Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for some tips for lamping foxes.

• 27-09-2008 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭

Do they come out at the same time each night or the same time after sundown?
    What way does the weather affect them -- if its wet do they decide to stay in for the night?
    Is a full moon better or worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭shaft666

clivej wrote: »
    Do they come out at the same time each night or the same time after sundown?
    What way does the weather affect them -- if its wet do they decide to stay in for the night?
    Is a full moon better or worse?

Clive,
    That question could take a whole book to answer it! I have spent the last 20 + years lamping foxes so know a little about it. There are many different factors that govern when they will be out; weather conditions, feeding cubs, availability of prey, pure hunger to name a few. If I was asked to pick my ideal night for foxing I would say as dark as possible with a reasonable wind and don't mind if it's a bit wet either.

We shoot from the back of my pick-up which gives me a higher vantage point so I can see more, it also gives a good stable platform to shoot from meaning that with the use of a bipod and a good rifle foxes can be shot much farther away AND very importantly means all my shots are taken with the rifle pointing towards the ground so far safer too.
    It's always a whole lot easier if there's at least 2 of you and preferably 3 so you have one each to drive, lamp and shoot. You can always swap roles to keep it interesting for all.

The 2 most important things to start with are a decent lamp and a good fox call, I use the Lightforce striker with the variable beam and power and a red or orange filter, this enables me to vary the brightness of the light from a blinding spotlamp down to almost nothing, just enough to light the foxes eyes..this has often been the downfall of a fox that has shown interest in the lamp/call but been reluctant to come close enough to get a shot, (this is often the case with foxes that have seen it all before) I use a selection of calls but have had great success with the WAM call over the last 2 years.
    I normally start just by driving the fields lamping all the hedges to see if I can spot some eyes, if this proves fruitless I will try to park up in the middle of a field and start calling for a few minutes in total darkness before quickly swinging the lamp around to see if anythings responded. If we do spot some eyes I immediately turn the lamp off and make sure the shooter is aware of where the fox is/was and is ready to take the shot as soon as the lamps back on. This gives the fox little time to realise what's happening and they can be shot before they know anythings amiss.
    The reason I try to get to the middle of a field is to make sure the fox HAS to cross open ground to get to the call otherwise they will use every bit of cover possible to sneak up on you, many I time in my early days at it we had foxes sneak in from behind to within yards of us!
    Another trick a wary fox will use is to try and get downwind of you to scent you so if you see one doing this try and get a shot off before it gets the chance to work out you aren't a bunny in distress!

If the area you are shooting in has plenty of people out lamping, the foxes will very soon get wise to whats going on and you will see them but not get them to run in to you, a switch then to a red or orange filter can often bring results.

When the cubs are young they can be out any time of night and very often can be seen playing long before dark, cubs can be real suckers for a call and if you're quick you can often shoot the whole lot or most of a litter of in one go.
    Cold weather means less food out and about so hunger means the foxes have to spend more time above ground searching for it, again in a hard winter they can be seen out any time of day and will definately be out as soon as it's dark and almost always react to a call.
    Moonlit calm nights are generally the worst of all, you might call and spot foxes in the distance but they generally wont come close enough to get a shot.

Calling is very hard to describe in words but generally I will start with up to 5 -10 minutes of calling as loud a call as possible to bring foxes in from distance (and they will travel a few miles to a call) once you have one in the lamp it all comes down to experience, some will just keep on running straight to you and will, if allowed run right up to you before they realise things aren't what they thought. We have actually had them run up and cock a leg on the vehicle! These one soften need you to shout at them to stop them in their tracks so you can get a shot off! Others will be more wary and need coaxing in, I then call as quietly and as high pitched as possible and turn the lamp down so it barely lights their eyes, this often gets a bonus fox that wouldn't otherwise have come close enough.

It's a fascinating and often very effective ( I have regularly shot over 10 in a couple of hours on the right night) method of fox control so get out their and give it a go.

Hope this has given you a few pointers

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

That all sounds so correct and now I know why on that lovely calm night with the moon shining they are so timid.
    With the WAM caller do you blow fairly hard as in the sound goes out of human hearing range or just enough to get the WAM sounding loud but we can still hear it?

