Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blinkers Casino Tournaments and Cash Games

• 25-09-2008 12:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

Blinkers Casino at Citywest is committed to 100% transparency in all their games.

This means during tournaments, a full breakdown of information will be on show through-out the game, from player buy-ins, reg fees, chip counts, prize pool, re-buys and top-ups etc.
    At any point during any tournament all this information is readily available to players.

In our nightly cash games the rake per table will be posted in full view in the card room.
    As it stands the rake on our cash games are as follows:

50 euro min buy-in 1/2 hold 'em or 1/1 omaha - 8 euro per person per hour.
    200 euro min buy-in 2/4 hold 'em or 2/2 omaha - 12 euro per person per hour.
    500 euro min buy-in 5/10 hold 'em or 5/5 omaha - 16 euro per person per hour.

Our new tournament schedule starts this Friday night, 26th 0f Sept, with 50+5 double chance with 2000 euro guarantee (subject to 30 entrants).

We hope to see you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Blinkers Casino at Citywest is committed to 100% transparency in all their games.

(subject to 30 entrants).

This thread should be fun.

In before its locked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

Seems they dont get locked anymore..... just dissappear into cyberspace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭The Poker Room

Ah blinkers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Still no questions answered . Maybe Devore should come on here and explain why blinkers dont have to abide by the rules of this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

This means during tournaments, a full breakdown of information will be on show through-out the game, from player buy-ins, reg fees, chip counts, prize pool, re-buys and top-ups etc.
    At any point during any tournament all this information is readily available to players.

That's great and this is what every poker player expects but TBH it's a bit like locking the stable door after the horse has bolted.

For the past few months Boards members have waited patiently for Blinkers to get back on and answer the questions posed in light of the Vera Duffy Classic debacle. This has not been done.

The mods on the poker forum explicitly stated that Blinkers Casino would not be allowed to post on here until the questions were answered. The other night a thread from Blinkers was posted and replied to by numerous Boards members (myself included). It was 'temp deleted' until confirmation was received from DeVore (Boards owner) that it could stay. There has been no comment from DeVore or no sign of the thread since.

Now this thread appears and it is allowed to remain with no comment at all from either DeVore himself or any of the mods. TBH this, to me, undermines the credibility of having mods regulate the posts on this site.

I. like many boards members who played that Wed night and paid their cash into what they were led to believe was a 100% prizepool, deserve our concerns to be addressed and for Blinkers claimed 'transparancy' to be applied retrospecitively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

I don't know what went on (just rumours) but surely they should be given a second chance, especially if they are doing their utmost to prove transparancy in their games. We all know TD's that run and hide at the 1st mention of numbers and top up's/prizepool etc.

I would prefer if JP was still there but what can you do?

If it turns out that blinker's ends up being a great venue with great regular (transparent) tournies then what does it matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Punter Bren

I was under the impression that Blinkers had to answer what happened on the Vera Duffy night before been allowed to post again.
    also I want to make it clear by been called the Vera Duffy night it has nothing to do with Vera she is a lovely lady .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭thepokerroom

yes they have not given any reply,so they think everyone has moved on i dont think so as we in the poker scene have great memories, pls guys give us the answers .let everyone move on:)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Whatever about the previously stated embargo (there are still discussions ongoing about this and will be addressed asap) this thread advertising a tournie does not have the required details in it as per charter. Pending the resolution of our other discussion I will leave this thread open but if tournie details as per charter are not added by tomorrow it will be locked on that basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭derek2222_ie

tm2204 wrote: »
    The other night a thread from Blinkers was posted and replied to by numerous Boards members (myself included). It was 'temp deleted' until confirmation was received from DeVore (Boards owner) that it could stay. There has been no comment from DeVore or no sign of the thread since.

Didnt See this thread. Anyone know what it said?

Bram/christafari/pokermad/dublin horse all banned.

Any more brand new accounts set up to defend or slag off Blinkers Casino will also be banned.

For now, no more rumours etc on this thread. The owners of Blinkers Casino need to come on here and answer Yuletired's questions if they wish to continue to use this forum to promote their events.

