Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people in UNI think their better than everyone else?

• 28-09-2008 1:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭

I go to an IT and when I ever visit my friend's in Uni its like im being looked down on.
    EDU doesnt define someone......does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Wear some larger heels. Never noticed the issue myself, never came up in my experience.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Because they are. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Flipz4Rollz

Ruu wrote: »
    Wear some larger heels. Never noticed the issue myself, never came up in my experience.

Prob just me then

Never hear the "whats the differnce between an IT student and a UNI student...." jokes?

Never seen this happen. I started Film and TV Production in GMIT a few weeks back and all my friends in NUIG still treat me the same as before. I think it may be all in your mind my friend.

Prob is:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Because they know the difference between "their" and "they're"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Prob just me then

Never hear the "whats the differnce between an IT student and a UNI student...." jokes?

Oh yes! :D I'm from Cork so these are some of the ones I've heard:

What does a CIT student call a UCC student?
    Boss.

How do you get a CIT student to come to your house?
    Order a pizza.

What do you call a CIT student wearing a suit?
    The Defendant.
    And what do you call a UCC student in a suit?
    The Prosecutor.

And yes, I am a UCC student! :P

But it's all done in good spirit: CIT students take the piss out of us aswell and I would hope it's the same other places with both Uni's and IT's.
    I don't know anyone who actually has that attitude and believes that they're superior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

I think it's the difference between training and education. Brings me back to the 80s and the jokes about the university for dyslexics and the ULA.

DCU and University of Limerick Actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Q. Why don't they have Christmas at LIT?
    A. They can't find three wise men and a virgin.

Q. How can you tell if a LIT student is heterosexual?
    A. He can outrun his roommate!

Q. What do you get when you drive quickly through the LIT campus?
    A. An undergraduate degree.

Q. What's the first thing a LIT bird does when she wakes up in the morning?
    A. Walks home.

Q. How do they separate the men from the boys at LIT?
    A. With a restraining order.

Q. What does a LIT student call a UL student after graduation?
    A. Boss.

Q. Did you hear that the library at LIT burned down?
    A. Naturally, the students were very upset....some of the books weren't coloured-in yet.

Q. Why do LIT graduates put a copy of their diploma in the window of their vehicles?
    A. So they can park in handicap spaces.

Q. How do you get a LIT grad off your front porch?
    A. Pay him for the pizza.

Q. How many UL students does it take to change a lightbulb?
    A. One - he holds the bulb and the world revolves around him

Q. How many LIT students does it take to change a lightbulb?
    A. Three - One to change it and two to figure out how to get high off the old one.

Q. What is the difference between a dead dog in the road and a dead LIT student in the road?
    A. There are skid marks in front of the dog.

Q. If you see a LIT student on a bike, why should you never swerve to hit him?
    A. It might be your bike.

Q What do you have when 100 LIT students are buried up to their neck in sand?
    A. Not enough sand.

Q. What do LIT students use for birth control?
    A. Their personalities.

Q. You are trapped in a room with a tiger, a rattlesnake, and a LIT student. You have a gun with two bullets. What should you do?
    A. Shoot the LIT student...twice.

Q. What do u call a LIT student in a suit?
    A. The Defendant

Q. What do u call a UL graduate in a suit?
    A. The LIT student's lawyer

Hmmm, guess where I go to college :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

We ARE better!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I go to an IT and when I ever whenever I visit my friend's friends in Uni its it's like im i'm being looked down on.

Fixed that for you.

I guess a Uni degree does come in handy :D

cson wrote: »
    Lol I wonder? :pac:
    Haha we have the exact same jokes here, just replace UL with UCC and LIT with CIT!

Although I must say I haven't heard this one before:
    Q. Why do LIT graduates put a copy of their diploma in the window of their vehicles?

LOL! Must remember that! :D:D

FruitLover wrote: »

I actully deliberately put that in to see how many people would make a smart comment about it:p

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Flipz4Rollz: epic fail.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

blah blah LIT blah
    Why did the LIT student cross the road?... To find out what a joke was.

On a more serious note, I come from a town that doesn't have third level colleges, I honestly never heard of this kind of snobbery until I came to a town with both and met a guy who really wanted to go to "university" (didn't matter what course might be better in what institution) Where I come from IT's and Uni's were all just referred to as "colleges". Couldn't understand the snobbery myself...

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Fixed that for you.

