Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

10 WORST films of all time

• 30-09-2008 11:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭

What ye all think??

The absolute 10 WORST films of all time...and why??

So far I'm thinking Star Wars Holiday Special, Mean Girls, Monster in the Closet and the Fast and the Furious have to be on the list...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭complicit

'Howard the duck'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

"The Many Closed List Threads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I've always enjoyed Howard the Duck... and I was a huge fan of the comics... so I should really hate it.

Catwoman should feature strongly in any worst film list though. It's pretty much awful on every conceivable level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Freddy Got Fingered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Thumpette

'Room 1308', and I hated 'Sunshine' as well though im reliably told its a masterpiece! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

The Dark Knight. Awaits backlash........

EDIT: Children of Men - woefully bad movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭fatgav

The Number 23 is one of the biggest pieces of tripe I've ever sat through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

10. Death Blow
    9. Prognosis Negative
    8. Cry, Cry Again
    7. Sack Lunch
    6. Blimp: The Hindenburg Story
    5. Rochelle, Rochelle
    4. Mountain High
    3. The Cadillac, Part 1
    2. Agent Zero
    1. Ponce De Leon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Thumpette wrote: »
    'Room 1308', and I hated 'Sunshine' as well though im reliably told its a masterpiece! :P

Not quite a masterpiece, but a very good film!
    chin_grin wrote: »
    EDIT: Children of Men - woefully bad movie.

What? Children Of Men is BRILLIANT!!!! Sci-Fi masterpiece in my view, some of the best directing/editing i've ever seen!

The 13th Warrior - is really really pants
    House Of The Dead - is a terrible film
    Alone In The Dark - is a shockingly bad piece of cinema
    Meet The Spartans - words fail me!

I'm sure there are many more, I try to blank crappy films from my memory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I liked Horward the Duck as well.

I've always thought that evaluating a movie should be based on the expectations beforehand, as well as the expectations held during a movie where many modern films have this 1st half good / 2nd half bad direction. (Hancock!)

Whenever I think of worst films, for some reason the remake of Psycho with Vince Vaughan always enters my head, as well as Swept Away by Guy Ritchie.

Films like 3 Ninjas: High Noon at Mega Mountain are like the glue sniffing kids in Keyna, they never really had a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

The original "Assault on Precinct 13" was absolutely abysmal, I've not seen the remake but it can't be any worse. I watched the whole film solely because it was so bad, it was laughable.

Thumpette wrote: »
    'Room 1308',

What's that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

See there's a difference between what's absolutely terribly bad and then something that somebody just hates.

While you may hate Children of Men nobody can say it's one of the worst films ever made and honestly believe that. The level of technical skill involved in making that is outstanding.

If you want to see really really awful awful terrible films try the likes of:

Troll 2 and Manos the Hands of Fate.

Appalling stuff.

The Onion AV Club ran an article about them recently. Well worth reading. (too lazy to find the link!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭veritable

Juno is definitely the worst film ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

In your opinion it is, but that doesn't make it the definitive worst film ever - there are many who'd consider it the best film ever.

This is just gonna be a bunch of obvious films which we all know are sh1t (e.g. Swept Away) and people posting the film titles they hate, which are generally considered good (but there's nothing wrong with people hating them) and then others will take exception to these valid opinions and then there'll be a huge argument and it'll get really personal and Karl Hungus will close the thread with a stern yet well worded, possibly witty, warning...

Dudess wrote: »
    In your opinion it is, but that doesn't make it the definitive worst film ever - there are many who'd consider it the best film ever.

This is just gonna be a bunch of obvious films which we all know are sh1t (e.g. Swept Away) and people posting the film titles they hate, which are generally considered good (but there's nothing wrong with people hating them) and then others will take exception to these valid opinions and then there'll be a huge argument and it'll get really personal and Karl Hungus will close the thread with a stern yet well worded, possibly witty, warning...

Damn your crystal ball and its (surprisingly accurate) predictions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I've seen many a bad film in my time but what always springs to mind is Domino. I fancy the arse off of Keira so me and the lads went to see it. After 2 minutes I wanted to walk out (Never walked out of a movie ever - and I seven stumbled into the Mummy Returns accidentally once). One of the lads hated it as much as me but made us hang on regardless and it was excrucciating.
    Another one that had me reeling in the last year was Factory Girl. How can anyone enjoy a film full of self indulgent, vain, shallow idiots (though I do like my Bret Easton Ellis novels and movies)?? If I ever thought Andy Warhol had talent before I take it back after it. The one saving grace for me was knowing that Edie would die by the end.

