Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Wrestling Co-operation

• 03-10-2008 8:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

Ok guys here's a good one for ya. Most of the irish wrestling
    companies, such as CpW, NwA/FFPW, NLW/AWR and PWU
    work together on a regular basis. Wrestlers, managers and the
    like working together to put on good shows or at the very
    least try. Promotors working together to co-promote shows.
    All of them working together to make wrestling in ireland better
    known. But yet IwW REFUSE point blank to even acknowledge
    them, let alone work with them. My topic is this(And lads there
    are many points with this so bare with me)

1) Why doesn't IwW work with the other promotions to make
    wrestling in ireland SPECTACULAR??? Is it the promotion itself
    and the promotor, Simon who just thinks he and IwW are better
    than anyone else??? Or is it the other companies who won't work
    with simon and crew???

2) If indeed IwW DID work with the other companies what
    would that mean for Irish wrestling as a whole???

3) If by some chance IwW folded and the other companies
    recieved new talent from the dead promotion, would or could
    the other promotions pool together to make a SUPER PROMOTION???
    Each company doing there own individual shows and then
    pooling together for massive shows with huge promotion???
    Would it work???

Let me knwo what ya's think guys:D:D:D

(Sorry for any mods watching. Thought this was too big for Irish
    wrestling sticky)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

I remember reading the exact same thing on UKFF about the British Scene 5 years ago. Long story short the posters where more rational than the promoters were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I doubt it. I know very little about Irish wrestling, mainly because it looks extremely poor but aren't IWW much bigger than the others and aren't all the other companies trying to become the number 1 promotion in Ireland and displace the IWW? Why on earth would IWW help it's competitors try to displace them at the head of the pack in a small market. It would be insanity. They are after all business first.

Also, I doubt any amount of pooling of talent could lead to a spectacular show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Ayden316

When it comes to the other promotions of course its in
    every promotors mind that he wants his company to be
    No.1. But the thing with all them is there not ALL
    out to crush IwW.(the only ones in a position to threaten
    IwW are NLW/AWR and at the moment there doing a
    fairly good job of it)

If simon rocheford wasn't the way he was then everyone
    could work together. Great friends would not become enemies.
    I've lost so many friends because of IwW it makes me sick.
    I lost my Best friend because of IwW. Personally i'd love to
    put HIM out of business. I have great respect for the GUYS
    in IwW. If simon wasn't around and the GUYS were running IwW
    things would be a lot different.

(Oh wait the guys ARE running IwW at the mo......Silly Me)

I don't think IwW loving or hating anyone would make any major difference. They're not THAT good/effective. I like IwW, but i don't think they are anywhere near as significant as you're making them out to be.

Do (any) wrestlers over here even get paid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Wasnt a few people banned a little while ago for Simon-bashing, which looked kinda like this?:
    Ayden316 wrote: »
    When it comes to the other promotions of course its in
    every promotors mind that he wants his company to be
    No.1. But the thing with all them is there not ALL
    out to crush IwW.(*1)(the only ones in a position to threaten
    IwW are NLW/AWR and at the moment there doing a
    fairly good job of it)

If simon rocheford wasn't the way he was then everyone
    could work together.(*2) Great friends would not become enemies.
    I've lost so many friends because of IwW it makes me sick.
    I lost my Best friend because of IwW. (*3)Personally i'd love to
    put HIM out of business. I have great respect for the GUYS
    in IwW. If simon wasn't around and the GUYS were running IwW
    things would be a lot different.

(Oh wait the guys ARE running IwW at the mo......Silly Me)(*4)

First off, welcome.

I am CBG, supposedly i am a nice guy but talk a loada shi.t.

Anyways..

Few things i wanna touch on that you said;

1. What do you mean, crush IwW?

2. What way do you think simon is that he wont let the other promotions play together with his talent?

3. Was he killed by IwW or something?! :eek: As in are they the new Ira or somfin?!

4. That kinda demolished your whole simon speech..

I don't think IwW loving or hating anyone would make any major difference. They're not THAT good/effective. I like IwW, but i don't think they are anywhere near as significant as you're making them out to be.

