Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gamesoc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Gian-Pa

Cool! I can't wait to join u guys ;)
    I used to play A lot CS:Source (in a clan) and doing little lan parties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

any pro evo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭randomcountdown

Voltwad wrote: »
    any pro evo?

depends on demand and other colleges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

Do you guys have a room where people can go play games during their breaks during the day :p

Not yet. And honestly, I sincerely doubt we will have one anytime in the near future either. We will have use of the new Games development lab but only off schedule, so probably only evenings.
    We've tried for that a lot I'm afraid. You'd be hard pushed to find a college with a gamesoc that has lab gaming during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭iUseVi

Not yet. And honestly, I sincerely doubt we will have one anytime in the near future either. We will have use of the new Games development lab but only off schedule, so probably only evenings.
    We've tried for that a lot I'm afraid. You'd be hard pushed to find a college with a gamesoc that has lab gaming during the day.

There are two problems with getting a lab for gaming in DIT:

1. There is a SEVERE shortage of labs, just even for normal classes. There's already double bookings, and students have been asked to bring in laptops etc. for some labs which is an absolute farce.

2. Some lecturers really don't like students playing computer games. They shall remain nameless. cough (MC and MD) cough

Perhaps when Grangegorman is finished in 2354.... but I would start campaigning now if I were you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

yup and getting kicked out of a lab and told to use wireless and a laptop is a ****ing farce too. not everyone has access to their U drive on their laptop and there are some programs used in option modules that you just can't get due to huge license fees and or they are pretty obscure that no one has pirated them

I'll just say one thing 45 dt228-4 students 22 computers for them and I'm not even counting dt211-4

Cremo wrote: »
    yup and getting kicked out of a lab and told to use wireless and a laptop is a ****ing farce too. not everyone has access to their U drive on their laptop and there are some programs used in option modules that you just can't get due to huge license fees and or they are pretty obscure that no one has pirated them

I'll just say one thing 45 dt228-4 students 22 computers for them and I'm not even counting dt211-4

This is why they have PK teaching you in 2nd/3rd year. To drum you out of the course so there are enough computers for you in the final year.

Well it obviously didnt work tbh. he doesn't actually teach in 3rd year but he does in 4th year I actually dont really get the vendetta that seems to be against him as he's a nice guy tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Irishtrekkie

Lets keep things to the point please , but yea i would and so would gamesoc give their right arm for a room to use all the time , i mean even an empty room , the society could provide the equiment on large , i am sure our sponsours would help us out too , but their is just not any space .

It would be handy to have somewhere for students to use during their breaks , as its the norm for students to have 2-4 hours of doing nothing , there was even talk of gamesoc maybe buying and building a arcade cabinet kit put a pc in it and running mame , then putting it for free use in kevin street snackery then one in angier street common room , but the college makes too much money of the machines that are there , and as you can guess putting mame on something is always a grey subject.

there was even talk of gamesoc maybe buying and building a arcade cabinet kit put a pc in it and running mame , then putting it for free use in kevin street snackery then one in angier street common room , but the college makes too much money of the machines that are there , and as you can guess putting mame on something is always a grey subject.

only problem i'd see with that is trying to get me off the thing...:D

The college already denied it. It may be a possibility in the new games lab but what would be the point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 NiteOwl2

I think you are forgetting about a great number of people here, what about DT249/4 final year students, plus students doing the Masters courses DT210, DT230, DT217 and DT202 - all of whom are paying large fees to attend college...

iUseVi wrote: »
    There are two problems with getting a lab for gaming in DIT:

1. There is a SEVERE shortage of labs, just even for normal classes. There's already double bookings, and students have been asked to bring in laptops etc. for some labs which is an absolute farce.

2. Some lecturers really don't like students playing computer games. They shall remain nameless. cough (MC and MD) cough

Perhaps when Grangegorman is finished in 2354.... but I would start campaigning now if I were you...

I see what you are saying, and yet given that your first point is that there is a shortage of lab space, then doesn't it follow that "Some lectures really don't like students playing computer games", why would they be happy about students using computers for games if there is a shortage of lab space??? I'm guessing they would prefer that the computers are used for what they were bought for (computer science) as opposed to recreational activities (computer games).

NiteOwl2 wrote: »
    I see what you are saying, and yet given that your first point is that there is a shortage of lab space, then doesn't it follow that "Some lectures really don't like students playing computer games", why would they be happy about students using computers for games if there is a shortage of lab space??? I'm guessing they would prefer that the computers are used for what they were bought for (computer science) as opposed to recreational activities (computer games).

Indeed, that is exactly what I meant?! And I would agree, absolutely work should have priority over playing games. It would be nice if their was a free room for games, but there definitely isn't. In a perfect world there would be a games lab.

Anyone playing games when other people want to do work should be thrown out on their ear. And that includes the "games" lab. Which in fact is not just a lab for games work. It is also a lab for music tech work, robotics work and artificial intelligence work.

We have been trying since first year to get a free room (not lab) to use for gaming. But there isn't even enough classrooms for all the classes. Not going to happen in Kevin St., maybe Grangegorman.

I think you are forgetting about a great number of people here, what about DT249/4 final year students, plus students doing the Masters courses DT210, DT230, DT217 and DT202 - all of whom are paying large fees to attend college...

not forgetting them just I couldnt remember all the course numbers :). And your post just furthers my point further of the shortage of labs

I think what iusevi meant about some lecturers not liking students playing games is that if youre working on a games project this will enevibly need to tested but to a naiive lecturer this seems like the student is hogging lab space when they actually aren't. But I agree with iusevi that anyone playing games should be thrown out and I would probably go as far as saying the bebo brigade should be tossed out too but that is a different story alltogether

I think what iusevi meant about some lecturers not liking students playing games is that if youre working on a games project this will enevibly need to tested but to a naiive lecturer this seems like the student is hogging lab space when they actually aren't.