That all sounds so correct and now I know why on that lovely calm night with the moon shining they are so timid.
    With the WAM caller do you blow fairly hard as in the sound goes out of human hearing range or just enough to get the WAM sounding loud but we can still hear it?

I can always hear the WAM when I blow it and it seems quite loud when you're the one doing the calling but get someone else blowing it a few feet away and it's surpising how quiet it is compared to some of the other calls I use. I do find on very windy nights it can be much less effective to begin with so generally use something like this one first http://www.arthurcarteruradshop.co.uk/shopexd.asp?id=349 Then when I have one in view I will switch to the WAM and depending on how the individual fox reacts will vary my call from a full on constant loud call to just an intermittent very quiet, almost dead animal cry or whimper. Sometimes you wont need any call and the lamp will be enough.
    I have also been experimenting with some distress calls downloaded free from the web and played through my ipod and a speaker and have had some success, this avoids the sore cheeks you can get from constant calling and is something I shall play with through the winter

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

Im looking for a few tips myself ill be keeping a close eye on this one . Nice one shaft its nice to see shooters sharing the knowledge

What I have noticed over the last couple of nights lamping was that even though I go out 1 hour after dark, which at this time of year is around 9pm ish, that the foxes still don't apear until around 11-12 ish.

So do they set their alarm for 10.30pm to do the rounds or is it that they come out after a set time after sundown and I'm just not seeing them until later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

One thing I am interested in is getting a scope mounted lamp.

Often if the lamper and shooter are not on the same plane it is very hard to spot the reflection of the eyes in binos or other optics. A scope mounted lamp (variable power) saves a bit of time of confusion between lamper and shooter

"There he is"
    "Where i cant see a thing"
    "Look at the eyes"
    "What fecking eyes"

Lost a good few foxes due to this.

I just bought the clusion shootalite kit pack 2 £99 plus a red filter £16 from sportsmanguncentre in the UK. Only had it out once hand held, but it comes with a 25mm scope mount. Another £20 + p&p for the 30mm scope mount.
    It's not as good as the lightforce 170 that my son has. The 170 shoots a beam a long , long way off whereas the shootalight is only good to about 200m (IMO), It says 1000m but no way is it that good. I'll use it, the shootalite, for scope mounting and shooting as it's smaller and the lightforce 170 for locating the prey. The red filter on the shootalite reduces the light output a lot. I may try a 75w or 100w bulb in it later see if it's any better then.

Get the lightforce 170 with the variable power switch and it comes with a 25mm and 30mm scope mount. Amber filter on the 170 is good and light output is still good.
    Opticwarehouse.co.uk have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

You should try going out the first dry night after 2/3 nights rain. Foxes like slugs and worms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Some great info there shaft, its great to hear from someone with so much experience. Keep the info coming and thanks again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

This thread is good:)

I don't use a scope mounted light I find them cumbersome and so my lamping partner will hold over the fox enough to light him up. Now I don't shoot unless I can definetly see it's a fox.

+1 on dark wet night, we go out 10pm
    ++ after wet weather or when a field is fresh spread with slurry.

By the way can someone point me in the direction of a good shop that sells the Wham caller

I don't use a scope mounted light I find them cumbersome and so my lamping partner will hold over the fox enough to light him up. Now I don't shoot unless I can definetly see it's a fox.

By the way can someone point me in the direction of a good shop that sells the Wham caller

Cheers Cavan, I didn't know about the slurry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

Great post Shaft, some great info.

I got a lightforce 170 scope mounted during the summer - what a light great. I have yet to use it foxing however - more acurately i have yet to go out foxing. Anyway there is a good thread on this if up search this forum, JohnGalway put up some great info on the setup etc

Got mine off ebay. search for fox predator call about €15 post free
    Item number: 170265808323

Vegeta wrote: »
    One thing I am interested in is getting a scope mounted lamp.
    Often if the lamper and shooter are not on the same plane it is very hard to spot the reflection of the eyes in binos or other optics. A scope mounted lamp (variable power) saves a bit of time of confusion between lamper and shooter
    "There he is"
    "Where i cant see a thing"
    "Look at the eyes"
    "What fecking eyes"
    Lost a good few foxes due to this.