Do (any) wrestlers over here even get paid?

Going by a rte special on IwW, Madman manson is claimed to be the only one who makes money through it.

But i think thats just cos he drives the van that has the ring in it.

(Cue IwWs van ribbing)

1. What do you mean, crush IwW?

2. What way do you think simon is that he wont let the other promotions play together with his talent?

3. Was he killed by IwW or something?! :eek: As in are they the new Ira or somfin?!

4. That kinda demolished your whole simon speech..

Hi CBG. Ok let me cover yor points

1) Maybe that word was a bit harsh. All i meant was that Simon and co truly believe all the other promotions are out to get him. And he believes there all trying to put him out of business. In actuallity I know for FACT that Cpw and Nwa could care less what IwW did. Both promotions are no threat to IwW and IwW are not threat to them. They both do there own thing and try to bring a product that is unique by working together.

2) Well simon really does believe he is the vince mcmahon of irish wrestling. That IwW is superior(Getting 20-30 at a show is not superior) and ALL the other promotions are inferior and full of IwW rejects. 90%(guesstimation) of as simon calls them IwW rejects aren't actually rejects. There guys who wised up to what simon was(the devil himself) and left. And i should know, I'M ONE OF THEM.

3) There was a lie fed to my friend about my departure and my "FRIEND" believed it. It was complete [EMAIL="CR@P"]CR@P[/EMAIL] but it was believed. I still have friends in IwW and respect each and every one of them but me and him don't speak much anymore which is sad. Everyone should just be aloud work together and not have rumors spread about them.

4) By that i meant the GUYS are actually running shows while said promotor is changing nappies.

Oh and any mods watching NO MORE SIMON TALK.
    My apologies

I'm awaiting a FLANANATOR about now

Thats cool, thanks for clearing your points up. :)

But the thing i dont get is, (oh btw, i joined the gym a little while back and was going regularly and then had to pull out due to other commitments.)
    Why dont the wrestlers of IwW just get up and leave, like i know IwW have a lot of ties to promotions in europe, and mabe this is one of the factors to why they probably like it there so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Jimmy McMurtry

Just Ayden do you really want to see Irish wrestling co operate or do you not like Iww/Simon?Just by that I mean a quick look through your posts,when your not promoting CPW shows your bashing Iww,

With that in mind your comments lose alot of credibility, how do you know for a fact that Simon worries about other promotions?that their attendance is low?that Simon thinks he is Vince McMahon?you go on like Iww is closing down but since the terrible June weekend havent they had at least 20 odd shows?Has CPW run that much?

I dont mean to be having a go just when I read this I thought it was a genuine discussion by a fan but it just seems a vendetta.

In the interest of discussion though the only way I see anything helping Irish wrestling is if some place got TV on a good TV station with wrestlers looking the part not just by every promotion working together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Ayden, you are coming across as really objective here. I'm super serial. If Simon was really as terrible as you make out then how on Earth did he get IWW to the top while only paying one wrestler? Sounds like a god damn genius.

You clearly run another, almost certainly, far more unsuccesful promotion so I can't help but think that you are so bitter because he is somewhat succesful (although none of the companies appear to be that succesful) and you aren't. It's kind of sad really. You could probably learn something from him.

Also, you could learn something from AWR_Office, who, you have probably guessed, is another member of this board representing a promotion. He doesn't bitch about others. Instead he's honest, keeps everybody informed about his event, answers any questions people have about his product and is very very polite. He also makes his affiliations very very clear.

BTW, KKV, if you are reffering to the around the horn that was cancelled you have quite simply the best sig I have ever seen. It's hilarious

Bubs101 wrote: »
    BTW, KKV, if you are reffering to the around the horn that was cancelled you have quite simply the best sig I have ever seen. It's hilarious

:pac: +1

Ayden, you are coming across as really objective here. I'm super serial. If Simon was really as terrible as you make out then how on Earth did he get IWW to the top while only paying one wrestler? Sounds like a god damn genius.