I wish I could think of another top 8 but they are my 2 for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

Some films that I personally hate, some are terrible, others are just so over rated, and others annoyed me because they missed a great opportunity to be very good - in no particular order

Disclaimer: my opinion only, and any attempts to convince me otherwise will be completely wasted

1. Cruel intentions
    2. Lost in Translation
    3. Gangs of New York
    4. Pearl Harbor
    5.The Departed
    6. The football factory
    7. Mr. and Mrs Jones
    8. Bringing out the dead
    9. the Business
    10. Righteous Kill

I could go on and on, but won't :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,580 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I'd be surprised if someone disagrees: Glitter

Can I get a +1?

Edit: Too lazy to think of another 9. But Glitter would definately be worse than the said 9 together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭solace

Surely any of the "*insert buzz word* Movie" movies should be in there.

Date Movie
    Epic Movie
    Disaster Movie
    Meet the Spartans

All that **** really gets to me. Talentless directors/writers cashing in on recent media 'phenomena'. Eugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

The worst film I have seen lately has to be "Ghost Ship".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

mamma mia did it for me....

Money Shot wrote: »
    Some films that I personally hate, some are terrible, others are just so over rated, and others annoyed me because they missed a great opportunity to be very good - in no particular order

Disclaimer: my opinion only, and any attempts to convince me otherwise will be completely wasted

1. Cruel intentions
    2. Lost in Translation
    3. Gangs of New York
    4. Pearl Harbor
    5.The Departed
    6. The football factory
    7. Mr. and Mrs Jones
    8. Bringing out the dead
    9. the Business
    10. Righteous Kill

I could go on and on, but won't :p

The departed????
    The Business????

Unreal films!

Slightly obvious?

If I ever thought Andy Warhol had talent before I take it back after it.

You do know that he didn't play himself in it, don't you? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭homergriffin

1. The Last Sign
    2. Indiana Jones 4
    3. Attack of the clones
    4. Awake
    5. Supreman Returns
    6. Ghost Rider
    7-9. The Spiderman franchise
    10-tbc. And nearly any Eddie Murphy movie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Exocet

Ten worst films that i have ever seen.

10. Goal
    9. Pokémon
    8. Batman And Robin
    7. US remake of Taxi with queen latifah
    6. Meet the Spartans
    5. Phantom Menace
    4. Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back
    3. Day after Tomorrow
    2. Vertical Limit
    1. Waterworld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Batman & Robin
    Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The New Generation
    Pirahna 2
    Redneck Zombies
    Alone In The Dark
    Manticore
    Highlander 2
    Chopper Chicks in Zombietown
    Slugs
    Super Mario Bros.

There are countless other ropey b-movie monster movies that I've seen through the years but I tend not to remember them much.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

*sigh* Anyone want to validate their choices? Lists are against the charter unless they've got some valid discussion and most posts here don't. *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

For me, Like said above agree or not here are mine, mainly because they where very very poor. In no order:

10. Swept Away
    9. Revolver (by the way I like Guy Ritche)
    8. Gigli (Possibly in my top 10 Fav cause its so bad its a classic)
    7. Phantom Menace (Criminaly bad for what could have been)
    6. Alexander (I really really wanted to like it)
    5. Hostel 2 (In a word... terrible)
    4. date movie/epic movie (I stoped watching the films after these so I cant comment on Meet the spartan's etc.
    3.Hulk (Ang Lee's Version..... Painful)
    2. Love Actually (I liked two of the story lines but the rest is just lazy film making)
    1. Gost Rider (says it all really)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Thumpette

What's that?

Sorry, it's actually 1408- just shows how bad it was!

10-tbc. And nearly any Eddie Murphy movie

GTFO! Beverly Hills Cop 1,2 and 3 are all epic wins!

Shrek 1, 2 and 3.....

Give the man his dues!

Superman Returns is easily one of the worst and most pointless pieces of dogturd I've ever seen.

I persoanlly think all Star Wars films are absolute garbage.

Scary Movie 2 and beyond

Elf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭TygerKrash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Eamo87

Did anybody see Open Water? Now that was a terrible film.

Eamo87 wrote: »

There was one part that made it worth watchin!! ;) :pac:

But yea, shockin!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

If Alexander was a woman, I would give her a backhander accross the face for being so rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Eamo87 wrote: »
    Great film. The way such tension and fear was evoked with only the sea and two people to work with was absolutely class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Great film. The way such tension and fear was evoked with only the sea and two people to work with was absolutely class.