Very true but I do find this is much less of a problem if both are stood together on top of a pick up.
    Jonty wrote: »
    You should try going out the first dry night after 2/3 nights rain. Foxes like slugs and worms

I find generally it's the other way round and the first wet night after a dry spell brings the worms up but def right about foxes loving them!

One of the very best times to spot and hopefully shoot a lot of foxes is just after harvesting, the combine chops up many ground nesting birds, chicks, rodents, snails etc and the foxes really have a feast.
    + after wet weather or when a field is fresh spread with slurry.

You can buy direct from here or as mentioned ebay. http://www.wamfoxcall.com/

Word of warning, WAM callers though very effective can very easily be crushed (usually by sitting on them! :o) make or get yourself a protective case of some sort, I did email WAM about producing one and even offered them my prototype I made to copy but never even got a reply, guess the more we crush the more they sell!

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Nice one Shaft, A really good book is "Foxing with lam p and rifle" by Robert Bucknell, You could get it at either of these two places;

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/095402060X/ref=dp_olp_1/203-9467022-5455902?ie=UTF8&qid=1222709348&sr=1-1

http://www.targetsports.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=256_279&products_id=1709

It's well worth a read.

Nice one Shaft, A really good book is "Foxing with lam p and rifle" by Robert Bucknell, You could get it at either of these two places;

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/095402060X/ref=dp_olp_1/203-9467022-5455902?ie=UTF8&qid=1222709348&sr=1-1

http://www.targetsports.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=256_279&products_id=1709

It's well worth a read.

Very good read

Paul

Just to keep this thread active and get some more feedback on the OP.

I read somewhere that the book "Foxing with lamp and rifle" by Robert Bucknell was in reprint with some updated chapters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Just to keep this thread active and get some more feedback on the OP.

I read somewhere that the book "Foxing with lamp and rifle" by Robert Bucknell was in reprint with some updtaed chapters.

Here is the man himself passing on some knowledge enjoy ;

Warning some content may offend viewers, some images of foxes being shot.

Good videos. Nice to see yer man that was shooting wearing glove while handling the fox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭BigAl>>

Good videos. Nice to see yer man that was shooting wearing glove while handling the fox.

wearing a glove???? why you like tht so much???

BigAl>> wrote: »
    wearing a glove???? why you like tht so much???

Didn't you know Jontys a huge Michael Jackson fan! :D

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭alan123

Cool post Shaft! You should do a fox shooting website like the other poster (forgive me I cant remember who) that has the pigeon shooting website. Where is best value for the Lightforce anyone? Ive been shopping around but there doesnt seem to be much saving??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭BigAl>>

Some say they mostly come out at night...........this one hunts by day.
    virginia-Fox-hunting-horror.jpg

We went out Friday night to do some "pheasant protection" on a friends (Chris) syndicate shoot and didn't feel over confident as the conditions were all wrong, no wind, no cloud and despite the lack of a moon suprisingly bright. Parked up just inside the first gate and got the gear ready before driving across the first field. I was on the lamp and spotted a pair of eyes within seconds of my first sweep of the hedgerows so quickly switched off and got chris ready with the rifle (22-250) turned the lamp back on and lit charlies eyes up again some 150 yards away, I nudged chris and waited for him to take the shot and waited and waited! By this time the fox had got suspicious and made his way off along the ditch just turning his head every so often at my attempts to entice him back with the WAM. I'm pretty certain this is an older, smarter fox we have seen a couple of times in the same spot and not managed to call in but his time will come! Lesson here is don't sit about waiting for them to run in to you, if the chance of a safe shot is there just take it. The keeper has reported seeing a fox around his pens during the afternoon twice in the last week so I think a trip during the day will be on the cards this week.
    We carried on calling and lamping for 30 minutes but no sign of anything so moved on a few fields away and parked up in a spot we normally get a shot or two, after about 15 minutes of calling and lamping another fox appeared on the brow of a hill about 400 yards away and showed a lot of interest moving backwards and forwards for the next 20 minutes but never coming closer! By this time I knew we were on a loser but decided to try and drive around to call it from a different direction so after giving it a rest for a while did this but as we got close to the point I wanted we spotted the fox leaving at high speed!
    Despite another hour or so of calling that was it for the foxes but managed to bag 8 or 9 rabbits with the HMR so the night wasn't a total loss. The place is crawling with young rabbits so the foxes certainly aren't hungry enough to be taking chances yet but it's getting colder and things will change. I do find foxes a lot more suspicious in the UK and put that down to the amount of people out calling and lamping which is huge compared to back home, the shoot we were on is surrounded by other shoots and they all do their bit of vermin control so every fox for miles around has heard and seen it all before and I would expect plenty have been shot at and had a lucky escape.
    Will try again next week and maybe leave some bait for a few days to try and entice one in.