???
    Just three answers

Hi Derek,

It basically put up Blinkers new tourney schedule and when numerous people commented that Blinkers should not be posting until they answer the questions asked of them the OP stated that he had permission from DeVore (Boards owner) to post. This was questioned by numerous people and the mods posted saying they were trying to contact DeVore to confirm this.

The thread was deleted shortly afterwards and the people who had replied to it (myself included) were PM's by a mod saying that the thread was taken down until confirmation was received.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

any chance of cutting them some slack?

i have a feeling that they deliberately didnt start getting onto their version of the debacle as it would have only fueled an already out of control fire storm

sometimes the least said the sooner things are mended

i cant honestly imagine any smart thinking business person getting involved in what was being suggested, when they were clearly in a start-up position in their new venture

however, whats done is done and can we now just move on please, time heals all wounds and i should know, believe me.

washing dirty linen in public is unhealthy for all concerned and sometimes its best to say nothing at all

as i didnt finish in the money out there that night, i dont feel i have any involvement, if i did, then i would speak to the casino directly and let them know i felt

anyone who was in that position, my advice would be to communicate with them directly, anyone that wasnt actually affected should really leave it alone

thisis of course only my personal opinion, for what its worth, people will make their own minds up regardless of me or anything i say, just my 2 pence worth as it were

unfortunately boards is sometimes used as a means by which to bash up and attempt to take carachter away from individuals and can be taken as being literal and completely open and honest, we are all victims of our own human nature, we expect people to be telling it like it is, having no particular axe to grind, but we can be fooled by that and react when we might be better off keeping stum

once again i will add that on the night in question, I had a great time and lots of craic, its a pity her birthday only comes once a year

derek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

any chance of cutting them some slack?

i have a feeling that they deliberately didnt start getting onto their version of the debacle as it would have only fueled an already out of control fire storm

sometimes the least said the sooner things are mended

i cant honestly imagine any smart thinking business person getting involved in what was being suggested, when they were clearly in a start-up position in their new venture

however, whats done is done and can we now just move on please, time heals all wounds and i should know, believe me.

washing dirty linen in public is unhealthy for all concerned and sometimes its best to say nothing at all

as i didnt finish in the money out there that night, i dont feel i have any involvement, if i did, then i would speak to the casino directly and let them know i felt

anyone who was in that position, my advice would be to communicate with them directly, anyone that wasnt actually affected should really leave it alone

thisis of course only my personal opinion, for what its worth, people will make their own minds up regardless of me or anything i say, just my 2 pence worth as it were

unfortunately boards is sometimes used as a means by which to bash up and attempt to take carachter away from individuals and can be taken as being literal and completely open and honest, we are all victims of our own human nature, we expect people to be telling it like it is, having no particular axe to grind, but we can be fooled by that and react when we might be better off keeping stum

once again i will add that on the night in question, I had a great time and lots of craic, its a pity her birthday only comes once a year

derek

Any chance of cutting them some slack? Right now id say no in the future who knows maybe but i doubt it till there is some questions answered.

When it comes to matters like this i think that people find it hard to just forgive and forget. If people are giving a full explanation of the actions that went down im sure it would go a long way to putting some peoples minds at rest.

As i did finish in the money that night ive no more right to be upset as anybody else that had paid there money on that night. Well if there not answering questions here i doubt if i go up face to face and try and get some answers i will be just brushed off the same!

Well they have the time to post tournament and cash game posts so why not take the time to answer the questions and as you said time heals all wounds and maybe this can finally be laid to rest.

I will second your comment ive played Vera's birthday bash's for the last two years and they are always great nights!

This was posted by a mod. But it seems that it only applies to some posters .

If you are promoting an event or tournament you must include all information about the event as laid out in the Tournaments Charter.

Quote:
    1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.)
    2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.)
    3. Date and Location of event
    4. Registration and Start time of event.
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.)
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.
    9. Cost of registration
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    13. Starting Chips
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.
    15. Blind levels
    16. Blind timeframes
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules
    20. Is there a tournament director
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.

This board is for the benefit of players not organisers, players should not have to go searching for information regarding buy-ins, stacks, blinds, prize structures etc.
    Keep this information in a text file on your PC if you use it alot, it takes 10 seconds to copy and paste.