The only tension in that movie was surface tension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

Bulletproof Monk really deserves a place on the list...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I think the worst film I've ever seen has to be Charlies Angels 2. The whole film is just an exercise in excess, BANG after BOOM after CRASSSSSHHHHHHHHH MTV!
    Everything about it is just so cynically made to try to appeal to idiotic teenagers:
    1. The casting of Bernie Mac (every film needs an Uncle Tom)
    2. The whole "sexy women beating up men" thing.
    Just everything. **** it, if I wasn't supposed to be in class as I write this I'd write a fúcking theis about it. I wont though, for now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

What's that?
    samuel l jackson was in it, enough said!!

super mario brothers and street fighter. watched both one night!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

1. Freddy got fingered-- Hell Tom Greene even showed up at the raspberries to collect his award.

2. Revenge Of the Sith (SW1/2/3 actually- God, I hate George Lucas

3. Meet The Spartans- no need to explain anything here

4. Hostel 2- For sick fvcks getting off on watching women die in horrible ways..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Southland Tales!!

The worst film i've seen in years. I cried a little that night. I could make a better film out of milk and onions!

Mortal Combat 2 was also incredibly poor viewing.

I hated Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless mind! Utter sh1te!

I'll think of 7 more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Headspin wrote: »
    What? Children Of Men is BRILLIANT!!!! Sci-Fi masterpiece in my view, some of the best directing/editing i've ever seen!

Ehm, you better be taking the mick here! I didn't see the appeal. It was almost torture! Just mind numbingly boring.

Also to add to the list Clerks 2......wow a dance scene....sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

5. Rochelle, Rochelle

The movie about a young girl's strange, erotic journey from Milan to Minsk? OK, it's no Prognosis Negative, but it does have a bit of nudity, at least!

Recent, terrible, terrible films I've seen:

Superman Returns: It's up there with Ang Lee's Hulk for completely missing the mark. Awful character building, no sense of tension, an inexplicable plot twist, and lack of a strong villain made this the word comic book adaptation I can remember.

People I Know: One of the many turkeys that litters Pacino's recent career. It's glacially slow and never really gets off the ground.

Syriana: Never underestimate your audience, the old adage advises. However, in this case, too much was left to the audience to put together, rendering this political thriller a real headache for the audience. Left to fill in gaps from poor plotting, direction and editing, there was little time to enjoy what was actually on the screen!

The Day After Tomorrow: Or, The Worst Blockbuster Ever. It took the successful template of Independence Day, but replaced the fantastic alien adversary with, er, ice. Has none of the jaw-dropping moments of ID, and the set-pieces are dragged into the ridiculous by the lack of any real adversary - I mean, come on, being chased through a building by ice?

Fizman wrote: »
    Southland Tales!!

The worst film i've seen in years. I cried a little that night. I could make a better film out of milk and onions!

Ah... it's pretty awesome. Sure it tries to many different things and sort of falls flat on it's face... but it was still fun to watch it try.

And we get great scenes like this one along the way:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Ehm, you better be taking the mick here! I didn't see the appeal. It was almost torture! Just mind numbingly boring.

Also to add to the list Clerks 2......wow a dance scene....sigh.

I'm afraid that he's not my friend. For some unknown reason i'm putting it down to madness some people think COM is one of the better films made. I didn't hate it but just didn't like it.

Oh and Bulletproof Monk is an Epic Suggestion, I was really looking forward to that and was heartbroken coming out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

2. Revenge Of the Sith (SW1/2/3 actually- God, I hate George Lucas

No matter how much you despise Lucas there is no way Revenge of the Sith can be classed as one of the 10 worst movies of all time. It was the best of the 3 prequels by a long way.

Some of my suggestions...

Elf
    Undercover Brother
    Dude, Where's my car
    Black Sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

Superman Returns: It's up there with Ang Lee's Hulk for completely missing the mark. Awful character building, no sense of tension, an inexplicable plot twist, and lack of a strong villain made this the word comic book adaptation I can remember.

Superman Returns wasn't the worst film ever, not great but ok. Daredevil, Spiderman 3 were the worst comic book adaptations, a million times worse.

The worst film ever has to be Final Approach. I waited 3 years to get it out when I was younger, it had what was like an SR-71 on the front and what was like a fighter similation game on the back. The actual film all took place in a white room in a doctors office. The greatest piece of false advertising ever.

Simple way never to see the worst films ever is to avoid any film with Eddie Murphy in it (bar Beverly Hills 1 and 2) and any film with Will Smith (bar BBoys 1, Hancok was exceptable providing you turn it off half way through) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Far from it! great film! what's not to like?

You obviously have no taste whatsoever....

Only joking.....:)