You clearly run another, almost certainly, far more unsuccesful promotion so I can't help but think that you are so bitter because he is somewhat succesful (although none of the companies appear to be that succesful) and you aren't. It's kind of sad really. You could probably learn something from him.

Also, you could learn something from AWR_Office, who, you have probably guessed, is another member of this board representing a promotion. He doesn't bitch about others. Instead he's honest, keeps everybody informed about his event, answers any questions people have about his product and is very very polite. He also makes his affiliations very very clear.

Thanks for the reply bubs. this the type of discussion i like. Well for 1 i dont run a promotion and in fact i'm not in any promotion at the moment. I've helped out in both NwA and CpW but am no longer a part of any promotion. I realise i have gone completely off my own topic so let me clear some things up before we get back on and bubs if you could post aboout my original topic that would be great.

It seems i have it out for IwW. I dont. I dont like simon but we wont talk about that anymore,TRYING TO BACK ON MY OWN TOPIC. IwW gave me a shot to be in a profession i've always wanted to be in but because of things happening which i wont go into i left bitter. I would love nothing more than to be able to see the likes of Manson, Vinny, Viper ETC. having matches with the likes of morrow, maxer, insano, south, joey cabray just to name a few but because of difficulties(once again i wont go into detail) this cant happen. I'm not gonna bash simon anymore cause i'm obviously not allowed to(Not saying about you guys just dont want to be banned)
    I'm not jealous of the mans success. I say fair play for putting irish wrestling on the map. I want the guys in IwW to succed and grow and make irish wrestling something special. but can you tell me bubs WHY so many ppl leave IwW every year???

Thats the last of the bashing.Sorry guys. Now i'll get us back on topic.

KKV- I do know that some guys in the other promotions get paid. Couldn't tell you how much but i know some get paid.

CBG- I know guys in IwW and they stay for bookings and the TV thing. But who out there could say they WOULDNT like to see IwW guys being allowed to wrestle in other promotions in ireland. I think it could be only beneficial to irish wrestling in general.

Winner by default = Still a winner! :)

a quick look through your posts,when your not promoting CPW shows your bashing Iww

Oh.. meh.. This thread loses its appeal now. There's no real money in Irish wrestling, because every single damn one of the promotions here are just wannabe american indy promotions. Its like some of them flicked through some autobiographies and thought "well that's how they became a success! worked for them, i'll do the same".

A lot of attitudes in the irish wrestling "scene" really need adjusting. But i wont go into detail for fear of hurting feelings. I'm a nice guy :pac:

I'm certain anyone who has taken an unbiased, straightforward approach to irish rassling (particularly if anyone has trained with any of the promotions or looked at how they do things outside the ring).

I will admit, IwW seem to think they are much bigger than they are. As i said, I like IwW, but they have nothing on AWR. I haven't even been to an AWR show, but they're already better. AWR_OFFICE communicates in a mature, respectable manner with people on here. They have ads in the papers, on the radio, big signs in dublin i believe, too. They're advertising like a very successful circus, if you know what i mean?

You know they're coming. They just have a professional feel and look about them. They could be crippled with debt and falling apart, but you'd never tell it from going by their reputation. Their halloween revenge tour is loaded with a roster of special guest stars that people are actually questioning the legitimacy of it. Even when they had tickets sold after bret was announced, they still piled more names in to the mix.

AWR_OFFICE could be the most bitter prick on the planet, but he sure as hell gives the vision that they ARE doing these shows for the people who buy a ticket. That they ARE putting on a show for wrestling fans. They don't make it look like they're trying to pry a few €€ out of your pocket.

IwW float into town, rely on a few regulars to spread the word (its always the same crowd at the shows) and even when they have a decent name with them (Kash, for example) you wouldn't even know it until you heard it the following day.

