think political correctness is the language of cowardice but if you wanna bring your dog for a walk but it on a leash if it's a stretchy one they won't know the difference! so what does it matter?!it will give other people who are in the area peace of mind who may be afriad of dogs and it makes no noticable differnece to the dog,how has that got anything to do with political correctness..

I've had big dogs and I considered it just good manners and reassurance for other folk, to have my dog muzzled.
    It wasn't about people being just afraid of my dog, it was just about good manners being in a public area.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

What has "PC gone mad" got to do with keeping big feck off scary dogs tied to the end of a bit of rope? Any fecking barking animal should be kept tied up when around me or I'm liable to kick it if it gets too close. Hate dogs and couldn't give a crap how lovely and well behaved you think yours is, keep it on a lead when out in public.

I was thinking that Rhodesian Ridgeback was a typo from a Harry Potter book as well.

robinph wrote: »
    What has "PC gone mad" got to do with keeping big feck off scary dogs tied to the end of a bit of rope? Any fecking barking animal should be kept tied up when around me or I'm liable to kick it if it gets too close. Hate dogs and couldn't give a crap how lovely and well behaved you think yours is, keep it on a lead when out in public.

I was thinking that Rhodesian Ridgeback was a typo from a Harry Potter book as well.

I was just stating my opinion that in these recent years, every single thing now once you are in public is about rules and laws and all this crap. You can't do anything now but there is a shagging law against it. In a few years time, you won't be able to being your kids out without having them on a lead. I wish I lived in a country where people were more tolerant and not quoting chapter and verse of legislation when they see a dog off a lead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

You should hump the dogs leg and watch it walk away feeling violated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭padraig_f

it's nothing to do with political correctness. I run in the phoenix park (where people seem to think dog laws go out the window) and frequently have the same problem. watch a big dog running straight for you while barking aggressively and see how PC you think keeping them on a leash is then.

padraig_f wrote: »
    it's nothing to do with political correctness. I run in the phoenix park (where people seem to think dog laws go out the window) and frequently have the same problem. watch a big dog running straight for you while barking aggressively and see how PC you think keeping them on a leash is then.

Hasn't ever happened me. I do my walking somewhere really remote so I don't have the PC brigade annoying me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

You should be grateful, Milkymoo. In your run-up to the marathon, you will have built up such a phenomenal speed trying to escape the jaws of wild snarling devil-dogs, you will probably finish the marathon in less than five minutes. Just think of the glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

funny thing is that cyclists are the bane of my life when im out walking my dogs coming up a narrow footpath at ye when theres bike lanes on each side of the road and then think that you're going to step out of their way...gobsh*ites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭XxlauraxX

this is the rhodesian ridgeback
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhodesian_Ridgeback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Back in February 2007, for a whole month, I brought pellet guns cycling with me. Taught the dogs a lesson.

Now, it's easy to tell which dogs i shot, and which dogs are only newer than Feb 2007 as I cycle the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Hasn't ever happened me. I do my walking somewhere really remote so I don't have the PC brigade annoying me.

PC brigade annoy the hell out of me. There's this woman who walks in DCU park and insists on walking right through a group of dogs running around and playing, may I add that dogs are allowed off the lead during the last hour of the park being open. Anyway, she walks right through the group of dogs looking for an excuse to give a speech as to why all the dogs should be on leads and muzzled. She's so annoying and tends to mirror a lot of peoples reaction and opinon of my own dog, a Boxer.

Are you sure dogs are allowed off leads in the last hour? Never saw anything in the park rules about that, it actually says they should be kept on leads at all times.

On another note I avoid walking my dog down that end of the park because all those off lead dogs usually go running over to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Bambi wrote: »
    Are you sure dogs are allowed off leads in the last hour? Never saw anything in the park rules about that, it actually says they should be kept on leads at all times.

On another note I avoid walking my dog down that end of the park because all those off lead dogs usually go running over to him.

Yeah its grand, does be a group of dogs playing around at the last hour, its an unwritten rule as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

chin_grin wrote: »
    Aw, I was hoping to read some duuuuuuuurty bondage story......Added to my list of misleading thread titles.......hmph!

What about Tigger? If I read that correctly he brings off his dog with a lead strap on......that's pretty dirty.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Whoever it was that mentioned PC initially didn't know what pollitical correctness is. People complaining about dogs being off their leads has zero to do with that type of thing, it's just people complaining. If your dog was to feel personally insulted by something I say to it then the "PC gone mad" people may have something to talk about, as it is though we are just critisising the owners for being inconsiderate of others.
    Pyr0 wrote: »
    Yeah its grand, does be a group of dogs playing around at the last hour, its an unwritten rule as such.
    So it's not a rule at all then and you are just lucky to get away with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

I'm not sure if its the case in all areas, but in Galway at least all dogs are required to be kept leashed and curbed in public. And you have to clean it up if he leaves a jobby after him.

I'd go jogging in the wee hours of the morning, and you'd be amazed how many people were out with two or three dogs unleashed, of varying sizes - not that it matters, a small set of teeth will make a hole in your leg just as handy as a large set of teeth. I've even been threatened with violence by dog owners I took to task for having their animals come snapping at my heels.