I guess a University degree does come in handy :D

Fixed that for you:p

I actully deliberately put that in to see how many people would make a smart comment about it:p

ActuAlly, no you didn't :p

Agonist wrote: »
    blah blah LIT blah
    Why did the LIT student cross the road?... To find out what a joke was.

Ah they have their positives too.

LIT burds are far looser than UL ones. :pac:

Fixed that for you:p

Pedantic IT snobs! Well i never :eek:

LOL
    This is just a guess........Do you go to University?:confused::D
    I'm getting offline now so I hope to find plenty of more posts about my bad use of the english language in the morning;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I do take the piss out of some of my friends in LIT, but it depends on the course.

Like; what the **** is someone who graduates from property management over the next few years going to do??

I don't think I'm better, but my degree will be worth more when I graduate, regardless of classification.

ActuAlly, no you didn't :p
    Actually!!!!, no, I didn't:(

ninty9er wrote: »
    I don't think I'm better, but my degree will be worth more when I graduate, regardless of classification.

No way! Yore a durty Business student, there's fecking hundreds of ye :p

ME FAIL ENGLISH, THAT'S UN-POSSIBLE

An Fhile wrote: »
    Flipz4Rollz: epic fail.

:cool:

Ah well, what can you expect? Sure he's (or she's?) only an IT student! :pac:

No way! Yore a durty Business student, there's fecking hundreds of ye :p
    We hit 4 figures when you take the 4 years into account....though I was told by my boss on co-op that he doesn't see the value or point of the your ARTS degree when Business is available; as it's neither Law nor Accounting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

A. They can't find three wise men and a virgin.

Q. How can you tell if a LIT student is heterosexual?
    A. He can outrun his roommate!

Q. What do you get when you drive quickly through the LIT campus?
    A. An undergraduate degree.

Q. What's the first thing a LIT bird does when she wakes up in the morning?
    A. Walks home.

Q. How do they separate the men from the boys at LIT?
    A. With a restraining order.

Q. What does a LIT student call a UL student after graduation?
    A. Boss.

Q. Did you hear that the library at LIT burned down?
    A. Naturally, the students were very upset....some of the books weren't coloured-in yet.

Q. How do you get a LIT grad off your front porch?
    A. Pay him for the pizza.

Q. How many UL students does it take to change a lightbulb?
    A. One - he holds the bulb and the world revolves around him

Q. How many LIT students does it take to change a lightbulb?
    A. Three - One to change it and two to figure out how to get high off the old one.

Q. What is the difference between a dead dog in the road and a dead LIT student in the road?
    A. There are skid marks in front of the dog.

Q. If you see a LIT student on a bike, why should you never swerve to hit him?
    A. It might be your bike.

Q What do you have when 100 LIT students are buried up to their neck in sand?
    A. Not enough sand.

Q. What do LIT students use for birth control?
    A. Their personalities.

Q. You are trapped in a room with a tiger, a rattlesnake, and a LIT student. You have a gun with two bullets. What should you do?
    A. Shoot the LIT student...twice.

Q. What do u call a LIT student in a suit?
    A. The Defendant

Q. What do u call a UL graduate in a suit?

Jaysus, if yiz are THAT brilliant you could at least come up with some original jokes.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

ninty9er wrote: »
    We hit 4 figures when you take the 4 years into account....though I was told by my boss on co-op that he doesn't see the value or point of the your ARTS degree when Business is available; as it's neither Law nor Accounting.

Ah now.... that was a dirty dig! :pac:

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Jaysus, if yiz are THAT brilliant you could at least come up with some original jokes.

I learnz to copy and paste goodo :pac:

Logically enough UNI students are intellectually better than IT students
    But how does being brighter make you a better person(as some people on this seem to think):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I learnz to copy and paste goodo :pac:

They didn't have "copy and paste" when those jokes were invented... They had to be written on dried parchment with animal blood :pac::pac:

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

i remember those jokes.

except when I heard them it was proletariat and bourgeoisie

oh good times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

How many of you think your Inter/Junior cert results are important now? For 99% of people who've been out of school for a few years, even Leaving Cert results don't mean anything much.

Well here's the thing. I've hired plenty of graduates over the years, and what I find is that the details of your qualification become less important every year after you've earned it, and experience becomes more relevent. After, say, 5 years, having a relevent 3rd level qualification is a handy indicator of a person's interest in the area, and perhaps an indication that they have a general knowledge of the context of the work. In my opinion, the score they got is of little importance after a few years, and the identity/address of the institution is only useful to me if I know somebody else from that class, who may be able to give an opinion of the applicant.

