Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raising the prices of cigs again?

• 30-09-2008 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭

They do realise that the more expensive they get the bigger the blackmarket for cigs gets. These days with a couple of phonecalls i can buy a 200 pack of cigs for €45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

yah they're gone ridiculously expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

They do realise that the more expensive they get the bigger the blackmarket for cigs gets. These days with a couple of phonecalls i can buy a 200 pack of cigs for €45

200 for 45?

May raise my prices if that's what they're sellin for :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Fight the power, completely boycott cigarettes.

That'll show 'em!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭elmolesto

45 seems expensive, I can get it for 35 in Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭Elem

If they do raise the price again, I'd say more illegal selling of tobacco all over our country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Elem wrote: »
    If they do raise the price again, I'd say more illegal selling of tobacco all over our country.

Not if they start Etagging packs & cartons. They have already started this with HM Customs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Not if they start Etagging packs & cartons. They have already started this with HM Customs.
    Oh god is it RtdH time already? Aren't you scared that the government is tracking your boards usage and monitoring your posts and emails?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I won't be happy until cigarettes cost €1m per pack! Keep at it Mr Lenihan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Here's a pony that does more than one trick:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

elmolesto wrote: »
    PM please!!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

javaboy wrote: »
    Here's a pony that does more than one trick:

I watched that whole thing waiting for the horse to throw her off....the lack of comedy in this post upsets me. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

smokers are jokers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

elmolesto wrote: »

Indeed. I can do it for 35 here as well. Legally. Down the newsagent. What a shame I don't smoke.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I can buy it for 15eur at the 7-11. I laugh at you all. even though i dont smoke. I think Ill just buy some for posterity.

Oh god is it RtdH time already? Aren't you scared that the government is tracking your boards usage and monitoring your posts and emails?
    I hope the Government slaps e10.00 on the pack of fags in the budget. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

I say ban them alltogether! Lump them in as a class A while they're at it... Seems to work with everything else!

... Wait a min... Oh right no it doesn't....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

A little bit more targetting of flights and at the ferry ports will put pay to the mad smuggling antics. Diesel fuel laundering is pretty much dead- which goes to show C&E can do a decent job if they put their head to it.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

smokers are jokers

Yeah, we're fun alright! We have the craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Why would he be taxing the ireland AM presenters?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I hope they slap you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Yeah but with the ridiculous tariffs Vodafone are charging those couple of phone calls mean you're going to end up paying another 20 euro on top of that. :p

I hope they slap you!
    Ok, I hope they now go up to e15 in the Budget and also they copy Scotland and ban smoking from bus shelters and out door railway platforms. :D

I also hope that they follow the UK proposal and show horrible images on all packs of fags with rotton lungs, cancer tumors and bad teeth. They should also be renamed "Coffin Nails" or "death sticks" :pac::pac::pac:

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/english/doc/2004-10/23/xin_1310012311403251769522.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Ok, I hope they go up to e15 in the Budget and also they copy Scotland and ban smoking from bus shelters and out door railway platforms. :D

I also hope that they follow the UK proposal and show horrible images on all packs of fags with rotton lungs, cancer tumors and bad teeth. They should also be renamed as "Coffin Nails" or "death sticks".:D

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/english/doc/2004-10/23/xin_1310012311403251769522.jpg

Run to the hills and jump off the tallest one. Such a bitch.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

€45! I must up the price that I've been selling on my duty free purchases for then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Ok, I hope they now go up to e15 in the Budget and also they copy Scotland and ban smoking from bus shelters and out door railway platforms. :D

I also hope that they follow the UK proposal and show horrible images on all packs of fags with rotton lungs, cancer tumors and bad teeth. They should also be renamed "Coffin Nails" or "death sticks" :pac::pac::pac:

Or "Death Smokes"? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Yes that will really affect my non smoking status? muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

smccarrick wrote: »
    C&E can do a decent job if they put their head to it.......

lol this guy is funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

hahahahahahaha

I love how angry all the smokers get when non smokers want the tax piled onto it. :D:D

I wish fags cost 40euro a packet, Then I could sell packs of 200 for 150.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Now here's the problem. And I've posted it before.

Fags go up dramatically - let's say to 9 or 10 euro a pack. A lof of smokers quit. The government seeks to recoup it's tax losses. They're not a very creative bunch, they take the obvious step. They slap a amssive tax on something else.

Quiet possibly something that non-smokers DO use.

Now, non-smokers (of which I am one): Would you rather the government got it's tax from something you DON'T use, or something you do...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I watched that whole thing waiting for the horse to throw her off....the lack of comedy in this post upsets me. :rolleyes:

The Internet has messed with my brain. I was waiting for him to get a boner or have sex with her. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Now here's the problem. And I've posted it before.

Fags go up dramatically - let's say to 9 or 10 euro a pack. A lof of smokers quit. The government seeks to recoup it's tax losses. They're not a very creative bunch, they take the obvious step. They slap a amssive tax on something else.

Quiet possibly something that non-smokers DO use.

