Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lets Pick a Team.

• 25-09-2008 10:25pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok folks its time to pick a team,I no I said I would put this up Friday morrning but well its Friday morrning in 30 min and I cant see any new nomination's coming in this late.The poll is for 7 days so if you are undecided take your time and educate yourself about each team.This is a public vote so we can all see who voted for who.

If you don't know what this is all about here is were the idea came from,The Nomination thread.

Albinoleffe.
    100pxalbinoleffelogod12yq5.png

Nonamated by nipplenuts supported by Zaph,Third Echelon, Bastard Prince, RE*AC*TOR, therecklessone, monkey9.

Bergamo, Italy
    (Capacity: 26,638)

Official Club Website.

Formed in 1998, started in C2 (4th div) Avg attendance 2400.Top Serie B in Italy. Missed out in a playoff for promotion to Serie A last season.Historically, AlbinoLeffe's home games have been characterized by very low attendance, as shown by the average 2,400 spectators per game in the 2006-07 season, the most successful in the club history.So The can do with the extra support.

FC St. Pauli
    200pxfcstpaulideef1bvk0.jpg

Nonamated by Des supported by Dave, Stekelly, Sarge,therecklessone, eirebhoy, bohsman.

Millerntor-Stadion
    (Capacity: 22,200 (expanding to 27,000))

Official Club Website

FC St.Pauli UK Message Board.

They have nutso fans, who don't subscribe to the "normal" German right-wing neo-nazi type of person you'd usually associate with German Football. St. Pauli became the first team in Germany to officially ban rightwing, nationalist activities and displays in its stadium in an era when fascist inspired football hooliganism threatened the game across Europe. It is located in the red-light district of Hamburg, so a trip to a game would be good fun.

St. Pauli are also known for their close links with many other foreign clubs and enjoy a particularly close friendship with Celtic with St. Pauli fans attending Celtic games on the continent when Celtic play UEFA competitions. St Pauli flags and scarves are frequently seen on display at Celtic Park and every year Celtic supporters arrive in Hamburg for the annual St Pauli - Celtic Festival.In Israel, St. Pauli is identified with Hapoel Tel Aviv F.C., a first division team that also see itself as anti-racist and anti-Fascist. In the Tel Aviv derby that has take place at February 17, 2008, Hapoel Tel-Aviv fans waved a large St. Pauli flag in the stadium.

Go Ahead Eagles
    150pxgoaheadeaglesfa8aaxl5.jpg

Nonamated by KevIRL supported by Third Echelon, Neil1984 Mr. X, Dub13, therecklessone, monkey9, mcHugh, Kag, DeV, Im_No_Superman.

Adelaarshorst
    Deventer
    (Capacity: 6,700)

Official Club Website

The Go Ahead Eagles are a football club from Deventer, Netherlands, currently playing in the Eerste Divisie. The club's home stadium is De Adelaarshorst. The club has won the Dutch Eredivisie title four times (1917, 1922, 1930, 1933).

Cool name,They play in a country where everyone speaks English (Banter between the forum of the club and boards.ie).The fact that a few hundred (or more) fans in a different country have decided to start supporting the team will really be a novelty for the club.Games kick off at regular times for us. Season follows similar structure to when the boards.ie forum is busiest.They really do seem to be minnows in the literal meaning of the word.

Panathinaikos
    222pxpaoemblemsvg103df3ic5.jpg

Nonamated by Des supported by Neil1984, CHD.

Olympic Stadium
    Athens, Greece
    (Capacity: 71,030)

Official Website

A bit of an outside bet for this but the got the 3 nominations so in the interest of fairness I have added them.They were nominated by Des.They have won the Greek Championship 19 times and play in an Olympic Stadium So they are not very obscure,but they are continental.

Sport Club Corinthians Paulista
    corinthianssimbolo10dbaeo8.png

Nonamated by leninbenjamin supported by Xavi, Dave Im_No_Superman.

Estádio Parque São Jorge, Capacity28,000

Official Club Website

Official Club Website.

Sport Club Corinthians Paulista is a Brazilian sports club, based in São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil.Seriously big club falling on hard times.Should be lots of drama,they'll be back up in the Brazilian Seria A next year so we can start supporting in the new year.