People who honestly feel superior because of their alma mater, or insecure, are probably fresh out of college, without much experience of the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

They think they're better because they don't know what the real world is like :) :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

FruitLover wrote: »

They also look down on people who start sentences with "because"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I've been in NUIM and also in DIT Bolton Street and the ONLY time I met people looking down their noses in this regard was people who were in Trinity. I've seen people who just had a place in Trinity starting to lose the run of themselves, they hadn't actually started the course, just the fact that they had secured a place was enough to start the ball rolling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Darragh29 wrote: »
    I've been in NUIM and also in DIT Bolton Street and the ONLY time I met people looking down their noses in this regard was some people who were in Trinity. I've seen people who just had a place in Trinity starting to lose the run of themselves, they hadn't actually started the course, just the fact that they had secured a place was enough to start the ball rolling!

Fixed your post. I went to Trinity and can honestly say the vast majority of my classmates didn't have that attitude. And anyone who does have that attitude will quickly realise they're not superior to anyone when they start working after college and they're on the same money as everyone else....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I finished doing my degree in UCD, and am now doing a postgrad in DIT.

My first day in DIT, I thought it was dress like a pirate day, until I realised that they were actually dressed-up pikies, with their earrings and doublets...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Get over yourselves.
    You're all going to be working in McDonalds with that orts degree anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Zzippy wrote: »
    Fixed your post. I went to Trinity and can honestly say the vast majority of my classmates didn't have that attitude. And anyone who does have that attitude will quickly realise they're not superior to anyone when they start working after college and they're on the same money as everyone else....

Well the small number I met were walking around with their heads st*uk up their arse. I remember one individual who couldn't intorduce himself without saying, "I'm studying classics at Trinity"... There is another jumped up yuppie I knew who was doing some course called MMSSIM or something like that in Trinity and had convinced himself he was the next Michael O' Leary. Walter Mitty's the lot of them imo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭sickpuppy32

Logically enough UNI students are intellectually better than IT students
    But how does being brighter make you a better person(as some people on this seem to think):rolleyes:

they are brighter at that age of 17/18 - (thats also why girls get higher points) but a lot more people get smarter as thay get older. A masters from an IT is consdered a lot better than one from a UNI and everyone knows the trinnity ( bought) masters is a big joke

Terry wrote: »
    Get over yourselves.
    You're all going to be working in McDonalds with that orts degree anyway.

Or you'll be teaching it.

A masters from an IT is consdered a lot better than one from a UNI

Generalise much?

I've never used the term 'Uni' in real life. It's all 'College' for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

they are brighter at that age of 17/18 - (thats also why girls get higher points) but a lot more people get smarter as thay get older. A masters from an IT is consdered a lot better than one from a UNI and everyone knows the trinnity ( bought) masters is a big joke
    We don't have a raised-eyebrow/sceptical emoticon, so I'm just going to go ahead and say that your assertions come from that dirty place where the food leaves you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

If you're getting grief from a Uni head ask them why they couldn't get into "Trinners".

If they're from "Trinners" just box them in the head.

Simple solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Myth wrote: »
    Generalise much?

Sometimes I say school, people get so freaked out and offended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Civil Engineering for 3 years in dkit on the advice of engineers who said that the hands on experience would stand to me.

load of twat.

It was the slowest, most boring 3 years of my life. They go over everything at nauseum and speak to you like you're retarded.

I'm now in the University of Edinburgh and I couldn't be happier. Everything moves at a much quicker pace and if you don't understand something...go learn it yourself. Unlike dundalk where people would constantly interrupt to ask retarded questions, thus slowing the whole process down. In one lecture at Uni, we covered enough content to keep dkit going for a good 2 or 3 weeks.

The services in dkit were awful. One lecturer had his notes available online. Other lecturers were still handing out handwritten notes. The engineering techniques they use were also outdated. Alot of the engineering lecturers there don't keep up to date with what they're supposed to. There are one or two outstanding lecturers at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

I go to an IT and when I ever visit my friend's in Uni its like im being looked down on.

I only know one person who is snobby about their Uni and they go to UCD.

Myth wrote: »
    Generalise much?