Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this workplace bullying?

• 09-10-2008 4:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭

Can someone please give me detailed legal advice on the following. I will be taking all advice as gospel, and will sue boards.ie of it turns out to be less than I would expect from paid legal counsel......

So, here's the scenario:

I'm worried that I could be busted for workplace bullying.

I was up the gold coast the other day with some punters from work, including a few of the junior members of the team I work on.

We were looking for something exciting to do. So, I suggested jetboating. Jetboating is like joyriding in a speedboat. I've done it a few times, and it's one of my favourite things to do.

So, we went for a lovely lunch, then drove down the coast towards the pier, where our boat and driver were waiting for us.

I was so excited. 45 mins of spinning and jumping on the waves in sunny Oz is a great way to spend an afternoon.

So, the young scally who was driving us starts the safety demo. It lasted 3 minutes, but felt like forever. "just hurry up, hippy, and let's get going" I thought to myself.

Then we locked outselves into our seats and ,with the eggy aroma of sulphur in the air, the engines roared up. We hopped into action. The driver horsed into the strong winds, bouncing on the waves, and doing 360 degree turns every couple of seconds. The adrenaline was flowing, and it was exhilarating.

So, we're about 30 minutes into the ride, and we were going full throttle. Everything was going well.

As we hit a particularly big wave, I felt a tinge of nausea. The guy beside me turned and said "Jesus, my stomach was in me mouth there, tallaght01".
    I just nodded, as I felt a taste of stomach acid in the back of my throat.

The scally driver kept going. Undeterred by the worsening weather, and rough seas.

Everyone was loving it, but my stomach was getting more unsettled.

Then he humped the boat into a 720 degree double turn.

Oh sweet mother of christ, my stomach.

There are screams from the other passengers. They're loving it.

I'm getting more and more nauseous.

We keep spinning and jumping. Spinning and jumping. faster and faster.

My stomach is churning at this point, but there's no sign of slowing down. One of the juniors on me team who's sitting behind me, grabs my shoulders and screams into my ears

"TALLAGHT01, THIS IS AMAZING. I'M SOOO GLAD YOU RECOMMENDED IT".

The shaking of my shoulders was too much for me. The waves of nausea rose up from my stomach. She's still grabbing me. She thinks this is the most fun ever.

She doesn't know the calamari and chips, followed by ben and jerry's ice cream, that I had for lunch, was desperately trying to escape the confines of my stomach.

"WOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOO" she screams.

"Oh no, don't shake me"

"DON'T BE SUCH A PUSSY, TALLAGHT01, WOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOO".

Oh jesus, here it goes. I tried to turn away so no-one got hit. But I couldn't help it. Just as the boat went into a spin....

I hurled.

Hurled like hell. The girl who was grabbing my shoulders got splattered right in the face with my discoloured horrible brown calamari and ice-cream vomitus.

It got right in her eyes and mouth.

Oh sweet jesus.

Then she starts to wretch. She doesn't vomit, but she sets off John beside her, who starts to wretch too.

The dude stops the boat. I look around at the destruction. It's not pretty. Claire is scraping my vomit off her teeth with an oily rag that she found on the floor.

It was a quiet drive home.

Like 2 men who sucked each other off after driniking too much, we just went our seperate ways without saying much.

Everyone knows about it. The next morning, when I was still only on my way to work, my pager went off. It just said "hahahahahahahahahahah. from all the pharmacy guys".

So, how can I build bridges here with my colleage. Is there any way back from vomiting in their mouth? Is this "workplace bullying"? How much will I have to pay her to settle out of court?

I'm sure I can't be the only one this has ever happened to. So, hit me with your "I vomited in my junior's mouth" stories......Make me feel less alone, guys :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Ohhhhh those bridges have been well and truely nuked, let alone burned. I don't believe there is anything you can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

The only way to make up for this is to let her puke in your mouth i'm afraid.

Careful though, it gets addictive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

OmG Funniest ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Absolutely, yes.

Anyone calling you "Tallaght01" should be publicly named and shamed. You should also be able to claim counselling costs from them, should you need to.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Your life is just a neverending disaster, isn't it? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Load of crap tbh.

Stop makin this shít up.

What do you take people for... total idiots??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Did she look like she enjoyed it? If so it may not be as big a problem as you imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Dord wrote: »
    Your life is just a neverending disaster, isn't it? :p

Man, it's beyond a joke at this stage.

I should never have pissed on a knacker's dog as a dare when I was a tenager. His ma actually cursed me. I never believed in that shoyte before I had to live the curse :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭suspectdevice

if shes an oz bird then i would say you have nothing to worry about, they do a lot worse than that just for laughs, some of the scruffiest you'll meet

Very true, my man.

Totally posh English bird, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Load of crap tbh.

Stop makin this shít up.

Yep. Come on, you just wanted to use the word crap didn't you:pac:
    EDIT: And the word sh1t.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Load of crap tbh.