Your right. NLW/AWR are the future of irish wrestling. I've got my
    ticket for tallaght. I cant rememeber when i've wanted to go to a
    wrestling show more. IwW used to do that for me but not anymore.
    I've just read an interview with joey cabray and he explains with NLW he
    didnt want just another promotion. He wanted something where the
    top guys from the other promotions could wrestle and be recognised
    for there wrestling ability.

What i've suggested is really this. If IwW guys were able to work say
    a joint NLW/AWR show would that not be incredible.

Having some of the most recognised wrestlers in the world wrestling
    the top guys from ALL the irish promotions in sell out venues all over
    ireland. I suppose i should really put it to AWR_OFFICE.
    Would you not go for an idea like that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

I really don't know where to start with this. Please note this is from what I saw and read about on forums related to Irish Wrestling over the last four years or so...

Back around 2004 or so there was pretty much 2 promotions in the Republic, one being IWW, and the other being NWA-Ireland. Both were around for a couple of years ago. NWA-Ireland had been running their shows around Bray, Newbridge, Kildare Town to name a few. IWW were on hiatus and hadn't been heard for about a year or so after the big show they did in the basketball arena.

IWW made a big comeback in 2004, and it was seen as a competition between both promotions at the time. Which is or isn't a good thing depending on how you see it. Personally two small promotions in the country working against each other is silly in my view as it's only gonna hinder both promotions in the long run. From posts on various forums around that time, workers from BOTH promotions were responsible for slagging/putting down the opposition. Basically because at the time, when there was only two promotions, if you had a fallout with one, you ended up in the other. So that's been there for quite a while now.

Enter UCW and CPW, UCW had been around for a bit at the time as well, while CPW set themselves up in 2005, I believe. To my knowledge NWA-Ireland has had working relationships with both promotions. IWW for reasons best known to themselves, to my knowledge hasn't.

Enter The Wrestling Channel. IWW and TWC established a working relationship together and before you know it, IWW are getting bigger venues such as the SFX in Dublin, the Forum in Waterford to name two, they're getting away from the GAA clubs that their opposition would be performing in. They're bringing in international talent. Regardless of what you think or thought of IWW at the time, to have AJ Styles, Chris Daniels and Chris Sabin on the first big show that you put up on in three years after a hiatus, and televised later is a big deal and I personally will give IWW credit in the world for it.

NWA on the other hand went a different route. They stuck with what they knew, they stayed with the venues which they would get their crowds, they focused on pure wrestling with their talent, using guys like Paddy Morrow, Maxer, etc, while IWW began to rely more on gimmick wrestlers and international talent to put the asses in the seats. Which didn't start off too bad but when you get guys like Harry Hardshaw later on down the track, and standing in a gym with about 50-60 other people saying to yourself "why the hell should i give a crap about this guy?"

Forward on a while later, and word gets out that there won't be a series 3 of Whiplash TV, it appears that working relations with TWC have ended on IWW's part, some of the bigger venues have vanished, IWW aren't doing the Laughter Lounge anymore and aren't visiting the Forum as much as they used to. While IWW remain one of the longest companies at the moment, they appear to find themselves stuck in a rut, between talent slipping, the gym closing down, stupid f*ckups like their TV shows not going off as advertised and the ring not arriving to a televised show. It's almost like a fall from grace for IWW

NWA Ireland/FFPW in my honest don't get enough credit where it's due. They've been going quite a long time as well, and still have a very similar roster to what they had then. They still have a lot of talent that are still loyal to their organisation and are putting on stellar matches, and on top of it, very seldom rely on international talent to get their shows filled. You won't find giant posters on buses with their shows advertised, you won't find many DVD's of theirs, you won't see em on television often. But they're still going, so they have to be doing something right. That something most likely being that they're putting on matches that people want to see.

I actually haven't been to a CPW/NLW show yet so I can't comment. But getting back to the point, IWW, to my knowledge are the only promotion that haven't worked with another promotion in the country. They've worked over in the UK and have brought UK talent over here. Sadly a lot of the kids that attend their shows don't know or give a crap who B-Man, G-Dude (or whatever their damn names were at that second SFX show), or Bubblegum are. If IWW were to work say with FFPW, and had a match like Red Vinny vs Paddy Morrow booked, would you go? Course you would, in a shot. And why?