Any tournament organisers not complying will be warned and then will lose posting privileges for a short period.

Similarly tournament organisers must be available to answer questions from players/customers on these boards. This requires that you log in to check on any threads you have created to see if further information has been requested.
    Failure to do this will see you considered to be a spammer, and you will be banned.

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Hi Damo, 5star posted near the start of this thread that Blinkers have until tomorrow to update the first post. And the mods are considering a zero tolerance approach to the Tourney forum charter.

AND HERE WAS ME THINKING THAT WE LIVED IN IRELAND, NOT FRANCE, AND THAT PEOPLE HERE WERE PRESUMED INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY

SO MUCH FOR HUMAN RIGHTS CHARTER

HANG 'EM HIGH

XXXX THE LOT OF 'EM

SUPER SENTIMENTS LADS

HOW ABOUT A BIT OF CHRISTIANITY AND GOOD WILL?

C'MON NOW PEOPLE

DEREK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

AND HERE WAS ME THINKING THAT WE LIVED IN IRELAND, NOT FRANCE, AND THAT PEOPLE HERE WERE PRESUMED INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY

SO MUCH FOR HUMAN RIGHTS CHARTER

HANG 'EM HIGH

XXXX THE LOT OF 'EM

SUPER SENTIMENTS LADS

HOW ABOUT A BIT OF CHRISTIANITY AND GOOD WILL?

C'MON NOW PEOPLE

DEREK

If I ask someone are they innocent and they refuse to answer, I will presume their guilty.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Cuban Son

lafortezza wrote: »
    Hi Damo, 5star posted near the start of this thread that Blinkers have until tomorrow to update the first post. And the mods are considering a zero tolerance approach to the Tourney forum charter.

Hi lafortezza,

I posted Blinkers new schedule on Tuesday as per the forum charter. Another mod, decided to take it down until it was cleared by DeVore,
    I had pm'd the mod before I posted stating that we had been given permission to post by Dev.
    I have since been speaking with DeVore about the situation and he requested that we make a post in accordance with the first post in this thread, and the original tournament schedule thread would be reinstated.
    The club or myself have not broken any forum rules, but in fact have followed the instructions given to us, by Devore to the letter.
    The thread has still not been reinstated.
    It is not the intention of the club to post here on this forum if we had not been given permission to do so, and apologise if you feel it is spam.

best regards,

Paul Fox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Whats wrong with France? Whats your problem with France?. Are People proved guilty until proved innocent in France?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

Cuban Son wrote: »
    Hi lafortezza,

I posted Blinkers new schedule on Tuesday as per the forum charter. Another mod, decided to take it down until it was cleared by DeVore,
    I had pm'd the mod before I posted stating that we had been given permission to post by Dev.
    I have since been speaking with DeVore about the situation and he requested that we make a post in accordance with the first post in this thread, and the original tournament schedule thread would be reinstated.
    The club or myself have not broken any forum rules, but in fact have followed the instructions given to us, by Devore to the letter.
    The thread has still not been reinstated.
    It is not the intention of the club to post here on this forum if we had not been given permission to do so, and apologise if you feel it is spam.

best regards,

Paul Fox

Paul,
    Do you advertise your schedule anywhere else?
    I would like to be able to check and see what is scheduled on a given night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Cuban Son

DAMO72 wrote: »

This was posted by a mod. But it seems that it only applies to some posters .

If you are promoting an event or tournament you must include all information about the event as laid out in the Tournaments Charter.

Quote:
    1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.)
    2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.)
    3. Date and Location of event
    4. Registration and Start time of event.
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.)
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.
    9. Cost of registration
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    13. Starting Chips
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.
    15. Blind levels
    16. Blind timeframes
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules
    20. Is there a tournament director
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.

This board is for the benefit of players not organisers, players should not have to go searching for information regarding buy-ins, stacks, blinds, prize structures etc.
    Keep this information in a text file on your PC if you use it alot, it takes 10 seconds to copy and paste.

Any tournament organisers not complying will be warned and then will lose posting privileges for a short period.