Stop makin this shít up.

You're just jealous cause it was about vomit and not about sh*t.;)

Epic fail lads, epic fail.

No way I would be as long winded about a crap.

C'mon

C'mon

Dude, your almost 3 years on here has been one long winded post about crapping, in fairness :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

C'mon

Someone didnt have thier Weetabix this morning....

tallaght01 wrote: »
    Dude, your almost 3 years on here has been one long winded post about crapping, in fairness :P

Homesick are we;)

Sounds like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Id get her some of that fake rubber vomit.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Lmao, the only similar type thing that happened to me was at a theme park on one of those teacup rides with a disk in the middle. The more you turn it the faster it goes. We packed in and spun it like ****.

After a while everybody was feeling abit ill, I saw a friend and went to half heartedly went to point at them. Since we were spinning so fast I ended up punching the guy next to me who subsequently puked on the guy next to him with his new shiner. This started off a wave of people jumping off and puking. I was neither hit with puke not took part in the act, good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Lmao, the only similar type thing that happened to me was at a theme park on one of those teacup rides with a disk in the middle. The more you turn it the faster it goes. We packed in and spun it like ****.

After a while everybody was feeling abit ill, I saw a friend and went to half heartedly went to point at them. Since we were spinning so fast I ended up punching the guy next to me who subsequently puked on the guy next to him with his new shiner. This started off a wave of people jumping off and puking. I was neither hit with puke not took part in the act, good times.

You're a bad person.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

You didn't say that when I showed you into a beers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

You didn't say that when I showed you into a beers!

That's before I knew about this vomit incident. Scum! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

C'mon

See, now we know you didn't read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Should be moved to personal issues for the laugh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

C'mon

Well when yer full of talking shoite it's best not to be long winded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭MCMLXXXIII

OP-
    offer to kiss and make out with your junior (I assume you are male) and that way it's kind of like she is giving it back to you...
    ...and if more happens then she totally owes you for next time!

Either way - you win. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

You should desensitize your colleagues to this sort of thing. Once a day, vomit in their mouths and after a few weeks they'll carry on as if nothing happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

The only defence you need: It's not workplace bullying if it took place in a speedboat bouncing around on waves, is it?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

You should be able to make it up to them.....how did it turn out with the dude you sucked off after drinking too much? It'll probably end up like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

-1 tbh, pretty crap, longwinded, South Dublin made up story that's not even a little bit funny.

"Don't push me roysh"
    "like yaw whoo hoo"
    "roysh don't do it roysh"
    "wooo hooo"
    "Like roysh don't like roysh"
    "WHhHOPOOoo pooo hooo"
    "Roysh like totally rosyh"
    "WHOO HOOOO"
    "Rosyh so I puked in her face roysh and all the guys loike laughed and pinched my bum roysh"
    The end.

Nehaxak wrote: »
    -1 tbh, pretty crap, longwinded, South Dublin made up story that's not even a little bit funny.

"Don't push me roysh"
    "like yaw whoo hoo"
    "roysh don't do it roysh"
    "wooo hooo"
    "Like roysh don't like roysh"
    "WHhHOPOOoo pooo hooo"
    "Roysh like totally rosyh"
    "WHOO HOOOO"
    "Rosyh so I puked in her face roysh and all the guys loike laughed and pinched my bum roysh"
    The end.

I'm glad you posted that. I'll ballymun-up the next thread I start, for your benefit.

Also, you should post on every thread round here. Just tell all the posters what you think of their efforts. I promise no-one will bully you for being poor.

Because it's your opinion that we're all after. It's you we're trying to impress.

So, seeing as it's friday, ask your ma if you can stay up late. Then get working.

I think I speak for everyone when I say we can't wait to hear what you have to say. Don't hold back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

tl;dr. but possibly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

ye i can vouch that this happened. i still have the txt.

but ye, i was in funderland once and we were on one of the spinny yokes. they're them 2 seater yokes that inter-mingle with each other. whatever.

anyway, me mate i was sharin the seat with decided that he'd puke half way thru. i tried climbing out but the thing was going like 100 miles an hour. i remember the warmt of the sick on my ass as i slid back and forth over it. and the smell was making me gag too. it was all dark brown as if he'd been eating loadsa chocolate. it was nasty!

on a funnier note, my mate was at a carnival and puked over the side of some flying disc yoke and puked on me mate. i laughed coz it didnt happen to me. i think i deserved to be able to laugh back after my ordeal.

I'm glad you posted that. I'll ballymun-up the next thread I start, for your benefit.

Also, you should post on every thread round here. Just tell all the posters what you think of their efforts. I promise no-one will bully you for being poor.

Because it's your opinion that we're all after. It's you we're trying to impress.

So, seeing as it's friday, ask your ma if you can stay up late. Then get working.

I think I speak for everyone when I say we can't wait to hear what you have to say. Don't hold back.

News for ya buddy,you don't speak for everybody.

