Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ultimate anti-zombie gun?

• 02-10-2008 4:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20

I know this has been beaten to death (no pun intended). The last thread seemed to settle on the M4 as the ultimate anti-Z weapon. I was pretty much on board with that, until yesterday. I was breaking in my newly assigned H&K UMP .45
    59117789.StarUMP000.jpg
    (I found this picture online btw).

Anyway, this will be my choice come Z-day. I have an M4 assigned also, and it's the better option for 75 yards and up, but for anything closer I'm endorsing the UMP! It can pull off point-shoot head shots all day long from 15 yards and in. Beyond that it has a very effective iron sights. The .45, while slower than the M4's 5.56mm, has better knock down power. The stock folds, making it back-packable too :). So there you have it. I reckon this thing and a machette will keep me breathing until I get to the hills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Well in the US,it would be no problem for 45 ACP ammo.Over in the EU 9mm /40SW is more prevailent.If you feel it will get you thru the night,use it.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

I'm really thinking about trying to source a Calico in .22rimfire, lots of ammo about, big mag. and low recoil. Stick a red dot or Holo sight on her and it's all day head shots.! Or maybe the MP5 copy in .22?

calicom110c.jpg

dsc02241edrs320.jpg

dsc02243edrs633.jpg

Never seen the Calico over here in Ireland/EU.Parts might be a problem if needed.The HK.22 MP5 is a nice piece.Except it doesnt strip like a normal HK,and requires tools,[screwdrivers] to take down.[Shooting has a thread on it ].
    If you want a good .22 I would go the Ruger10/22.Alot of people claim it isnt accuate,for punching holes in Zs it will be good enough.You can trick it out to look like a poor mans assault rifle.Parts are pretty common for it,and there are books out there to convert it to full auto if need be.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 al415

.22 is fine if you can pull off those headshots all the time. Part of the reason I like the .45 is for it's knock down power... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

A water gun filled with holy water :cool:

I loved that game Zombies on the Sega...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

al415 wrote: »
    I was breaking in my newly assigned H&K UMP .45 I have an M4 assigned also,
    So you've already got a UMP AND M4! Your prepared up to the eyeballs no doubt about it, but in a country full of guns I'm assuming ammo would be the first thing that everybody goes to loot.

Ya can't beat a trusty claw hammer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

al415 wrote: »
    .22 is fine if you can pull off those headshots all the time. Part of the reason I like the .45 is for it's knock down power... :)

If you want knock down power:

While I now it doesn't exist, the "Gravity Gun" from Half Life on the "Orange Box" would be really useful. Maybe it's time we started developing it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Steyr AUG A3 in 6.8x43mm, a 20'' barrel weapon in the size of an M4 with only a 14'' barrel, so you have long range while still being compact, the 6.8 round is almost as powerful as the 7.62 NATO round which is viewed as over kill in CQB while still being controllable like the 5.56. Plus the AUG is more reliable than the M4. Has a load of rail space for any type of sights, lasers, flashlights, bi-pods and a 40mm grenade launcher. All can be added or removed in seconds.

Close to the ultimate zombie weapon I'd say.

Trouble with the Aug is it is problematical to convert to left hooker fire.Unless you have the bolt handt,and has an abymasl trigger pull like all bull pup designs.
    Most modern firearms have the pictanny rail system or can be retrofitted with them.6.8 is fine too.But 50 Cal is overkill unless you are shooting Zs or lifers for the hell of it at one mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Minigun? Or a better gun because its alot easier to get in Ireland a GPMG.
    Have to agree on the Steyr as one of the best simply because the amount and availability quite close to most peoples houses in barracks.
    But if your going for ideal weapon would be
    An M16a4 with
    A shotgun attached on the bottom rail and a tactical handle just behind it
    Sniper sight where the carry handle/iron sight is.
    M203 attached on the left rail
    and a Night vision sight on the right for ease to change from the sniper and vice versa.
    Oh and a p90 as a side arm

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

instagib rifle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Never seen the Calico over here in Ireland/EU.Parts might be a problem if needed.The HK.22 MP5 is a nice piece.Except it doesnt strip like a normal HK,and requires tools,[screwdrivers] to take down.[Shooting has a thread on it ].
    If you want a good .22 I would go the Ruger10/22.Alot of people claim it isnt accuate,for punching holes in Zs it will be good enough.You can trick it out to look like a poor mans assault rifle.Parts are pretty common for it,and there are books out there to convert it to full auto if need be.

Grizzly man, I've never seen a Calico in da flesh either, just thought it was a good choice.

I hear the .22 MP5 is based on the Airsoft version, no interchange of parts with real steel?

I've used some Ruger 10/22s and they are ok, only ok.

For a .22 I have a remmy Sondero .220 Swift, the big gun is a .270 Win. in a Steyr Mannlicher Luxus full stock with single set trigger.

Ammo may hold me up, knock down power is sorted though! I bags sniper position in any group we may meet!