Werder Bremen
    115pxwerderbremen1153d7mm5.png

Nonamated by Tauren supported bohsman, luckyloyd

Weserstadion
    Bremen
    (Capacity: 43,087)

Werder Bremen is a German sports club best known for its football team playing in Bremen.Oscar (bohsman) family are season ticket holders and he needs to know more about them.

Which team would you like to adopt..? 99 votes

Albinoleffe
    0%
    FC St. Pauli
    20%
    VokestherecklessonesmackbunnybabyZaphBig EarslordgoatRE*AC*TORUnearthlySherifuThE_IVIAcIVIAIVChardee MacDennisMr. Presentable~Rebel~DayshaMushyDSByayamarkBubs101menoscemoSantryRed 20 votes
    Go Ahead Eagles
    20%
    PHBFenixGuy:Incognitoeirebhoy20 Times 20 Times_blank_ziggyA Dub in GlasgobazzmanfullstopjimmyboyredzerdrogestebancambiasShoulderChipstakerNabyLadisthemanratinakegthusspakeblixavincenzo1975pablomakaveli 20 votes
    Panathinaikos
    46%
    Pepe LeFritsSamuraiChongrobz150quarrymankensutzThird_Echelonraven136Kingp35Dub13mayordenisKevIRLShiverinEskimoJazzyNecronomiconRVN10[Deleted User]eventRoyale with CheeseArmaniJeanss 46 votes
    Sport Club Corinthians Paulista
    8%
    VillainStringMagic PipsNalzLuckyLloydGreen GiantCHDgixerfixer 8 votes
    Werder Bremen
    5%
    xabiSpider_Baby!4-ageBobalicious93yeah-buddy 5 votes
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Go Ahead Eagles
    Er.

I didn't actually think there was an Irish link to Panathinaikos.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Panathinaikos
    Des wrote: »
    Er.

I didn't actually think there was an Irish link to Panathinaikos.

Ok I will edit that out,I was struggling to come up with stuff on them.

Panathinaikos
    Good stuff Dub13. Let the games begin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

FC St. Pauli
    C'mon the Albinos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Panathinaikos
    Jeez, its a closer race so far than I thought it would be. There better not be a rake of people voting, who in reality, won't really participate in it. 2.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Go Ahead Eagles
    I lost pace with the original thread but would Bremen not fall comfortably within the "big club" section and thus be outlawed? (panathinaikos kind of too)

Vote St Pauli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Panathinaikos
    Eagles all the way.

Bremen are too big a club in European terms btw. Huge chance one of 'our' teams could play them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,162 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

How come HFC Haarlem is not up there, I was told to get a team in quick and the team got five backers and still does not make it.

Explain please. Why are the left out?

Panathinaikos
    Cause a team needed three votes to qualify, not just one.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Cause a team needed three votes to qualify, not just one.
    check the last page of the thread before you spout off rubbish like that.

And if you had checked it earlier, I posted up when I had enough votes also.

Panathinaikos
    Eh you'd wanna calm down there ffs

As posted by leninbenjamin on that thread -
    i've read every post since my last tally. it didn't really change much. Weder got a couple of mentions to get them the 3 but that's it. oh and Cluj got another, but i think that means they are still on 2.

Albinoleffe (Zaph, nipplenuts, Third Echelon, Bastard Prince, RE*AC*TOR, therecklessone, monkey9)

St. Pauli (Des, Dave!, Stekelly, Sarge, therecklessone, eirebhoy, bohsman)

Go Ahead (KevIRL, Third Echelon, Neil1984 Mr. X, Dub13, therecklessone, monkey9, mcHugh, Kag, DeV, Im_No_Superman)

Panathinaikos (Des, Neil1984, CHD)

Corinthians (Xavi, Dave!, Myself)

Newell's Old Boys (Charlie, Neil1984)

Boardeax (Alan, Des)

Werder Bremen (Tauren, bohsman, luckyloyd?)

So who backed your suggestion?

If you read the last page you would have seen it, and I got five backers.

Panathinaikos
    The last page for me is from post 381 (20 posts per page) and all I can see is you saying they're in.

