Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster team to christen the new Thomond

• 03-10-2008 2:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭

Munster: K Earls; D Howlett, B Murphy, R Tipoki, A Horgan, R O'Gara, P Stringer; M Horan, F Sheahan, J Hayes; P O'Connell capt, D O'Callaghan, A Quinlan, J Melck, D Wallace.

Replacements: D Fogarty, T Buckley, M O'Driscoll, N Ronan, M Prendergast, P Warwick, K Lewis.

Wow Munster have named a surprisingly strong side! They have started the players I assumed would be on the bench to come on if needed.

Hot on the trail of the stirring performance away to Leinster, and a 1st game in a sold out, new Stadium, with passion running very high, I really fear for Glasgow here. Munster -14 with Skybet.

That's just savage, and Horgan apparently played a blinder against Leinster A in last week comprehensive victory, and is in the form of his life.

Both Munster and Leinster have such strength in Depth this season, its very noticeable, and is going to make it tough for the rest of the ML.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Jesus that's a strong team!! Very surprised by this.
    Would have thought it would be 2nd string with O Gara, O Connell, Wallace coming on , just goes to show that Munster are taking the League seriously.
    I can see the coaches point though they should be well knitted together for Montauban.
    Looking forward to seeing Earls in the flesh. Good to see B Murphy getting his chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Inquitus wrote: »
    Hot on the trail of the stirring performance away to Leinster, and a 1st game in a sold out, new Stadium,

Sold out yes but not full capacity,
    According to the Munster website they only allocated just under 20,000 tickets to be sold.

Still that's a lot of people for a Magners League game, but the record is still held by Leinster when 48,000+ showed up for the last Magners game in Landsdowne Road before the builders moved in........not that I care {cough}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

never expected munster's all stars to be rested. the 1st game in the new thomond park? would you sit on the bench?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

Should be a good night, looking forward to the game............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

me too. bring the poncho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Suppose its Setanta again if you want to watch it on TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

bleg wrote: »
    never expected munster's all stars to be rested. the 1st game in the new thomond park? would you sit on the bench?
    Yeah to be honest, even if it was a pittance game i'm sure the boys would want to be out in force. Good work on resting a few at least :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Sold out yes but not full capacity,
    According to the Munster website they only allocated just under 20,000 tickets to be sold.

Still that's a lot of people for a Magners League game, but the record is still held by Leinster when 48,000+ showed up for the last Magners game in Landsdowne Road before the builders moved in........not that I care {cough}

Sounds like you do care! Ah well when you get 60000 at an away game (HCF) you can cough.

DarkJager wrote: »
    Suppose its Setanta again if you want to watch it on TV?

You can watch it here when the match Starts, ignore whats on the web-player now but the match will start at 7:00 tonight.

http://www.justin.tv/nern3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

You can watch it here when the match Starts, ignore whats on the web-player now but the match will start at 7:00 tonight.

Justin is the man whoever he is! What I would give to be in Limerick right now supping up before heading to HQ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭elainee

nice one thats class thanks!!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭JWAD

I watched two of the State of Origin games in work on that website!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 stephen_b

anyone else not getting a signal from setanta?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

I'm getting Program Not Available ... I was ringing the f*ckers and their line is down as well

Oh herself has shouted it's back..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 stephen_b

yeah its back up,sweet.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Very considerate of Glasgow to bring a house warming gift. :pac:

stephen_b wrote: »
    yeah its back up,sweet.

but its still on RTE ONE , nooooooo............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Shower of useless f-ckin half witted dumb b-stards it's gone again !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

My brother who lives in Teddington says his coverage is fine.

First try in new Thomond scored by Peter Stringer from a dreadful Glasgow lineout :D

I'm with Chorus/NTL and I have coverage on channel 401 (Setanta Ireland) but not 409 (Setanta Sports 2) :confused:

:rolleyes:whats the score??

elainee wrote: »

Munster 10 Glasgow 6 (33 mins played)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

10 - 6 to Munster

thanks cant get it anywhere is it on the radio???

Here: http://www1.live95fm.ie/95fm.asx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Great try

Munster: 18 (2 tries, Stringer/Murphy)
    Glasgow: 3

http://www.magnersleague.com/live

18-12

Least Howlett is scoring these days and not being used solely as a defensive player :p

Try!!

25-17 with about 2 mins left

Man of the match performance from Keith Earls. An Ireland cap surely beckons in the Autumn.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Least Howlett is scoring these days and not being used solely as a defensive player :p

You cheeky monkey :p

marco_polo wrote: »
    You cheeky monkey :p

Well we might be able to count his tally of tries using two hands this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

marco_polo wrote: »
    Man of the match performance from Keith Earls. An Ireland cap surely beckons in the Autumn.

Thought ROG was man of the match tbh.

Top of Magners League Table:

1. Munster
    2. Ospreys
    3. Scarlets
    4. Leinster
    5. Cardiff Blues
    6. Glasgow Warriors

But Leinster have a game in-hand against Connacth tomorrow night.