Let's be thankful for that.

Have a real good day now:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Good story... like whatever. Whether it's true or not, i enjoyed it. Better that listening to bantam discussing what comes out his arse.

lol reminds me of that Problem Child 2 as a kid.

What a fecking mess Tallaght! Maybe just go into the office or wherever tomorrow & slap your lad on the table. At least you'll get a reaction out of her rather then an awkward silence..... :p
    togster wrote: »
    Good story... like whatever. Whether it's true or not, i enjoyed it. Better that listening to bantam discussing what comes out his arse.

+ 1

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Id rather taste the ben and jerrys of your vomit than the calamari and chips of your vomit. (if i had the choice!) at least there were no carrots. :p

Don't bother, you've dire (bordering on completely uneducated) prose ability and your imagination lacks any substance outside of "roysh", "puke" and "vom".

I'm just puzzled as to why anyone would bother making up a stupid story like you did, in that manner, which is not funny at all and then post it on here for all to read. Admittedly it does seem like similar feeble minded southsiders actually posted to say they get some humour from it but that doesn't surprise me either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Don't bother, you've dire (bordering on completely uneducated) prose ability and your imagination lacks any substance outside of "roysh", "puke" and "vom".

Jaysus, possibly the most uneducated post of the year! (outside of the PI and Politics forums)
    wrote:
    I'm just puzzled as to why anyone would bother making up a stupid story like you did, in that manner, which is not funny at all and then post it on here for all to read. Admittedly it does seem like similar feeble minded southsiders actually posted to say they get some humour from it but that doesn't surprise me either.

I'm just puzzled as to why anyone would bother reading a story like you did, finding it stupid and making it a personal vendetta against the OP and try get everyone around to your way of thinking in the same thread, which is not funny at all and has failed miserabley. Admittedly it does seem like similar feeble minded people actually posted to say they didnt find it funny and lets beat up on the OP it but that doesn't surprise me either

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Am I the only one who's hungry after reading this thread?

I'm off to make some eggs.

faceman wrote: »
    Jaysus, possibly the most uneducated post of the year! (outside of the PI and Politics forums)

I'm just puzzled as to why anyone would bother reading a story like you did, finding it stupid and making it a personal vendetta against the OP and try get everyone around to your way of thinking in the same thread, which is not funny at all and has failed miserabley. Admittedly it does seem like similar feeble minded people actually posted to say they didnt find it funny and lets beat up on the OP it but that doesn't surprise me either

Last I heard this was a forum which encouraged people to pass comment,good or bad, on the posts posted here??
    Hadn't heard the new rule where you have to agree with every poster.

Another example of the "circlejerk" mentality with the same old suspects showing up.

Some people thought the OP's post was contrived,far fetched and boring as a wet Monday. Some people thought it was good. that's the way it's supposed to work isn't it.

Get over it and grow up

I think you and your little mate should take your own advice.

It's a light hearted, true post. My own brother has even posted to say he still has the text I sent him about it!

I always though you were normal. I mean a bit obsessed with your arse, but always good for a bit of buzz. I'd no idea you were mental enough to be so vindictive over a bit of banter.

You used to be cool, man. You've CHANGED :P

Also, the irony of that other knacker giving out about the uneducated prose :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I think you and your little mate should take your own advice.

It's a light hearted, true post. My own brother has even posted to say he still has the text I sent him about it!

I always though you were normal. I mean a bit obsessed with your arse, but always good for a bit of buzz. I'd no idea you were mental enough to be so vindictive over a bit of banter.

You used to be cool, man. You've CHANGED :P

Also, the irony of that other knacker giving out about the uneducated prose :P

What are you talking about? He was never cool!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

to be honest as she wiped the puke out of her mouth that was the perfect time to say.. "so i take it some buttsekz is out of the question?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Bit of bullying goin on in this thread.

Easy now folks, play nice.

I don't take kindly to being called a knacker or poor either. Unfounded personal abuse because you haven't the intellect to respond in a normal fashion. Guess it shows you up for what you really are then yeah...

You've no problem coming in to other peoples threads and abusing them for their points of view (or where they come from) yet when one person comes in and pulls you up over your "yarn" you get defensive and abusive as if the whole world is out to get you.

As for the actual knacker comment, the only irony here is that it was made by someone originally from Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

See, now we know you couldn't read it.

fixed that for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Ha ha! I love tallaght zero one threads.

Always good for a laugh.

I don't take kindly to being called a knacker or poor either. Unfounded personal abuse because you haven't the intellect to respond in a normal fashion. Guess it shows you up for what you really are then yeah...

Man, I've never seen a knacker exude such poverty of finance and intellect.......

You're doing well here, two abusive unintelligent posts in response, "yore ma" must be proud of what she raised...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Ha ha! I love tallaght zero one threads.

Always good for a laugh.
    Here here. Always good for a chuckle. Fcuk the begrudgers tallaght01!