Yea have to agree that the first part of using any game engine is testing it , even if i know i took it a bit far with "testing" unreal alot when i was working on a final year project in my last college:D

recreational activities (computer games) , hopefully soon to be competitive intervarsity activity ;)

Didn't this used to happen once, ages ago? Some sort of LAN event where everyone brings their own rigs? Did it die out or what?

Yup Interlans , Gamesoc and Netsoc are meeting to talk about holding that again next year so watch this space .
    but thats just a lan so its a one off , but it would be great to bring it back as their are only two real lans in Ireland at the moment midlans and gamecon ( yes i know there is wcg for xboxs , and galway lans etc ..) but if we are talking big numbers ( 150-300 ) there are only two so Ireland could use another one.

But what i was talking about is an intercollege gaming league which gamesoc are right this moment setting up with 4 other dublin colleges.

Every time I hear anyone in Ireland say that people are paying "Large fees" to attend college I piss myself laughing. Go to America/UK and then complain about the Irish system.
    I'm a huge tosser. recreational activities (computer games).

Considering Computer Games Programming is a module in 3rd/4th year CS, a very popular one at that that has produced some fantastic graduates with great careers, I'm pretty sure the college is onto a good thing with the games dev lab.

Games are for DUMB KIDS though right!

If you could all go back to whatever dumb boards.ie topic about nazis you were all previously posting in and stop ****ting up this one that'd be great lads. Thanks.
    Anyone playing games when other people want to do work should be thrown out on their ear.

This is the Gamesoc stance on use of the new lab.

The largest BYOPC LAN in Ireland is Midlans, which gets about 200 attendance. Consider some of those are from UK/N.I, and you'll realise what happens when you have the same thing but limited to college students.
    Nobody comes.

This intervarsity thing is a constant league that will use the new games lab off schedule for a competitive league. The venue was offered up by DIT, probably because it makes DIT look fantastic in the eyes of all the fancy university students who'll be competing (and losing) on their fancy new property.

If you could all go back to whatever dumb boards.ie topic about nazis you were all previously posting in and stop ****ting up this one that'd be great lads. Thanks.

:D , In case anyone is wondering i am pretty sure he is being sarcastic, ......as least for the most part. but then again i dont take anything serious.

Games are for DUMB KIDS though right!

Dude, I play computer games all the time, just because I'm saying that if we have a shortage of resources we should use them for work instead of fun doesn't mean I don't want to have fun too, get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭boysinblack

yous should try and get the lan centre in town xtreme gaming ( just off the heppeny bridge) to sponsor gamesoc and get a disocounted price for dit students

btw there is a cod4 lan there tommorow , 500 quid for winning the xbox 360 one is mine:P

Dude, I play computer games all the time, just because I'm saying that if we have a shortage of resources we should use them for work instead of fun doesn't mean I don't want to have fun too, get a grip.

Yea i agree with you , there really is a shortage of resources , bet there wont be in the new campus , shame it wont be finished till the 3rd millennium of man , and yea random is just taking the p*ss ,

i see that the ucd gamesoc play a game of Assassin every year , the gamesoc was talking about this ,do you think there would be enough interested to try it out in dit in kevin st and angier st ? ( of course we would be way cooler then ucd and name it Battle Royale( which is what i always thought it was called)

and about cod4 lan in xtreming gaming yea i know the pc lads where going to go at first , but i think the pulled out cause of lack of competitive rules or something. We are thinking of hosting an event there soon , and if we do we will make sure to try and "squeeze" some "balls" as it is , to get a rate discounted on what it normally is

yous should try and get the lan centre in town xtreme gaming ( just off the heppeny bridge) to sponsor gamesoc and get a disocounted price for dit students

btw there is a cod4 lan there tommorow , 500 quid for winning the xbox 360 one is mine:P

We know. Our PC CoD4 team was missing a player so we didn't bother.
    Also, the rules were only fixed from "completely ****ing exploitably retarded" to "grand" a couple days before the event, at which point it was too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

How about a game of Humans Versus Zombies in the UCD campus? For those who dont know what that is check it out http://humansvszombies.org/index.php
    Possibly the coolest version of tag every conceived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 GhostfaceKillah

This is why they have PK teaching you in 2nd/3rd year. To drum you out of the course so there are enough computers for you in the final year.

EPIC WIN ZACK!!!!!!!

there can, apparently, be no iller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭suckmyloli

When is the next meeting I missed the 1st one :(

some time soon right? will there be actual games involved??

suckmyloli wrote: »
    When is the next meeting I missed the 1st one :(

some time soon right? will there be actual games involved??

We just did an all night LAN yesterday.

Um yeh I know did you look at when that was posted! Maybe you should have had asleep after :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Gareth-W-A

How did the all-nighter go?
    I couldn't go:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

You guys are going down tomorrow ;)

Wed was fun can't wait for next game Soc. Sad I had to leave early though :(

I have a ticket for free drink left can I carry that over to the next one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

suckmyloli wrote: »
    Wed was fun can't wait for next game Soc. Sad I had to leave early though :(

I have a ticket for free drink left can I carry that over to the next one :pac:

That was actually the GigSoc Christmas party, though thanks to a more than generous donation from GameSoc, it did become a joint shindig =) you might be able to carry that over... we'll find out if we go back there and book something again!