Basically if you're providing any type of entertainment, who's gonna make the right decision for you 9/10. Someone who runs the place because they've watched and lived and breathed and slept their industry. Or the person buying into the your product? It'll be the consumer. Give the people what they want, they'll come back for more. But keep putting out the same dross month in and month out and you'll stop generating interest. You stop generating interest, you'll stop generating revenue.

It's that simple.

AWR_OFFICE could be the most bitter prick on the planet, but he sure as hell gives the vision that they ARE doing these shows for the people who buy a ticket. That they ARE putting on a show for wrestling fans. They don't make it look like they're trying to pry a few €€ out of your pocket.

Thats what i like about them, even when i made that smart assed post about bret charging loads, AWR_Dude still came on cleared everything up.

Im sure he didnt have to go into detail about expenses and agents and all that. but he did, and that was cool.

Some other promotions would just say that they didnt know and just to bring cash. :confused:
    IwW float into town, rely on a few regulars to spread the word (its always the same crowd at the shows) and even when they have a decent name with them (Kash, for example) you wouldn't even know it until you heard it the following day.

In all fairness to IwW, they dont have a huge budget. Whenever they do get some big enough names, its usually last minute because of ticket sales or whatever.

Maybe IWW Info should come on to contribute?
    We could have an irish wrestling promotion debate. And then of course, ham an egger can come on with his 'authoritive tone'. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

On topic, I always felt that Ireland is far to small a place for so many competing promotions. It is a damn shame that personalities get in the way of the greater good, but its not surprising in the slightest, as the same type of politics is going on everywhere. FFS, there seemed to be a promotion in every neighbourhood in the UK up to recently (maybe still is, I don't pay attention as much as i used to).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I'm not going to get into much detail, but a lot of the 'facts' purported in this thread are horribly misinformed and, in some cases, the misinformation is damn insensitive. I've been involved with IwW for nigh on five years now and would've seen most people come and go, but I've no idea who this guy could be. It's a shame that he holds such a grudge with Irish Whip.

To be honest, constructive criticism is always a plus but it's unfair and (in my opinion) extremely immature to take shots at people who you know can't/won't respond, especially when you're insinuating that you're on the inside track and spreading half-truths and lies.

leggo wrote: »
    I'm not going to get into much detail, but a lot of the 'facts' purported in this thread are horribly misinformed and, in some cases, the misinformation is damn insensitive. I've been involved with IwW for nigh on five years now and would've seen most people come and go, but I've no idea who this guy could be. It's a shame that he holds such a grudge with Irish Whip.

To be honest, constructive criticism is always a plus but it's unfair and (in my opinion) extremely immature to take shots at people who you know can't/won't respond, especially when you're insinuating that you're on the inside track and spreading half-truths and lies.

Dear leggo,
    I've already said i wouldn't say anymore about the promotor and i mean it. I have ABSOLUTELY NO GRUDGE AGAINST IWW. I have a problem with said promotor and once again i'm saying no more about him. In this entire topic i've not said 1 thing that was untrue. Prove me wrong. If ya want an apology well "I'M SORRY".......happy. I have the utmost respect for you and most of the IwW roster that i know and that know me. I really and truly wish things had not happened the way things did(NO I WILL NOT ELABORATE) but i said sorry about the comments i made so can we move on to THE TOPIC AT HAND

So leggo care to comment on the topic itself. Do you believe IwW could work with the other promotions or at the very least allow its talent to work matches in the likes of NwA/NLW/CpW Etc.
    Would you yourself not like to work in other promotions in ireland???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭the flananator