In any case I've taken to reporting them at this stage, and I'm contemplating bringing along a camera to collect pictures of these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Tigger wrote: »

again "he's fine"

As someone who is terrified of most dogs, this really annoys me. The 'he's fine' attitude is grand if you're in your own back garden, but why should I have to suffer because you say 'he's fine'.

I usually keep my head down and keep walking, but I remember one day a dog started jumping on me, playfully I suppose. The owner thought it was great fun, and couldn't understand why I was so scared. I would never be rude enough to put someone in a position like that.

I'm terrified of cars, I cant believe that people drive their cars so close to me, they even have cars on the road when i go out at night, like omgz have they no consideration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

You can't do anything now but there is a shagging law against it. In a few years time, you won't be able to being your kids out without having them on a lead.

Would that really be such a bad law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Darragh, they are beautiful! Do you have any more pics?
    not that it matters, a small set of teeth will make a hole in your leg just as handy as a large set of teeth.
    This is very true, it bugs the hell out of me when people shout about keeping certain dogs on a lead and don't care about the smaller ones.

inforfun wrote: »
    Would that really be such a bad law?
    Kids on lead, great idea, little feckers here purposefully walk out in front of the cars as you are driving into the estate. Unfortunately, if you hit them, you will probably get into trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

I am not talking about small fluffy ones,I am talking about german sheperds and rotweillers among other huge monsters.

Why do you've a problem with the big dogs and not the small ones? Bit unfair I'd say.

My parents have a boxer who (I presume through bad breeding) has a very short nose and has a lot of difficulty breathing (she'll be going for an operation to help her soon). Anyway, she's a little bigger/more built than you're average boxer, and due to her breathing difficulties she tends to snort very loudly and constantly on walks. And despite the fact that she's very rarely off the lead people make such horrible comments about her. We had her up Joust Wood over the weekend and we were walking along with her on the lead and people would stop, and walk off the path to get around us and give out saying "that thing should be muzzled!" And yet there were little yappy dogs running around, chasing at peoples feet and noone said a thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Bring a box of matches with you, if a dog is coming toward you or already at you, take them out and shake the box. Dog's natural reaction is to back off/run away.

Nehaxak wrote: »
    Bring a box of matches with you, if a dog is coming toward you or already at you, take them out and shake the box. Dog's natural reaction is to back off/run away.

lol, who told you that then?

We had her up Joust Wood over the weekend and we were walking along with her on the lead and people would stop, and walk off the path to get around us and give out saying "that thing should be muzzled!" And yet there were little yappy dogs running around, chasing at peoples feet and noone said a thing!

boxers arent on the restricted breeds list so you can cheerfully tell them to fcuk off and mind their own business, I know I would :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

Im quite nervous of dogs and I hate when a dog comes up to me off a lead, no matter how lovely and friendly he is according to the owner.
    On your OP though , I feel people have gone far too PC now.

What now? Its nothing to do with PC. Its about being able to walk down the street without being frozen to the spot because some thoughtless person decides that, ah sure my dog is grand off the lead.
    People out walking dogs with them off a lead, once they are obedient, are not doing anyone any harm

Mmmm. Well I've seen dog owners with very different understandings of what obedience is, who gets to decide?
    Pyr0 wrote: »

You let a group of dogs run free because you've decided that it is an unwritten rule and yet for some reason you are surprised when people in the park give out about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

This is very true, it bugs the hell out of me when people shout about keeping certain dogs on a lead and don't care about the smaller ones.

Because it is easier to score a penalty kick with one of those little feckers than with a dog like in Darraghs link. (great looking dog btw)

The yorkshire terriers and the likes ... i just want to stamp them to pulp whenever they come yapping at my ankles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Sainttoff

I have to laugh, people go on about cleaning up after dogs, but when you mention they should clean up after their cats did something in your flower bed, its a big no no!

Roaming Cats are alot worst than dogs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

9.—(1) The owner or any other person in charge of a dog shall not permit the dog to be in any place other than—

[GA] ( a ) the premises of the owner, or

[GA] ( b ) the premises of such other person in charge of the dog, or

[GA] ( c ) the premises of any other person, with the consent of that person,

[GA] unless such owner or such other person in charge of the dog accompanies it and keeps it under effectual control

effectual control is not in place if the dog is scaring people

Sainttoff wrote: »
    Roaming Cats are alot worst than dogs!
    Cats don't chase people and bark at them for no reason.

I hate cats as well, but they are more scared of me so will run away first unlike dogs which will come after you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

On your OP though , I feel people have gone far too PC now. You can't do anything now but there is a law against it. People out walking dogs with them off a lead, once they are obedient, are not doing anyone any harm. Granted, dogs on the dangerous dogs list need to be muzzled and on a lead but I hate the way this place has gone so PC, you have to constantly watch your back in case you are offending someone now and I don't like living like that...
    People seriously need to learn what "political correctness"/"PC" means...
    It's become like a buzz phrase which people use to look clever.

I let the dog (she is a lurcher - greyhound/whippet type combination) off the leash in any of the parks I take her to, so she can go for a run. She wouldn't harm a fly though.