Paul

shaft666 wrote: »
    Didn't you know Jontys a huge Michael Jackson fan! :D

Paul

Its just that a lot of foxes around here are mangey b@st@rds. And besides, I'd hate to give anything to yer ma. (ONLY MESSING!!!)

Where is best value for the Lightforce anyone?

I got my lightforce from the optic warehouse during the summer + filter - their was a sale at the time. I got the dimmer from deben and the batteries locally.

Its just that a lot of foxes around here are mangey b@st@rds. And besides, I'd hate to give anything to yer ma. (ONLY MESSING!!!)

I guessed as much with the mange, foxes carry all sorts of nasties inc ringworm and are often crawling with fleas so gloves are always a good idea.

Paul

PS Mum sends her love :D

alan123 wrote: »
    Cool post Shaft! You should do a fox shooting website like the other poster (forgive me I cant remember who) that has the pigeon shooting website. Where is best value for the Lightforce anyone? Ive been shopping around but there doesnt seem to be much saving??

Got mine from Opticswarehouse.co.uk http://opticswarehouse.co.uk/products.asp?cat=173 (bottom of the page 170 model), cheapest around as far as I could find. Get the dimmer model. We had a Fox on the move for about 15 minutes last night and dimmed down the lamp until it was nearly off but we could still see the reflection of his eyes very well. That saves the battery power a LOT

that one works out at about €200 (give or take) delivered to the door. Duffys have one for €145...http://www.shoot.ie/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_33&products_id=92 (+P&P). Is it the same or not as good???

I think thats the basic one without the variable power, still a very good lamp and could have a dimmer control added but would work out about the same cost

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭Sikamick

Shaft did you ever use a battery operated clock to check the time the fox uses a particular field.

Remove the back of the clock, tie a strong piece of fishing line or wire around one of the batteries, place the battery powered clock in a water proof covering with a hole in it to bring the fishing line through. On the other of the fishing line place a chicken leg, (dead chicken of course) well secured to the fishing line.

Fox comes along, pulls on the line dislodging the battery which stops the clock.

If you are in the field 20 minutes before and after the time the clock stopped you usually will end up getting him.

Sikamick

Sikamick wrote: »
    Shaft did you ever use the battery operated clock to check the time the fox uses a particular field.

Remove the back of the clock, tie a strong piece of fishing line or wire around one of the batteries, place the battery powered clock in a water proof covering with a hole in it to bring the fishing line through. On the other of the fishing line place a chicken leg, (dead chicken of course) well secured to the fishing line.

Fox comes along, pulls on the line dislodging the battery and the clock stops.

If you are in the field 20 minutes before and after the time the clock stopped you usually will end up getting him.

Sikamick

Great trick and do know about it, never had to resort to it but got it up my sleeve just in case! Particularly good if you got one visiting a pheasant pen or hen house in the wee hours and don't fancy sitting up all night.

Paul

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Shaft did you ever use a battery operated clock to check the time the fox uses a particular field.

Fox comes along, pulls on the line dislodging the battery which stops the clock.

Sikamick

Have to try that one. Makes a lot of sense anyway, foxes are related to dogs and as we all know that makes them a creature that loves routine.

I hope my wife doesnt use that on me to suss out what time I get in from a night with the lads!!!!!