Was in the woods today with the Flam and my wee man, cutting sticks and foraging. Got some blackberries and blackcurrants, cut him a stick. Used a cast 440C Zackerty Serrata to cut bits, good knife for general outdoors stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

this says it well:

Kromdar wrote: »
    this says it well:

That ones got a few pointy things on it that. I wouldn't like to fall on to be honest I feel that weapon is a bit risky and looks a bit clunky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

the gravity gun from half life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

MooseJam wrote: »
    the gravity gun from half life

Good Idea. But in the realms of reality Chaos is on the right lines....A Styer Kit! A1 For medium range ect defense, and it packs up in 2 seconds. Close up, bring out the TMP. And when you wanna do some plinking find a point and cock your SSG.

Or actually, a HS .50.

TBH, there are too many options out there.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

what happens when you run out of ammo ?

gothic-suit-of-armor-6001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

Steyr AUG A3 in 6.8x43mm, a 20'' barrel weapon in the size of an M4 with only a 14'' barrel, so you have long range while still being compact, the 6.8 round is almost as powerful as the 7.62 NATO round which is viewed as over kill in CQB while still being controllable like the 5.56. Plus the AUG is more reliable than the M4. Has a load of rail space for any type of sights, lasers, flashlights, bi-pods and a 40mm grenade launcher. All can be added or removed in seconds.

Close to the ultimate zombie weapon I'd say.
    I agree 100%
    and there so much fun to fire :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

M60e4

850 rounds using one barrel in a minute and a half
    ULTIMATE ZOMBIE SLAYER!! :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Blaine's minigun or a light sabre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

M14 EBR actually.
    Wikipedia wrote:
    The EBRs are made with the intention of carrying out both designated marksman and CQB roles in combat.
    MK14.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Cant see how a single gun is going to be the answer to your deadite woes.

You need to start thinking "load out" people. Guns, ammo, webbing, survival kit, grenades (and other things for da "big badda boom") aswell as communications and transport.

However, for total zombie mashing at medium to long range you cant argue with an M60 or M240. Endless 7.62 limb removing fun.

Shorter range I would be inclined towards the overall damage capability of a HK 416 loaded with franigble hollow points.

In the end though, Glock 23 loaded with wad cutter .40.

Last line of defence? A decent sword or extra long choppy thing with a curved edge. Gotta have the decapitation for when you 'aint got no more bang-bang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

sentinel.jpg

Forerunner Sentinel, ftw.

Overheal wrote: »
    sentinel.jpg

Forerunner Sentinel, ftw.

Dont the weapons have to be kinda real so ya can use it incase of an outbreak?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭cherubaul

I'd still prefer the Israeli Galil ARM coupled with russian M23 vest, All the reliability of the Ak with reduced recoil and a better sighting system. Backup is definately a 1911 maybe a kimber copy using .22 amunition allowing me to carry more ammo per unit of weight. knives I'm going with the trusty fairburn & sykes tried tested and one hell of a blade. grenades I'd leave behind and take a few wads of C4 instead just to have for general puropse destruction like clearing blockages or collapsing hallways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

A .45 cal sub machine gun.
    e0002561_01052192.jpg

plenty of stopping power, and an available .45 round. i'd take that or a 9x19 mp5k.

also, second the 1911 for backup.

Musashi wrote: »
    Grizzly man, I've never seen a Calico in da flesh either, just thought it was a good choice.
    I hear the .22 MP5 is based on the Airsoft version, no interchange of parts with real steel?
    Nope! They are two totally different things.The MP5 is steel insides and plastic clamshell type outside.

For a .22 I have a remmy Sondero .220 Swift, the big gun is a .270 Win. in a Steyr Mannlicher Luxus full stock with single set trigger.

Ammo may hold me up, knock down power is sorted though! I bags sniper position in any group we may meet!
    You got it if ya want it!:) I'm getting towards the old gunslinger age.The ol eyesight is going more towards a shotgun these days.:):rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

The ultimate anti-zombie gun is the one you have on the day that the zombies rise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

I like my long ranged weapons so I'd love a scoped M21, though this of course depends on what the rest of my survivour crew is packing. If I'm a one man army, a simple G36 with M92 as my sidearm, and scimitar as my melee weapon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

the cannon from serious sam, just imagine letting rip at the horde with that thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

Don't customise it. The Desert Eagle from RE2 is the best. Instant heads are clean off. .50 calibre. It just rocks. Here it is.

TokyoMaruiDesertEagle50AEChromeStai.jpg

Only thing better than a Deagle is two.

Lock and load biznitches!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

DenMan wrote: »
    Don't customise it. The Desert Eagle from RE2 is the best. Instant heads are clean off. .50 calibre. It just rocks.
    Meh, its more of a lookit me I gots a gun piece. For a good mix of usability and stopping power my favourite is the Jericho Baby Eagle. Yes, I have carried and used it. :D

scompact.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

The AA-12 - the only worthy gun.

Fully automatic 300 rounds per minute gas powered shotgun. :eek:

us-marine-firing-aa-12-full-auto-shotgun-aa12-machine-shotgun.jpg

Also known as "The Hammer"?

If so, yes... that is a sexy little piece of machinery.

