Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Nocturnal Highlight

• 12-10-2008 6:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone care to share their fondest memory in darkest dark?:D

Mine would have to be the night most of 5th year and Transition Year took over my local green. It was after a TY Play and was just a total spur of the moment thing. There was an absolutely huge number of people taking part in all kinds of drunken debauchery and all in good spirit too. The highlight of the night would have to be when the guards were called, there was so many of us that they didn't know which way to turn when everybody scattered into various directions. Good times.:D

Don't let this thread fall flat.:pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

This isn't one of mine, but it's the first one that came to mind, and sounds funny as hell.

A friend of mine was playing Marco Polo in a massive forest with a load of his friends in a forest one night. The guards must have seen their cars parked up nearby and thought they were doing drugs or something, which they were not. The guards pulled in, sounded the siren, started shouting into the forest for them all to come out. They were all hiding up trees and behing trees, trying to hold back the laughs. The cops wouldn't go into the forest though. Eventually, my friend walked out, and the guards started questioning him, asking who he was, where he was from, what he was doing there, all that jazz. He just said they were playing Marco Polo. The cops didnt believe him, so they searched him, and his car. They wanted to search everyone else there, but the cops wouldn't go into the forest, and there was nooone else coming out. So eventually they left, with my friend splitting his sides laughing.

As for shenanigans I'd get up to in "the darkest dark", I'm pretty sure I would get banned for posting such things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

The night the Magners / Bulmers lorry overturned just outside Abbeyleix and all the locals turned up and then had it away on their toes with the cargo. For months you couldn't get into garages and spare rooms for crates of cider. :) Of course I was not involved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Ha ha, brilliant guys!:D How much cider did you get away with Paperclip?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

LZ5by5 wrote: »

>_> he said he wasn't involved :) he's a good boy.

None of course! ;) (bearing in mind Boards.ie attitude towards disclosing any criminal activity!) :D
    Nerin wrote: »
    >_> He She said he she wasn't involved :)he she's a good boy girl.

Fixed that for ya Nerin!
    :cool::D

>_> he said he wasn't involved :) he's a good boy.

*takes the hint*:pac:
    Originally posted by paperclip2
    None of course! wink.gif (bearing in mind Boards.ie attitude towards disclosing any criminal activity!) biggrin.gif

How could I ever of doubted you!:pac:

:D:D A paragon of civic virtue, thats me!

*takes the hint*:pac:

good man ;) wait-paperclips a girl?! Crap. *turns on nerin charm* "system failure" crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

good man ;) wait-paperclips a girl?! Crap. *turns on nerin charm* "system failure" crap

LOL brilliant...

hmm nocturnal highlights... obviously some are not for the written word, or public display...

actually, about ... 2 and a bit years ago, I was in Australia, and we were camping near Uluru (Ayres Rock) and we were all in our swags n whatnot, it was freeeeeeeezing, and myself and one of the lads were looking at all the stars - honestly so many it was unreal. Then we both spotted a rubber duck shape in the stars! lol teehee... ducks..
    But the stars were awesome.

Meh, people are still mixing up my gender even when I've pointed it out to them before.:pac:
    Originally posted by star-pants
    actually, about ... 2 and a bit years ago, I was in Australia, and we were camping near Uluru (Ayres Rock) and we were all in our swags n whatnot, it was freeeeeeeezing, and myself and one of the lads were looking at all the stars - honestly so many it was unreal. Then we both spotted a rubber duck shape in the stars! lol teehee... ducks..

Wow, sounds magical and comical all at the same time.:D Rubber duck, hahahahahahahah:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

My highlight got all twisted and ruined by someone else. :rolleyes::pac:

Aw share please, if it's not illegal of course.:pac:

I would let you off with a hair ruffle and a "Go on you loveable rogue!" but in case thats interpreted as flirting I'll settle for a "Well Duh!"
    star-pants wrote: »
    LOL brilliant...

hmm nocturnal highlights... obviously some are not for the written word, or public display...

Tee Hee!...Ducks..rubber!

Seriously SP it sounds the Biz!

Meh, people are still mixing up my gender even when I've pointed it out to them before.:pac:

I know! *Sigh* Whats a girl to do?! (Sorry LZ I couldn't resist! Bad paperclip!)

paperclip2 wrote: »
    I would let you off with a hair ruffle and a "Go on you loveable rogue!" but in case thats interpreted as flirting I'll settle for a "Well Duh!"

Tee Hee!...Ducks..rubber!

Seriously SP it sounds the Biz!

I know! *Sigh* Whats a girl to do?! (Sorry LZ I couldn't resist! Bad paperclip!)

i lifted the flirting ban weeks ago :D yay,ruffles! :p

What?! :eek: Well no-one told me!!! *Fume, mutter mumble*;)

it was lifted because users seemed to get why it was implemented. And there was no chaos when it was lifted,so its still lifted. *pervs on everyone* the nocturnal mods have lovely bottoms. Sure don't all the nocturnals have lovely bottoms. :D

Do they? :confused: Hadn't noticed. However inspection commencing asap! :D

Fupping typical.:mad::P That's what I get for taking Buffy as inspiration for the second part of my username.:pac:

:D Ah I knew you could take it, yer a good sport.