Whatever you do do the following :

- go into the kitchen and stick your hands under the cold tap for about five
    minits
    - strip down to your jocks and socks at the bottom of the stairs
    - walk up the stairs backwards
    - if she gives out give her a hug and make sure your watercooled hands are
    on her back for a bit

Guaranteed she'll be sleeping like a log next time you're on the beer.

Got mine from Opticswarehouse.co.uk http://opticswarehouse.co.uk/products.asp?cat=173 (bottom of the page 170 model), cheapest around as far as I could find.

Ok I just ordered one of these suckas! It doesnt say much about what you get for that? I fear a hefty bill to follow for all the necessary accesories that dont come as standard! Im going solely on your reccommendation Clivej, I hope you feel my anxiety!!!!

I'm quite happy to spend your $$$$$$$$
    You'll get a lightforce 170 lamp with 25mm and 30mm scope lamp mounts, an in line dimmer switch with a cig car lighter adapter on the end.

I was out with my son and his 170 over the last couple pf nights. Saw a few but shot none. But I have to say that 170 is the business. I got a shootalight from the UK includes al the bits but the light output is nothing like the lightforce.

If you don't like it I'll buy it from you at half price because I'm a reasonable bloke at heart. :D:D:D

Can I just attach some aligator clips f I want to connect it to a battery to go walking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Sikamick

Isn't this a trick from The Warrener?

Can I just attach some aligator clips f I want to connect it to a battery to go walking?

You'll probably end up doing that anyway. The cigarette lighter plugs on the lightforce lamps aren't the sturdiest. Having said that, it's probably the only weak point in the setup and for less than a fiver in the motorfactors you get the problem sorted.

Yes or better is
    Cut the end off at the cig adapter and replace with crimp spade terminals to fit the plus and minus on a small battery. I use a 7 amp/hour got from the electrical wholesalers @€;16

Yes or better is
    Cut the end off at the cig adapter and replace with crimp spade terminals to fit the plus and minus on a small battery. I use a 7 amp/hour got from the electrical wholesalers @€;16
    I've done this but also have a cigarette lighter plug with 2 feet of cable and the male part of the spade end terminals on so I can either run the lamp from a battery for walking or plug it into the lighter when using the motor

Paul

've done this but also have a cigarette lighter plug with 2 feet of cable and the male part of the spade end terminals on so I can either run the lamp from a battery for walking or plug it into the lighter when using the motor

I have mine setup exactly the same, give you options!!

But also their is a fuse on the connector at the end of the lightforce lamp - in the plug. This is obviously their for a reason :cool:

kerryman12 wrote: »

But also their is a fuse on the connector at the end of the lightforce lamp - in the plug. This is obviously their for a reason :cool:

But theres also a fuse in the car on the cig lighter as well.

You know when to unplug it's when the cable starts smoking.

I used sockets and plugs from Radio Control cars (the battery parts) to hook up all my gear

kerryman12 wrote: »

I think all these connectors have a built in fuse, I was told it's because you can get a power surge when the engine is started. The original plug on my lightforce actually melted after being used for a while so replaced it with a better quality one and no problems since.
    Paul

You know when to unplug it's when the cable starts smoking.

Thats living on the edge clive:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭patrickdt10

What I have noticed over the last couple of nights lamping was that even though I go out 1 hour after dark, which at this time of year is around 9pm ish, that the foxes still don't apear until around 11-12 ish.

So do they set their alarm for 10.30pm to do the rounds or is it that they come out after a set time after sundown and I'm just not seeing them until later?

ive seen this last night. just beside my house i never see anything at my usual time out. round 9ish. i decided to go out last night around 11.30 and i seen 3 near the house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭patrickdt10

shaft666 wrote: »
    I think all these connectors have a built in fuse, I was told it's because you can get a power surge when the engine is started. The original plug on my lightforce actually melted after being used for a while so replaced it with a better quality one and no problems since.
    Paul
    thats why u should turn the lights of the car of before ya start it! it is a power surge indeed!

I just got my lightforce in the post. What an anti climax! You dont get very far with €200 these days!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

Thats true,they are a bit flimsy and light,but pretty durable and probably the best out there for the job! a fool broke mine in the back of the jeep a month ago :mad: but its very hard to justify paying that for just a light isnt it!