I'm awaiting a FLANANATOR about now

Turnaround, every now and then I get a
    little bit lonely and you're never coming
    round
    Turnaround, Every now and then I get a
    little bit tired of listening to the sound of
    my tears
    little bit nervous that the best of all the
    years have gone by
    little bit terrified and then I see the look in
    your eyes
    Turnaround bright eyes, Every now and
    then I fall apart
    little bit restless and I dream of
    something wild
    little bit helpless and I'm lying like a child
    in your arms
    little bit angry and I know I've got to get
    out and cry
    little bit terrified but then I see the look in
    you eyes
    then I fall apart
    And I need you now tonight
    And I need you more than ever
    And if you'll only hold me tight
    We'll be holding on forever
    And we'll only be making it right
    Cause we'll never be wrong together
    We can take it to the end of the line
    Your love is like a shadow on me all of the time
    I don't know what to do and I'm always in the dark
    We're living in a powder keg and giving off sparks
    I really need you tonight
    Forever's gonna start tonight
    Once upon a time I was falling in love
    But now I'm only falling apart
    There's nothing I can do
    A total eclipse of the heart
    Once upon a time there was light in my life
    But now there's only love in the dark
    Nothing I can say
    A total eclipse of the heart

:o That was beautiful man. You have a wonderful font :pac:

That brought a tear to my eye

To paraphrase Paul Heyman:
    "I cried, Ayden316 cried, Comic Book Guy Cried, even leggo... could be seen OPENLY WEEPING!" :D:D:D

ShawnRaven wrote: »
    To paraphrase Paul Heyman:
    "I cried, Ayden316 cried, Comic Book Guy Cried, even leggo... could be seen OPENLY WEEPING!" :D:D:D

lol

Somewhere Simon Rocheford is sitting in a darkened room thinking about all the people he's alienated over the years, and he's singing that song to himself.

Once upon a time I was falling in love, now I'm only falling apart....A total eclipse of the heart.

Nothing he can do either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

IwW did do an inter-promotional feud with NWA Ireland before. I remember seeing Vic Viper Vs Paddy Morrow in Bray which is probably the best all Irish match I've seen live. I also seem to remember Fergal Devitt appearing on Whiplash TV. That did however end badly and produced a few incidents like the Dave Zero one.

I think that Simon views Ireland as his territory and anyone else there is just in his way. I don't blame him on that. If I was promoting I would be looking to set myself up as the only show in town as well, but probably have a bit more diplomacy about it and book rival wrestlers and let mine wrestle for them if the money is good.

I think he has a grudging respect for NWA. He doesn't like CPW because he doesn't like Blake Norton and that was the product of Blake Norton and a bunch of IwW defectors. Blake has nothing to do with it now but I reckon the anti-CPW sentiment lingers. UCW at the time didn't have the best of reputations. They wrestled in a kick boxing ring and the standard wasn't that great, although some of those same guys are pretty damn good these days. And NLW, well they are a direct competitor.

I found IwW to be a horrendous and needlessly political enviroment, but I can see their reasoning for not working with others much.

Maybe its time for a new irish promotion?

I know, stupid idea :(

Maybe its time for a new irish promotion?

As far as IwW, CPW, etc. should be concerned...

awriswar.jpg

(admit it, thats clever!)

awriswar.jpg

And that came from a man who does not have any sort of copy of photoshop!

Very nice KKV. :)

Hope AWR_Office sees this...

I more hope they see the fact that IWW threw on a show in Clondalkin on the same date as the AWR show in Tallaght, October 26th.

A silly move in my honest opinion as neither stand to gain from that, in fact, IWW have a pretty good chance of losing attendance as a result throwing on a show on the same day as a highly advertised supercard? That's not a gamble, that's not even risky, that's just plain daft!

Do promoters seriously believe that this is 1987 all over again with the "territorial boundries" mentality?

Bet the IwW roster are really pissed off. All that money wasted on AWR tickets. poor bastards.

:P nice.

This is a major problem I have with IWW and Irish wrestling. Why are they going head to head with a far superior card, and why pay money for 2 fly ins who will draw precisely nothing? Seems like a waste of money to me, and given the lack of crowd that will be there, will make them look very amatuer as well.