Similarly tournament organisers must be available to answer questions from players/customers on these boards. This requires that you log in to check on any threads you have created to see if further information has been requested.
    Failure to do this will see you considered to be a spammer, and you will be banned.

Thanks in advance.

Like I've said Damo,
    I've already posted our schedule in this manner, and was requested to make a new thread in which we show our rake pp/ph and a full breakdown in our tournament.
    It is not advertising any games it is merely stating that all our games are 100% transparent. Nothing else. If you see it like that I'm sorry.
    It was requested by Dev that this was done in this way.

Paul Fox

Cuban Son wrote: »
    Like I've said Damo,
    I've already posted our schedule in this manner, and was requested to make a new thread in which we show our rake pp/ph and a full breakdown in our tournament.
    It is not advertising any games it is merely stating that all our games are 100% transparent. Nothing else. If you see it like that I'm sorry.
    It was requested by Dev that this was done in this way.

Paul Fox
    it was also requested a long time ago that blinkers answer questions put to them by yuletired which has never been done and now devore has given them permission to post on here again over the moderators decision to ban them . i am more concerned now for the future of this forum as devore himself has set a presedance for any future posters to do the same and be able to use it to their advantage . To me blinkers silence is prooof of guilt and they are hiding behind you paul .And i also think now that a Q mark hangs over the heads of the owners of this site .Thats the last i have to say on the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭thepokerroom

guys lets cool it here if people want to go to blinkers so be it i know a few of my players were out there that night and will never return. so guys stop the bad blood and move on remember how do u think vera feels so next year a new venue for her party. regards jim and christy smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

im not looking for answers anymore, I say we leave this thread alone.
    Im disappointed not to be playing in blinkers as its so close, however
    it looks like they broke no actual forum rules. I've made my decision where im playing from now on, you guys make yours but Im not sure we can jump all over them everytime they post......there are some good guys still out there working for them so it would be a pity to drag this out.

this is just my view as a normal punter with no axe to grind. It's not up to us if they post here or not , its only up to us where we play....blinkers dont need my business which is fine.

Ive no more to say on the subject really.:(

Whats wrong with France? Whats your problem with France?. Are People proved guilty until proved innocent in France?.

yeah they do things differently over there

once accused, it is presumed you are guilty until proved innocent

Any sign of the promised statement from the mods re the Blinkers debacle?

Russh wrote: »
    If I ask someone are they innocent and they refuse to answer, I will presume their guilty.....

so would you assume the same if a lady didnt answer when asked if she is pregnant

surely you wouldnt assume anything for some months in that case

and if there was no evidence, what assumption would you make then?

that maybe-just maybe-you were mistaken or had put 2 and 2 together and got 6 instead of not adding them at all

derek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

YULETIRED wrote: »
    im not looking for answers anymore, I say we leave this thread alone.
    Im disappointed not to be playing in blinkers as its so close, however
    it looks like they broke no actual forum rules. I've made my decision where im playing from now on, you guys make yours but Im not sure we can jump all over them everytime they post......there are some good guys still out there working for them so it would be a pity to drag this out.

this is just my view as a normal punter with no axe to grind. It's not up to us if they post here or not , its only up to us where we play....blinkers dont need my business which is fine.

Ive no more to say on the subject really.:(

Good post Willie

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

DAMO72 wrote: »
    Still no questions answered . Maybe Devore should come on here and explain why blinkers dont have to abide by the rules of this forum.
    Eh? this thread is here BECAUSE I spoke with the casino in person and asked them for a clear and unqualified statement of commitment to transparency, which they were more then happy to give.

But yeah, its my fault. :rolleyes:

DeV.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I was under the impression that Blinkers had to answer what happened on the Vera Duffy night before been allowed to post again.
    also I want to make it clear by been called the Vera Duffy night it has nothing to do with Vera she is a lovely lady .
    And thats the problem. Its a squallid sordid little rumour affair in which it seems the only blameless person is Vera, who I like a lot and I was keen to avoid dragging it up again but what can I do.

DeV.

Russh wrote: »
    Thank you Stalin. :)

That sort of thinking leads us to Guantanamo style internment, but I digress.

DeV.

