Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women dice with death on M6 in the UK

• 25-09-2008 6:53pm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7636577.stm

Motorway police have had to deal with two women spotted walking down the central reservation of the M6. The women, twin sisters from Sweden, ran in front of oncoming traffic after wrestling with the police.
    Quite incredible footage, they appeared to really want to end it all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Flurkin hell.....mentallists.:eek::eek:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I hope they get a sweeding fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Its selfish of them to put trauma on others. What can one do to prevent them from killing themselves??
    Therapy or lock them up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭gobby

Thats just crazyness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

gurramok wrote: »
    What can one do to prevent them from killing themselves??

Kill them ourselves.

• Moderators Posts: 51,951 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

That actually reminded me of an experience heading to Athlone. Was about 4 miles the Dublin side of Athlone about 10pm in the evening, was around Christmas so was dark. Came around a bend and was heading along a fairly long straight stretch. Anyways when the traffic came around the bend at the other end of the road, all of a sudden I see this guy staggering around in the middle of the road. Only for the cars coming the other direction he would have been a smear on the front of my car.:eek:

Further down the road I passed a squad car, on the way out to get the guy I'd say. Just couldn't believe someone was walking around in the middle of a busy road like that.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Jaysus thats really 'effing crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,538 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Must of been high on something. Still, i'd do her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

gurramok wrote: »
    Its selfish of them to put trauma on others. What can one do to prevent them from killing themselves??
    Therapy or lock them up??

They're obviously coked up to the hilt. Made the cops look like a right shower of twits...

koth wrote: »
    I see this guy staggering around in the middle of the road.

Snyper???

There used to be a craze in the UK in the early 90's, where kids would play "chicken", this involved hiding behind a parked lorry or something and running across the road at the last possible moment!.

If it wasn't seeing the shadow and stamping on the brakes, I would have hit one of the pricks! scared the shit out of me, was raging afterwards as they ran off laughing, as it was my bumper was shined by one of them as I brushed his leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If they had been hit and survived they could have ended up as vegetables. :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Mmmm, vegetables.

They did survive, one was out of hospital after six weeks and the other did one day in gaol for her troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭Archeron

The government are always warning us about sweeding, here's proof of the dangers.

Swedes are vegetables.
    Right?

Archeron wrote: »
    The government are always warning us about sweeding, here's proof of the dangers.
    Oi.
    Watch it now.
    This thread, like yore ma, is too small for the two of us punnishers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,046 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Wow that's some crazy footage. As mentioned by another poster they are inconsiderate c*nts. What about the emotional and psycological effect of their actions on the drivers who hit them. If they really wanted to end it all then they could have chosen a means that didn't involve anyone else.

Who knows why they chose to do this, but it needs to be examined and appropriate treatment given to them. If the aren't suffering from some sort of mental illness and it was merely as a result of too much drink or drugs then they need to do some hard time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Motorway cops is supposed to be on BBC1 now at 9pm, and it covers this story but its not started yet. :/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Surely they must have been under the influence of something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Talk about the expression, "go play with traffic in the middle of the road" , these Shelas take it literally.

What amazes me about the whole episode is the clarity of the CCTV footage and how the authorities can pan tilt and zoom in on two different cams, god knows how much more of these motorways are covered.

:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

That is crazy..seriously mental stuff there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Cripes , there was no hesitation there at all.
    l thought the one that ran in front of the truck was dead for sure.
    Poor truck driver won't forget that in a hurry.

Talk about the expression, "go play in the middle of the road" , these Shelas take it literally.

What amaises me about the whole episode is the clarity of the CCTV footage and how the authoritiies could pan tilt and zoom in on two different cams, god knows how much more of this motorways is covered. :pac::pac::pac:

I believe that many of the major motorways in the UK have 100% cctv coverage, they miss nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Swedes perhaps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

So what is the show saying ?

I believe that many of the major motorways in the UK have 100% cctv coverage, they miss nothing!

The chief of the UK authorities wants to have ANPR cameras installed every 400 yards on every motorway .

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/article589690.ece

Anyway baack on topic, still wouldn't stop dumb blonde Shilas from playing with traffic.

Doesn't look like the Programme is going to be shown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Not that it was the cops' fault per se, but they seemed to be particularly useless in that video.

Doesn't look like the Programme is going to be shown.
    Its probably just a repeat of this video clip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

That is incredibly insane.

Were they trying to commit suicide?

I really don't understand! Baffling! :confused:

Not that it was the cops' fault per se, but they seemed to be particularly useless in that video.

I don't think they expected the girls to run back into the road!

The chief of the UK authorities wants to have ANPR cameras installed every 400 yards on every motorway .
    My wife had her car nicked once, th epolice tracked around the town using ANPR and waited for it! recovered in less than two hours. :)

I don't think they expected the girls to run back into the road!

Yeah , in fairness to them l dont think anyone would have expected that.

My wife had her car nicked once, th epolice tracked around the town using ANPR and waited for it! recovered in less than two hours. :)
    You can't beet ANPR cameras for pin pointing cars but it can work both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

i feel sorry for the poor lorry driver :(

sar84 wrote: »

So do I...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

they really are selfish bitches come to think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

I would have shot them both.

Maybe thats just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Its like that film 'The Happening' :D

Bunch of weirdos...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

bug wrote: »
    I would have shot them both.

Maybe thats just me.

I hope it's just you condoning murder.

Anyway, was a motive ever discovered or were they just suicidal?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Whats confusing me is that if they were suicidal, why not do it without endangering other people. l am not trying to highlight suicide but there are other obvious ways. What if they had caused a pile up on the motorway?
    They cannot have been in their right mind surely.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

koth wrote: »
    That actually reminded me of an experience heading to Athlone. Was about 4 miles the Dublin side of Athlone about 10pm in the evening, was around Christmas so was dark. Came around a bend and was heading along a fairly long straight stretch. Anyways when the traffic came around the bend at the other end of the road, all of a sudden I see this guy staggering around in the middle of the road. Only for the cars coming the other direction he would have been a smear on the front of my car.:eek:

Further down the road I passed a squad car, on the way out to get the guy I'd say. Just couldn't believe someone was walking around in the middle of a busy road like that.

its dark now and its not really near christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

They cannot have been in their right mind surely.:confused:

You reckon? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

PCP? airborne neurotoxin exuded by the plants? Steroids? :confused:

darren254 wrote: »
    its dark now and its not really near christmas

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

How the hell did yer one run in front of a speeding car, get knocked down (making a massive dent in the roof) and then get up again!? It took 6 men to restrain her! Jesus christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

sar84 wrote: »

Actually, it was a lurry driver (according to the voice-over woman)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

andrew wrote: »
    How the hell did yer one run in front of a speeding car, get knocked down (making a massive dent in the roof) and then get up again!? It took 6 men to restrain her! Jesus christ.

In general it takes a few people to restrain anyone who is going ape without hurting them too much.

Especially when there are cameras around recording your every action and you don't want to be on the news and in the papers clocking some crazy bint in the face.

Crappy situation for the police and the driver of the truck. Both groups put at huge risk over two mental bints.

Hope they were given some treatment at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Simon201

Glad to say 'Bruce the hungry Australian pig' had me chuckling after the madness of them two lunatics!