Now, non-smokers (of which I am one): Would you rather the government got it's tax from something you DON'T use, or something you do...?

Even if smokes went to 10 Euros a pack, I doubt the amount of people who quit could form a deficit in the total tax gained. As a on-off smoker I would say most would grumble and pay the 10 Euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I'm sick to my (stained) teeth of reading non-smokers giving out about smokers on boards.

Give it a rest lads....

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Even if smokes went to 10 Euros a pack, I doubt the amount of people who quit could form a deficit in the total tax gained. As a on-off smoker I would say most would grumble and pay the 10 Euros.

In the wise words of Denis Leary:
    There's a guy- I don't know if you've heard about this guy, he's been on the news a lot lately. There's a guy- he's English, I don't think we should hold that against him, but apparently this is just his life's dream because he is going from country to country. He has a senate hearing in this country coming up in a couple of weeks. And this is what he wants to do. He wants to make the warnings on the packs bigger. Yeah! He wants the whole front of the pack to be the warning. Like the problem is we just haven't noticed yet. Right? Like he's going to get his way and all of the sudden smokers around the world are going to be going, "Yeah, Bill, I've got some cigarettes.. HOLY ****! These things are bad for you! ****, I thought they were good for you! I thought they had Vitamin C in them and stuff!" You ****ing dolt! Doesn't matter how big the warnings are. You could have cigarettes that were called the warnings. You could have cigarrets that come in a black pack, with a skull and a cross bone on the front, called tumors and smokers would be lined up around the block going, "I can't wait to get my hands on these ****ing things! I bet you get a tumor as soon as you light up! Numm Numm Numm Numm Numm" Doesn't matter how big the warnings are or how much they cost. Keep raising the prices, we'll break into your houses to get the ****ing cigarettes, ok!? They're a drug, we're addicted, ok!? Numm Numm Numm Numm Numm *wheeze*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭brousuka

zuroph wrote: »
    PM please!!!! :p

PM me too please!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Wagon wrote: »
    Run to the hills and jump off the tallest one. Such a bitch.

Bahahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Smokers are retards. FACT.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

people who signed up in july 2004 are retards.
    FACT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

retards are retards

FACT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

To get maybe a lil too serious for this debate yeah...

But think about THIS! Why do they tax the fuck out of smokes? Well... Like why do they say they do? Health expenditure cause of smokers yeah? And how much tax do the smokers pay? Quite a goddamn lot I'd say (I know I do). So here's the point... what if I didn't pay these basterds their tax and instead got myself some health insurance? I'd much rather to pass my cash to evil health insurers than to the even worse HSE management!

Fuckit! While we're at it let's ban public healthcare entirely! That'll learn ya non-smokers who don't have the fancy jobs required to pay for smoking enough to get a decent chunk of tumour!

</rant>

It's been a while...

retards are retards

FACT!

Federation Against Copyright Theft is FACT
    Retards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Yeah but with the ridiculous tariffs Vodafone are charging those couple of phone calls mean you're going to end up paying another 20 euro on top of that. :p

thankk fook for meteor and their free calls

Worst idea ever, not suprised you think it would have an affect

robinph wrote: »
    €45! I must up the price that I've been selling on my duty free purchases for then.

You can get them cheaper off friends and that, that bring them back on hols.
    This is the sort of thing where they'll always be available ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I say they slash the price in half, people might buy more. but then again people probably won't

Why?
    More than 4 times as much is spent on the primary healthcare of smokers from smoking related illnesses, on an annual basis, than is raised in excise and duties levied on tobacco and tobacco products.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

well then, stop taxing cigarettes and end public healthcare

two birds, two stones \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

smccarrick wrote: »
    Why?
    More than 4 times as much is spent on the primary healthcare of smokers from smoking related illnesses, on an annual basis, than is raised in excise and duties levied on tobacco and tobacco products.

Source? Smokers die younger - they cost less in pensions, nursing home charges and long term medical care.
    They contribute more tax to the government than non-smokers.

In 2008 we are predicted to sell 240 million packets of cigarettes in Ireland with an average tax take of 81% (excise and duty) predicted to total EUR1.2 billion (these are from the 2007 budget figures).

Primary healthcare costs total just under 14 billion (as provided for in the budget), if you strip out all barr the the acute hospital admissions (of over 600,000) remove day case activity costs, nursing home costs, palliative care facilities and sundry- and make allowances for an increased average age (79.35) versus an average age for smokers of 72.55- to strip out any additional costs associated with longevity, and then focus on illnesses either specific to smokers or statistically significant (various oncology and bronchial procedures)- its possible to place a statistically significant cost associated specifically with smoking at approx 31% of the spend which totals about 4.1 billion..........

It takes a bit of deduction- but all the information you require is on the websites of the Department of Finance, the Department of Health and Children, the HSE, and the Oireachtas Committee on Health.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Just watch the budget to see the new smoke price. Love watching it go up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭fredzer

Overheal wrote: »
    I can buy it for 15eur at the 7-11. I laugh at you all. even though i dont smoke. I think Ill just buy some for posterity.

You da man! Are you planning to get your kids hooked?