Who are the 5?

The last page for me is from post 381 (20 posts per page) and all I can see is you saying they're in.

Who are the 5?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57377440&postcount=372

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,181 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

FC St. Pauli
    eagle eye wrote: »

Im not sure, only catching up now after a week away, but maybe people need to actually post their support and not just add a 'thanks'?

I guess people may be adding a 'thanks' because you added an option, and not because they were actually voting for that option, while a post of support is unequivocal.

i dunno, maybe its explained earlier in the thread, i haven't the patience to go through that many pages, but tbh Dub is usually pretty good for these things so im going with occam's razor on this one.

Panathinaikos
    ~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Im not sure, only catching up now after a week away, but maybe people need to actually post their support and not just add a 'thanks'?

I guess people may be adding a 'thanks' because you added an option, and not because they were actually voting for that option, while a post of support is unequivocal.

Tbh that's how I presumed it to be but if it's otherwise then fair enough.

Well either way I am firmly in the anti GAE(y) camp.

Panathinaikos
    Ah boo-urns

Although, I'm in the anti-St. Pauli group. If that motion carries I won't be partaking. I'll go with anyone else though.

Panathinaikos
    Lads, if we're not careful, the whole purpose of this exercise is going to be lost.

This idea centered around unity, and a for once, bringing the forummers together. It would seem that already, it is starting to descend into the usual tribalism BS that is rife round this place.

GAE, or any other team on the poll, were not my first choice, and I probably never would have nominated them. However, succeeding in nomination was never the goal. I would have thought that anyone who showed support from this at the start, implied that they would get behind whoever the majority decided, and not juts a team that suits them.

Panathinaikos
    While I agree with you in theory Charlie I just cannot get behind a team that has strong links to Celtic.

The whole point was to pick a team that was free of allegiances and ties. St. Pauli don't come into that category.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

See the problem arises when a team (St Pauli) is nominated that has links to a team that people either like or dislike. THey really should be disregarded for this reason.

Also teams like Bremen and Panathanikos, as it's fairly likely that they will play someone in europe that a forummer supports.

Go Ahead Eagles are really the best example of a nominated team. There should be a few more teams like them...

Panathinaikos
    While I agree with you in theory Charlie I just cannot get behind a team that has strong links to Celtic.

The whole point was to pick a team that was free of allegiances and ties. St. Pauli don't come into that category.

Fair enough lads.

Perhaps it is too late, but I think we may have acted too hastily in terms of deciding the criteria. Whilst I think the Pauli links are pretty irrelevant, I can certainly see why Werder raise problems, and really should never have gotten on the ticket.

I just hope these problems won't leave a sour taste with people, and dampen the overall enthusiasm for an idea, which on paper, has so much potential for craic and lolz.

The bias in the op towards the GAE(Y) Team is also quite obvious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

How?
    From what I see he's basically just copy and pasted from the Nominations thread. And there's more written on St. Pauli than the GAE.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Panathinaikos
    look everyone should be either in or our, none of this Oh if it's such and such a team I'm not doing it,
    In or Out, preferably In.

Panathinaikos
    If it's a completely neutral team devoid of ties to Irish/English/Scottish teams then I don't think anyone would be 'out' as such.

Panathinaikos
    I'm not going to argue,
    I just disagree on this - It's not the strongest link in the world with regards st Paul/celtic.
    And I really do believe it's a case of your in or your out it's pointless saying there 6 teams but I'll only support 5 of them if chosen.

Panathinaikos
    But it's also pointless picking a team that isn't within the parameters set down in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,188 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Panathinaikos
    Go Eagles.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Panathinaikos
    Hear Hear GO EAGLES !!!!

Screw the Haters!!

Hup the SuperBoers!

Panathinaikos
    Okay, I got this idea off an outside source (:D) whereby we take an obscure continental team (in their case its Córdoba CF of the Spanish Segunda division) and as a forum we support them as our honourary team for the season.

We need guys to nominate a team (no feeder clubs or sister clubs to English or Irish teams, we want everyone on the same page :pac:) and then we'll do a poll and decide who the official boards soccer team is for this season! We should try to pick a club that will hopefully encounter some drama, either through a battle for promotion or fight to survive. And if possible a story or something to set it apart. It can be a top flight club but in that case preferably a minnow.