My side of this debacle:

1. I didnt go to Vera's birthday, I wasnt here. I didnt hear or read anything about the issue until late last week. Blinkers rang me and ask me if they could publish their schedule here. I said yes and told them how, thinking nothing more of it. (remember, I hadnt read either thread by then).

2. The mods removed the thread (correctly) and contacted me going "eh!?". I read up on the background and agreed with the mods decision to remove the thread. I felt I had walked Blinkers into it and rang them and explained my mistake.

3. I had a good conversation with the mods and we bashed out two questions that blinkers needed to answer before they could return.
    a) What is your stated policy towards tournie prizepool transparency
    b) What is your cash game rake.

We excluded any questions about the business relationship with JP or why it ended. Its none of my, nor your, business. We took a view on the issue of Vera's birthday that it was best to draw a veil over that and not restart an argument which, I should point out, many of you are jumping to conclusions about.

I have been told 3 different, conflicting versions of the "truth" and I dont believe we are ever going to know. Meantime, we consistently bring up the wrong side of vera's birthday party rather then celebrating a real lady of the poker scene.

Having answered these questions, we are allowing the casino to post and I suggest that if you think you know what went on, you are almost certainly wrong. For once I agree with the clamper (even if he is a super aggro donk :p). People are jumping to conclusions and its probably for the best that we take the commitment made by the club in the OP to the future and move on. I will be speaking to the club in person on Sunday I hope and I will tell them what I think but ultimately, I believe the truth is somewhere in between the stories.

This thread has less then 24 hours to live.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

So let me see. JP who has an excellent reputation leaves them completely unexpectedly. There are accusations of money being taken out of the prize pool. They refuse to answer questions about this even though it very much in their best interests to answer and clear up any qualms people had and then they or someone close to them start 2 or 3 blatant and fairly pathetic shill accounts to say how great Blinkers is and people are not supposed to feel slightly suspicious about the people running this operation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

DeVore wrote: »
    I have been told 3 different, conflicting versions of the "truth" and I dont believe we are ever going to know. Meantime, we consistently bring up the wrong side of vera's birthday party rather then celebrating a real lady of the poker scene.

Having answered these questions, we are allowing the casino to post and I suggest that if you think you know what went on, you are almost certainly wrong. For once I agree with the clamper (even if he is a super aggro donk :p). People are jumping to conclusions and its probably for the best that we take the commitment made by the club in the OP to the future and move on. I will be speaking to the club in person on Sunday I hope and I will tell them what I think but ultimately, I believe the truth is somewhere in between the stories.

This thread has less then 24 hours to live.

DeV.

I definitely saw a person on the grassy knoll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

cooker3 wrote: »
    So let me see. JP who has an excellent reputation leaves them completely unexpectedly. There are accusations of money being taken out of the prize pool. They refuse to answer questions about this even though it very much in their best interests to answer and clear up any qualms people had and then they or someone close to them start 2 or 3 blatant and fairly pathetic shill accounts to say how great Blinkers is and people are not supposed to feel slightly suspicious about the people running this operation?

ban imo... for keeping going after an admin said to forget about the past...

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I think the general upshot if this now is that the club or anyone else directly involved will not be posting an 'explanation' which leaves them free to advertise here as long as they adhere to the rules like everyone else, and it leaves people that read and post here with the free will to attend or not, any of their events in the future based on their own judgement.

Plus we have added those two questions into our list of questions that must be answered by tournie operators up front.

We can either ban Blinkers AND JP or neither. Its not fair to ban one and not the other. Right now we are favouring neither and moving on. I think the guaruntees we have secured are at least a partial solution and probably the best we can do.

DeV.

5starpool wrote: »
    I think the general upshot if this now is that the club or anyone else directly involved will not be posting an 'explanation' which leaves them free to advertise here as long as they adhere to the rules like everyone else, and it leaves people that read and post here with the free will to attend or not, any of their events in the future based on their own judgement.

Perfectly summed up.

I, knowing what I know, choose NOT to play here again; everyone else can make their own mind up.

Ideally Blinkers should have cleared up the debacle immediately but they chose a line of leaving it lie for a while & testing the water. Their decision & it appears to have worked for them.