Latest info: http://www.magnersleague.com/live

Jackz wrote: »
    Thought ROG was man of the match tbh.

I didn't pick it I swear. :) True though ROG had a great game today and had strong claims for MOTM as well, but Earls rans some great lines tonight and made Dougies try. ROG is in a rich vein of form at the moment and it bodes well for the upcoming HEC and International fixtures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

Fantastic Game, Well Done Munster........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Haven't seen the match but I wouldn't classify 25-17 at home to glasgow in the new stadium as a good result. Obviously not bad but not good.

To be honest Munster were poor. Gifted a try in the early minutes thanks to glaswegian stupidity, it took until the last 10-15 to actually make it up again. Sheehan the anti-flannery, good in the scrum and lineout but poor in the loose, only players who can raise their hands for an above par performance would be, to me, earls who was involved in every backline move that came in the game and howlett who put in some hammering tackles. O'Gara's kicking game was good, but dont think he warrants a man of the match out of it.

To be honest, I think we'll see earls getting into the training squad definitely in the AI's, into the match day 22 possible against canada or the argies. He looks fit, and as i said previously is absolutely wasted at full back. Give him time in a position that suits him, rather than one where he has to deal with high balls that he's still not fully comfy under. Thats when you'll see him shine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Yeah, to be honest I thought Munster were let off the hook somewhat tonight. Won by 8, gifted 7 and Glasgow skimmed the post, hit the post and missed from stragiht infront with 3 penalties - on another day if those things didn't happen for Munster that's a 16 point turn around. I thought the line out was poor again in patches but again I think O'Gara was the difference.

Even though he is highly rated, he is probably the most under rated player in that team / Irish team. The way he makes the game tick, I think Munster & Ireland would be half the team without him, irrecplacable.

Earls is looking better and better each time I see him. One or two shakey moments under the high ball, but for the most part was excellent tonight.

To be honest, I want to see Earls really really tested soon. Worried still slightly about a hurley happening to him, would like to see him walking into a game where he doesnt have the opportunity to play around as much as he has so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Earls is a player im being really smug about at the moment. Been telling people for ages to watch out for him. Hope it doesn't backfire on me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Sangre wrote: »
    Earls is a player im being really smug about at the moment. Been telling people for ages to watch out for him. Hope it doesn't backfire on me!

I wouldn't be too worried, even if he didn't have some pedigree, he's been a standout player since he started the game. Outhalf in the Junior Cup for Nessans (a smallish school in Limerick), swapped over to Munchins for Senior Cup where he moves to 13, scores tries in every senior cup game the year they win it, in the Munster Academy before he finishes school, has played 12 for Ireland A and wing for Garryowen in the year they lose the AIL final to Con.

If you were writing an ideal cv for a young player, it would go something like that.

Don't want to place to much pressure on him though, he's still got to work on a lot of his game and we've still no idea if his body will survive the challenge of pro rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

How did the stadium look? I'm trying to find pics of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

we've still no idea if his body will survive the challenge of pro rugby.
    that's a really good question.

I think he is strong enough and fit enough now but so was J. Wilkinson and look at the crock he has become after an initial 6-7 years of being injury free.

Oh and the stadium looks fantastic. (as does the great tv angles from the main camera)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

Sangre wrote: »
    Haven't seen the match but I wouldn't classify 25-17 at home to glasgow in the new stadium as a good result. Obviously not bad but not good.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Yeah, to be honest I thought Munster were let off the hook somewhat tonight. Won by 8, gifted 7 and Glasgow skimmed the post, hit the post and missed from stragiht infront with 3 penalties - on another day if those things didn't happen for Munster that's a 16 point turn around. I thought the line out was poor again in patches but again I think O'Gara was the difference.

Even though he is highly rated, he is probably the most under rated player in that team / Irish team. The way he makes the game tick, I think Munster & Ireland would be half the team without him, irrecplacable.

Earls is looking better and better each time I see him. One or two shakey moments under the high ball, but for the most part was excellent tonight.

Take into account the weather, both teams playing in what is a new stadium and Glasgow being our boogey team for some time (I think they may have beaten us more often than we beat them) the result wasn't that bad. I know they were without Parkes last night but they were no push over team. Yes, I think we should have got a winning bonus point but I think with all the late substitutions to save the lads for next week we just lost the rhythm. Overall a win is a win and puts up top of the league as we face into the break for the HEC matches.

Have a look here, I took a few last night, not great due to weather, also, haven't uploaded them yet but will do so in afew minutes.

Earls' hit on the Glasgow left winger was some whack. Was great to see a fullback, knowing he's got his man and going in like Ruben Wiki, not hesitating for a second.

RuggieBear wrote: »
    that's a really good question.

I think he is strong enough and fit enough now but so was J. Wilkinson and look at the crock he has become after an initial 6-7 years of being injury free

He was actually crocked in the RWC2003. Thats why he was outside the centres for much of the opposition ball ie. for protection. His tackling against Ireland that year was huge. Unlucky fella injury-wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

It looked well, was delighted I was photographing it even though I'm dying sick with the flu. Didn't want to miss the opportunity.