Do they? :confused: Hadn't noticed. However inspection commencing asap! :D

yes,my co-mods are a sexy bunch.

Aren't you including yourself in that! :confused:

i've low self esteem when it comes to my sexiness,so i make up for it in my super powerful warriorness.

Wait,wtf,we're bringing this so off topic. *bans self* nocturnal highlight? Hmmm so many. I seem to remember LD50 jumping off a cattle mart roof after his hat while drunk :p

i've low self esteem when it comes to my sexiness,so i make up for it in my super powerful warriorness.

I would comfort you, but I don't want to step over any boundaries.:pac:
    Wait,wtf,we're bringing this so off topic. *bans self* nocturnal highlight? Hmmm so many. I seem to remember LD50 jumping off a cattle mart roof after his hat while drunk tongue.gif

How big we talking here?:D

I would comfort you, but I don't want to step over any boundaries.:pac:

How big we talking here?:D

a typical cattle mart :p i dunno. We used to climb up there as teenagers. Some girl threw his hat off,and he went flying after it. See,savage wildlands men are teh strongest.

Oh yeah you're real primal.:pac::P

>_> don't underestimate people that live surrounded by dinosaurs and monsters :p

*raises hand*

I'll have whatever he's having.:D:P Another nocturnal highlight for me would have been the same night as my previous post mentioned. One of my mates was on his knees begging(literally) some girl to go off with him in front of a mass crowd. It would have been sad had it been anyone else.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Hmmm either star gazing as a kid with my Dad up the mountains,
    or mosre recently with my fella out the back,

Or the games of hide and seek we used to play in the graveyard of our Primary schools church. Esp on foggy night. We used to terrify eachother. Fun times :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 BAsTid

Mines gotta be the parties I threw when i was 16-17, 30-40 people in my house all getting wasted, and having great fun! We even cooked cocktail sausages and the like... Ahhh thems were the days!

*paperclip swoons, falls over, bangs head* Owww!!
    Hmmm either star gazing as a kid with my Dad up the mountains,
    or mosre recently with my fella out the back,

Awww. Thats lovely:)

I used to love stargazing as a kid. I'd learn all the constellations and their orbits and where they would be at different times of the year. For years I had a giant star map of Orion over my bed. *Sigh* Now all I have over the bed is cobwebs!! :(
    Or the games of hide and seek we used to play in the graveyard of our Primary schools church. Esp on foggy night. We used to terrify eachother. Fun times :cool:

Random pointless terror, the true spice of childhood!

A funny memory I have is of being very small and my mothers younger brothers were visiting. Mam went apes**t when she went to bed and found that they had filled the bed with thistles, nettles, holly, basically whatever the little sods could find. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

A funny memory I have is of being very small and my mothers younger brothers were visiting. Mam went apes**t when she went to bed and found that they had filled the bed with thistles, nettles, holly, basically whatever the little sods could find. :D

I like it...he he he

*helps paperclip up* :D

Cheers. :D
    Crikey that floor's manky! :eek: Someone need to teach Lysander to use a litterbox!

Nocturnal highlight: Stranded in Donard, walking back to Dublin, kipping in a shed and being chased out of it by an irate farmer! True story. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

my favourite nocturnal times were from living back at 18, with one of my best mates, the kind that only come round once in a lifetime. we used to spend usually at least three nights a week sitting in in our dingy little sitting room, with our speakers and subwoofer, watching things like family guy, south park, the mighty boosh, withnail and i, and music dvds/tv. we'd talk, chat, philosophise, reminisce, joke, plan for futures that were never gonna happen, review everything we've experienced and what we've learned.

once a week, we'd do it with two mates, one of whom, no matter how much im distanced from her, will always hold such a special place in my heart, the four of us used to have such craic, banter, just such fun chillin together, being ourselves, loving life, figuring it out... best memories are in that sitting room, just chilling with the people i care about most. go to bed when the sun came up, and never a minute before hand.

Cheers. :D
    Crikey that floor's manky! :eek: Someone need to teach Lysander to use a litterbox!

Nocturnal highlight: Stranded in Donard, walking back to Dublin, kipping in a shed and being chased out of it by an irate farmer! True story. :D

why the hell would you do that. Donard. Yikes

Missed the one and only bus after a serious three day Halloween party up the side of a mountain. We were still drunk when the decision to walk back was made. Anyway by the time we hit the main road we were wrecked and decided to kip in an old cottage that was used as a shed. Round ten o clock farmer comes along, takes exception to our presence and issues eviction notice. It was a loooong cold walk back to Blessington. :( Can laugh about it now though. The party was pretty good too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Once of the nicest night-times I ever had was walking back home at around eleven at night from my uncle's house on the other side of my town, with my dad. It had just snowed (it was around Christmas time) and everywhere was frozen and sparkly and pretty...I'm sure I could put it more poetically than that but, meh, you get the idea!:pac:

And of course, walking home slightly sozzled with my best mate in dark, talking nonsense...but I'm sure everyone does that!