I've nothing more to say on this matter; time to move on.... :D

I also fail to understand why the questions are solely aimed at Blinkers when JP has not given an acceptible explanation of what happened and it was his tournie.
    Its not so much a case of "they got away with it" as that we dont know who should be excluded.

DeV.

I also fail to understand why the questions are solely aimed at Blinkers when JP has not given an acceptible explanation of what happened and it was his tournie.
    Its not so much a case of "they got away with it" as that we don't know who should be excluded.

DeV.

very simple IMO....

Who has our money? Blinkers do you have it? If not who has it.... thats the question I would ask.... but anyway not up to me...

@ Paul Fox.... Paul I feel sorry for a decent guy like you stuck in the middle of this when all you want to do is get on with things.... see you at the tables..

@Devore... I know where your coming from and understand you dont need this hassle and want it over with but the 2 questions you asked from them is not enough IMO... Like you I have heard every version of the "truth"

Anyway I'm in the same boat as others.... I'm going playing live tonight and will drive past the door of blinkers on my way... which is a shame...

world's worst PR job I think....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Plus we have added those two questions into our list of questions that must be answered by tournie operators up front.

We can either ban Blinkers AND JP or neither. Its not fair to ban one and not the other. Right now we are favouring neither and moving on. I think the guaruntees we have secured are at least a partial solution and probably the best we can do.

DeV.

why?

JP came on to boards and said he is parting company with Blinkers. So they are two seperate entitites? No one on this board has asked a question of JP on here in the past that he hasnt answered about his games. Blinkers were asked questions, and ran, why would they be considered on one front?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

ditpoker wrote: »
    why?

JP came on to boards and said he is parting company with Blinkers. So they are two seperate entitites? No one on this board has asked a question of JP on here in the past that he hasnt answered about his games. Blinkers were asked questions, and ran, why would they be considered on one front?

JP ran the game in question.

Its not so much a case of "they got away with it" as that we dont know who should be excluded.

DeV.

my questions were always direct to Blinkers... as it was their premises that the tourney was held and the 20 euro I paid at the door for membership was membership of "blinkers casino" . So the book stops there... it is up to them to organise/ arrange/ manage their casino as they see fit... I have no interest in the arrangement or business deals between them and JP or anyone else... this is their business....

however the prizepool is our business

Macspower wrote: »
    my questions were always direct to Blinkers... as it was their premises that the tourney was held and the 20 euro I paid at the door for membership was membership of "blinkers casino" . So the book stops there... it is up to them to organise/ arrange/ manage their casino as they see fit... I have no interest in the arrangement or business deals between them and JP or anyone else... this is their business....

Just want to say I agree 100% with Macs on this; perfectly stated. My final final word :D

Its time to let this one go guys . As a couple of boardsies have said that you can choose not to play there.
    Its not like there isnt anywhere else for people in dublin to play ,who are all fully transparent and above all honest toward their clientelle.
    My best wishes to Blinkers and all who sink in her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭RichardB2

MacPower is spot on.

Frankly I'm astonished at DeVores position here,
    assuming he really wasn't aware of why his own moderators had placed a ban
    on Blinkers posting advertisements subject to certain questions being answered.

His watering down of the forum moderators temperate and balanced position re: Blinkers seems craven and meally mouthed.
    Nobody is being protected or well served by his position.
    Not Vera, not JP, not the Boards posters and certainly not the players that participated that night.
    Well maybe Blinkers who get to return without batting an eyelid.

Incidently there are people who know the truth.
    Most of the rumours are outrageous but it wouldn't take much to quell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

I also fail to understand why the questions are solely aimed at Blinkers when JP has not given an acceptible explanation of what happened and it was his tournie. Its not so much a case of "they got away with it" as that we dont know who should be excluded.

DeV.

Firstly I would like to say that I have always been fully transparent in the way I have conducted my business.

Regarding Vera's Birthday party in Blinkers, I have answered all questions that were directed at me.

I have asked the owners of Blinkers to make a statement regarding the night which hasn't happened and looks like it won't.

Macspower wrote: »

Yes, you have a point. I'm trying to get SOMEONE to come on and tell us what exactly happened with the prize pool. I'm sick of finding myself in the middle of all of this but it seems inevitable.

DeV.