Then in the spirit of learning, we try and learn a bit about the club, their players, its history, its ground etc etc etc and follow their results!!

So fire away with suggestions!

Maybe I should have included Scottish teams in this but I figured that was clear. It's supposed to be a team that has no connections with any team supported on here that would cause a divide. Seems to have caused a bit of an argument on here. Also eagle eye, I don't think there's any bias towards GAE, I think what you're annoyed about (with just cause) is that your team that you nominated (FC Haarlem) aren't in the poll. But there's no bias that i can see. Dub134 just copy and pasted the summary that was posted in the original thread.

Panathinaikos
    Good post Neil, this is meant to bring us together not cause more divides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Panathinaikos
    Up up and away Eagles! :pac:

Dub13 I dont remember ever backing Corinthians which you have down on the OP, I was always an Eagles man, not swapping between afew teams like Neil! ;)

Panathinaikos
    not swapping between afew teams like Neil! ;)

I backed teams to help have a few so we could have enough on to make the poll. Also, I was open to ideas. I'm an Eagles man all the way no though!

Panathinaikos
    Yes I just copy and pasted the summary the person who nominated the team put up,some people put up a good one and others just a sentence.Even doing a thread like this using copy and paste it still takes a bit of time.

It was a big thread an it could be possible we missed a team,if this is the case let me know and I will get them added to the poll.

Panathinaikos
    when we running this until?

Panathinaikos
    I say close it now! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Panathinaikos
    I backed teams to help have a few so we could have enough on to make the poll. Also, I was open to ideas. I'm an Eagles man all the way no though!
    Ah yeah I know. :) I could quite easily been in the Albinoleffe camp if the Eagles hadnt swayed me.

Poll is very close!

Panathinaikos
    mayordenis wrote: »

7 days,I put it up just before Midnight so late next Thursday night.

Panathinaikos
    I say close it now! :pac:

Big time!! EAGLES, EAGLES!!

Thing is I WANT to get an Eagles jersey now! Its a savge jersey!

Panathinaikos
    mayordenis wrote: »

The exact time is....

This poll will close on 02-10-2008 at 23:27

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Panathinaikos
    Marc Overmars plays for Go Ahead Eagles. He started his career there and is also now a director at the club.

No contest!

Panathinaikos
    Come on you Super Farmers! :D

Panathinaikos
    Super Farmers indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Panathinaikos
    I voted Eagles. seems like a decent club. dutch speak more english than italians. closer for a trip. Go Eagles :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Panathinaikos
    although i am quite heartbroken that Boardeax did not recieve the nescessary amount of votes i am willing to put that behind me and lend my support to the Go Ahead Eagles.

Go Eagles ;)

Panathinaikos
    Mr Alan wrote: »
    although i am quite heartbroken that Boardeay did not recieve the nescessary amount of votes i am willing to put that behind me and lend my support to the Go Ahead Eagles.

Go Eagles ;)

Good man!

Lads this'll be hilarious! ''Go on Marcy, run after that fecking ball you old cunt'' :D

Panathinaikos
    although i am quite heartbroken that Boardeay did not recieve the nescessary amount of votes i am willing to put that behind me and lend my support to the Go Ahead Eagles.

Go Eagles ;)

Its ok, we can support both. I'll go to Boardeaux games with ya Al, then everyone wins!

Panathinaikos

Go Eagles ;)

Prob one of the few times I have ever agreed with Al.

Good man Al!

Go Eagles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,188 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Panathinaikos
    Dub13 wrote: »
    The exact time is....

This poll will close on 02-10-2008 at 23:27

Is there any need to leave it open for a week Dub13? Surely by the end of the weekend most of the regular users of the soccer forum will have been on and can cast their vote if they are interested? Maybe close it at 5.30 Monday after everyone has finished work. I know its only a few extra days to Thursday, but we dont want to drag it out too long. Plus the original idea was floated on Tuesday, so to close the pool on Monday next would mean the whole process took a week. Surely adequate?