I agree. IwW are just hurting everyone (including themselves) by pulling this. There's no way they can compete with AWR anyway. AWR have been advertising everywhere and people are very aware that Bret Hart and many other ex-WWE grapplers are gonna be appearing. I think IwW are gonna lose money for this one to be honest. i dont know why anyone would go to IwW as opposed to AWR (unless of course, they planned to go to a different AWR date in the first place)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 notazero

I agree. IwW are just hurting everyone (including themselves) by pulling this. There's no way they can compete with AWR anyway. AWR have been advertising everywhere and people are very aware that Bret Hart and many other ex-WWE grapplers are gonna be appearing. I think IwW are gonna lose money for this one to be honest. i dont know why anyone would go to IwW as opposed to AWR (unless of course, they planned to go to a different AWR date in the first place)

They are both benefiting from brand confusion and undercutting AWR. Either they are hurting AWR. Not only that but they are running in the area pretty much already (Neilstown.) It is a free market but few people win with such throat cutting exercises, it is what ruined British wrestling.

I don't know if you're agreeing or disagreeing with me, Rovert.

But the only people i can imagine going to IwW as opposed to AWR are:

1) Hardcore IwW fans (that will probably feel like they have to go)

2) Parents who are just going to 'da rasslin'' and got the shows mixed up

3) A miserable IwW roster

I don't know if you're agreeing or disagreeing with me, Rovert.

But the only people i can imagine going to IwW as opposed to AWR are:

1) Hardcore IwW fans (that will probably feel like they have to go)

2) Parents who are just going to 'da rasslin'' and got the shows mixed up

3) A miserable IwW roster

Agreeing and expanding on your points.

Your second point is the same as my brand confusion line.

rovert wrote: »
    Agreeing and expanding on your points.

Your second point is the same as my brand confusion line.

Ah right. When you said they are benefitting from brand confusion, i thought you were disagreeing, as i don't see how either AWR or IwW benefit from IwW's decision to have a show on.

Unless im taking what you meant out of context and you didnt mean it the way i read it? :confused::o

Ah right. When you said they are benefitting from brand confusion, i thought you were disagreeing, as i don't see how either AWR or IwW benefit from IwW's decision to have a show on.

Unless im taking what you meant out of context and you didnt mean it the way i read it? :confused::o

You are confusing me and by the looks of it yourself here. Forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

I am going to the AWR show on the 26th and would have gone to the IWW show if it had been the following week or something, was considering going to the Ballyfermot IWW show, but think I will skip it.

Going back to the original discussion about IwW wrestlers not competing in other irish promotions, anyone know why they are allowed represent IwW in the UK?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57564840&postcount=831

International exposure for the promotion and talent exchanges for bigger IWW shows one would think.

Without it, IWW probs wouldn't be allowed to borrow another UK promotions tag belts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭AWR_OFFICE

Due to a serious neck injury Joey Mercury has had to pull out of the upcoming American Wrestling Rampage Halloween Revenge Tour. Mercury has since announced his retirement from wrestling.
    AWR is happy to announce that Rene Dupree will replace Mercury on all coming dates.

Rene Dupree is the youngest EVER WWE Tag Team Champion as part of La Resistance, He has wrestled and beaten the likes of RVD, John Cena, Kane & many more during his WWE tenure

To clear confusion Rene Dupree will Be with AWR from the 24th of Oct till Nov 12th. He will not be appearing for any other promotion in Ireland between the mentioned dates

Oooff, take that IWW!

I was enjoying Mercurys run in The Age Of The Fall. Shame.

Major kick in the stones to IWW from Dupree though. He pulled out of the June tour, and now this. Nice guy :p

gimmick wrote: »
    I was enjoying Mercurys run in The Age Of The Fall. Shame.

That run ran out a long time ago.
    gimmick wrote: »
    Major kick in the stones to IWW from Dupree though. He pulled out of the June tour, and now this. Nice guy :p

Even doing the French Tickler Dupree cant be in two places at once.

^ I am a good 6 months behind with ROH at the moment, and he was on he last show I watched (Double Feature I think).

Did he leave the company around then or what?