Acacia wrote: »
    Once of the nicest night-times I ever had was walking back home at around eleven at night from my uncle's house on the other side of my town, with my dad. It had just snowed (it was around Christmas time) and everywhere was frozen and sparkly and pretty...I'm sure I could put it more poetically than that but, meh, you get the idea!:pac:

And of course, walking home slightly sozzled with my best mate in dark, talking nonsense...but I'm sure everyone does that!

That sounds perfect and it's truly unique because I don't know how many snowy Christmas's we're going to get in the future.:pac:

And drunken walking with the best mate on a dark night is always the best once there is no drama.:D

That sounds perfect and it's truly unique because I don't know how many snowy Christmas's we're going to get in the future.:pac:

And drunken walking with the best mate on a dark night is always the best once there is no drama.:D

I know, christmas just plain sucks without snow! Snow at night-time is really beautiful, i think!

Thankfully,I've not had any bad experience walking home from a night out yet!:)

I know, christmas just plain sucks without snow! Snow at night-time is really beautiful, i think!

Thankfully,I've not had any bad experience walking home from a night out yet!:)

Gosh how I would have loved for my teenage years to go by without any drunken drama.:pac: I've seen ambulances and drunken wrestling, and my friends having what I like to refer to as "episodes".:pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Quite possibly the fondest memory i have involves me and my friends when i was around 12-13 adventuring around the local area at night. So we went down to the original city walls and St Audoens church grounds to see if we could find anything scary/interesting etc...well we happened to see the local banshee called The Green Lady, i kid you not. We watched for a few seconds, then scattered like rats from a sinking ship towards home, what a night :)

Gosh how I would have loved for my teenage years to go by without any drunken drama.:pac: I've seen ambulances and drunken wrestling, and my friends having what I like to refer to as "episodes".:pac::D

Jaysus, sounds like something out of eastenders! :pac::P

My night-time adventures seem rather pale in comparison now! :D

I'll have to engage in some drunken wrestling next time though it could all go horribly wrong...;)

Jaysus, sounds like something out of eastenders! :pac::P

My night-time adventures seem rather pale in comparison now! :D

I'll have to engage in some drunken wrestling next time though it could all go horribly wrong...;)

I'd strongly recommend against it. The last time I was involved I taunted my mate telling him he couldn't lift me up, he ends up picking me up and airspinning me into the ground/grass faces first.:pac: If it wasn't grass I would have been messed up.:o
    Originally posted by Master of Nothing
    Quite possibly the fondest memory i have involves me and my friends when i was around 12-13 adventuring around the local area at night. So we went down to the original city walls and St Audoens church grounds to see if we could find anything scary/interesting etc...well we happened to see the local banshee called The Green Lady, i kid you not. We watched for a few seconds, then scattered like rats from a sinking ship towards home, what a night smile.gif

Yes! I've been there man. Nothing like "scattering" into the dark night after an incident. The heart does be pumping like mad.

I'd strongly recommend against it. The last time I was involved I taunted my mate telling him he couldn't lift me up, he ends up picking me up and airspinning me into the ground/grass faces first.:pac: If it wasn't grass I would have been messed up.:o

:eek: That sounds painful, ya poor thing!

I'll stick to drunken pillow fighting, it's safer! :D

:eek: That sounds painful, ya poor thing!

I'll stick to drunken pillow fighting, it's safer! :D

*eyebrows raised*:D:pac:

God, the pillow fighting thing sounds really bad now that I've read it back! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Ah, drunken late night wrestling.

One of my favourite memories is of myself and another comedian being shit-faced in London. We had a gig that went great (competition thing that we both rocked the hell out of and resulted in us performing at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival that year, very big deal to us) and ended up back in a friend of mines place where we were staying. We were still pumped up from the gig so we sneakily helped ourselves to a bit of a half full bottle of Jack Daniels from the drinks cabinet, reasoning that we had brought over a bottle of jd to say thanks for letting us stay there so it was cool for us to have a wee drink since the house would still be ahead.

Three hours later we had finished the end of that bottle and drank half of the bottle we had brought over, essentially having drank the gift we brought over, and ended up having a wrestling match in the back garden while completely shitfaced and then we sat down and watched the sun come up while sharing a smoke.

Good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

orestes wrote: »
    Ah, drunken late night wrestling.

One of my favourite memories is of myself and another comedian being shit-faced in London. We had a gig that went great (competition thing that we both rocked the hell out of and resulted in us performing at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival that year, very big deal to us) and ended up back in a friend of mines place where we were staying. We were still pumped up from the gig so we sneakily helped ourselves to a bit of a half full bottle of Jack Daniels from the drinks cabinet, reasoning that we had brought over a bottle of jd to say thanks for letting us stay there so it was cool for us to have a wee drink since the house would still be ahead.

Three hours later we had finished the end of that bottle and drank half of the bottle we had brought over, essentially having drank the gift we brought over, and ended up having a wrestling match in the back garden while completely shitfaced and then we sat down and watched the sun come up while sharing a smoke.

Good times

Young love is such a beautiful thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Young love is such a beautiful thing.

:D That made me clicking into the thread worth it! :D