(Can't watch vids atm but the picture seems to be the one)

Shotguns in general... One of the better anti-zombie guns. Spray and heckle them mo'fo's

Now where's my blunderbuss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I think you're thinking of this one? :)

It's a pity we don't see Zombie movies set in other periods....like Zombies in WW2 (OK, there was a few like this, but in fairness few of them were any good and none of them were high budget affairs)....zombies in medieval times? 18th Century? Muskets vs a horde of fast running Zombies....could make for interesting and frantic scenes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

****in A! :D
    Might be alright for one zombie at a time, but did you see the kick on that thing? You're getting out one round every four seconds if you're lucky and look like popeye. If you're being run down by a zombie horde, its the Jericho that will see you right. Exampli gratia, one nerdy looking man:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Max Brooks has a detailed section on firearms in his zombie survival guide. Here's what it says about handguns "the average person may have difficulty hitting anything, let alone something as small and mobile as a zombies head. Throw in the obvious emotional strain of undead conflict, and the possibility of a successful shot ranks one step above negotiating with your attacker".

Regarding all the fancy assault rifles people have been posting there is a serious issue in that on z day and the consequent apocalypse where are you going to find a consistent source of ammo for these things? Brooks' recommends .22 rimfire weapons for their simplicity and the widespread availability of ammo.

I'm with simplesam on the small desert eagle, that big one would be useless on z day. I've only shot a .44 magnum and with the kick on that thing, forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Might be alright for one zombie at a time, but did you see the kick on that thing? You're getting out one round every four seconds if you're lucky and look like popeye. If you're being run down by a zombie horde, its the Jericho that will see you right.

Ah i know, i just wanted to post the video anyway. Even for the craic would be good popping a zombie head with it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

all ya need:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

DenMan wrote: »
    Don't customise it. The Desert Eagle from RE2 is the best. Instant heads are clean off. .50 calibre. It just rocks. Here it is.

TokyoMaruiDesertEagle50AEChromeStai.jpg

thats plainly a nickel plated sissy pistol... and it has feck all bullets if yopur swarmed your dead...

personally id go with two of these
    http://www.gundirectory.com/guns/20134-1.jpg
    on shoulder holsters and two

and two side arms with these
    http://www.militaryfactory.com/smallarms/imgs/glock18.jpg

as my main wepon id go with a
    http://images.hobbytron.com/SD-SCM49K1-lg.jpg

then id have a back mounted pump action shotgun
    http://manta.univ.gda.pl/~kazik/tools/zdjecia/weapon/spas12_8.jpg

3 mags for my main

4 for the hard ballers
    4 for the glocks
    and 12 shels pluss
    some sort of kife i dont think its unresonable amount of wepons but people never have enough wepons when zombies are around oh and maybe a base ball bat :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

7/8 powerful magnum rounds guys, I'd be well stocked up on rounds thats for sure. It's stopping power must be something to behold and I would feel much more confident with it (plus a shotgun) when dealing with a horde of the undead than an AK-47. Removing the head is a top priority not drilling them down only for them to get up again.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desert_Eagle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Like Valmont said handguns are highly inaccurate at distance. I fired a glock and an AK47 and the AK would win hands down. The glock was all over the place where the AK hit exactly what you pointed it at. It's got fup all recoil too, it's absolutely marvelous.

It doesn't matter anyway none of ye would be able to get ye're hands on any of these weapons. At best you might be able to get some of the Irish army's weapons (although, even in the apocalypse I doubt they'll go handing them out to strangers).

I know a lad that has a repeater shotgun, it's pretty cool and probably the perfect weapon. Shotguns are widely available in Ireland, the ammo is there in bulk if you know where to look. The reload shouldn't be a problem if your on the ball and don't get surrounded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

I have maybe some of the most fantastic news ever people!
    the defence forces (including reserves) is thinking about changing from the .56 rounds there using at the moment 7.6 rounds :D
    they've realised that the .56 rounds were actually too small and downed enemies were just getting up after the bullet shoots straight through them
    if they switched back we'll get some real damage bein done :D

styer FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I think acid bombs would be usefull if you could funel neckt them into a ware house with smallacid bombs which would then explode melting the zombies...

and another defence would be a moate around the building with acid and watch them fal in if not you could have a hydrolic flooring system where it tilts up and drops them in there ...

acid is a very valuble matiral i dsont hink it should be over looked...

allso all you really have to do is blow there arms off and legs and make shore they cant walk at which point steam rollers would be very usefull...

ScumLord wrote: »
    Like Valmont said handguns are highly inaccurate at distance.
    Your handgun is what you use to get to your rifle, as they say. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

if in the US as most zombie movies are

A kalashnikov variant, ak47, akm or clones.

Ammo is plentiful as they are very popular with civilians.

Will fire first time, every time as it is reliable (m4s etc. are notorious jammers if not meticulously maintained)

Wont need to be repaired, maintenance will be needed sparingly.

Powerful 7.62x39 caliber, 30 round mags, all common in the US.

Also a saiga shotgun, based on the kalashnikov design, magazine fed shotgun, semi auto, perfect, has all the benefits of above gun.

in eire

First bloody shotgun I could get my hands on, chainsaw or pointy stick.